Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers

RUGER Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers

Ruger revolvers are renowned for dependability, accuracy and reliability. All have six-round cylinders unless specified. Available: GP100 - Model 1705: .357 Magnum/.38 Special, 4.2" barrel, stainless steel, adjustable sights, black Hogue Monogrip. GP100 - Model 1707: .357 Magnum/.38 Special, 6" barrel, stainless steel, adjustable sights, black Hogue Monogrip. GP100 - Model 1755 Match Champion™: .357 Magnum/.38 Special, 4.2" barrel, stainless steel, wood Hogue Stippled Hardwood.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.921 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
37 out of 38(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Review 1 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2016

GunFun

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
WOW, excellent weapon, zombies beware!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+12points
18out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2016

GP100

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
A very accurate and well made firearm. The trigger feels smooth and breaks well and the gun feels good in the hand. I added wood grips and fiber optic sights.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2016

Exceeded expectations

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
The Match Champion version of the GP100 is very accurate and reliable. I purchased the adjustable sight version because I like to load my own 357's and am glad this version was available. I did put a different set of properly sized shims in it for the hammer spacing to be correct. Now that it's slicked up to my liking I can't help but think that this is my all time favorite handgun. Revolvers still get it done and the Match Champion is no exception. It's like the trigger rides on ball bearings. With the punch of a 357 magnum and the smoothness of a custom trigger. It's a no brainer, get em' while they last.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2015

Disappointed...

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased the GP 100 Match Champion on the strength of lengthy research and the recommendations of so many apparently satisfied customers. When I handled it at my preferred gun dealer, the gun felt nicely balanced, and very comfortable in my hand. The trigger felt crisp, light, and smooth. Exterior fit and finish was very nice, but not quite up to the standard of my S&W 686.
However when I got it home and began to dry fire it some more, the trigger pull became increasingly stiff, and it was actually squeaking. Finally, the trigger began to lock up completely. I disassembled the gun, and found that that in addition to it being bone dry, a part called a hammer shim had not been installed properly, and had slid down into the frame. It took me an hour to retrieve it. Most interior surfaces were quite rough, and I had difficulty disassembling and reassembling the gun because the parts were misaligned and very stiff. After cleaning, lubricating, and reassembling the gun ( minus the hammer shims), the trigger action is now silky smooth. I haven't even taken it to the range yet, but I will be returning this gun to Ruger so that they can correct the shoddy workmanship. Poor quality control.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-27points
7out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2015

Impressive Hande cannon

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
The GP-100 in 357 with the 6 inch barrel is a visually impressive firearm. It is even more impressive on the range. I equipped mine with an easily added accessory rail and a red dot sight. Shooting 38 Special its easy to put 20 for 20 in the 8 ring or better on a B-34 torso target at 25yds. I'm looking forward to taking it outdoors this spring for longer ranges with mag loads.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2014

Possibly the best double action on the market

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have a few pistols and revolvers. I had no double action revolvers. I decided on the .357mag caliber because the recoil would be manageable. So I set about looking for a revolver that had looks quality and functioned well. I read reviews for different manufacturers. I went in to my local Cabela's and inspected the weapon. Immediately when I placed it in my hands I decided I would be making the purchase.
It is well balanced. Cocking it was smooth. It has a factory installed Hogue mono-grip. I have large hands and it fit well.
I took it to the range the next day and put 100 rounds through it. The trigger was crisp when fired single action. Double action did take more effort but wasn't bad or stiff. It was smooth no grinding for binding. Grouping was excellent at 12 yards (indoor range). Felt recoil was pleasant there was no pain after 50 rounds of factory magnum loads. Shot 50 rounds of 38 special and the gun was as steady as a rock. Another poster stated he may try it as a hunting gun. I would have no hesitation using it on a white tail or mule deer. The only regret I have is not buying this great revolver sooner.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2014

Awesome Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I went to Cabela's a few years ago looking to buy a sidearm to carry for protection from black bears while bow hunting for deer/turkeys. I did a lot of research online and made the mistake of just looking at prices and making my mind up before I ever went to the store. Fortunately, the salesman encouraged me to look at the GP100 before making up my mind. I'm glad he did. When I picked it up it just felt right in my hands. It's so well balanced and comfortable! It may be a little heavy, but I'm glad to have the weight when shooting some hot loads out of it. This gun kicks less than my CC Ruger LC9 when shooting .38's or smaller .357's. Anyway, the first time I shot it I was hitting a 10" target at 50 yards. I couldn't believe it. I have taken it on deer drives but I haven't had the opportunity to shoot a deer with it yet. I may end up putting on a mico reflex sight on it yet to make it a true deer slayer! Very satisfied with it! Never had any problems at all and I am confident that if I ever do Ruger will be there to back me up.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2014

Great Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought the 6" model. Gun was sighted in perfectly right out of the box. The hogue grips fit great and I have large hands. This gun is solidly built and will provide many years of service.
Single action is smooth and crisp.
Double action is not very smooth and (for lack of a better word) "clunky". After about 250 to 300 rounds the double action pull has started to smooth out and get less "clunky". This has helped to improve my accuracy. Hopefully more round will further smooth out the trigger pull.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2014

Every gunner needs this wheel gun.

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The Ruger GP100 is a "must have" for anyone who fancies themselves a hand-gunner. The GP100 has the strength to handle the hottest hand-loads and the flexibility to power down to light shooting .38's. Firing this tank of a weapon with the Hogue grips is a genuine delight regardless of the load. Perfect truck-gun, hunting partner, or range tool-this gun gets it all done and puts a smile on your face. A true delight. I've quite counting the 100's of rounds going through mine at a time-and it seems to shoot even sweeter with time. The Gunner will not be sorry relying on this weapon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2014

Excellent Balance and Accurate

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased the GP100 with 6 inch barrel specifically for hunting. It was balanced and the feel was excellent out of the case and has remained so after installing a scope. Recoil shooting the 357 magnum was negligible. Sight in was simple and easy. This revolver represents the Ruger quality and craftsmanship I have come to love. This is a quality handgun that shoots straight and will definitely last a long time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2014

The one to keep

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I've owned them all over the last 30 years, Colt, Wesson, S&W, and Ruger. While all of them have individual attributes, no other mid-sized revolver offers the strength and solid, vault like lock up of the GP-100. Over the years, as finances periodically became tight, or fads came and went, so did my pythons and 686 and model 19 and 10 S&W's. Not my GP-100, however. I don't shoot it more than a couple of times a year lately, but it sits at the ready in my wife's nightstand. She has a J-frame for ccw, but the Ruger is much easier for her to handle with hot loads. I highly recommend this gun to anyone who wants to only own 1 gun for home protection and hunting. I own lots of autos, but there's a lot to be said for the strength, simplicity and practicality of a good .357 revolver.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2013

Best gun ever

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
If I could only own one gun it would be this one with a six each barrel I have killed a deer at 100 yards, and chukers with the bird shot, and every thing in between.its a shotgun, pistol, and a rifle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 27, 2013

GP100 4"

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This is the second GP I bought and it is better than the first year they came out. Better grips and the trigger is great for a Ruger. I've fired some very hot loads out of it. So hot it would not drop the empties but none of the other hand guns would either. The gun is Ruger strong and will hold together under bad conditions. I shoot 110/125hp @1300fps all day long. The black 4" looks good in a brown leather holster. If I can't stop it with a 357 mag. I know I can stop it with a 500 S&W !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2013

Awesome Ruger

By
Purchased a GP100 Ruger and it is awesome. I love the fact that I can shoot both .357 and .38 Specials from this gun. It is well balanced so the recoil is minimal.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2013

Ruger GP 100 Pay attention to the 5 star ratings!

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Okay, I can't add anything from the other reviewers other than to pay attention, as the Ruger GP 100 has earned all these 5 star ratings. What attracted me to this weapon was the molded black Hogue grips. They are as comfortable as they come!
I wanted a revolver to add to my gun collection and I'm so glad I got the GP 100. Great target gun with the 38's, but if you want to attract some attention, put in the .357 magnum rounds in it.
Another thing I wasn't aware of is this gun is extremely recognizable. Almost everyone at the range is aware of this gun and it's excellent reputation. Many admirers and fans that comment "great gun"!
You can not go wrong with this weapon. It lives up to its reputation!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2013

COLLECTOR PIECE AND VERY FUNCTIONAL

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Looked at the standard 4" GP100 for months---awaiting an opportunity to purchase it. The day I went to get it, sitting next to it was the Royal Phoenix Model--Couldnt pass up the ROYAL for it beauty and great piece as the stock model. Got the best of both worlds with a fine handgun and the beauty of the Royal. Love it, shot great right out of the box at 20 yds and something to treasure.. The GP 100 is a great gun, but adding the Royal Phoenix model make it much more attractive and useful, naturally! With either, you wil NOT be disappointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2013

Can't go wrong with a GP100

By
Have owned a Stainless Steel 6" GP100 for a number of years now, and am completely satisfied with its performance and quality. After hundreds of rounds through it in all climates and situations, its fit is as tight and it shoots just as accurate as the day i purchased it. Excellent for hunting as well as target practice, 38's barely kick and 357's can be shot without fatigue setting in. The weight of the gun tempers the recoil while the balanced barrel brings it back on target quickly. An after-market front tube sights help with target acquisition, so consider the upgrade when you buy. Overall, an excellent high quality gun, you won't be disappointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2012

Awesome Revolver - Best .357 Magnum!

By
After searching the Web with my friend who is considering buying a GP100, I decided to post this review. I’ve owned a 6 inch, stainless steel .357 Magnum model for over four years and I love the revolver. I am a die-hard Ruger fan and the GP100 is just another outstanding product on their Iist of built-like-at-tank revolvers. Now, I know some folks who read this post will say that I’m an idiot but I use the revolver strictly for hunting hogs in Texas (to eat). Yes, I said hogs! I tried using a Super Red Hawk .44 Magnum but found that it was just too much gun for my taste. It just made good sense to me to use a handgun to hunt with that is easy to attain pin-point accuracy--not one that is capable of breaking my wrists. So, I bought a GP100 and never questioned its potential as a deadly hunting gun. I have mine outfitted with a Weigand scope base and rings combination and a Burris 2X handgun scope. It is a real tack-driver. I can tell you that a GP100 it is absolutely deadly on ‘small to medium sized’ hogs using 180 - 200 grain Cast Core bullets. I’ve always adhered to the “common sense” rules of hunting hogs so my GP100 has gotten the job done every time (over 10 hogs down). They never travel far after the shot either. I ALWAYS 1) use good Cast Core bullets, 2) choose the smaller hogs to shoot, 3) keep shots within 20 – 40 yards, and 4) shoot from an elevated position/stand, (or make darn sure I have good tree nearby if I make a bad shot). The GP100 is an awesome revolver, reliable hog-hunting gun, and is as rugged as a battle tank.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2012

Sherman tank

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Built like a tank. Shoots .357 very comfortably, little felt recoil. More comfortable than shooting .38 in a snobnose. Very solid gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruger® GP100® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2012

GP100

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I own many handguns and recently added this one to my collection. It is built like a Russian tank and shoots exceptionally well. I was looking at the competition and I hate to say it but they don't make them like they use to. I shoot magnum loads and the heft of this gun and the molded grips make it a pleasure to shoot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 38