Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells

WINCHESTER Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells

Potent, threat-stopping shells with distinctive black-oxide high-brass heads and devastating performance. Made in USA. Available: PDX1 410 – Developed for use in the Taurus Judge revolver, this short-range defense ammo is loaded with plated Defense Discs™ and plated BB pellets. Great for pest and varmint control, too. Per 10. PDX1 12 – 12-gauge shells loaded with three Grex®-buffered 00 buckshot pellets atop a 1-oz. rifled slug – a hard-hitting, tight-patterning combination. Per 10. PDX1 S – 12-gauge shells loaded with 1-oz. rifled slugs that break into three equal segments upon impact. This combination delivers critical penetration while compensating for aim error. Per 10.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.606 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
29 out of 33(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Review 21 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just as Advertised

Date:February 12, 2013
Patterns exactly as represented in ads at 5, 10 and 15 yards. Strictly for short range home or camp defense, as beyond 15 or 20 yards the three buckshot pellets disperse widely and could hit unintended targets. Fairly low recoil. Must be intensely lethal for its one intended use. Now loaded instead of pure buckshot in my home defense shotgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:January 22, 2013
Very symmetrical pattern. The three buckshot were evenly space in a circle around the slug. This was out of a short barrel Weatherby pump tactical shotgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Near perfect

Date:January 22, 2013
Great shot shells.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Home Protection

Date:December 11, 2012
PDX 1 To me is a great home defense shot gun round. Would recommend to use any time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Effective

Date:November 27, 2012
I purchased these shells for a Winchester Defender; I am not a hunter ...impressed with results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PDX in Taurus Judge - Poly

Date:September 17, 2012
Hot round out of poly Judge, still pretty accurate @ 15Yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best bang for the shell...

Date:July 25, 2012
Not happy with the amount you get, most give you about 20 shells.
But what it's designed to do, to take out the target. For personal protection, it's what I want to have in my gun. Shooting is great, not a lot of kick as I thought it would be... Just a great shell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Foothills of the Blue Ridge, VA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding

Date:April 18, 2012
Just put one of these in my new Taurus Circuit Judge (rifle/shotgun) and set a nice round watermelon about 20 feet away. One shot literally obliterated the melon, spreading pieces EVERYWHERE (none larger than 3")!
I cannot say anything technical about body penetration and such, but if what this shell does to a melon is any indication (vs. ordinary shot shells), I feel quite secure with my "Judge" and a few PDX1's close-by!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: stuart fl
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good ammo

Date:January 17, 2012
i was surprised as how smooth these fired in a 12ga mossberg, i test fired some out in the woods, i recomend them for a home defense round
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bellevue, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Devastation Plus

Date:June 7, 2011
Very pleased with the accuracy. 5 rounds thru Saiga 12 and 5 rounds thru Beretta Silver Hawk at about 30 yds. I can't imagine a scenario to use for home defense. For that I'll use the 410's in the Judge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eastern, PA.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What you see is what you get.

Date:September 1, 2010
I just had a chance to test a box of these Winchester PDX1 shells. I shot at paper and did some "plinking" with my 3" barrel Taurus Judge. The box for these shells shows a target with three large holes grouped around the X ring with BB shot holes scattered around the center group. That's exactly what I got on paper. I was looking to see if the copper plated discs had any tendency to "keyhole." I was surprised to see no such "keyholing." The discs appear to fly true to the target and must deliver an unbeliveable punch. My shooting at paper was from 10 yards. The semi wadcutters I usually fire from my Judge always group about 10" high at that range. These PDX1 shells are spot-on at 10 yards from my Judge. it's like they were designed with my gun in mind. Which I guess they were.
I reserved a few shells for "plinking" and they just destroyed the soda cans and 2X4s I shot at. In summary, I can't imagine a better personal defense handgun combo that the Judge and these Winchester shells.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Silverthorn, CO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PDX1-12

Date:June 9, 2010
I shoot the PDX1-12 from my Stoger 2000 with the modified choke. I was impressed with the devastating power of these rounds, so just to have a little fun I shoot a few cantaloupes, it sent pieces of cantaloupe 20ft in the air and completely destroyed them. I wouldn't want to be on the receiving end of these rounds, it is defiantly a great self defense round. Not sure if I would shoot game with it, it might destroy a lot of meat, I would stick with regular slugs for hunting big game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Scary deadly

Date:May 19, 2010
I have shot both rounds on paper targets. These are devasting to any target. It would be cool to shoot them against some ballistics gel and see how much damage they would cause against that. These are not shoot to wound rounds for sure
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-33 of 33