Customer Reviews for SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol

SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol

The Smith & Wesson Bodyguard is a highly concealable semiautomatic pistol that functions as a go-to self-defense pistol. The compact and lightweight frame, 2-3/4" barrel and 5-1/4" overall length make it easily concealable. Polymer grip and frame with matte-black finish. Double-action only. 6+1 capacity. Backed by Smith & Wesson's Lifetime Service Policy. Made in USA. Kit includes: Holster, pistol rug and two magazines. Available: Bodyguard .380 – Integrated Insight® laser sight breeds confidence and puts your mind at ease. The feature-loaded laser gives you the option of constant-on or pulse modes and has an automatic five-minute shut-off to conserve power. It's adjustable for windage and elevation and complements the pistol's stainless steel front sight and a drift-adjustable rear sight. Melonite® finish. M&P Bodyguard – Fish-scale serrations on the rear of slide increases ease of use. Maximum Corrosion Resistant (MCR®) coated slide and barrel. Rapid second-strike capability. Thumb safety. Take-down lever. Stainless steel adjustable sights. Crimson Trace® Bodyguard .380 – Equipped with an integrated Crimson Trace laser system for quick target acquisition and peace of mind with the push of a button. The laser seamlessly integrates for easy activation and smooth draws. Drift-adjustable stainless steel front and rear sights.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.017 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
7
47 out of 58(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Review 1 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Guns

Date:March 19, 2015
Have had mine since they first came out. Shot several hundred rounds through it. Like it! Carried it for protection, reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Nice conceal but snappy and long trigger

Date:February 27, 2015
Truth be told, snappy, and the trigger pull is VERY LONG. Threrefore, it's not something you want to bring to the gun range for shooting fun. Although, This is a good conceal pistol since it's tiny and can fit in your pocket. Spend another $100 and go with a mid-size 9mm for the range. If you're set on this pistol, try the Taurus TCP and the Ruger models as well which are similar for pocket pistols.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worse triger I have ever seen in a firearm

Date:February 6, 2015
you will be lucky to hit a 50 gal barrel at 5 ft -- good belly gun - but the trigger pull is LONG and Heavy laser is useless in this regard - cant wait to trade it!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect for Concealed Carry

Date:January 17, 2015
Shoots a good group. Has the workings of all major semi-autos, yet smoothed down for no snagging. Easy to draw and fits in hand well. Plus the laser gives an added touch if you have time to use it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun, Great company

Date:January 15, 2015
Bought the BG and could not wait to get it home and try out. Gun shot a nice tight group. Some complain about the long pull of the trigger, remember it is a pull and shoot, not a match weapon for a pistol competition.
Only problem is, on the first shot, the top plate on the laser popped off and jammed the slide. I cleared the jam and continued to shoot.
Contacted S&W and they asked me to return the laser and they would replace it. I offered to glue the top back on, but they said they would prefer to replace it. Cost of mailing laser to S&W was cheaper that returning complete pistol
The laser was easy to remove.
It took less than 10 days to have a replacement laser return. S&W was quick on the fix.
In the mean time I was still able to shoot my pistol.
I liked it so much I bought a second one. Had no problems with the laser top on it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Choice

Date:January 4, 2015
Size, weight, fit and finish, accuracy, it's all here in this little pocket pistol from S&W. I did install the Galloway Precision trigger kit and highly recommend that if you want the most out of this little gem but tight groups at 20 to 30' are the norm. The integrated Crimson Trace laser is real nice to have. In a pinch, when your life is on the line you can carry this piece with confidence!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not for me

Date:August 16, 2014
I need to preface this with the fact that I am not all that accomplished with a handgun. That said, I find the long and insanely hard trigger pull ( 20 lbs?) make this pretty much unusable for me. By the time you do fire, who knows where the aiming point is? Beyond 3 feet or so, I might not even hit the target. And the safety should be renamed "death wish", if it is on and you were in a situation needing to defend yourself, you would be eating dinner at the Pearly Gates Café before you could release it. I did read that several PD's use these for backup, but have the safety removed! I plan on trying to trade this for a more user friendly model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate, no failures.

Date:May 13, 2014
Very accurate with no failures. Easy to conceal. Trigger pull will take a little getting use to. No problems with the laser. Fits nicely in cargo shorts pocket.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No, I am not a BOT

Date:April 4, 2014
Yes, I am human and I did purchase this weapon for myself about a year ago. While I did experience some problems with accuracy at first I attribute those issues to the break in period for a new and unfamiliar weapon. After several times at the range I can fairly consistently put a round in a pie plate at 25 feet and definitely make most shots count. For me, the laser on this weapon is a nice toy, a good way for S&W to make money but, it is useless. There is no accuracy with it and I don’t have the time nor inclination to send it back to the shop so they can tool around with it to see if they can get it to line up.
The beauty of this weapon is its weight and size. At just under a pound with 6 rounds (while I chamber a round at all times the magazine seems to stress with 6 rounds in it) it is the perfect carry weapon. I have a Chiefs Special Airweight that I love but the Bodyguard has replaced it as my permanent carry weapon. I also like the fact that you can chamber a round and not have to worry about having the safety on while this weapon is in your pocket. Also, with the striking hammer no need to worry about any firing issues – one reason I like my old school revolvers – but the Bodyguard eliminates this problem.
While I haven’t put more than a few hundred rounds through this – and I buy whatever ammo is on sale – I have had no firing issues whatsoever. All in all, if you’re interested in a small and accurate piece of protection, I would recommend this Smith as a good choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great carry gun

Date:February 28, 2014
Have shot about hundred rounds with no problem. Had to adjust the laser just a little. I carry it in case that looks like cell phone case. In fact my cell phone would not even fit in. Love that little 380. I got stop by highway patrol and was not carrying because did not have any thing small enough to carry. He told me that I needed to carry so I got BG 380.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not the best purchase ever

Date:January 10, 2014
Purchased this puppy on 12/27/13. Couldn't wait to try it out. Took it to the shooting range on 12/31/13. It has a pretty good recoil to it so make sure you have the proper grip! The lazer sight was off, and needed to be adjusted. It quit working altogether before I fired 30 rounds. It was a booger to just get it to turn on! I'm not sure how must good this will actually do in an urgent situation...I called Smith and Wesson and they wanted the lazersight back for a replacement. I mailed it yesterday. I still have the pistol, and it will function fine with out it, but thats pretty poor construction. The lazer and switch need some improvment! I would not reccomend this to someone that is going to depend on it working. Try it out at the gun counter! I hope you find this review helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for CCW

Date:November 20, 2013
I love this little gun! It took some getting used to because the trigger is very stiff and has a long pull. However after practice I have excellent accuracy even up to 55 feet (5" spread of 6 quick fire shots). I never use the laser site because it isn't accurate past five yards. I admit I didn't like this gun the first time I took it to the range. I'm glad I persisted because after about 300-400 rounds through it, it is smoother, easier to fire, and perfect for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SW bodyguard 380 acp

Date:November 4, 2013
Shoots great and feels great. I love mine. Here is the dope on this gun. Sent to Smith to have trigger pull adjusted. It is better takes awhile to get used to. The cover on the laser has a screw holding it down. It will work loose. Slowly gets worse. As the screw backs off the gun begins to jam. The slide won't completely work. Finally the screw backs off. The screw nearly sheared in half. If you get this gun watch for jamming. I sent mine to factory and it took 1 1/2 weeks to repair.
I would take locktite and tighten the screw down. The laser is fine. Gun shoots great without it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

S&W .380 Bodyguard w/laser sight

Date:October 15, 2013
The S&W .380 Bodyguard is a good pistol, however the build-in laser sight is a very big disappointment. I had to return the first pistol I purchased because the sight was more than four feet out of alignment and could not be adjusted. Thankfully, Cabela's allowed me to return it for a replacement. I found the pistol to be accurate up to a range of 15' using the main gun sights. I adjusted the laser sights to the 15' range and they worked for the first two shots. After that the laser went out of alignment and became useless. The pistol is good but the laser is trash; and for this reason I give the combination a three-star rating. When I say I would recommend this to a friend, it is for the pistol only.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect pocket pistol

Date:September 10, 2013
The Bodyguard fits my needs completely. With the holster that came with it it offers excellent concealment in one of the front pockets. Its size and weight make it the perfect pocket pistol for me whether I wear cargo shorts or Dockers. The trigger takes some getting used to as it is a long and heavy trigger pull but with practice I'm used to it. Accuracy at 21' or less is very good and more than adequate for personal protection. I'm retired law enforcement and the 6+1 magazine and laser coupled with its size and weight makes it an ideal choice for me for concealed carry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little pocket gun.

Date:August 26, 2013
I have put 500 hundred rounds downrange with my BG380. There have been no function problems, except that the last-shot-lockback sometimes did not do it's job. That seems to have resolved itself now.
It does beat your hand up a little after a lot of rounds. It feels like more than my 9mm. That is due to the narrow grip and the light weight. Those things also make it more concealable, so that's the tradeoff.
I am a fairly large man, but that does not mean I want to carry a giant lump of a gun. Yes, I know I could more easily stop a raging crackhead with a .45, but there are two things I think are more important than caliber.
1. Do you have it with you? I do not hesitate to bring this along. It is extremely unobtrusive with my pocket holster. I don't notice it and neither does anone else.
2. Can you hit something with it? Long trigger pull is not a problem if you practice with the gun. This will never be as acurate as a longer barrelled gun, but it's accurate enough if you practice with it and learn how it behaves. I see a lot of bozos at the range shooting huge guns they can barely hit a 2' x 4' target with at 7 yards. Not a good plan.
I recommend it if you want to carry as stealthily as possible and you are willing to put in some range time and learn how to shoot it well. You should do that with any gun you plan to carry anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best bang for the buck

Date:July 5, 2013
Great concealed gun. Well made and extremely light. The laser is set up for either right or left handed users. Just extend your index finger to just beyond trigger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disassembly Difficult

Date:June 17, 2013
Like the gun, easy to carry, which is why I added it to my collection. It would of had 5 stars except it is very very difficult to disassemble to clean. You have to turn a little lever then pull it out. Try and pull it out while you hold the lever against the spring, if you get that done you have accomplished the easy part! Aligning the little lever to put it back in is very hard. If Cabela's would take it back I would because of the hard to disassemble feature. Who thought of this?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great pocket gun

Date:February 26, 2013
I read the negative reviews about the trigger pull being too heavy… I have had mine for a little over a year and definitely do not agree! For a true DAO pistol it is just fine. Sure it is longer than a single action gun or one that is carried “partially cocked” but it is a small sacrifice for the additional safety. When firing slowly and being disciplined with my trigger pull I routinely shoot <2” groups at 10 yards. Under faster firing conditions the grouping expands to 4” or so, still quite acceptable. The laser works great in most conditions other than outdoors in full sunlight. I have experienced no feeding problems; it digests everything from my practice hand loads to my preferred defense loads flawlessly. The internal clearances are large enough so that any debris or dirt that may be floating around in my pocket with the BG 380 will not hamper its operation (think AK vs. AR). As others have pointed out it is not a target gun, but then again that isn’t what it was designed for is it?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Concealed Carry

Date:February 12, 2013
I recently purchased the S&W Bodyguard .380 for Concealed Carry. I took it to the range and fired 100 rounds through it. I have portions of several fingers missing from an accident and found that I was able to handle the BG .380 very well. It took me around 12 rounds to get the feel because of my hand, but it worked out great. Light, slim profile, accurate at 10 yds. and easy to carry with a pocket holster. I also use an in-pants balistic nylon holster. I highly recommend this handgun. Great value and extremely reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 58