Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition

HERTER'S Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition

At prices this low, you'll have no excuse not to load another magazine and put a few more rounds on target. It's not only economical – it's produced by a legendary Russian manufacturer to our high standards of consistency and reliability. Polymer-coated steel cases with 230-gr. FMJ bullets. 50 rounds per box. Imported.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
13 out of 20(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Review 1 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2012

If it works, use it

By
Location: PA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
And this stuff works for me. No issues with either my springfield or taurus 1911s. i'll buy this ammo all day long. Every time its on sale, i load up. Always try a box first, every weapon is different. With prices these days, its great practice ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2012

Bad Rap

By
Location: Chicago
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This ammo has been a staple in my target shooting for nearly a year now. I have shoot over 500 rounds without a single misfire. The steel casing works with my SAXD.45ACP just fine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2012

A bad rap not deserved.

By
Location: Elgin, IL
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This stuff gets a bad rap and it doesn't deserve one. I run this stuff through my Ruger P345 and it chews through it all day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2012

Springfield XD45

By
Location: IN
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I shoot these rounds through my XD45 all the time with no problems at all. I have grown to believe a lot has to do with what gun you try to cycle them through. I suggest buying a box and trying them out for yourself. If they cycle well for you then you know you're good to go!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2012

Good Stuff

By
Location: illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Hundreds of rounds thru my Glock no problem.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Works in my Glock 21

By
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased several boxes of Herters ammo in multiple calibers so when I purchased my Glock 21SF I decided to get some of this ammo and it cycled through my pistol without any issues. I would recommend this ammo to any of my friends.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2011

Great for target

By
Location: Florida
I have used a load of this for target and some for at home IPSC and never had a problem in any of my 1911's. I found it to be very accurate and not too dirty after several hundred rounds.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2010

CHEAP PRACTICE AMMO!!

By
Location: WI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
My Rock Island Armory Will Eat This Cheap Ammo All Day!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2010

Good Ammo.

By
Location: Tacoma, Wa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This is the second time I have used this ammo and it works for me in my springfield 45. No problems at all and the price is great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2010

Excellent

By
Location: Toms River, NJ
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I’ve tried every ammo on the market (for 45 ACP) and this competes with or beats the best of them. It burns clean, no misfires out of 150 rounds, very accurate, and it’s a great buy for the money. I’m definitely stocking up on this stuff for target shooting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2010

awesome ammo

By
Location: Pittsburgh , Pa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I used this for my glock and i love it, shoot great everytime, doesn't even dirty the gun that much, would reccomend this ammo to any one, plus you can't beat the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2010

Herter's 45 ACP

By
Location: Connecticut
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
No misfires or problems of any kind. This relatively clean-shooting ammo is perfect for practice. The only "issue" you might notice is that since the ammo uses steel cases, it makes the gun slightly heavier when loaded (than using brass-cased ammo).
I recommend this product without hesitation.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2011

Cheap Ammo

By
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Cheap - in price, cheap in quality.... Smokey powder, but that's to be expected with russian powder. Be sure to clean your pistol soon after as it's reported that the powder is caustic to metal and promotes rust. Had trouble loading a Sig mag as it wouldn't take anymore than 4 bullets before the steel case would jam. Shot without issues. Staggered mags loaded fine and my HK45 chewed through box in no time. Didn't notice any difference in accuracy bettween the Winchester (whitebox) and this Herter's.
Pros: Cheap for plinkin'
Cons: Dirty, Smokey, Caustic, Steel case.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2010

I second the last review

By
I purchased 2000 rounds of this ammo when it was on sale. On my third magazine into the first box about 5 bullets in the same exact thing happened to me...it's called a "squib load" or "squib round". Luckily for me I was able to remove it with no issues and continue firing away. This type of thing happens, although it's much more rare with manufactured rounds compared to someone who loads their own. If you own a lot of the ammo as I do and you can't get rid of it or don't want to go through the hassel of sending it back, buy yourself a rubber mallet and a wooden dowel and you should have no issues getting your "squibs" out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2010

Be wary

By
Location: Hunterdon County, NJ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I ordered 8 boxes of this ammo from Cabela's. The first box shot great, had a good grouping and operated perfectly in my 1911. However, 5 rounds into the 2nd box I got a round that appeared to have no powder, only a primer. It fired with a dull "pop" and no recoil, and left a bullet lodged in my barrel about 1/4" in from the chamber. I've contacted cabelas about this problem.
Its probably a one in a million occurrence, but with my experience so far, I can't recommend this ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2012

Too mnay 'squibs".

By
Location: Palouse, WA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The squibs seem to be on a lot bases. I bought 1000 rounds and unknown that they were from 2 different lots. It was by random as to what lots I was shooting from. I started weighing the loads and found 1-5 rounds had no powder per box of a particluar lot. The other lot had all good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2012

0 for 2 so far

By
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
feeding problems with my Kahr, sometimes ammo does not like a particular weapon so tried my sig. Could not even get half of the rounds to load in the magazine. A variation in casing size. went home and tried other brands and had no problem loading the magazine. Was hoping this brand would be adequate for plinking like the wolf which has been fine but so far no good. Will try my 1911's next, hopefully............
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2011

Unreliable & Cheap. Don't waste your time with it.

By
Location: DFW
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
200 rds. fired, 6 failure to feeds, 1 jam, and 1 hang fire. Thats more than one problem for every 2 mags! Even as cheap as I am, I'm debating whether to throw out the rest. Do yourself a favor and avoid this stuff.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2011

Do NOT use w/ S&W Governor

By
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought a case (500) of these for target practice with my new S&W Governor. I put 30 rounds through today and had issues with ejecting the shells each time. They all fired and shot well, but they expanded too much in the cylinder and usually 1 of 6 cases cracked. The low rating is specific to shooting in a Governor.
I haven't put these through a semi-45, but it looks like I'll have to. I don't want to damage my cylinder.
If you're shooting a Governor, stick with high quality brass casings.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Herter's .45 ACP Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2011

Poor quality

By
Location: St. Peters MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought some of these thinking it might be good to break a new gun with, boy was I wrong, after 2 boxes of other manufacturers ammo with no problems, I experience failure to feed time after time, two were so bad I ended up throwing them away! I don't know if this is mentioned anywhere else, but this is manufactured by Tulammo and is stamped as such on the base, furthermore it is extremely dirty, I have shot cleaner reloaded ammo. buy something else.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.