Customer Reviews for FEDERAL Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box

FEDERAL Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box

Prairie Storm™ lead brings all-new performance to pheasant hunters. The proven Flitecontrol® wad combines with Flitestopper® (FS) lead to get patterns never seen before on the plains. 70% Premium® copper-plated lead and 30% nickel-plated FS lead offer better down-range performance. The loads produce full, consistent patterns and more pellets on target with less choke constriction. Ultimately, what it means is fewer missed birds. 25 rounds per box. Sold per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.406 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
28 out of 32(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Review 1 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Loveland, CO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointing product

Date:February 26, 2012
After all the hype with these new loads what a let down. I shot one box and had such horrible results I abandoned them altogether. Using an improved cylinder choke like they advertise I blew birds apart at close range or totally missed them. They had cycling problems in my Browning semiauto at times. Never experienced this with any other shells ever. They also pack a wallop of a kick with the 1500fps claim. While I did make one miracle shot at long range the majority of birds are not shot at distances of 50 yards. Won't ever buy again or recommend them to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Overkill at short range with lots of recoil

Date:November 20, 2011
I tried a box of #6s on preserve pheasants. What a mistake! At close range, the one bird was basically gutted with much of the breast taken with it. I also did not find that they were particularly good at longer distances, either. Serves me right for not patterning them beforehand, I suppose. Also, in an over and under they kick hard. I had a recoil-induced headache the rest of the day from shooting half a box of these. Never again - I am going back to my standard game loads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Huron, SD
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Horrible

Date:November 15, 2010
I have been phesant hunting for the last couple years with Black Cloud #4 and never, not one single time have I knocked a bird down and not found it promptly with the help of dogs. I was excited for Prarie Storm this season but quickly became SEVERELY disappointed with the results. I killed the first bird no problem but the next 5 were an entirely different story, This is 100% true with no exaggeration the next two were knocked down hard and unable to be found or caught by the dogs the next was visibly hit but kept flying,(ok poor shot on that one maybe) the next one rained down feathers on me while flying away and the last was again knocked down hard and not to be found. Needless to say the remainder of that box is in a SD corn field now. I patterened my Benelli Ultralight in the middle of this chaos and it was fine and consistent. My dad had not quite as poor but some similar results and he paid for the special choke(which he will be returning). I'm going back to Black Cloud #4
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tough on Birds

Date:November 28, 2012
First of all, these shells work as advertised. Hard hitting and few runners. The birds fall dead. However, they tear up the birds. When cleaning the birds at the end of the hunt we could tell which ones had been shot with Prairie Storm as they were shot up badly. I switched back to a more conventional premium shell. I will use these for late season when the roosters flush further out. I do not recommend these shells for early season. Furthermore, they cycled in my shotgun very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

If nothing else it promotes Pheasants Forever!

Date:December 18, 2013
I have been happy with these Prairie Strom shells for a few years now. The only thing that keeps me from giving tem 5 stars is all Federal shells seem to leave my barrel dirty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome!

Date:February 24, 2013
These are AWESOME! They kick like a mule in my SxS and if you don't open up the choke a bit you'll DESTROY a close range bird. Once you get the hang of them they are awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great purchase

Date:December 11, 2012
Have not shot these but they were just what I was looking for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect patterns

Date:June 3, 2012
I just recently patterned this ammo at long range on a standard 100 yard target at 200ft or 66 yards and there was a perfect distance between each pellet, the picture looked exactly like it did on the box. I was using the 3" 1 5/8 oz. browning extended light modified invector plus to let the flight control do its job, using a Browning BPS 12 gauge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kansas City, MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Good Shells, Probably not worth the extra $$

Date:February 26, 2012
Was very excited about these new Prairie Storm upland shells by Federal. Federal has always been my favorite shotshell maker. They do one thing (make ammunition) and they do it very very well. Anyway, I have gone through about 3 boxes, a mix of 12 and 20ga, so far this season. I agree with some of the other reviews. "Mangle the bird at close range". However, I "have not seen a significant range improvement". I think Federal's 'Pheasants Forever' loads that are Copper Plate Lead and 1500 FPS just are as good. OH..and yes..MAN do these PS shells KICK! I do not recommend a light weight 12/20 Gauge Pump or O/U, They will 'rap' you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammunition

Date:November 18, 2014
i love the knock down power with these! just make sure you count to 3 if you want to have a salvageable bird left!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the money

Date:October 29, 2014
I use along with Carlson's chokes designed for the Prairie Storm series. Get consistent performance and knock down. Worth the extra money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pheasant shell

Date:October 21, 2014
I have used the Prairie Storm since it first came out. It is great for the long Shots and knocks them down hard. But I use a more open load for shooting over pointing dogs for my first shot and the prairie storm for the second as the patern is two tight for close shots but great when blocking on a drive and long shots. Very few cripples with this shell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shells

Date:March 26, 2014
I recently bought my first 20 gauge. Switching from a 12 gauge that I've shot since I was 8. I figured I would compensate for the smaller bore with higher quality shells. After reading reviews I threw the 20 gauge 3" #5s praire storm in as my last shell for my pheasant/chukar hunt. So I had two standard #6s backed with one prairie storm. I only got to use about three of them on birds. I knocked down a chukar stone dead at about 55 yards with them. That's a solid shot for a 12 gauge, seemed darn good for a 20. I also hit a pheasant at about 20 yards. The left leg was hanging on by strands and the entrails we on the outside. I tested the pattern to try for turkeys, they are the same weight and size as standard 20 gauge turkey loads, but I found other shells with tighter patters for turkeys. So they will remain as my backup pheasant loads. They worked perfectly for what I intended them for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing shells!

Date:March 5, 2014
The best shotgun shells I've ever bought!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pheasant power

Date:November 19, 2013
Incredible shot shell. Knock down power and penetration like no other shot shell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pheasant Down

Date:November 12, 2013
What a great shell!!! 1500 fps, in an 1 1/4 ounces of 5 shot equals dead bird! Inexpensive round that does the job!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Down range dead birds

Date:November 5, 2013
Way more knock down power than regular hi-brass shells. In my Bennelli ultra lite i like a regular hi-brass first followed by 2 Prairie Storms. It is a combination that really reaches out if you miss the first shot or you are trying to complete a double. If you use Prairie Storms as your first shell you need to let the birds get out a ways because Prairie Storms are clearly more powerful and really stop pheasants dead. Almost never have a runner.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This stuff works!

Date:February 24, 2013
Downed more birds at longer distances. No cripples with these, just dont shoot 'em too close cause there wont be much left to eat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:December 11, 2012
I've shot 12 ga #5's 2 3/4" for two seasons in South Dakota. This stuff knocks them down. Even birds I didn't hit solid were dead. I think #4's would almost be too much. I am tempted to bring a box of 6's for calm days.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shells

Date:December 6, 2012
I used the #5 shot on pheasants, these worked great on the longer shots. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 32