Customer Reviews for SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol

SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol

The Smith & Wesson Bodyguard is a highly concealable semiautomatic pistol that functions as a go-to self-defense pistol. The compact and lightweight frame, 2-3/4" barrel and 5-1/4" overall length make it easily concealable. Polymer grip and frame with matte-black finish. Double-action only. 6+1 capacity. Backed by Smith & Wesson's Lifetime Service Policy. Made in USA. Kit includes: Holster, pistol rug and two magazines. Available: Bodyguard .380 – Integrated Insight® laser sight breeds confidence and puts your mind at ease. The feature-loaded laser gives you the option of constant-on or pulse modes and has an automatic five-minute shut-off to conserve power. It's adjustable for windage and elevation and complements the pistol's stainless steel front sight and a drift-adjustable rear sight. Melonite® finish. M&P Bodyguard – Fish-scale serrations on the rear of slide increases ease of use. Maximum Corrosion Resistant (MCR®) coated slide and barrel. Rapid second-strike capability. Thumb safety. Take-down lever. Stainless steel adjustable sights. Crimson Trace® Bodyguard .380 – Equipped with an integrated Crimson Trace laser system for quick target acquisition and peace of mind with the push of a button. The laser seamlessly integrates for easy activation and smooth draws. Drift-adjustable stainless steel front and rear sights.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.038 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
43 out of 52(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Review 1 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kentucky
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Slim, light, compact

Date:August 9, 2010
I just bought this gun today and I love the way it holds in the hand. Comes with a grip extension, regular sights, the laser (always intimidating) and is easy to conceal and carry. Time to go break it in. Great features and a low price. Why pay $200 more and not even get a laser? Highly recommended!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Big problem for the Bodyguard .380

Date:August 17, 2010
I received my Bodyguard .380 after several months of waiting for it to be shipped. When I got it, overall I was impressed with how it looked. I went to the range, and shot the first clip (Winchester 95 gr.) I shot was dead on with the laser site. I was happy until I put the second clip in. After a total of 9 rounds fired, the trigger mechanism failed, and would not reset to fire the gun. The range master and I field stripped it, and put it back together, but we did not see anything obvious or that we dared to fix.
Anyway, after waiting for over two weeks for a return shipping label from S&W, I finally sent it back for repair. I don't know how long it will take to get it repaired? When once it is repaired, will I ever be able to rely on it as a personal protection device. I mean, what if it fails again after a couple of rounds fired when I really need it? Where's the confidence level required with this gun for a personal carry weapon???
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: lake havasu city az.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bodyguard 380

Date:September 8, 2010
I just got back from the range and I am highly impressed with my new S&W Bodyguard 380. I replaced my Bersa with Lazer Grip, the gun was nothing but problems, too many to list. Maybe I got a lemon, I talked to other people and they had the same problems. Cabela's was great to work with and I replaced it with the S&W and am glad I did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love it!

Date:September 16, 2010
Just purchased this weapon last week. Felt really good in my hands. I shoot with either. Looked at all the competition. LCP and TCP are both nice but this was nicer. First 10 rounds fired flawlessly, recoil was what you expect, trigger pull was acceptable and all 10 shots @ 7yds could almost be covered with a quarter. That was unexpected. Did have one misfire later on but cheap ammo was I'm sure the blame. 50 total shots. Accuracy slipped near the end as I started to flinch. I said recoil was what you would expect not what you would like. Feels good in my pocket.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: stroudsburg, pa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

impressed

Date:November 18, 2010
the more i handle this gun the more i like it. i was torn between a few concealed carry weapons, the laser closed the deal but i wasn't sure till i got to the range and it was the laser that made the difference. with a 2 1/2 inch barrel, it' makes all the difference for a shooter of my ability. i think the trigger pull is just right for the purpose of this weapon. hat's off to S&W on this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet Pistol! Ladies this is for you!

Date:December 8, 2010
This is a sweet pistol for conceal carry. Ladies you can handle this with no problems. I put 200 rounds through it first day out - without any issues and no misfires. Very accurate! Did consider another pistol but had an issue pulling back the slide. Ladies if you want to conceal carry look at this one! It's great! I'm extremely happy with mine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: chicago
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

terrible trigger

Date:March 8, 2011
While the gun looks and feels great, try dry firing the trigger before you purchase. The trigger pull is ridiculously long with at least 15 pounds of resistance unlike the 6.5 S&W claims. There seems to be a big debate on the gun forums (S&W forum being one) about how the trigger is designed that way for safeties sake. Hogwash! this gun requires too much effort to discharge and the end result is inaccuracy. The Glock subcompact has a suburb trigger that is light years better than the bodyguard. Taking mine back asap!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

5 Stars for this Pistol?

Date:March 15, 2011
Hopefully, the folks giving this pistol "5" stars are true folks and not bots, automated responses or people from the S&W factory.
I am not impressed with the pistol. More disappointed with the functions and won't carry it as a CW.
Invest in a revolver for a ore reliable CW.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Almost Perfect

Date:March 30, 2011
O.K. I rarely ever write reviews, but I always read them. I read the reviews on here and this gun is getting a bad wrap. It's a great gun, and it is far superior to the LCP in many ways. If you've had the chance to test them both you'll know what I mean. First the gun is a little heavier and slightly wider than the LCP. It's almost the same length exactly. The Bodygaurd has much better sights than the LCP. and it has a safety. The LCP does not! I thought this was a big feature and I'm suprised more people don't comment on this. If your using it as a CCW, I would want a safety.
As for the accuracy, and trigger pull that others have commented on. Both the LCP and Bodygaurd have long hard trigger pulls. It's supposed to be an additional safety for concealed carry and it's all the LCP has as far as that goes. I found them both to be about the same accuracy. I'm not an excellent marksmen but I held 6-8" groups at 25 yards off hand. That's pretty good.
The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars as I found the laser sight to me a little difficult to operate. The LCP with grip laser is much better, but also more expensive.
It really comes down to the laser and the safety. Otherwise they are very compareable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Little Gun

Date:April 16, 2011
I've been looking for a 380 for my wife and I found a winner. Upfront, yes the trigger pull is heavy and long which makes it really safe for the intended purpose (pocket gun). I would have no fear of running 1 in the pipe. We took it out to the range today and dropped 100 rounds of WWB without a single failure. The gun ran flawless. Laser was pretty much dead on out of the box as well. Slide locked back on every empty mag and at 3 to 7 yards the accuracy was good. A little white nail polish on the front site would probably help with a quicker site picture. i will probably be picking up another one for myself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New England
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect CCW

Date:April 16, 2011
To be perfectly honest after reading some of the reviews I was pretty nervous about buying this gun, so i went to a range where you can rent guns and tried it out. I LOVED it! my wife loves it which is the real reason i bought it my ccw is a 9mm but she wanted something smaller she could drop into her purse. the trigger pull was nice and consistent, as well as a crisp break. my only complaint is the laser is difficult to turn on every 3rd ot 4th time we use it. I also read that the problems with the trigger breaking after a few rounds was fixed after the first 2-3000 were made and my serial # was in the 9000's so that shouldn't be a problem for any new buyers either.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little pistol! (I'm not a bot or S&W worker)

Date:June 3, 2011
Since the price on this gun has dropped so much, my choice was easy: I traded my Ruger LCP.
After an initial cleaning and an adding an additional magazine, I've put 300 rounds down range with no issues at all. Smith & Wesson seems to have worked out any issues this pistol might have had when it was first introduced.
Unlike similar .380 pistols (Ruger LCP, Kel-Tec P-3AT), the slide locks back on an empty magazine. The sights are much better, too.
The laser button has to be pushed hard on purpose to keep it from turning on accidentally while holstered or concealed. It does have an automatic off (5 min.).
The trigger pull is heavy since this is a carry gun, not a target shooter. It shoots better than I do, though.
With all the features, great ergonomics, and now a better price, this one's a winner!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality Concealed Carry Weapon

Date:June 4, 2011
I looked around for awhile for a quality ccw. I went to a gun show, and the slide on this gun operates much better than some comparable sub compact pistols. I love the manual safety, and the lazer is a nice option that the others did not have. ALL DOUBLE ACTION ONLY HANDGUNS HAVE LONG TRIGGER PULL. The trigger pull is just fine on this gun. It is not meant for shooting targets accuratley all day, it is meant for use within 5-10 yards for defense. Only ccw that I looked at and liked better was a Sig, but it cost twice as much. If you want a nice single action trigger pull option, spend the extra money on a sig, otherwise Easy decision, Went with the S & W.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Culver,IN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bodyguard 380

Date:June 25, 2011
Went out Father's Day to the range with my wife. I wanted her to be familiar with handling all my guns. Brought S&W M&P 40, M&P 9, and Bodyguard 380. I had read articles about the women's impressions of the380, so I was curious to find out if hers would be the same. I know this gun is not a range gun, but I believe you should have a certain degree of comfort level with a gun in order to use it effectively. Her impressions fell right in line with those that I read about. She was put off most by the long trigger pull. In the end, she did not want to even fire it anymore. The trigger pull is a design feature with a purpose. I keep that in mind. Smith & Wesson does not recommend staging the trigger. I admit that helps me be more accurate with it at the range but if it was a real life scenario, I don"t believe I would take the time to do that. I only have about 300 rounds through it so far. I have had no problems with it at all. Take down is simple and fast. Although I prefer the take down lever on the M&P better in that it only flips downward, rather than being removed. I only guess S&W had to design it that way. Pocket carry with a DeSantis Nemesis is my favorite part of owning and carrying this gun. It's there and I hardly notice it. I did not regret buying it and would recommend it. As long as you accept it's features and train with it, I feel it is a good CCW choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Omaha, NE
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice gun.

Date:July 24, 2011
I was split between this gun and the ruger lcp. I chose the S&W BG 380 because of the locking slide after last shot and the manual safety. The laser is an added bonus but didn't figure into my decision. I have shot both the LCP and S&W BG 380. I believe the trigger pull on the LCP is slightly better but that is the only advantage. This gun shot very well and has a great feel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great weapon, Great price!

Date:July 30, 2011
Purchased this weapon last week at Cabelas in Dundee and finally got around to shooting this weekend. I previously owned a Ruger LCP and it was not a good pistol, I got rid of it as soon as I could. Comparing the two is like apples and oranges, there is no comparison. The LCP's trigger guard would hurt my trigger finger every time I fired it, The BG feels great to shoot. The LCP was all over the place, The BG was accurate as all get out. I was shooting the center out of 1.5 diameter circles at 7 yards. The LCP did not come with a laser, the BG did and it was accurate right out of the box. The LCP stovepiped three times out of a box of 50, the BG ate anything I put through it. Does it have a long trigger pull? Sure it does, but so does the LCP. All in all, it is a far superior pistol to the LCP and I will buy another when I can afford it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florissant, Mo
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun...Extremely easy to carry-CCW

Date:August 17, 2011
I have fired a few boxes of ammo thru this gun and Iove it!! The laser needed a slight adjustment made easier by the tool included in the box with a new purchase from S & W. The only drawback is that it came with 1 magazine .....Second mag available in the $25 to 30$ range.........The laser sight is a much more affordable option than purchasing the crimson laser. This is an extrremely good option for CCW...I carry mine daily!! The Cabellas team was very informative and helpful in helping me to make an excellent choice!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gun +, laser-

Date:September 6, 2011
After runnin bout 700 rounds through this gun it has become a decent shooter with not one failure .As for the trigger, when you understand the purpose of this gun, the trigger is not an issue. . . IT"S NOT A RANGE GUN! It carries well in a rear pocket holster or in my vest. I like the gun.The only issue I have with it is the laser. I have replaced the buttons and now I am waiting for a new laser unit. I just wish S&W would have had the laser unit made by CT. Will I keep it? Time will tell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice weapon

Date:September 10, 2011
For what this weapon was designed to deliver I think S&W did a very nice job. I have shot about 100 rounds down range without any problems what so ever. I felt it was accurate in my hands as I could hit numerous rounds in a pop can at 10 yds that was setting on a box about 3 ft off the ground. I would recommend it however one of the great things about America is we have choices.
I did not give it 5 stars as nothing is perfect, however I would give the Cabela's salesman 5 stars, he far exceeded in service to me the customer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Herriman, Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One problem

Date:October 2, 2011
I love this little gun. Its a little snappy when you shoot it but thats to be expectied. The only problem that I have found is the sliding the take down lever to feild strip is a real pain. Other then that is worth every penny
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 52