Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser

HORNADY Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser

Speed and efficiency help you load more cartridges in less time, and this unit offers both. It only takes five minutes to warm up, calibrate and start dispensing powder – two to five times faster than the competition. Easy to operate, it’s accurate to within ±0.1 grains and has a hopper capacity of 1,000 grains. Maximum throw weight is 300 grains. Once you empty a charge from the pan into the case, the unit will automatically dispense a new charge without having to hit a button – just return the empty pan to the scale. Features include an easy-to-use keypad, easy-to-read backlit display, automatic and manual dispense options, trickle function, three speed settings, over-charge protection and an easy-to-clean powder drainage spout.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.685 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
11
1 Star
12
49 out of 73(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Review 1 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2016

Great product

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Once you learn how it functions and don't shake the table while it working it works great. Use it to load long range loads. Loads have been very accurate with it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2016

Worth the price

By
Works as desired - amazed at it actually. Find the scale to be very accurate - verified against a balance scale. Has proven how poor my first digital scale was. If ever an issue with overcharge, nothing a little setting change hasn't solved. Have used it on BLC2, IMR 4895, Reloader 10x. Quick and easy to swap between powders. Has really improved my reloading experience.
If you understand how to adjust it (which isn't hard), I see no reason you won't love it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2016

accurate

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
this dispenser has worked good so far, i have only used it twice so far ,but has been right on, it slows down when near the setting, and just trickles out the last few grains.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2015

Very nice dispenser

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
So much faster and better than dip and trickle method. Have loaded about 600 shells since I have been using this unit. It does over charge about 2-4 times every 100 cases, but it tells you when it does and you just dump it and let it redo the charge. Much easier to correct than when doing it the old way. I am mainly loading 9mm and 40 S&W with it for now. Will be loading some 223's later on.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2015

Watch the DVD! Works great once set up!

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I reload rifle with this and once you make 2 minor adjustments that the DVD instructions show you how to make it runs perfect...very rarely have an over charge.
If you dont make the tweaks, it can go over and will do so consistently....push about 4 buttons and fixed and runs like a champ.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2015

Great Purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This powder dispenser drastically cut down the time it takes me to reload. A great product from a reliable company.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2015

Don't know how i did it before

By
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This makes reloading fast,easy and accurrate. I dont know why i did it the old way.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2014

Excellent piece of equipment

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I was very leery on buying this item due to some of the bad reviews that it had. I decided to take a chance and get it since Hornady has never failed me in the past. I'm oh so glad I did. I got the package and took it out of the box and set it up immediately. I validated the weights and calibrated the scale per the directions. The first powder I threw was IMR 4895 at 54.4 gn. First charge, spot on. I double checked the charge on my RCBS 5-0-5 scale, and it showed to be about .2gn short. I threw another charge from the Hornady Auto Charge and checked it on the RCBS scale again. Exact same weight, .2gn short. I decided to check the weight that came with the Auto Charge on the RCBS beam scale. Guess what, it was exactly .2gn shy of what the Auto Charge said. This says that the Auto Charge is throwing exactly the same amount of powder each and every time.
I had 50 powder throws dispensed, and had 2 of them overcharge. The Auto Charge informed me of this, and both were only over .2gn on the scale. You can't ask for much better than that.
This was done 50 different times, and never once did it overcharge without telling me or give an error. IMR 4895 is a stick powder, one of the more difficult to deal with (thus why I chose it to see if the Auto Charge really worked). I will say that I'm ever so satisfied with this Hornady product and I'm really glad I didn't spend the extra $100-$150 with RCBS for the exact same thing.
Get the Auto Charge and you won't be disappointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2014

Nice Dispenser

By
Country: Russia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This is what I was looking for. This is what you need for a true reload
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2014

Life made easier

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I recently purchased this powder measure and found it to be just "what the doctor ordered". The instructional video included is great. Safe and easy to use. I told a friend of mine about it and he is totally satisfied as well. Excellent buy for the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2014

Works better than expected.

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I purchased this product with some misgivings after reading some other reviews. When it arrived I read the directions and watched the DVD. After setting it up I tried four different powders ranging from TAC (a fine ball powder) to Rotumbo (a coarse stick powder). I experienced no problems with "overages" after adjusting the speed and using the mode button as shown in the DVD. I have a RCBS unit that is many years old and this loader is much faster and more accurate. I'm sure the new RCBS loaders work well but at a much higher cost. I am completely satisfied !!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2014

Makes reloading much easier

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The Lock-N-Load gives me the assurance that all my powder charges are dead on accurate. I've tried manual powder throwers and powder dippers, but neither come close to the simplicity and accuracy the Lock-N-Load gives me. There's an occasional overcharge, but the unit tells you about it. I've found the easiest way to correct an overcharge is to dump a very small amount of powder into the bin, and then use the "trickle" feature. Great tool! Highly recommended!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2014

Awesome, shouldn't have waited so long!

By
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Got this today and tried it out tonight, worked flawlessly. I loaded 50 rounds of .380 auto with flake powder.
The unit dispensed an exact charge on all 50 rounds. I was particularly impressed it handled the small charge of a .380 without issue. I compared a few charges to the electronic scale I'd been using up to this point and they both read exactly the same for all my checked charges.
The unit is a little annoying to clean out the un-used powder when your done. I think a wipe down with a dryer sheet will help a lot.
I don't know why some folks are having trouble with these, perhaps not following the instruction on warm up and calibration or perhaps a few lemons that made it out of the factory. I found it very simple to warm up, calibrate and start using without a hiccup.
I was planning to get one of the green ones but when this one went on sale I couldn't resist, glad I saved a big chunk of change because this one does exactly what I need!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2014

saves time

By
Country: United States
State: Rhode Island
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
use turret press . when I'm done seating and crimping the next measured charge is ready.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2014

Great Item

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Work very well. Just make sure you have a level surface for use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2014

Awesome Little Machine

By
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This is a great little machine, it drops consistently accurate charges within one tenth of a grain. If it drops a charge that happens to be 2 tenths of a grain over or under the selected powder charge, it warns you and asks for it back. It really cuts reloading time down.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014

Kickass Powder Drop

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This drop has saved me a ton of time on reloading 308. With varget I get occasional over drops because the powder is a larger stick type powder. I was able to fix this by slowing down the powder dropping rate. Make sure your Hornady Powder Drop has all four sides in contact with the table, the drop doesn't wobble and the drop rate is lowered a bit. Love this tool.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2014

I took back the blue touchpad one for this one

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
As my title states I bought the more expensive one and it was never accurate. I took that one back for this one. Brought it home set it up wiped it down with a fabric softener sheet to help get rid of static electricity. I set it up per instructions, I use 231 powder and it worked perfectly after first drop. It always drops exact charge. I have checked it against another digital scale that I have and it is within .025 of each. I am very happy with the Hornady measure. I am not a high output reloader and this measure works great for my use. I use a turret press and by the time I seat and crimp and put the finished round in the storage box my next charge is ready to go.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2013

Hornady Lock-N-Load Auto Charge

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Great product - Not for "High Capacity" reloaders or people with little patience. Single stage press, precision rifle reloaders will enjoy this product. Make sure you print out all "supplemental" instructions from Harnady to help tune the unit to your powder type(s). Make sure your bench is level and vibration free, if metal bench - ground it. Environmental interference from HVAC fans or heaters is possible. Any scale is a precision instrument and sensitive to its environment, even your breath. Read the instructions, enjoy and if your in a hurry stick with a capacity measuring device..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2013

Good unit read directions

By
I have had this unit for several years, loaded thousands of rounds with it. Using IMR 4831 and 4350 you have to set the unit using the Mode button to 1.4 this will slow the machine down for the last 1.4 grains of powder. This is explained in the instructions and is different for each type of powder. I can load 100 cases, 300 mag and maybe have 1 go over with this setting and all are within .1 of a grain. Very good unit will buy another.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 73