Customer Reviews for SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol

SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol

The Smith & Wesson Bodyguard is a highly concealable semiautomatic pistol that functions as a go-to self-defense pistol. The compact and lightweight frame, 2-3/4" barrel and 5-1/4" overall length make it easily concealable. Polymer grip and frame with matte-black finish. Double-action only. 6+1 capacity. Backed by Smith & Wesson's Lifetime Service Policy. Made in USA. Available: M&P Bodyguard – Fish-scale serrations on the rear of slide increases ease of use. Maximum Corrosion Resistant (MCR®) coated slide and barrel. Rapid second-strike capability. Thumb safety. Take-down lever. Stainless steel adjustable sights. Bodyguard .380 w/Crimson Trace Laser – Equipped with an integrated Crimson Trace laser system for quick target acquisition and peace of mind with the push of a button. The laser seamlessly integrates for easy activation and smooth draws. Drift-adjustable stainless steel front and rear sights. Bodyguard with Green Crimson Trace Laser – Integrated Crimson Trace  Green Laserguard system with front activation is windage- and elevation-adjustable. Adjustable stainless steel rear sights with a highly visible white-dot front sight. Comes with two magazines – one flat butt plate and one finger-rest butt plate. Bodyguard 380 No Thumb Safety - Armornite™ durable corrosion-resistant finish. Ergonomic grip. Ships with two magazines – one flat butt plate and one finger-rest butt plate. Bodyguard380 with Crimson Trace Laser, No Thumb Safety - Equipped with an integrated Crimson Trace laser system for quick target acquisition and peace of mind with the push of a button. The laser seamlessly integrates for easy activation and smooth draws. Drift-adjustable stainless steel front and rear sights. Armornite™ durable corrosion-resistant finish. Ergonomic grip. Ships with two magazines – one flat butt plate and one finger-rest butt plate.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.922 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 64 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
10
50 out of 64(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Review 1 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2016

Carry pistol

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Nice size, light weight, easily concealed, shoots great and a great deal at Cabelas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2016

Stay Away

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Run of the mill sold for a high price. Problems I encountered:
1. Trigger pull way too heavy and long
2. Hits palm with every shot.
Comparison between this and the Beretta Pico:
1. Way heavier and longer trigger pull than the Pico
2. Trigger made of plastic, while Pico has metal trigger
3. Grip design hits palm when shooting while Pico doesn't
4. Sights are less visible than Pico's and not made of metal
5. Hammer construction half as big as Pico's
6. Extractor half as big as Pico's
7. Magazine construction and spring less strong than Pico's.
8. Same size as Pico but a little lighter.
9. Both have flowless functioning.
10. Pico tested to 5000 rounds, Bodyguard has no endurance data.
11. A little thicker than the Pico.
12. Price higher than Pico's
My conclusion was that this was a cheap product sold at a ridiculous price by a reputable brand. I sold my Bodyguard for a loss two days later. I will keep my Pico.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-9points
0out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2016

You get what you pay for

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Brand new in box. Took it to the range. Loaded magazine, inserted it, racked slide, and the mag fell out. Turns out it had a bad magazine catch. After a 4-week trip to S&W, I get it back. Back to the range to try my luck. With WWB, Fiocchi, Blazer, and Sig ammo I am getting >50% light strikes. Some take 3-4 pulls to ignite! I'll sell it, take the loss, and buy a Sig like I should have done originally.
You get what you pay for, folks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2016

Be patient - it's worth it!

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Out of the box, my M&P BG 380 was tight as can be. A good cleaning and lube helped, and things got much better after a box or two of ammo was run through it.
Ease of control was improved greatly by adding a Talon grip to it, and my groups tightened up nicely. I also painted the front sight ramp with white flourescent acrylic paint, followed by neon orange paint, and a top coat of clear nail polish for durability. Worked great, and looks fantastic!
My BG didn't like Fiocchi JHP ammo - about a 10% light strike rate. Works perfectly with Blazer Brass FMJ and Winchester Kinetic HE JHP though. Fiocchi primers must be harder...
Very comfortable to pocket carry in a DeSantis Nemesis holster.
Being patient with this weapon until it smoothed out, and with the minor additions to it, I now shoot it well, and trust it as a backup or even a primary EDC weapon in summer attire.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2016

Excellent Small Pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought this before Christmas and have shot about 200 rounds through it so far with absolutely no issues. It is a great shooting small pistol.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2015

Bad clip lock design

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Guess its just me. Haven't seen any other complaints about clip staying in gun. Clip lock is extremely touchy and clip is always loose from gun when removed from my pocket. With the weapon loaded, you can grab clip on bottom, wiggle and pull and clip falls right out. Is anyone else experiencing this issue? Clip will also fall out of gun on occasions when you fire weapon. Is extremely poor design or I just purchased a lemon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-15points
10out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2015

Great Guns

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Have had mine since they first came out. Shot several hundred rounds through it. Like it! Carried it for protection, reliable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2015

Nice conceal but snappy and long trigger

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Truth be told, snappy, and the trigger pull is VERY LONG. Threrefore, it's not something you want to bring to the gun range for shooting fun. Although, This is a good conceal pistol since it's tiny and can fit in your pocket. Spend another $100 and go with a mid-size 9mm for the range. If you're set on this pistol, try the Taurus TCP and the Ruger models as well which are similar for pocket pistols.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2015

Worse triger I have ever seen in a firearm

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
you will be lucky to hit a 50 gal barrel at 5 ft -- good belly gun - but the trigger pull is LONG and Heavy laser is useless in this regard - cant wait to trade it!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-3points
5out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2015

Perfect for Concealed Carry

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Shoots a good group. Has the workings of all major semi-autos, yet smoothed down for no snagging. Easy to draw and fits in hand well. Plus the laser gives an added touch if you have time to use it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2015

Great gun, Great company

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Bought the BG and could not wait to get it home and try out. Gun shot a nice tight group. Some complain about the long pull of the trigger, remember it is a pull and shoot, not a match weapon for a pistol competition.
Only problem is, on the first shot, the top plate on the laser popped off and jammed the slide. I cleared the jam and continued to shoot.
Contacted S&W and they asked me to return the laser and they would replace it. I offered to glue the top back on, but they said they would prefer to replace it. Cost of mailing laser to S&W was cheaper that returning complete pistol
The laser was easy to remove.
It took less than 10 days to have a replacement laser return. S&W was quick on the fix.
In the mean time I was still able to shoot my pistol.
I liked it so much I bought a second one. Had no problems with the laser top on it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2015

Excellent Choice

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Size, weight, fit and finish, accuracy, it's all here in this little pocket pistol from S&W. I did install the Galloway Precision trigger kit and highly recommend that if you want the most out of this little gem but tight groups at 20 to 30' are the norm. The integrated Crimson Trace laser is real nice to have. In a pinch, when your life is on the line you can carry this piece with confidence!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2014

Not for me

By
I need to preface this with the fact that I am not all that accomplished with a handgun. That said, I find the long and insanely hard trigger pull ( 20 lbs?) make this pretty much unusable for me. By the time you do fire, who knows where the aiming point is? Beyond 3 feet or so, I might not even hit the target. And the safety should be renamed "death wish", if it is on and you were in a situation needing to defend yourself, you would be eating dinner at the Pearly Gates Café before you could release it. I did read that several PD's use these for backup, but have the safety removed! I plan on trying to trade this for a more user friendly model.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2014

Accurate, no failures.

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Very accurate with no failures. Easy to conceal. Trigger pull will take a little getting use to. No problems with the laser. Fits nicely in cargo shorts pocket.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2014

No, I am not a BOT

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Yes, I am human and I did purchase this weapon for myself about a year ago. While I did experience some problems with accuracy at first I attribute those issues to the break in period for a new and unfamiliar weapon. After several times at the range I can fairly consistently put a round in a pie plate at 25 feet and definitely make most shots count. For me, the laser on this weapon is a nice toy, a good way for S&W to make money but, it is useless. There is no accuracy with it and I don’t have the time nor inclination to send it back to the shop so they can tool around with it to see if they can get it to line up.
The beauty of this weapon is its weight and size. At just under a pound with 6 rounds (while I chamber a round at all times the magazine seems to stress with 6 rounds in it) it is the perfect carry weapon. I have a Chiefs Special Airweight that I love but the Bodyguard has replaced it as my permanent carry weapon. I also like the fact that you can chamber a round and not have to worry about having the safety on while this weapon is in your pocket. Also, with the striking hammer no need to worry about any firing issues – one reason I like my old school revolvers – but the Bodyguard eliminates this problem.
While I haven’t put more than a few hundred rounds through this – and I buy whatever ammo is on sale – I have had no firing issues whatsoever. All in all, if you’re interested in a small and accurate piece of protection, I would recommend this Smith as a good choice.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2014

Great carry gun

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Have shot about hundred rounds with no problem. Had to adjust the laser just a little. I carry it in case that looks like cell phone case. In fact my cell phone would not even fit in. Love that little 380. I got stop by highway patrol and was not carrying because did not have any thing small enough to carry. He told me that I needed to carry so I got BG 380.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2014

Not the best purchase ever

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Purchased this puppy on 12/27/13. Couldn't wait to try it out. Took it to the shooting range on 12/31/13. It has a pretty good recoil to it so make sure you have the proper grip! The lazer sight was off, and needed to be adjusted. It quit working altogether before I fired 30 rounds. It was a booger to just get it to turn on! I'm not sure how must good this will actually do in an urgent situation...I called Smith and Wesson and they wanted the lazersight back for a replacement. I mailed it yesterday. I still have the pistol, and it will function fine with out it, but thats pretty poor construction. The lazer and switch need some improvment! I would not reccomend this to someone that is going to depend on it working. Try it out at the gun counter! I hope you find this review helpful.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2013

Great for CCW

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I love this little gun! It took some getting used to because the trigger is very stiff and has a long pull. However after practice I have excellent accuracy even up to 55 feet (5" spread of 6 quick fire shots). I never use the laser site because it isn't accurate past five yards. I admit I didn't like this gun the first time I took it to the range. I'm glad I persisted because after about 300-400 rounds through it, it is smoother, easier to fire, and perfect for me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2013

SW bodyguard 380 acp

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Shoots great and feels great. I love mine. Here is the dope on this gun. Sent to Smith to have trigger pull adjusted. It is better takes awhile to get used to. The cover on the laser has a screw holding it down. It will work loose. Slowly gets worse. As the screw backs off the gun begins to jam. The slide won't completely work. Finally the screw backs off. The screw nearly sheared in half. If you get this gun watch for jamming. I sent mine to factory and it took 1 1/2 weeks to repair.
I would take locktite and tighten the screw down. The laser is fine. Gun shoots great without it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Smith & Wesson® Bodyguard® .380 Semiautomatic Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2013

S&W .380 Bodyguard w/laser sight

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The S&W .380 Bodyguard is a good pistol, however the build-in laser sight is a very big disappointment. I had to return the first pistol I purchased because the sight was more than four feet out of alignment and could not be adjusted. Thankfully, Cabela's allowed me to return it for a replacement. I found the pistol to be accurate up to a range of 15' using the main gun sights. I adjusted the laser sights to the 15' range and they worked for the first two shots. After that the laser went out of alignment and became useless. The pistol is good but the laser is trash; and for this reason I give the combination a three-star rating. When I say I would recommend this to a friend, it is for the pistol only.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 64