Customer Reviews for FEDERAL Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box

FEDERAL Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box

Prairie Storm™ lead brings all-new performance to pheasant hunters. The proven Flitecontrol® wad combines with Flitestopper® (FS) lead to get patterns never seen before on the plains. 70% Premium® copper-plated lead and 30% nickel-plated FS lead offer better down-range performance. The loads produce full, consistent patterns and more pellets on target with less choke constriction. Ultimately, what it means is fewer missed birds. 25 rounds per box. Sold per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.581 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 62 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
56 out of 61(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Review 1 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2012

Disappointing product

By
Location: Loveland, CO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
After all the hype with these new loads what a let down. I shot one box and had such horrible results I abandoned them altogether. Using an improved cylinder choke like they advertise I blew birds apart at close range or totally missed them. They had cycling problems in my Browning semiauto at times. Never experienced this with any other shells ever. They also pack a wallop of a kick with the 1500fps claim. While I did make one miracle shot at long range the majority of birds are not shot at distances of 50 yards. Won't ever buy again or recommend them to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2011

Overkill at short range with lots of recoil

By
I tried a box of #6s on preserve pheasants. What a mistake! At close range, the one bird was basically gutted with much of the breast taken with it. I also did not find that they were particularly good at longer distances, either. Serves me right for not patterning them beforehand, I suppose. Also, in an over and under they kick hard. I had a recoil-induced headache the rest of the day from shooting half a box of these. Never again - I am going back to my standard game loads.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2010

Horrible

By
Location: Huron, SD
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have been phesant hunting for the last couple years with Black Cloud #4 and never, not one single time have I knocked a bird down and not found it promptly with the help of dogs. I was excited for Prarie Storm this season but quickly became SEVERELY disappointed with the results. I killed the first bird no problem but the next 5 were an entirely different story, This is 100% true with no exaggeration the next two were knocked down hard and unable to be found or caught by the dogs the next was visibly hit but kept flying,(ok poor shot on that one maybe) the next one rained down feathers on me while flying away and the last was again knocked down hard and not to be found. Needless to say the remainder of that box is in a SD corn field now. I patterened my Benelli Ultralight in the middle of this chaos and it was fine and consistent. My dad had not quite as poor but some similar results and he paid for the special choke(which he will be returning). I'm going back to Black Cloud #4
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2012

Tough on Birds

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
First of all, these shells work as advertised. Hard hitting and few runners. The birds fall dead. However, they tear up the birds. When cleaning the birds at the end of the hunt we could tell which ones had been shot with Prairie Storm as they were shot up badly. I switched back to a more conventional premium shell. I will use these for late season when the roosters flush further out. I do not recommend these shells for early season. Furthermore, they cycled in my shotgun very well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2016

hit or miss

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
does not help if you miss
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2013

If nothing else it promotes Pheasants Forever!

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have been happy with these Prairie Strom shells for a few years now. The only thing that keeps me from giving tem 5 stars is all Federal shells seem to leave my barrel dirty.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2013

Awesome!

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
These are AWESOME! They kick like a mule in my SxS and if you don't open up the choke a bit you'll DESTROY a close range bird. Once you get the hang of them they are awesome.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2012

great purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Have not shot these but they were just what I was looking for.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2012

Perfect patterns

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I just recently patterned this ammo at long range on a standard 100 yard target at 200ft or 66 yards and there was a perfect distance between each pellet, the picture looked exactly like it did on the box. I was using the 3" 1 5/8 oz. browning extended light modified invector plus to let the flight control do its job, using a Browning BPS 12 gauge.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2012

Good Shells, Probably not worth the extra $$

By
Location: Kansas City, MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Was very excited about these new Prairie Storm upland shells by Federal. Federal has always been my favorite shotshell maker. They do one thing (make ammunition) and they do it very very well. Anyway, I have gone through about 3 boxes, a mix of 12 and 20ga, so far this season. I agree with some of the other reviews. "Mangle the bird at close range". However, I "have not seen a significant range improvement". I think Federal's 'Pheasants Forever' loads that are Copper Plate Lead and 1500 FPS just are as good. OH..and yes..MAN do these PS shells KICK! I do not recommend a light weight 12/20 Gauge Pump or O/U, They will 'rap' you.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2015

Drop Dead pheasants

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Prairie Storm is outstanding! Turned my 20 gauge into a pheasant killing machine. NO cripples/runners just drop out of the sky dead pheasants. I really love this stuff and will not hunt pheasants without it... and yes I am speaking of wild Kansas/ Nebraska pheasants. I cant say enough good things about this product
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2015

Pheasant slaying ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Tried a wide variety of ammo and Prairie Storm is not only the best but drops more birds dead preventing run aways.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2015

Happy with my purchase.

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The Prairie Storm 12 gauge shells have great long range knock down power in both #5 and #6 shot. No jamming with a new A5 Browning !!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2015

Pheasant Hunt with Prairie Storm

By
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The Prairie Storm Shells preformed great! the store did not have 5 shot so I used 4. Probably a little heavy for Pheasant but it took them down hard. Great Loads!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2015

fantastic upland load

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
A great hard-hitting pheasant load! Consistent pattern gives me great confidence in the field and improved success!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2015

Excellent results

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have been using Prairie Storm for pheasant. After three plus years they are still my choice. They hold a tight pattern longer and have great long range knock down power.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2015

SD late season pheasants

By
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Early in the pheasant season I use just about any shell I can pick up cheap, but late season birds flush far and fly fast and high-I call it biforcation because they fly exactly half way between all blockers. I've had good luck with the Prairie Storm wackin birds at longer distance. They do cost more than the cheap shells so I usually wait for a sale.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2015

pheasant load

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
these shells shot through a light mod choke are deadly on pheasants
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2014

Big Bruise, lots of birds!

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
These rounds will knock down the birds, but give your body a kick. A good stance and gun placement is key, but these rounds were dropping IA wild roosters at 30+ yards, no problem.
Price is right, and buying local is always a plus.
I trust Federal to protect my life on the job, at home, and fill my freezer with deer and birds!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Federal Premium® Prairie Storm™ - Per Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014

Pheasant hunting

By
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Shell works great. Good enough that my hunting companions tease me that I'm cheeting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 44