Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells

WINCHESTER Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells

Potent, threat-stopping shells with distinctive black-oxide high-brass heads and devastating performance. Made in USA. Available: PDX1 410 – Developed for use in the Taurus Judge revolver, this short-range defense ammo is loaded with plated Defense Discs™ and plated BB pellets. Great for pest and varmint control, too. PDX1 12 – 12-gauge shells loaded with three Grex®-buffered 00 buckshot pellets atop a 1-oz. rifled slug – a hard-hitting, tight-patterning combination. PDX1 S – 12-gauge shells loaded with 1-oz. rifled slugs that break into three equal segments upon impact. This combination delivers critical penetration while compensating for aim error.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
35 out of 40(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Review 21 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2013

410 PDX1

By
Makes a nasty hole in a target.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2013

Winchester 243's

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Holds the target, and gets the needed results.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2013

Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Top Quality!! Great prices!! Highly recommend!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2013

Excellent Home Defense Ammunition

By
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have a S&W Governor. I keep it loaded with 6 of these Winchester PDX1 Personal-Defense Shot-shells for home defense. This is my first "go to" weapon and ammunition for in-home defense. At my local range, I shot these shells at distances of 3, 5, 7, and 10 yards. The wafers and shot maintained a very tight grouping at 3 and 5 yards. The wafers stay fairly tight (couple inches) at 7 yards with the shot beginning to disperse. At 10 yards the wafers separate to about 3-4 inches diameter with the shot widely scattering. Keep in mind that the Governor has a 2 & 3/4 inch barrel. This is an excellent home/personal defense shell with great stopping power for in-home use from 3 -8 yards. I like these shells in a revolver (Governor or Judge) for home defense. The advantage of a shotgun with the maneuverability and reliability of a revolver.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2013

Personal-defense shotshells

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
No one better break into my house. These things are devastating. Practiced by shooting into 3/8" plywood. Really tore things up.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2013

Awesome

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
In my Bond Arms Snake Slayer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2013

Great for personal defense

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Very good for personal defense. Especially if you own a Smith and Wesson Governor or Tarus Judge.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2013

Just as Advertised

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Patterns exactly as represented in ads at 5, 10 and 15 yards. Strictly for short range home or camp defense, as beyond 15 or 20 yards the three buckshot pellets disperse widely and could hit unintended targets. Fairly low recoil. Must be intensely lethal for its one intended use. Now loaded instead of pure buckshot in my home defense shotgun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2013

Excellent

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Very symmetrical pattern. The three buckshot were evenly space in a circle around the slug. This was out of a short barrel Weatherby pump tactical shotgun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2013

Near perfect

By
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Great shot shells.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2012

Home Protection

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
PDX 1 To me is a great home defense shot gun round. Would recommend to use any time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2012

Very Effective

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
I purchased these shells for a Winchester Defender; I am not a hunter ...impressed with results.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2012

PDX in Taurus Judge - Poly

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Hot round out of poly Judge, still pretty accurate @ 15Yds.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2012

Best bang for the shell...

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Not happy with the amount you get, most give you about 20 shells.
But what it's designed to do, to take out the target. For personal protection, it's what I want to have in my gun. Shooting is great, not a lot of kick as I thought it would be... Just a great shell.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2012

Outstanding

By
Location: Foothills of the Blue Ridge, VA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Just put one of these in my new Taurus Circuit Judge (rifle/shotgun) and set a nice round watermelon about 20 feet away. One shot literally obliterated the melon, spreading pieces EVERYWHERE (none larger than 3")!
I cannot say anything technical about body penetration and such, but if what this shell does to a melon is any indication (vs. ordinary shot shells), I feel quite secure with my "Judge" and a few PDX1's close-by!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2012

good ammo

By
Location: stuart fl
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
i was surprised as how smooth these fired in a 12ga mossberg, i test fired some out in the woods, i recomend them for a home defense round
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2011

Devastation Plus

By
Location: Bellevue, WA
Very pleased with the accuracy. 5 rounds thru Saiga 12 and 5 rounds thru Beretta Silver Hawk at about 30 yds. I can't imagine a scenario to use for home defense. For that I'll use the 410's in the Judge.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2010

What you see is what you get.

By
Location: Eastern, PA.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I just had a chance to test a box of these Winchester PDX1 shells. I shot at paper and did some "plinking" with my 3" barrel Taurus Judge. The box for these shells shows a target with three large holes grouped around the X ring with BB shot holes scattered around the center group. That's exactly what I got on paper. I was looking to see if the copper plated discs had any tendency to "keyhole." I was surprised to see no such "keyholing." The discs appear to fly true to the target and must deliver an unbeliveable punch. My shooting at paper was from 10 yards. The semi wadcutters I usually fire from my Judge always group about 10" high at that range. These PDX1 shells are spot-on at 10 yards from my Judge. it's like they were designed with my gun in mind. Which I guess they were.
I reserved a few shells for "plinking" and they just destroyed the soda cans and 2X4s I shot at. In summary, I can't imagine a better personal defense handgun combo that the Judge and these Winchester shells.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 9, 2010

PDX1-12

By
Location: Silverthorn, CO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I shoot the PDX1-12 from my Stoger 2000 with the modified choke. I was impressed with the devastating power of these rounds, so just to have a little fun I shoot a few cantaloupes, it sent pieces of cantaloupe 20ft in the air and completely destroyed them. I wouldn't want to be on the receiving end of these rounds, it is defiantly a great self defense round. Not sure if I would shoot game with it, it might destroy a lot of meat, I would stick with regular slugs for hunting big game.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Winchester® PDX1 Personal-Defense Shotshells
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2010

Scary deadly

By
Location: Nebraska
I have shot both rounds on paper targets. These are devasting to any target. It would be cool to shoot them against some ballistics gel and see how much damage they would cause against that. These are not shoot to wound rounds for sure
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 40