Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers

RUGER Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers

Ruger revolvers are renowned for dependability, accuracy and reliability. All have six-round cylinders unless specified. Available: GP100 Model 1705: .357 Magnum/.38 Special, 4.2" barrel, stainless steel, adjustable sights, black Hogue® Monogrip. GP100 Model 1707: .357 Magnum/.38 Special, 6" barrel, stainless steel, adjustable sights, black Hogue Monogrip.
Overall Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
33 out of 33(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Review 1 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:June 2, 2010
I purchased a GP100 about 20 years ago as my first revolver; having grown up around Ruger firearms, I had a lot of confidence in their products. Mine originally came with the rubber/gancalo alves grips which I eventually replaced with Hogues which are now standard...that one change really solidified this into the perfect shooter. It is a very comfortable, balanced, smooth operating and accurate weapon. The blued finish has held up very well; if lost I'd replace it in a heartbeat. Ruger may not be as celebrated as Colt and S&W...who have a much longer history, but in my opinon is an equal when it comes to quality and craftmanship.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent revolver

Date:October 10, 2010
Just purchased the GP 100 357mag with rosewood grips. Not only is it a beautiful gun, but is a joy to shoot. I have partial paralysis in my hands, and found the triggers on s&w, eaa, and rossi revolvers just too difficult to pull with one finger. The trigger on the GP 100 is smooth and easy for me to pull, which enhances my accuracy. Very pleased with the accuracy of the gun. It is the favorite of all my handguns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great First Gun

Date:January 14, 2011
Bought at Cabela's on New Year's Eve. Told the salesman that this was my first handgun and he recommended the GP-100. The gun is well-machined and everything operates smoothly. The adjustable rear sight was accurate out of the box. As a new shooter, I was able to group my shots in small groups right away. The gun is heavy and handles the recoil extremely well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Duncan,Oklahoma
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Handgun

Date:February 22, 2011
Great gun! Have model 1707 put 100 rounds through it at least in the first 6 weeks! First handgun ever! Works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger GP100

Date:April 25, 2011
I have the GP100 6 inch barrel .357, and I couldn't ask more out of a revolver. It is powerful, very accurate, and just fun to shoot. I like the 6 inch, as it helps manage recoil a little more and gives you better velocity. I added a set of tritium sights for night use. I keep it loaded with Federal 158gr Hydrashoks on the ranch, and 180gr Buffalo Bore Hardcasts in the mountains.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Toms River, NJ
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger GP100 6" barrel, SS

Date:June 6, 2011
Bought one recently from a shooting range and I must say: This is an EXCELLENT gun. And it's nice to be able to shoot a cheaper .38 Special for targets.
I checked out the Taurus and felt the Ruger was much better made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hayward, CA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice job by Ruger

Date:July 20, 2011
I have this in 357 with the 6 inch barrel. This weapon fits the hand nicely and is well balanced. I used lead bullets in handloads and can achieve about three moa at 25 yards. Still tuning my loads but I'm almost positive the gun is more accurate than me. Really nice job in the mechanics of this gun. With the Houge grips the recoil is easy to control. Everything about this piece is top notch except for the cleaning. I just dont like cleaning but I have to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blued GP100 6 inch barrel

Date:August 12, 2011
I own a Ruger GP100 and a SW 686 plus they are very comparable in quality and I enjoy shooting them both. Can't go wrong with either one. The GP100 is a little cheaper but the 686 plus shoots 7 rounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas City, Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Favorite Pistol in the Safe

Date:September 4, 2011
Just picked this up for my 30th birthday in SS w/ 6" barrel shooting 158grain hollow points. I have not shot anything other then the 158's, but it shoots so well with them I don't plan on changing what I started with. I held the S&W 686, immediately knew it was not for me. The grips on the Smith were way to narrow and with it holding seven in the wheel the cylinder walls were pathetically thin in my opinion. I have heard of them cracking over time (with factory ammo and hopped up handloads). So I picked up the taurus 66, same feel as the S&W. Picked up the Ruger and first reaction I said sold, I will take it. This gun feels great and has great eye appeal.
Today was the first day shooting and at 15 yds, water bottles did not have a chance, took it back to 40 and was blowing up hedge apples about every other shot. Keep in mind that's right out of the box. If you are in the market for a nice wheel gun, check this one out. You will not be disappointed!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top gun

Date:October 18, 2011
I can allways count on Cabelas for a good price,Very nice gun for the price and can takea heave load.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

6 inch Barrel for real

Date:January 5, 2012
LOVE this gun. Started buying Ruger because this was so well put together. Fire 38s and 357s with no problems. Easy to clean!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicagoland
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun!

Date:January 11, 2012
Cabella's Outfitter was knowledgeable, helpful, and most courteous. The 6" GP100 is a pleasure to shoot. I like the smooth action, feel and heft. Really glad I selected this one, and have taken friends to Cabela's to recommend it to them
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Toledo, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A top notch revolver

Date:January 11, 2012
I have two of these 4" & 6", blued and stainless respectively. Both balance well and shoot straighter than my hands and eyes allow. The grips fit my medium-large hands well. The triggers are plenty smooth and weighted for a factory gun. Neither of mine have ever failed in any way and I doubt they ever will. The made in America puts this ahead of taurus and the price beats the smiths any day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome revolver

Date:February 22, 2012
The GP-100 is an impressive, big & heavy handgun. In Ruger tradition, sharp-looking & "built like a tank." Adjustable sights, 6-round cylinder, comfortable grips with finger grooves. As a .357, also easily handles .38 SPCL & .38 +P ammo.
Too hefty for daily civilian CC, but great for hunting, camping, & the range. (Maybe even too hefty for home defense - imagine trying to hide this in your waistband while answering the door...)
Much of the fun of shooting .357 magnum ammo includes the loud bang, muzzle flash , & smoke - but painful recoil is eliminated by this revolver's weight & grips. With recoil control & 4-inch barrel, accuracy is as good as it gets..
Awesome revolver. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Burbank, IL
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:April 2, 2012
I recently purchased a Ruger model GP100 - .357 magnum. It is a great gun, nice weight and balance, flawless operation. It is another firearm added to my collection that I will have for years to come..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top of the line revolver

Date:April 5, 2012
Picked up a used GP100 in store. EXCELLENT revolver. No hiccups, fine craftsmanship, will stay in the family for generations. Do the research, GP100's are some of the best .357s out there, competing with S&W at a lower cost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger GP100 .357

Date:April 23, 2012
This revolver fits into my big hands better than other more expensive makes and models. The rubber grips are very comfortable. The GP100 is built sturdy but not clunky and I like the feel and balance with the 4.2" barrel. It draws faster from a holster than a revolver with a 6" barrel. If I were going to use a .357 for hunting I'd get the longer 6" barrel. One can use less expensive .38 special ammunition for range practice, a big plus. The adjustable sights are a plus as well to dial in a particular load at a particular distance if so inclined. The cylinder pawl on my particular revolver very slightly scores the cylinder, fairly common with revolvers and not a big deal to me since I can fix it easily enough. I think the GP100 revolver is a great value for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My favorite handgun

Date:April 25, 2012
I currently own 5 handguns and since purchasing my GP100 it has become my favorite firearm. I got the 6 inch stainless model. I quickly mastered the 25 and 50 yard range with it usually shooting 38's. I had some success at 100 yards shooting .357's but my eyes aren't good enough any more. I recently installed a tubular red dot sight on it which helps my old eyes and am now hitting the 100 yard target with my friend spotting for me.
I have now shot thousands of rounds through it with no problems whatsoever. It feels good in my hands and it is easy to clean and maintain. It is a great addition to any handgun collection.............
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GP100

Date:August 13, 2012
I own many handguns and recently added this one to my collection. It is built like a Russian tank and shoots exceptionally well. I was looking at the competition and I hate to say it but they don't make them like they use to. I shoot magnum loads and the heft of this gun and the molded grips make it a pleasure to shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sherman tank

Date:October 27, 2012
Built like a tank. Shoots .357 very comfortably, little felt recoil. More comfortable than shooting .38 in a snobnose. Very solid gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 33