Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula

HORNADY Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula

Lock-N-Load Sonic Cleaner – Take case cleaning to a new level of efficiency. Intense ultrasonic action teams with Hornady’s One Shot® Sonic Clean™ Solution (must be used with Sonic Cleaner to work properly) for an ultra-efficient means of removing carbon residue, tarnish, oxidation  and foreign material from the inside and outside of cartridge cases. Unlike conventional tumblers that clean only exteriors, this unit leaves cases completely free of carbon residue – even flash holes and primer pockets. Clean up to 200 .223-Reminton cases or up to 100 .308 Winchester cases. Also use Sonic Cleaner with Gun Parts Solution on small steel gun parts. Cleaning solutions sold separately. One Shot® Sonic Clean Cartridge Case Solution – Quickly removes most tarnish, oxidation and carbon buildup. 32-oz. bottle provides up to 64 washes. One Shot® Sonic Clean Gun Parts Solution – Safe for all firearm finishes. Quickly removes carbon, dirt, grease and powder residue from small steel gun parts. 32-oz. bottle provides up to 64 washes.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.282 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
34 out of 39(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Review 1 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

piece of junk

Date:October 12, 2012
second total failure of this cleaner. will not buy another. it is junk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: WESTCHESTER CO. NEW YORK
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PROS AND CONS

Date:January 14, 2011
CONS ,YOU NEED A PLUG SWITCH IN THE LINE INSTEAD OF PULLING THE PLUG WHEN NOT USING IT , YOU NEED A SINK NEAR BUY TO DUMP THE SOLUTION OUT . I DUMP MINE THROUGH A COFFEE FILTER AND INTO A GALLON CONTAINER .THE SEDIMENT FALLS TO THE BOTTOM AND YOU CAN REUSE OVER AGAIN SEVERAL TIMES . THE PRIMERS I STILL NEED A BRUSH AND POWER DRILL TO CLEAN OUT THE CARBON BEFORE I SOAK THE BRASS , IT DOES DO A FAIRLEY GOOD JOB , IT IS SMALL AND I WISH THE TIMER WAS LONGER THEN 15 MIN .I HAVE TO RESET SEVERAL TIMES . YOU ALSO NEED A COMPRESSOR TO BLOW THE SOLUTION OUT AFTER SOAKING IN CLEAN WATER TO MAKE SURE THEY ARE DRY .THE PROS / IT IS QUIET ,A LOT BETTER THEN OLD BETSY WHO COULD WAKE UP THE DEAD .I DONT KNOW WHICH IS LOUDER THE VIBERATORY CLEANER OR MY WIFE YELLING AT ME TO SHUT THE PROVERBAL SUBSTANCE OFF .IT IS COMPACT , PRETTY QUICK . IN ORDER TO USE THIS PRODUCT YOU HAVE TO DEVELOPE A ROUTINE .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

BAD PRODUCT

Date:December 9, 2010
I was generous and gave this product 2 stars because if you keep resetting it enough times it will eventually do a decent job of cleaning your brass. First off as others have said it is dumb that they didn't put a handle on the basket, but that is an easy fix and the least of the problems. I was cleaning 22/250 brass and had to do 10 cycles to get the brass MOSTLY clean. When I got all through some of the necks and most of the primer pockets were not clean. After all this work the main body of the brass was very clean. Also when you are done the brass is of course full of soap and water which must be dried. This tumbler is a far bigger pain in the rear than it is worth so I'll just go back to my trusty lyman tumbler.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Wilsonville Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hornady lock n load sonic cleaner

Date:June 12, 2010
This product does not perform as advertized. Using either tap or distilled water along with Hornady's one shot cleaner solution at the reccomended 40-1 ratio it will eventually clean brass and nickel plated cases but it will only clean about half of the carbon from the interior of the cases and the interior of the primer pockets depending on how heavy the carbon build up is per individual case. The maximum operation time of this product is eight minutes at a time and you have to continually reset the timer after eight minutes to continue the cleaning operation since it will take 30 minutes plus to clean a full basket of cases.
This quality of the product's construction is good, but it needs to have some of the bugs worked out because it just does not clean properly without spending a lot of extra time manually cleaning the cases by hand that it does not clean, Too time consuming. It will be retrned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ok product

Date:January 14, 2014
cleaner works good but it does take several cycles. Don't believe anyone that tells you one cycle and your brass is done. I had to run 5-6 cycles to get the primer pockets clean on 25 rounds of 270 brass. I do think it is a good product for the money. Just takes much longer than advertised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Doesn't meet expectation

Date:January 13, 2011
Got this for Christmas. I tried it out on 75 22-250 cases. I used the Hornady cleaner at recommended dilution in distilled water and it cleaned the outsides good but left primer pockets and inside dirty after three 8 minute cycles. After several cycles the primer pockets could almost be cleaned completely with a q-tip. (Handle each one..I hoped to get away from that) I had to run the brass through a tumbler to get them to my standards.
I have since used it on my 9mm brass and with multiple cycles it cleaned OK but not perfectly. It still has problems getting the primer pocket really clean. The solution can/will darken nickel plated cases.
It did work well for my wife's jewelry (using soapy water), and I will try it out on gun parts later but I wouldn't get rid of my tumbler just yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Pflugerville, Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not so great

Date:November 15, 2010
Purchased this yesterday. Mixed the cleaner, and put the item to use. Ran four times, and let brass sit in mixture over night. Ran twice more this morning, and dumped brass into RO water. Then started the process of wiping them down (.380 brass ONLY) and inspecting them. Of 67 brass, 27 came out acceptable, 25 had dirty primer holes, and 15 had residue inside the case. AND, as I write this, I find out the item went on sales this morning for $20 less. Well, that's my misfortune, but I'm not sure that at $20 cheaper, it's that great of a buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Sonic cleaner

Date:December 8, 2013
Got mine on sale which made it worth a try. I am pleased with it's performance thus far. It has a small capacity, but I knew that going in to it. Two-three 8 min. cycles should get your brass ready to reload. A single layer of brass in the basket seems to work best. I can get about 25-30 .25-06 cases done at a time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good, but not great

Date:October 28, 2013
I like the Hornady Sonic cleaner, don't get me wrong. I just think that the literature and TV ads are a bit optimistic about cleaning times and getting brass clean in one session. I have had to run .223 brass through several (3) cycles to get them clean and that was after making sure that I had used the correct ratio of the Hornady Sonic cleaning solution. Clean brass does cycle through your reloading dies much better than the dirty stuff. Overall I would recommend the product, but cannot go 5 stars due the extra time required for cleaning.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sonic cleaner

Date:March 19, 2013
Really like it, I tried an off brand cleaner because the Hornady cleaner was out of stock did not work so well then found some Hornady sonic case cleaner and it worked great I was very satisfied with the results. Be careful when ordering from the Cabelas though they make it sound like it comes as a kit with the cleaner but it doesn't.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than corn cob

Date:February 27, 2013
Much faster and better results than with a tumbler. Two cycles will do it, rinse under very hot water let air dry on a piece of screen.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome product

Date:January 24, 2013
What it does, it does extremely well. For Brass it's the best. The only downfall is it does not offer any smaller or different "Basket" for doing small gun parts, jewelery, etc. But they do sell the cleaner. That doesn't make much sense!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Get the right formula for the job.

Date:August 28, 2012
I was using a bottle of the gun parts cleaner for my brass because I got it with the unit when I bought it. Bad move. The results were very lackluster. I went and got the brass cleaning formula and it made a wolrd of difference. Nice shiny brass now in a fraction of the time I was sonicating in the parts cleaner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It Works...but don't expect expedience.

Date:December 2, 2010
This is my first time to purchase a sonic cleaner. We use a bench top model at work which has about a gallon capacity, heater and longer time cycles, it does a great job on our machine parts. But have not tried it on brass casings.
Out of the box it looks great, my tray did have handles...lol . I was quick to notice that this sonic cleaner did not have a heater. Very quiet and light weight, which may be a blessing since you have to dump the liquid from the unit by turning it upside down over a sink. Not a big deal since it is smaller and lighter than a bucket full of water.
EXPERIENCE:
I had some brass for my .223 that had only been fired once, so I de-capped about 120 rounds and put them through the test. I used the unit as directed filling it with the distilled water and then the cleaner. I could not fit all of the brass into the basket so I only put in about 80 rounds.
After the first run of 8 minutes the cleaning solution had turned black. After checking the brass I could tell that it was going to need more time, so I ran it through two more cycles...Hornady recommends that only (3) 480 sec. cycles be run before letting the unit cool down for a minimum of 3 minutes. After the 3rd running, I rinsed the brass in the basket then dumped out the contents onto a paper towel. I then placed the remainder of my uncleaned brass into the basket and ran it for another 3 cycles. Again I rinsed and emptied the basket.
After a quick visual inspection of the brass it was easy to tell that I was going to have to put the brass back through several more cycles. This is where I changed the cleaning solution. I dumped out the dirty and put in a new solution, which I left in for the duration of the cleaning. I also reduced the amount of brass down to about 20 (+) casings...just enough to cover the bottom of the basket. Honestly, I lost count of how many cycles I ran to get the brass clean. I can tell you that I ran at least 2 more series of 3 cycle runs, on each batch. It took the greater part of 5 to 6 hours to clean this lot of brass to my expectations.
OBSERVATIONS:
Here is what I observed during the cleaning process. The first cycle of 480 sec's took out most all of the charred powder residue but the inside still looked dirty...after 3 cycles of the 480 sec runs (the max the timer will allow) the inside was looking more acceptable...but remember I had about 80 casings in the basket up to this point. The outside also had tarnish marks over about 25% of the shell cases, the other 75% was starting to look acceptable but not like a new case.
After the new solution was added, I continued to run the 480 sec runs, inspecting the brass after each cycle, and the cleaning was improving...the insides were starting to show some luster and the outsides were getting cleaner. The most discouraging part to me was having to continually running the unit to get the pockets clean. After every run I could eliminate a few cases that had shinny pockets but it was only a small percentage per run. Dirty specs or small blotches appeared in and around the primer pockets.
Definitely a s low process, much slower than I ever expected. But the end result was a nice looking case, much like the one shown on the box.
I am tempted to use Hornady's cleaner and our sonic unit at work and see if there is a difference in the time and quality.
After my experience, I researched sonic cleaners online and discovered some interesting tid bits about sonic cleaners. There are many different types of transducers (the part that makes the sonic wave) and depending on how many and where they are located can make a great difference in the cleaning action of the unit. Wattage also appears to be a factor. Some transducers have more power than others and the most common one is a 40,000 Hz, there are some out there that are listed as 27,000 Hz.
The efficiency of the cleaning action is based on several factors, the amount of material that you are cleaning (too much absorbs the sonic energy) (fewer parts will clean faster), the type of cleaning solution (I used Hornady's sonic cleaner) and the duration of the cleaning cycle(s).
Hornady appears to use a bottom mounted transducer and from the appearance of the tank there is only one.
CONCLUSION:
In conclusion of having used this unit, I can not honestly say that this is a bad unit. I will have to do more research and try other sonic units before I can honestly say anything too negative about the unit. Until I can test other units, this one will look great on my bench and will give the kids plenty of hours helping Dad to reload.
It does a great job of cleaning, but you have to have a lot of time on your hands with this unit.
One final note: You also want to inspect each case after cleaning to make certain that they are clean all the way through.
My son was helping me look at the primer pockets and told me that he found one that was plugged. This was upsetting to me since we had ran the unit for half a day and one was still plugged. Blowing through the primer pocket popped out a very clean spider.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Understand before you buy

Date:October 28, 2010
I recently purchased this unit from Cabela's w/case cleaner. I have been using a tumbler but did not like the media dust, clogged primer pockets and the need to use my hands to remove media from bottleneck cartridges (look at your hands after sifting through and sorting 50+ cartridges... )
By going to a liquid treatment I am trading in one set of problems for another. For those who have never used this type of cleaner, here is a quick rundown.
- Place deprimed cases in basket. Understand the more you put in, the longer it will take. While the basket might hold 100 rifle cases, you will take a lot of cycles to clean this many (brass absorbs the sonic energy). Consider smaller batches (20 cases at a time).
- Pour in distilled water to cover cases. Mix in appropriate amount of cleaner.
- Begin 8 minute cycles. Ten round of good brass might be done in one cycle. 100 dirty cases might take 6+ cycles. Inspect each cycle until you get your cases cleaned to your satisfaction.
- Drain, rinse with distilled water and let dry overnight.
That's pretty much it. I knocked it a star due to the lack of basket handles (I made one from zip ties in about 20 seconds).
For me, I prefer this method to the traditional tumblers. My cases are cleaner and I don't run the risk of missing a clogged primer pocket. However, if you are put off having to check the cases every 8 minutes or letting the unit cool down, this cleaner is not for you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Omaha, NE
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Far better than solid media tumblers.

Date:June 23, 2010
Normally requires three-six 8 minute cycles to clean normal "once-fired-since-last-cleaning" cases to a condition better than slower and noisier solid media -with no sifting and no media stuck in primer holes. Stand the cases on end or tipped to a steep angle on the edge of a cookie sheet over newspaper to let them dry.
Relatively quiet operation that does require user to reset and restart every 8 minutes. Unit does warm up the water from operation so I would assume the system gets warm as well thus the required periodic cooling cycle.
Distilled water and 40-1 solution. The hardest of caked on crud may take longer than 30 minutes. (Unit requires a 15 minute cool down after every 24 minutes of operation)
Gave up a star for no handle on the basket and no basket cover. Made my own by drilling four pinholes in the basket top edge above the water line and threading through two string handles made of fishing line.
Also works to break down the tough inaccessible carbon inside of AR- bolts and neglected semi-auto pistol barrels that fit in the basket - stripped ar- bolt fits in diagonally.
Re-lube gun parts quickly as it is VERY effective in removing all lube on gun parts and cases. (I used the case cleaner solution - don't have the gun parts solution bought yet)
I use my old hornady flat tumbler sieve top to cover the basket to tumble out the last of the case-captured water over a sink before sorting and standing cases up for drying. A wash rag or towel would probably work as well.
Ideal improvements would be a basket cover for tumbling out excess water and basket handles -both of which are easy enough to improvise.
If you can't be around to monitor the unit, it probably isn't for you. If you can reset it while you do other reloading tasks, this is a time saver for the more thorough (and non-residual) cleaning the unit performs. You'll want a watch or kitchen timer to time the 15 min cool-down periods.
Polishing is minor if any. I swish around cases with my finger between cycles to try to flow carbon out and cleaner solution through the cases.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Diego
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Cleaning Solution

Date:February 22, 2011
This is only for the Hornady case cleaning solution. I have the Lyman Turbo-Sonic ultrasonic case cleaner. I used 2 capfuls of the Hornady solution in 1 liter of water. I placed 40 once fired .223 cases in the basket and gave her an 8 minute cycle. This stuff works great!!! The primer pockets and inside of the case necks looked almost new with just 1 cycle. I gave her another 8 minute cycle just for giggles and they looked like they just came out of a box!!! I would recommend this stuff to anyone!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Brass Cleaner

Date:March 26, 2014
I recently bought the Hornady Sonic Cleaner and really like it. I prefer it over the tumblers as I think it does a more thorough job of cleaning, like the inside of your brass and the primer pockets. Easy to use and just does a great job, brass comes out looking like new. Would definitely recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I waited too long

Date:March 7, 2014
Why I waited this ling to get a sonic cleaner I will never know. I have use the sonic cleaner to clean rifle and pistol brass ( over 5,000 cases) easiest cleaning I have ever done. Also used the sonic cleaner to clean 7 pistols and bolt groups for 5 AR15. First time they have been this clean since they were purchased. Easiest cleaning I have ever done. Don't wait any longer. Great cleaner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady® Lock-N-Load™ Sonic Cleaner™ and One Shot Sonic Clean Formula
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:December 24, 2013
I load for Cowboy Fast Draw, and the case's get a wax build up inside. Plus a bad tarnish from black powder. With a little heat and the one shot cleaner my case's look like new.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 39