Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser

HORNADY Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser

Speed and efficiency help you load more cartridges in less time, and this unit offers both. It only takes five minutes to warm up, calibrate and start dispensing powder – two to five times faster than the competition. Easy to operate, it’s accurate to within ±0.1 grains and has a hopper capacity of 1,000 grains. Maximum throw weight is 300 grains. Once you empty a charge from the pan into the case, the unit will automatically dispense a new charge without having to hit a button – just return the empty pan to the scale. Features include an easy-to-use keypad, easy-to-read backlit display, automatic and manual dispense options, trickle function, three speed settings, over-charge protection and an easy-to-clean powder drainage spout.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.673 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
9
1 Star
9
36 out of 55(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Review 1 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Russia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Dispenser

Date:September 30, 2014
This is what I was looking for. This is what you need for a true reload
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Life made easier

Date:April 22, 2014
I recently purchased this powder measure and found it to be just "what the doctor ordered". The instructional video included is great. Safe and easy to use. I told a friend of mine about it and he is totally satisfied as well. Excellent buy for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works better than expected.

Date:April 18, 2014
I purchased this product with some misgivings after reading some other reviews. When it arrived I read the directions and watched the DVD. After setting it up I tried four different powders ranging from TAC (a fine ball powder) to Rotumbo (a coarse stick powder). I experienced no problems with "overages" after adjusting the speed and using the mode button as shown in the DVD. I have a RCBS unit that is many years old and this loader is much faster and more accurate. I'm sure the new RCBS loaders work well but at a much higher cost. I am completely satisfied !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Makes reloading much easier

Date:April 15, 2014
The Lock-N-Load gives me the assurance that all my powder charges are dead on accurate. I've tried manual powder throwers and powder dippers, but neither come close to the simplicity and accuracy the Lock-N-Load gives me. There's an occasional overcharge, but the unit tells you about it. I've found the easiest way to correct an overcharge is to dump a very small amount of powder into the bin, and then use the "trickle" feature. Great tool! Highly recommended!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome, shouldn't have waited so long!

Date:April 9, 2014
Got this today and tried it out tonight, worked flawlessly. I loaded 50 rounds of .380 auto with flake powder.
The unit dispensed an exact charge on all 50 rounds. I was particularly impressed it handled the small charge of a .380 without issue. I compared a few charges to the electronic scale I'd been using up to this point and they both read exactly the same for all my checked charges.
The unit is a little annoying to clean out the un-used powder when your done. I think a wipe down with a dryer sheet will help a lot.
I don't know why some folks are having trouble with these, perhaps not following the instruction on warm up and calibration or perhaps a few lemons that made it out of the factory. I found it very simple to warm up, calibrate and start using without a hiccup.
I was planning to get one of the green ones but when this one went on sale I couldn't resist, glad I saved a big chunk of change because this one does exactly what I need!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Rhode Island
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

saves time

Date:April 1, 2014
use turret press . when I'm done seating and crimping the next measured charge is ready.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Item

Date:March 25, 2014
Work very well. Just make sure you have a level surface for use.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Little Machine

Date:March 4, 2014
This is a great little machine, it drops consistently accurate charges within one tenth of a grain. If it drops a charge that happens to be 2 tenths of a grain over or under the selected powder charge, it warns you and asks for it back. It really cuts reloading time down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kickass Powder Drop

Date:January 14, 2014
This drop has saved me a ton of time on reloading 308. With varget I get occasional over drops because the powder is a larger stick type powder. I was able to fix this by slowing down the powder dropping rate. Make sure your Hornady Powder Drop has all four sides in contact with the table, the drop doesn't wobble and the drop rate is lowered a bit. Love this tool.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I took back the blue touchpad one for this one

Date:January 1, 2014
As my title states I bought the more expensive one and it was never accurate. I took that one back for this one. Brought it home set it up wiped it down with a fabric softener sheet to help get rid of static electricity. I set it up per instructions, I use 231 powder and it worked perfectly after first drop. It always drops exact charge. I have checked it against another digital scale that I have and it is within .025 of each. I am very happy with the Hornady measure. I am not a high output reloader and this measure works great for my use. I use a turret press and by the time I seat and crimp and put the finished round in the storage box my next charge is ready to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Lock-N-Load Auto Charge

Date:December 26, 2013
Great product - Not for "High Capacity" reloaders or people with little patience. Single stage press, precision rifle reloaders will enjoy this product. Make sure you print out all "supplemental" instructions from Harnady to help tune the unit to your powder type(s). Make sure your bench is level and vibration free, if metal bench - ground it. Environmental interference from HVAC fans or heaters is possible. Any scale is a precision instrument and sensitive to its environment, even your breath. Read the instructions, enjoy and if your in a hurry stick with a capacity measuring device..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good unit read directions

Date:November 18, 2013
I have had this unit for several years, loaded thousands of rounds with it. Using IMR 4831 and 4350 you have to set the unit using the Mode button to 1.4 this will slow the machine down for the last 1.4 grains of powder. This is explained in the instructions and is different for each type of powder. I can load 100 cases, 300 mag and maybe have 1 go over with this setting and all are within .1 of a grain. Very good unit will buy another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent results

Date:June 25, 2013
Easy operation providing consistant loads which is very important loading sub-sonic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

Date:April 23, 2013
This powder dispenser is well-built, reliable and relatively easy to operate. Like all products and especially those connected with reloading, it is important to follow directions, especially regarding warm-up time and calibration. In order to assure safety, these aspects are of paramount importance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great equipment for reloaders

Date:April 2, 2013
It was simple to use right out of the box haven't had any problem at all with the scale
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent purchase

Date:March 12, 2013
This product dispenses powder at a very good rate and is highly accurate. Using this product is a time saver, as it is much faster than using my manual powder dispenser and scale. In case the world goes to heck (worse than it already has) and there is no power to run my electric powder dispenser and scale, I am keeping my manual stuff so I can still reload.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT QUALITY PRODUCT

Date:December 5, 2012
I GOT THIS DISPENSER FOR A EXTRA BACK UP WHILE I WAS HAVING ISSUES WITH THE LYMAN ONE I HAD AND IT HAS BEEN A GREAT BACKUP EASY TO USE AND CLEAN. NOT AS TEMPERMENTAL AS THE LYMAN DISPENSER. SOME TIMES IT WILL OVERTHROW A CHARGE MORE OFTEN THEN I'M USE TO, MY OLD LYMAN HAS A SMALL SCREW IN BAFFLE TO HELP WHERE THE HORNADY DOES NOT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good product

Date:June 27, 2012
Sometimes you have to read the direction to understand the product. This product really works once you understand how the product works. If you say anything negative about this product I must say one thing PLEASE READ!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Faster than by hand

Date:June 11, 2012
If your looking for accuracy by weight and speed is not a big deal its what you want. If your looking for something to reload 223 for an AR or hand gun loads faster the old powder measure that measures by volume is what you want. If you set your self up to press a bullet while it measures the next charge you can really pump out the ammo its just about ready after your done pressing.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load® Auto Charge™ Powder Dispenser
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chaska, MN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than the RCBS

Date:April 21, 2012
I had an RCBS version of this and had 2 key pad failures so I bought the Hornady at a much lower price. I didn't realize what I was missing! I double weighed all loads with the RCBS because of inconsistency. I have found fantastic consistenct with this Hornady - and no keypad failures!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 55