Customer Reviews for SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol

SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol

The Smith & Wesson Bodyguard is a highly concealable semiautomatic pistol that functions as a go-to self-defense pistol. The compact and lightweight frame, 2-3/4" barrel and 5-1/4" overall length make it easily concealable. Polymer grip and frame with matte-black finish. Double-action only. 6+1 capacity. Backed by Smith & Wesson's Lifetime Service Policy. Made in USA. Kit includes: Holster, pistol rug and two magazines. Available: Bodyguard .380 – Integrated Insight® laser sight breeds confidence and puts your mind at ease. The feature-loaded laser gives you the option of constant-on or pulse modes and has an automatic five-minute shut-off to conserve power. It's adjustable for windage and elevation and complements the pistol's stainless steel front sight and a drift-adjustable rear sight. Melonite® finish. M&P Bodyguard – Fish-scale serrations on the rear of slide increases ease of use. Maximum Corrosion Resistant (MCR®) coated slide and barrel. Rapid second-strike capability. Thumb safety. Take-down lever. Stainless steel adjustable sights. Crimson Trace® Bodyguard .380 – Equipped with an integrated Crimson Trace laser system for quick target acquisition and peace of mind with the push of a button. The laser seamlessly integrates for easy activation and smooth draws. Drift-adjustable stainless steel front and rear sights.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.038 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
43 out of 52(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Review 1 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not for me

Date:August 16, 2014
I need to preface this with the fact that I am not all that accomplished with a handgun. That said, I find the long and insanely hard trigger pull ( 20 lbs?) make this pretty much unusable for me. By the time you do fire, who knows where the aiming point is? Beyond 3 feet or so, I might not even hit the target. And the safety should be renamed "death wish", if it is on and you were in a situation needing to defend yourself, you would be eating dinner at the Pearly Gates Café before you could release it. I did read that several PD's use these for backup, but have the safety removed! I plan on trying to trade this for a more user friendly model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate, no failures.

Date:May 13, 2014
Very accurate with no failures. Easy to conceal. Trigger pull will take a little getting use to. No problems with the laser. Fits nicely in cargo shorts pocket.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No, I am not a BOT

Date:April 4, 2014
Yes, I am human and I did purchase this weapon for myself about a year ago. While I did experience some problems with accuracy at first I attribute those issues to the break in period for a new and unfamiliar weapon. After several times at the range I can fairly consistently put a round in a pie plate at 25 feet and definitely make most shots count. For me, the laser on this weapon is a nice toy, a good way for S&W to make money but, it is useless. There is no accuracy with it and I don’t have the time nor inclination to send it back to the shop so they can tool around with it to see if they can get it to line up.
The beauty of this weapon is its weight and size. At just under a pound with 6 rounds (while I chamber a round at all times the magazine seems to stress with 6 rounds in it) it is the perfect carry weapon. I have a Chiefs Special Airweight that I love but the Bodyguard has replaced it as my permanent carry weapon. I also like the fact that you can chamber a round and not have to worry about having the safety on while this weapon is in your pocket. Also, with the striking hammer no need to worry about any firing issues – one reason I like my old school revolvers – but the Bodyguard eliminates this problem.
While I haven’t put more than a few hundred rounds through this – and I buy whatever ammo is on sale – I have had no firing issues whatsoever. All in all, if you’re interested in a small and accurate piece of protection, I would recommend this Smith as a good choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great carry gun

Date:February 28, 2014
Have shot about hundred rounds with no problem. Had to adjust the laser just a little. I carry it in case that looks like cell phone case. In fact my cell phone would not even fit in. Love that little 380. I got stop by highway patrol and was not carrying because did not have any thing small enough to carry. He told me that I needed to carry so I got BG 380.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not the best purchase ever

Date:January 10, 2014
Purchased this puppy on 12/27/13. Couldn't wait to try it out. Took it to the shooting range on 12/31/13. It has a pretty good recoil to it so make sure you have the proper grip! The lazer sight was off, and needed to be adjusted. It quit working altogether before I fired 30 rounds. It was a booger to just get it to turn on! I'm not sure how must good this will actually do in an urgent situation...I called Smith and Wesson and they wanted the lazersight back for a replacement. I mailed it yesterday. I still have the pistol, and it will function fine with out it, but thats pretty poor construction. The lazer and switch need some improvment! I would not reccomend this to someone that is going to depend on it working. Try it out at the gun counter! I hope you find this review helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for CCW

Date:November 20, 2013
I love this little gun! It took some getting used to because the trigger is very stiff and has a long pull. However after practice I have excellent accuracy even up to 55 feet (5" spread of 6 quick fire shots). I never use the laser site because it isn't accurate past five yards. I admit I didn't like this gun the first time I took it to the range. I'm glad I persisted because after about 300-400 rounds through it, it is smoother, easier to fire, and perfect for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SW bodyguard 380 acp

Date:November 4, 2013
Shoots great and feels great. I love mine. Here is the dope on this gun. Sent to Smith to have trigger pull adjusted. It is better takes awhile to get used to. The cover on the laser has a screw holding it down. It will work loose. Slowly gets worse. As the screw backs off the gun begins to jam. The slide won't completely work. Finally the screw backs off. The screw nearly sheared in half. If you get this gun watch for jamming. I sent mine to factory and it took 1 1/2 weeks to repair.
I would take locktite and tighten the screw down. The laser is fine. Gun shoots great without it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

S&W .380 Bodyguard w/laser sight

Date:October 15, 2013
The S&W .380 Bodyguard is a good pistol, however the build-in laser sight is a very big disappointment. I had to return the first pistol I purchased because the sight was more than four feet out of alignment and could not be adjusted. Thankfully, Cabela's allowed me to return it for a replacement. I found the pistol to be accurate up to a range of 15' using the main gun sights. I adjusted the laser sights to the 15' range and they worked for the first two shots. After that the laser went out of alignment and became useless. The pistol is good but the laser is trash; and for this reason I give the combination a three-star rating. When I say I would recommend this to a friend, it is for the pistol only.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect pocket pistol

Date:September 10, 2013
The Bodyguard fits my needs completely. With the holster that came with it it offers excellent concealment in one of the front pockets. Its size and weight make it the perfect pocket pistol for me whether I wear cargo shorts or Dockers. The trigger takes some getting used to as it is a long and heavy trigger pull but with practice I'm used to it. Accuracy at 21' or less is very good and more than adequate for personal protection. I'm retired law enforcement and the 6+1 magazine and laser coupled with its size and weight makes it an ideal choice for me for concealed carry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little pocket gun.

Date:August 26, 2013
I have put 500 hundred rounds downrange with my BG380. There have been no function problems, except that the last-shot-lockback sometimes did not do it's job. That seems to have resolved itself now.
It does beat your hand up a little after a lot of rounds. It feels like more than my 9mm. That is due to the narrow grip and the light weight. Those things also make it more concealable, so that's the tradeoff.
I am a fairly large man, but that does not mean I want to carry a giant lump of a gun. Yes, I know I could more easily stop a raging crackhead with a .45, but there are two things I think are more important than caliber.
1. Do you have it with you? I do not hesitate to bring this along. It is extremely unobtrusive with my pocket holster. I don't notice it and neither does anone else.
2. Can you hit something with it? Long trigger pull is not a problem if you practice with the gun. This will never be as acurate as a longer barrelled gun, but it's accurate enough if you practice with it and learn how it behaves. I see a lot of bozos at the range shooting huge guns they can barely hit a 2' x 4' target with at 7 yards. Not a good plan.
I recommend it if you want to carry as stealthily as possible and you are willing to put in some range time and learn how to shoot it well. You should do that with any gun you plan to carry anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best bang for the buck

Date:July 5, 2013
Great concealed gun. Well made and extremely light. The laser is set up for either right or left handed users. Just extend your index finger to just beyond trigger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disassembly Difficult

Date:June 17, 2013
Like the gun, easy to carry, which is why I added it to my collection. It would of had 5 stars except it is very very difficult to disassemble to clean. You have to turn a little lever then pull it out. Try and pull it out while you hold the lever against the spring, if you get that done you have accomplished the easy part! Aligning the little lever to put it back in is very hard. If Cabela's would take it back I would because of the hard to disassemble feature. Who thought of this?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great pocket gun

Date:February 26, 2013
I read the negative reviews about the trigger pull being too heavy… I have had mine for a little over a year and definitely do not agree! For a true DAO pistol it is just fine. Sure it is longer than a single action gun or one that is carried “partially cocked” but it is a small sacrifice for the additional safety. When firing slowly and being disciplined with my trigger pull I routinely shoot <2” groups at 10 yards. Under faster firing conditions the grouping expands to 4” or so, still quite acceptable. The laser works great in most conditions other than outdoors in full sunlight. I have experienced no feeding problems; it digests everything from my practice hand loads to my preferred defense loads flawlessly. The internal clearances are large enough so that any debris or dirt that may be floating around in my pocket with the BG 380 will not hamper its operation (think AK vs. AR). As others have pointed out it is not a target gun, but then again that isn’t what it was designed for is it?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Concealed Carry

Date:February 12, 2013
I recently purchased the S&W Bodyguard .380 for Concealed Carry. I took it to the range and fired 100 rounds through it. I have portions of several fingers missing from an accident and found that I was able to handle the BG .380 very well. It took me around 12 rounds to get the feel because of my hand, but it worked out great. Light, slim profile, accurate at 10 yds. and easy to carry with a pocket holster. I also use an in-pants balistic nylon holster. I highly recommend this handgun. Great value and extremely reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent For Conceal Carry

Date:January 9, 2013
Rented a number of semi-autos and revolvers at local ranges looking for ideal conceal carry pistol. After comparisons of 9mm, .38 and .380s this pistol won out, About 250 rnds thru it so far, just breaking in. Trigger pull is a little lighter now, but still long which is exactly what I was looking for. This is not a target pistol, don't expect any level of accuracy beyond 10 yds. It is ideal for close in personal protection.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:December 21, 2012
I looked at a lot of guns before purchasing this gun. This is by far my favorite. I've only shot about 200 rounds out of it, but so far it has worked flawlessly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LOVE MY FEMALE FRIENDLY 380 PISTOL.

Date:November 11, 2012
I own a few pocket guns, However, I have never been more pleased and happy with the purchased of my Smith and Wesson -- 380 Bodyguard.
After 50 shots, at 15 - 25 feet, with and without the laser, it was very close to the bulls eye within a few inches.
I love this pistol due to the hand grips are great for my small hand. I love the fact I can carry the pistol in my purse anytime without people knowing I have it just in case I need it -- its there for me.
I work as a property manager and deal with cash monies coming into the the office. I carry my 380 pistol in a hip holster.
My son has plans on getting one next week for his protection. He works as a security guard and wants to keep one in his vehicle.
Its a light weight pistol great for any woman to handle very easily.
Good Luck on the Range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for concealed carry

Date:November 10, 2012
I bought this gun a few months back and have absolutely loved it. I have been able to put about 400 rounds through it so far (both federal and winchester) without any problems.
The trigger pull is long and hard, but eases up after the first couple hundred pulls. I like that the pull is so long because I have no problem carrying with the safety off knowing that there is no way this will fire on its own.
I purchased a pocket holster for the gun. Since it is so lightweight and just the right size, it has become my everyday carry gun (I have a really long torso, so it is hard to conceal a gun on my belt or in my waistband).
This gun may not be for everyone, but be sure to at least check it out if you are in the market for a pocket gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Gun but...

Date:October 27, 2012
Nice gun. Accurate. Easy to handle. Cheap enough. Hasn't jammed. I like the built-in laser. The trigger pull is way.... too-long or I'd give it 5-stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Smith & Wesson Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good, not perfect concealed carry

Date:August 24, 2012
Its small size and thumb safety make it ideal for concealed carry. The very hard trigger pull spoils it as a fun range gun—but you gotta take it to the range anyway, because it takes practice to achieve even hit-the-barn accuracy with the hard trigger pull. The included laser was a buying point for us, but in practice the laser is less useful than we expected.
GOOD
Very small, ideal for concealed carry
Manual safety
Laser included
No misfires or misfeeds (till it broke)
Slide opens easily (my wife can’t operate the slide on the Kahr P380)
MEDIUM
Laser activated by impractical button
Laser dim, not visible in daylight
Trigger pull is so heavy that it compromises accuracy
Hard to see dark metal sights (fixed with white out!)
BAD
Quit working altogether after a few hundred rounds (slide won’t open)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 52