Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Dance and Brothers .44-Caliber Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Dance and Brothers .44-Caliber Revolver

Production for this dragoon-type six-shot round cylinder revolver was started to attempt to meet the South’s great need for small arms, but is believed to have been limited to fewer than 500 because the factory had to be relocated due to the threat of shelling by Union gunboats. Absence of recoil-shield protrusions gave the gun a flatter appearance than its contemporaries. One-piece walnut grips. Blued finish. Brass grip straps. Barrel length: 8". Overall length: 13-1/4". Weight: 2 lbs. 7 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Dance and Brothers .44-Caliber Revolver
Review 1 for Pietta Dance and Brothers .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The picture doesn't do it justice

Date:October 16, 2014
Mine came in yesterday and I must say that the picture on the website doesn't do it justice. The color case hardening is excellently done and the grip has a wonderfully dark grain. This is a well balanced and well finished reproduction that every collection should include.
Get them while they last.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pietta Dance and Brothers .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome piece of Texas history

Date:September 13, 2014
As soon as I pulled this beauty out of the box I was impressed with her robust build. She feels solid and well made and works and fires flawlessly. It's fun to tell her story especially here in Texas. Well done Pietta and Cabela's!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pietta Dance and Brothers .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dance and Brothers .44-Caliber Revolver

Date:June 26, 2014
Just received this Pietta Dance Bros Revolver and it is really nice. I usually don't go with Piettas due to bad past experience many years ago. I thought I'd give them another try and I'm glad I did. The fit and finish are very very good and the action works flawlessly. Historically a nice repro, not exact but then there were a lot of variations in the originals. I do wish Pietta would try and hide their proof marks and brand marks a little, but not a big issue. We will see how she shoots in a few days. Thanks Cabelas from carrying this model and the great price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pietta Dance and Brothers .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Looks great

Date:June 5, 2014
The pistol looks great. Very well finished and parts fit together well. Grips look much better than expected. Only one problem. The hammer will occasionally not fully cock. It seems to be too tight against the brass strap. I can fix that easily enough. A beautiful pistol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pietta Dance and Brothers .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My Favorite

Date:May 15, 2014
I bought a Dance revolver back in Feb. and am I ever glad I did. It is a very close copy of the original Dance a friend of mine has. All Dance revolvers were hand built so no two are identical. I removed all the stampings Pietta put on it and hot blued it so well that now it looks like an unfired original. Some how I lost one of the nipples and no Pietta part avaliable will fit the Dance.VTI Replica Gun Parts said the Dance is out of production and there were no replacement parts made. The lost nipple is an "Oddball" and I have not found one yet. Cabelas still has the Dance revolvers so if you want one you should get it soon before they are gone, there are no more they can get. As soon as I find a source of parts I will post it here.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pietta Dance and Brothers .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Pietta Dance .44

Date:October 7, 2013
September 29, 2011
Many people believe that Dance Brothers revolver replicas should be virtually identical in size to the Colt Dragoon because they have read in one or more publications that the Dance revolver was patterned after the Colt Dragoon. I too have read the same misleading information many times during the last decade, and in different publications. Who knows from where the inaccurate description originated, or how many decades ago it was first published, and then used as reference material.
For several years, I wanted to buy the Pietta version, but was turned off by the high price and the fact that in order to be historically accurate, you would have to change the trigger guard. I also was afraid there would be more inaccuracies. Historical accuracy is very important to me. I knew a guy who had a real one, so I took my 3rd model Dragoon & a ’51 Navy to compare sizes. Although that original Dance was a little beefier than the Navy or an 1860 Army, it was not even nearly as big and bulky as the Dragoon.
Just about the time I learned Cabela’s was offering the Dance with the correct trigger guard for much cheaper than their competitors, I came across and bought the rare book “Dance & Brothers-Texas Gunmakers of the Confederacy”. This is a great book with many photographs & much history. At the time it was written in 1986, the highest known serial # was 365, and fewer than 80 handguns were known to have survived. In the book, there are detailed pictures of 34 pistols and dug up relic pistols & parts. Since in essence the Dance Brothers revolver was hand made and hand fitted, there are no 2 completely identical. It was after I bought the book and compared the pictures with the ones of the Pietta replicas that I decided to buy one. That was about a year ago.
As far as proof that these Piettas are accurate replicas, the pictures of the cylinders on page 138 tell the whole story. when you look at the 44 cal holes, and the wall thicknesses between chambers, it is identical to the reproduction cylinder in scale & length...the rest of the pistol is in scale with the cylinder. Even what I perceived as an imperfection on the underside of the barrel is historically accurate (pages 98-99, 104-105). The barrel has the correct girth compared with most of the pistols in the book. I am completely amazed how accurate a reproduction this pistol is.
I like this revolver so much that I bought a 2nd one for a backup. As Rebel Rex so eloquently put it, it has excellent balance and is capable of tight groups at 25 yards.This dance is one of my 4 favorite cap & ball pistols ever. So far, I’ve fired 480 rounds through it without any problems. Boys, I highly recommend this revolver. This is one heck of a deal. I want to thank Cabelas for offering this fine reproduction. I want to thank Pietta for creating this fine reproduction. And I want to thank the author of “Dance & Brothers” - Texas gunmakers of the confederacy for all of his fine work and research in writing his book. I’m rating this pistol with 5 gold stars plus.
This Dance Brothers revolver appears to be a fairly close copy of the style of pistol Gary Wiggins classifies as a Type I. Other types included .44 caliber pistols with octagon barrels and rarely with recoil shields as well as .36 caliber revolvers with and without recoil shields and with round and octagon barrels. The greatest difference between the Pietta specimens and the originals is in the beefiness of the original compared to the reproductions. Mr. Wiggins gives the weight of the Type I .44 as three pounds six ounces while the Pietta is listed as two pounds seven ounces. That is quite a bit of difference. The overall length of most of the originals is given as 14 inches while the Pietta is given as 13 1\4 inches though my measurement yields something very near 13 ¾ inches. He also measures the cylinder as approximately 1 7/8 inches long. My Pietta measures closer to 1.736 inches but when measured to include the cylinder ratchet is indeed close to the 17/8 given for most .44’s in the Wiggins book. Since Mr. Wiggins does not specify how he measured the cylinders, I cannot know how closely the Pietta follows a particular pistol’s measurements and on top of that, Mr. Wiggins’ book gives a measurement of Serial Number 17 as 1 13/16. Perhaps different people measured differently. None of the original Dance pistols seems to have had a cut for shoulder stock in the backstrap butt while my Pietta does. That is pure carelessness on the part of Pietta.
I suspect that the originals varied considerably in weight based upon the appearance of the specimens pictured in Mr. Wiggins’ useful book. His excavation of the Dance factory site near Anderson, Texas yielded several castings of various parts of the gun including barrel blanks that were yet to be drilled, rough cut frame parts and trigger guard castings. Also of interest were several gauges that were used to determine the finished dimensions of the guns. It would make sense that the Dance machinists used go and no go gauges in a way similar to the way Colt used them. Still some of the barrels were drilled off center. In finishing such a barrel, it could be that variation in barrel diameter might be tolerated. Until someone measures a number of original Dance .44’s and publishes the dimensions he finds, we will have to go with the notion of variation. What would be most valuable to know is the dimensions of the frame. I cannot find that published anywhere. It is in the frame that much of the weight discrepancy between originals and the Pietta might occur. Those who think that the statements that the Dance was inspired by the Colt dragoon design might be better satisfied with a beefier version, but to any casual observer who, like me, has never handled an original, the Pietta replica offers a well made revolver that looks very much like the photos of originals. For those with an interest in Texas history, these pistols offer a relatively inexpensive and very well made pistol to display and shoot.
Let us hope that someone will eventually offer reproductions of other Texas made pistols including the Sherrard versions of the Colt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pietta Dance and Brothers .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Have no regrets buying this gun

Date:September 20, 2013
Only problem is the wood grips do not line up with metal. Wood is larger in some areas. I know they would replace it, but not that get of a deal.Well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pietta Dance and Brothers .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very pleased with purchase

Date:March 4, 2013
I bought this gun very happy with this buy its fit and feel is just great I love the round barrel and the weight is very good. But like another review says you just cant buy spare cylinders over all just a great gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pietta Dance and Brothers .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Interesting Dance Brothers Revolver

Date:February 22, 2013
Overall the gun was in good shape. Grips, frame case hardening color and barrel bluing were good. Cylinder bluing at bore end was not as well done. Some rust inside bores of cylinder. Opened up revolver and found that the trigger screw shaft was bent. Replaced screw with spare. Inspected further and found the following:
* smooth action and correct timing.
* 0.005" cylinder to barrel gap with hammer down and cylinder pulled back.
* cylinder bores to barrel in alignment were good.
* trigger pull out of box was 3 lbs. after polishing and lub, trigger pull now 2 lbs.
* fitted bolt to cylinder stop slots to ensure full contact.
* cylinder arbor fit to barrel was perfect.
* all internals of frame and related action parts were very clean with no flashing etc.
This revolver model has Navy size grips. From my research, this gun could have had Army size grips also installed. I installed a spare set of 1860 army grips and gives a better feel in the hand. (note: you must also change out the trigger guard as a set).
My only other complaint....could not find any spare cylinders for this model revolver from any source I checked. I have set this gun up as a shooter and display piece.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pietta Dance and Brothers .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love the Dance Revolver

Date:August 8, 2012
I have been a big fan of the J.H. Dance & Bros. Revolvers and I can't say enough good things about this Pietta Reproduction.
This is my 3rd cap and ball revolver and I must say that it shoots in the tightest pattern of all three that I own. The description that this is a "dragoon style revolver" is not totally off base. If you do a side by side comparision between the Dragoon and the Dance, there is no mistaking that it is a dragoon barrel. Even though the dragoon is much beefier all around, the Dance is still based on the dragoon style revolver.
I have also read "J.H Dance & Brothers-Texas Gunmakers of the Confederacy" and I must say this reproduction is pretty much spot on. I was a little concerned about the flat frame/ lack of a recoil shield but I have to say, that flat frame is a plus when it comes to capping the rounds with thumb and index finger.
If you are into Texas History, this revolver is for you!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pietta Dance and Brothers .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nampa Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding!

Date:November 29, 2011
I will simply say that the Dance brothers would be very proud of this reproduction. The quality is superb. Pietta's quality control has REALLY improved from 2001.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pietta Dance and Brothers .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Second Texas Cavalry
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazingly Historically Accurate

Date:September 29, 2011
Many people believe that Dance Brothers revolver replicas should be virtually identical in size to the Colt Dragoon because they have read in one or more publications that the Dance revolver was patterned after the Colt Dragoon. I too have read the same misleading information many times during the last decade, and in different publications. Who knows from where the inaccurate description originated, or how many decades ago it was first published, and then used as reference material.
For several years, I wanted to buy the Pietta version, but was turned off by the high price and the fact that in order to be historically accurate, you would have to change the trigger guard. I also was afraid there would be more inaccuracies. Historical accuracy is very important to me. I knew a guy who had a real one, so I took my 3rd model Dragoon & a ’51 Navy to compare sizes. Although that original Dance was a little beefier than the Navy or an 1860 Army, it was not even nearly as big and bulky as the Dragoon.
Just about the time I learned Cabela’s was offering the Dance with the correct trigger guard for much cheaper than their competitors, I came across and bought the rare book “Dance & Brothers-Texas Gunmakers of the Confederacy”. This is a great book with many photographs & much history. At the time it was written in 1986, the highest known serial # was 365, and fewer than 80 handguns were known to have survived. In the book, there are detailed pictures of 34 pistols and dug up relic pistols & parts. Since in essence the Dance Brothers revolver was hand made and hand fitted, there are no 2 completely identical. It was after I bought the book and compared the pictures with the ones of the Pietta replicas that I decided to buy one. That was about a year ago.
As far as proof that these Piettas are accurate replicas, the pictures of the cylinders on page 138 tell the whole story. when you look at the 44 cal holes, and the wall thicknesses between chambers, it is identical to the reproduction cylinder in scale & length...the rest of the pistol is in scale with the cylinder. Even what I perceived as an imperfection on the underside of the barrel is historically accurate (pages 98-99, 104-105). The barrel has the correct girth compared with most of the pistols in the book. I am completely amazed how accurate a reproduction this pistol is.
I like this revolver so much that I bought a 2nd one for a backup. As Rebel Rex so eloquently put it, it has excellent balance and is capable of tight groups at 25 yards.This dance is one of my 4 favorite cap & ball pistols ever. So far, I’ve fired 480 rounds through it without any problems. Boys, I highly recommend this revolver. This is one heck of a deal. I want to thank Cabelas for offering this fine reproduction. I want to thank Pietta for creating this fine reproduction. And I want to thank the author of “Dance & Brothers” - Texas gunmakers of the confederacy for all of his fine work and research in writing his book. I’m rating this pistol with 5 gold stars plus.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pietta Dance and Brothers .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

tiny

Date:August 4, 2011
pretty revolver, but reproduction is small, suitable for a young teenager's hand
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pietta Dance and Brothers .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Winchester, VA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good try but not exactly accurate

Date:July 8, 2011
Cabella promo states "By the end of the war, Dance and Brothers had produced fewer than 500 revolvers that were basically copies of the Colt Dragoon, but with a flat-sided frame and no semicircular recoil shields behind the cylinder."
This statement is very misleading. Yes they do have the flat-sided frame and no semicircular recoil shields, but the Italian replicas are not based off the Colt Dragoon revolver. They are closer in size to the Colt Army Revolver. I wish they were a clone of the 3rd Model Dragoon, they would be a nicer looking and a far more accurate replica. But otherwise this replica shoots just as good the Colt Army model. Just remember if you are into very accurate period pieces this model isn't for you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pietta Dance and Brothers .44-Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mesa, AZ
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

True Confederate Pistol

Date:June 1, 2011
Being a Rebel Artillery reenactor, I have wanted this pistol ever since I saw that replicas were available. Cabela's has it for about $40 less than anywhere else. Pietta has replaced the square trigger guard they first used on this pistol with the correct round one and it compares well with the originals right down to the space between the front of the cylinder and the frame. It has excellent balance (better than my .44 Navy) and is capable of tight groups at 25 yds. I had to change 2 of the nipples since my #11 caps were falling off, but otherwise, It is a great pistol
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.