Customer Reviews for GLOCK Glock Generation 4 Pistols

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

GLOCK Glock Generation 4 Pistols

Glock’s Gen4 series of semiautomatic pistols incorporate all the features and benefits Glock is famous for, along with upgrades to enhance performance and shootability. This series still boasts nearly indestructible polymer frames that are stronger than steel. Tenifer-coating on slides and barrels makes them as impervious to the elements as their predecessors. And Safe-Action-Pistol integrated safety features are still standard. Upgrades includes Rough-Textured Frames (RTF) to make them even easier to handle in extreme conditions. RTF improves Glock’s all-weather performance when shooting with or without gloves. Each Gen4 includes three interchangeable backstraps, so shooters can adjust the grips for a custom fit. Magazine-release buttons are larger and reversible to make them easier to operate for both right- and left-handed shooters. Dual recoil spring assemblies increase durability and reduce recoil and muzzle flip. Available: Gen4 Model 17 – An updated version of Glock’s venerable 9mm Model 17 pistol. Enjoy standard Glock features with the added benefits of RTF, interchangeable backstraps, dual recoil spring assembly and improved magazine releases. 17+1 capacity. Available with standard fixed sights and in Flat Dark Earth color.   Gen4 Model 19 – The latest version of the 9mm Glock 19 with interchangeable backstraps for a custom fit and RTF to enhance grip. Fixed sights. 4" barrel. Reversible magazine release. 15+1 capacity. Also available in Flat Dark Earth color.   Gen4 Model 21 – A RTF version of Glock’s full-size semiautomatic chambered in hard-hitting .45 ACP. Comes with backstrap inserts to fit the gun to your hand. Standard fixed sights. 4.6" barrel. Accessory rail for light or laser. 13+1 capacity. Also available in Flat Dark Earth color.   Gen4 Model 22 – A new take on Glock’s renowned Model 22 pistol in .40 S&W. It has standard Glock features with the added benefits of RTF, interchangeable backstraps, dual recoil spring assembly and improved magazine releases. 15+1 capacity. Available with standard fixed sights and in Flat Dark Earth color.   Gen4 Model 23 – Glock’s full-size RTF semiautomatic pistol in .40 S&W with a 4" barrel. Interchangeable backstraps help you custom-fit the gun to your hand size. Reversible magazine release. Accessory rail for light or laser. Fixed sights. 13+1 capacity. Also available in Flat Dark Earth color.   Gen4 Model 26 – A subcompact Glock RTF handgun in 9mm that’s ideal for concealed carry. Textured finish enhances grip and control in any weather. Comes with interchangeable backstraps. 3.46" barrel. Fixed sights. 10+1 capacity.   Gen4 Model 27 – Glock’s RTF subcompact offering chambered in .40 S&W. Interchangeable backstraps improve the gun’s fit in your hand while the textured finish enhances grip. 3.46" barrel. Fixed sights. 9+1 capacity.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.792 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
23 out of 24(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Review 1 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Olympia,Wa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Best

Date:May 22, 2010
If you want the best all around pistol, this is it. I can't say anymore about it. This gun can be summed up in just one word, and that word is GREAT. I don't think that you will ever find a better gun, and the price is great also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: QC, IA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great handgun

Date:April 4, 2011
I purchased a Gen4 G19 from Cabela's after considerable research. I was a little hesitant to buy a Gen4 after some of the reviews I read on other sites. I LOVE this gun. I have put 2000 rounds through it so far and had no problems what so ever. Definitely recommend to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hazleton, PA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Gun Owned G23

Date:April 29, 2011
I got the 23 4th gen at cabelas. For being a .40cal there is less recoil on it than some 9mm I have shot before. After about 1,000 rounds I can hit the bullseye stock no mods on it so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Land of Lincoln
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

THE TRUTH

Date:May 4, 2011
This wasn't the first gun I ever shot but it was the best.
The trigger pull is like a hot knife and the recoil is like warm butter its that smooth after about 3000 rounds (I only buy whats on sale) i have never had a ftf or a fte. I since tried to buy other guns but have given up on semi auto handguns because nothing else compares. My opinion as of now there is nothing better on the market for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

flawless

Date:May 5, 2011
I am just a casual shooter. I have shot over 1000 rounds with the gen 4 without a single malfunction. This includes my sister and wife shooting it who are both gun novices, still never one malfunction. Have shot everything from the cheapest ammo I could find to the expensive hollow points. Eats them up and spits them out. What more do you want
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hastings, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Pistol!

Date:September 29, 2011
I have had my Glock 22 Gen 4 for about 6 months now and have shot about 600 rounds and it works great! No complaints and it fires true! Easy to maintain, break down and clean and put back together. WOuld strongly recommend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arizona Territory
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Glock

Date:September 29, 2011
I looked at the model 19 Gen 3 earlier but found the grip too big for my liking. The Gen 4 is much more comfortable for me. The gun has performed flawlessly even using ammo that was more than 20 years old. My wife has appropriated this gun, so I guess I'll have to get a model 23 Gen 4 for myself. If you have not considered a Glock before because of the large size of the grip stop by your local Cabela's and try a Gen 4 on for size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saginaw, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Gun

Date:November 28, 2011
Purched the 17 Gen4 and shot 100 rounds with pinpoint accuracy and no jams! Great gun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

It's ok!

Date:January 26, 2012
I prefer the Smith and Wesson M&P over the Glock any day. That's just my preferences.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Durango, CO
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Pistol

Date:January 28, 2012
I purchased a Gen4 G27 as my first semi-auto pistol. It fits my hand great and the subcompact design works great for concealment. Ive had no problems with the gun except for one jam, but im pretty sure it was my fault for limp-wristing the weapon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well fitting and functioning pistol

Date:March 27, 2012
Glock has always had a following, but I tried the previous models and always found them uncomfortable to grip. When shopping for a handgun I ignored the Glock and focused on another product. I am glad I gave the Gen 4 models a look before I selected as the shape of this one (Gen 4) is very comfortable for me. I have had it for a couple weeks and I find it to be capable of consistently hitting where I am aiming. I purchased the 21 model in .45 and the recoil is very light, a pleasant surprise. I really like that it is very simple and straightforward. I would certainly recommend the Glock line to anyone as long as they find it comfortable. My spouse found this model to be uncomfortable and prefers another makers offering. With all the various shapes no one type is good for everyone, but in my case I am very happy with the Gen 4 Glock 21.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Believer

Date:May 27, 2012
I never liked glock for some reason I have always looked the other way towards other guns. Then one day i picked one up and i was a believer real fast on how great these firearms really are. My first glock i bought was the 23 Gen 4 and love everything about it. The 23 is my carry gun that sometimes i forget i even have it on me. The second glock i bought was the 21 gen 4 because 45 acp is one of my favorite rounds. I have shot many handguns but i have riped apart the center out of many targets. Never failed me once!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Glock Gen 4 Model 26/27

Date:June 29, 2012
I purchased the Gen 4 model 26 and the model 27. These are excellent sub-compact polymer pistols in 9mm and 40 S&W and are not what I would consider pocket pistols. It has one of best trigger pulls and resets in the market. They are accurate, dependable and can accomodate the high capacity magazines. Take down to clean is easy. I did not know at the time I purchased these pistols that I could have purchased a conversion barrel for the model 27 to shoot 9 mm. Good grip for people with small hands. Great handgun for the first time buyer or an experienced owner. It may not be the most attractive looking handgun in the market but if my life depended on it looks do not matter to me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

When Your Life Depends on it....

Date:September 5, 2012
The Glock pistol is the benchmark standard not equaled by very many competitors. This gun is not pretty...It just works really well. It doesn't jam, ever !! The gun is designed with heavy duty components to ensure it will be there to protect you and your family when a threat becomes real. The new 4th generation has minor changes such as variable size palm grips and slightly stronger springs...but it is still all GLOCK. With a capacity of 17+1 cartridges, any bad situation won't get worse due to running out of ammo. If you want a pretty gun, get something else...but if you want to protect your family....insist on a Glock
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Glock 23 Gen 4, A Very Worthy Investment!

Date:October 28, 2012
This was my second purchase of a handgun through Cabela's. What a great gun! I chose the .40 cal. as I wanted to shoot something to get use to the control. It's got the take down power that you want if faced with having to protect your family and yourself. Not to mention it's fun to plink with. Glock did a good thing when they came out with the Gen 4 models. The grip is an essential part of being comfortable with gun you handle and shoot. Being a woman with smaller hands than your normal shooter, the Gen 4 grip on my 23 is a perfect fit. It's nice that it comes with 2 extra mags so you can shoot 39 rounds and get plenty of practice in before having to reload. Great gun, I would recommend it to anyone. Thank you Cabela's for offering great products at very competitive prices and employing people that are passionate about what they are selling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing Gun - G19 and G26

Date:November 9, 2012
I have been a fan of Glock for some time, and I recently purchased the G19 & G26 for carry. I am very pleased. They work flawlessly and are deadly accurate. I use 9mm in 124 grain, and it gives me the perfect combination of compact size and power. I like the fact that the magazines for the 19 can be used in the 26. I highly recommend these for any skill level. For the price you can't ask for more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simply Reliable and Accurate

Date:November 19, 2012
I must confess that I am a diehard Kimber 1911 45 ACP kind of gunslinger. My deputy sheriff friend turned me onto Glock.
I purchased the Glock 21 Gen 4 - the 45 ACP variety of Glock - and I am genuinely impressed.
I can field strip, clean, and reassemble the Glock faster than it takes me to just get the recoil spring put back together on a Kimber.
As far as accuracy goes, I hit whatever I aim at. The attached photo was from 15 yards outdoors.
If you need a simple to use, easy to maintain, reliable semi-auto for personal protection - then I recommend Glock. My next purchase will be the carry version - Glock 30.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Glock 19 Gen4 Flat Dark Earth

Date:December 23, 2012
I have a Gen3 Glock 20 and a Gen3 Glock 27, and they both perform very well. I was reluctant to try the Gen4 Glocks, but I think this one is sorted out.
I think the Glock 19 is the best size for a combat handgun. It points well and feels right. I am able to conceal it almost as well as the Glock 27 (or Glock 26). At the range, there were no problems with the weak white box ammo or the stout Corbon +P carry ammo.
The Glock 19 Gen4 comes with 3 magazines (all 15 round in the Free State of Kansas). Like other Glock magazines, the last couple round can be tough without a loader (one comes in the box). They become easier to load with use.
Most of the cases ejected to the right and back a couple feet. One bumped the top of my head, but it was the weak cheap range ammo. The +P cases ejected fine and with no problems.
I do not keep the stock plastic sights on my Glocks. I ordered a set of XS Big Dot night sights for the G19. I have the tools to change the front and rear sights on Glocks.
The only unexpected issue is that sometimes, the magazine front slightly pinches my little finger in recoil. It is just enough to notice it and not enough to cause blisters.
I think the Glock 19 Gen4 will be my regular holster carry handgun. It is big enough to be handled as a standard weapon, yet small enough to conceal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:January 4, 2013
After having visited a few different dealers and comparing different manufacturers, both online and at a range, I knew what I wanted, but I waited too long. My first 2 stops were sold out. Cabelas beat the price on the competitor's 23s I had been looking at, and went over information I had not heard from 3 different dealers.
I love this pistol. Period. It shoots well, and the mechanics work for me. I like the stock grip on an XD better, but I grouped my shots better with the 23 when I was testing it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Glock Generation 4 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Good

Date:January 13, 2013
After looking at many different compact 9mm I decided on the G14gen4. It was a little more than some but well worth the cost. If fits my hands perfect. It does does not have some of the extra safties to get in the way like some others. With over 600 rounds through it so far no fte or ftf with various brands. I am no marksman but I can get 15 shots in 3" at 20' to 25'. For a compact 9mm it is great and being a Glock you kmow you can count on reliability.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 24