Customer Reviews for FEDERAL Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case

FEDERAL Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case

Prairie Storm™ lead brings all-new performance to pheasant hunters. The proven Flitecontrol® wad combines with Flitestopper® (FS) lead to get patterns never seen before on the plains. 70% Premium® copper-plated lead shot and 30% nickel-plated cut-on-contact FS lead pellets offer better down-range performance with lethal results. The loads produce full, consistent patterns and more pellets on target with less choke constriction. Tests have produced patterns of 75% in a 30" circle at 40 yards, so you'll have fewer missed birds. Sold per case: 10 boxes per case, 25 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.609 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
21 out of 23(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Review 1 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great shell for pheasants

Date:December 9, 2014
I had absolutely no problems with these shells.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Shells

Date:December 2, 2014
Prairie Storm are the best shells that I have ever used for pheasants. They will reach out and touch them at long range
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One of the best I have used.

Date:November 27, 2014
For the first time this in a while, I was able to go out Pheasant hunting here in New Jersey. Now I have used many types of rounds to take pheasant down out of the air. But this has to be by far one of the best I've ever used. A little pricey but worth the money. I am going 8 for 8 with these rounds and a set of Carlson Chokes 1 mod and 1 improve mod extended. One bird on a long shot with improved mod choke was over 50 yards bird just crumpled. I am using #5 shot 3 inch shell 12 gauge I call it the reach out and touch me shell. Just don't forget to pattern your gun, but they patterned great out of my over and under.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fast but a little dirty......

Date:November 18, 2014
I normally shoot 3 inch 20ga Fiocchi Golden pheasant shells for pheasant hunting. I tried a flat of these because they are a little faster (1300fps vs 1200fps). These Prairie Storm Shells seem to have good performance on birds. To get the extra speed I think they are using a slower burning powder so they are a pretty dirty shell to shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent upland or turkey load.

Date:April 16, 2014
I knew the flight control wad was effective but after patterning my Mossberg 500 I was truly surprised. I fired one round of Prairie Storm FS Lead 3 inch #4 shot at 50 yards with each of the following chokes from a 28 inch barrel: Turkey, extra full, full, modified and improved. I also fired one from 50 yards with my 18 inch cylinder bore. The choke made very little difference in the high number of pellets on target. This is definitely my new go to load when I can find it in stock.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Knock M Down

Date:November 19, 2013
By far the best pheasant load on the market. 5 shot early or late season does the job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rev 1 Prairie Storm

Date:July 16, 2013
I shoot Black Cloud #4, three and a half inch, one and a half ounce for Duck Season and would put it against ANY shell on the market. But I am 57 years old and my sight and hearing is not what it use to be. I love to squirrel hunt but it is sometimes hard for me to see and hear them, and many times I have to take long shots. After using Black Cloud for ducks and being sold on it I saw Prairie Storm #6 and said ( This has got to work on long shots for Squirrel hunting). Man was I right. It holds the pattern longer and I am killing more squirrels than I have in a long time. Deadly, that is an understatement. Try it cause it's another shell I have found for what I need. Thanks Federal !!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best shells ever

Date:February 5, 2013
Purchased shells for pheasant hunt and I couldn't be more pleased ! 50 yard shots were not a problem. Don't settle for low power shells. Stick with the best
!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:January 29, 2013
I belong to a hunt club for the past 4 years. This is the first year I have used the Prairie storm and can honestly say either I have become a better shot or this ammo just kills them Dead!! I hit a pheasant at over 70 yards and it dropped like a ton of bricks. Only thing is this ammo is much more dirty. Only thing I shoot now!! I have even switched to using my 20 gauge!!
1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A True Phesant Killer

Date:December 26, 2012
I purchased a few boxes of this load while shopping at Cabela's. I gave a box to my friend so we could try them out. We were impressed! You know your shooting something & so does everyone else. Every bird I have hit was dead in the air. I don't miss very often. My friend had the same results. I ordered 2 more cases & I am more than happy to wait for the backorder time. I was using a skeet barrel & my friend a I/C. The ringneck that got up 20 feet away from me was turned inside out. These #5's are bad to the bone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

These hit hard

Date:November 26, 2012
These shells in 4 or 5 size shot will bring down birds with a quickness. The 3 inch mags are awesome too and people can always tell when you are shooting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Prairie Storm Are the Best

Date:November 19, 2012
This load is the very best pheasant load on the market barr none!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great shells

Date:October 31, 2012
This May be the best chukar load ever made.They also worked great on the Montana prairies.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Buffalo NY
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Crow Buster

Date:February 10, 2012
I use these for crows. 3 inch #4's. They are deadly. Best patter with IC or M. If you are going to spend the time and money on going hunting you might as well get some shells that work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bloomington, IN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great performance in the field !

Date:December 9, 2011
Late season pheasants are wary and long shots are the rule. Last year in Kansas I went with cheaper shot and paid the price with lost birds more than I'm wiling to admit. This year in South Dakota I tried the 2 3/4" No. 5 shot 1500 fps shells and I and my hunting partners were amazed at the range and dropping power on the birds. After the first morning my buds were asking for my extra boxes to fill their ammo belts. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Dakota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome shells

Date:September 27, 2011
these shells were awesome, they dropped birds easily out to 50+ yards with modified choke. I would recommend getting these shells next time you go hunting, definantly worth it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

worst pheasant load I have ever used

Date:August 19, 2011
This pheasant load isn't what it is all hyped to be. It is very dirty and it doesn't get the job done. I will stick to my cheaper remington and winchester pheasant loads. They do a lot better. This definately wasn't worth the money and I regret getting it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hunterdon Co, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Loads

Date:January 16, 2011
best pheasant loads on the market..we flushed 5 birds and 2 were out past 30 yrds and still knocked them down using an ic chock
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wyoming
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I won't use anything else

Date:December 20, 2010
This stuff rocks. I dropped birds out to 70 yards with this stuff. It packs a punch and leaves no doubt when a bird is hit. I'll never use anything else unless Prairie Storm some how gets better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Case
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hanover PA
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product

Date:December 15, 2010
I found these to be amazing at knocking down game. Every bird i hit went down just like a rock
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 23