Customer Reviews for WALTHER Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

WALTHER Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols

Drawing on the huge success of its P22 rimfire pistol, Walther developed a .380 Auto that incorporates all of the P22’s attributes in a more potent pistol of similar size. Reduced weight provided by the lightweight, yet rugged polymer grip makes it easy to carry all day. Ambidextrous manual safeties and magazine releases make it suitable for right- and left-handed shooters. The ergonomic design makes the PK380 comfortable to shoot and easy to control. Three-dot sight system. Rear sight is adjustable for windage. 8+1 capacity.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.192 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
22 out of 26(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Review 1 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great pistol, outstanding value

Date:February 16, 2011
I bought the First Edition around Thanksgiving 2009. My wife and I both have the P22 and find them very enjoyable.
The PK380 is one of the best .380 caliber pistols I have come across. It's not a mouse gun and it's a bit big for a typical jeans pocket, but it is still small enough to conceal easily and it holds a total of 9 rounds (8+1).
Unlike the mouse pistols, the PK380 has very little recoil; it's pleasant to shoot all day long. My PK380 has had well over a thousand rounds of various types of ammunition fired through it. It feeds reliably and is quite accurate.
Since I got the First Edition, I did get the spare magazine and the holster. However, I bought a second spare and a couple of extra takedown keys, just to be on the safe side.
For all the great qualities of the PK380, the price is outstanding. For what you get, I don't know of another .380 pistol that can offer comparable value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Extremely Pleased So Far

Date:March 6, 2013
I was drawn to the PK380, as I always liked Walther because of how natural the grips felt. I was somewhat apprehensive before purchasing as many reviews on various sites reported FTF, and FTE issues with earlier units. After 600 hundred rounds of the past couple months I have had zero issues, and have shot nice tight groups. I've only ran Federal, Hornady and Winchester PDX through it, so I cant speak as to issues people have had with cheaper ammo or if Walther/S&W have resolved quality control issues. Like any product it has its quirks, such as the the little tool needed for take down, but I haven't found it to be any inconvenience. I will report back if I do experience any issues. At this point, I would not hesitate to buy another Walther or recommend the PK380.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice pistol

Date:July 7, 2012
I just bought this pistol from a local shop and the lady and I put 50 rounds through it to try it out.
There are a few pros and cons I have about it.
Con- Plastic frame and guide rod, slightly heavier than my Walther PPK/S that is all steel, needs a takedown tool that is plastic to strip, and the internal parts are crammed in pretty tight. The magazine release is going to take getting used to as well. There is also slightly more-than-average travel in the trigger.
Pro- Comfortable to carry concealed and a pleasure to shoot. My girlfriend can handle and shoot it easily and it fits her hands well. Has an ambidextrous safety and mag release and has an accessory rail. Trigger pull is good too. Also, minus needing a tool to take it apart, this pistol is much easier to disassemble than my PPK.
This pistol shoots similar to a Glock when it comes to the sights. You have to almost cover the target with the front sight to hit where you want, otherwise it shoots low. It is very accurate once you get used to that.
I used Blazer ammunition at first for trying the pistol out, and I had two fail to fire's. In the first two magazines I also had one double feed and one failure to eject. I switched to Winchester and then Sellier and Bellot ammunition and did not have any problems from that point on.
I would recommend this pistol to anyone looking to get something for their wife/girfriend for a first pistol or someone looking for a reliable weapon for concealed carry and home defense.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Do not purchase.

Date:July 4, 2012
The barrel has begun to separate from the chamber, notice the copper colored area on the barrel, after shooting approximately 500 rounds through the Walther PK380. I hate to think what would have happened had I not noticed the barrel protruding from the slide.
This is not the only issue that you will find written about this pistol. Just visit the Walther forums...
I cannot recommend this pistol to anyone.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ok gun

Date:July 1, 2012
Bought this gun at cabelas because i had a few gift cards there. it was the display model so it had some wear on the guide rod and barrel. Cabelas discounted it for me since it was the display model. This is a good little gun that fits into your hand better then most 380's. I hate the recoil spring that is not full capture, it is a pain to re-assemble. I am also not a fan of take down tool, especialy a PLASTIC one!!! It is very flimsy and just a bad idea to need a tool to field strip your pistol. Other then that the pistol shoots hand loads very consitant and is very comfortable to shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Buy

Date:May 11, 2012
I bought the gun for myself but wanted something the wife could use if necessary. Perfect buy. Large enough to feel good in your hand but small enough she could work the slide. No FTE or FTF ever. A lot of people complain about the takedown tool - get a tire valve tool at Auto Zone for a backup. Shoots very accurate. I would recommend for a CCW or first gun for the little lady.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good gun overall

Date:April 30, 2012
Bought this gun primarily for ccw and for my wife. It was the only gun she tried out that she could comfortably rack the slide. Accuracy is decent (I've only put about 200 rds through it so far, and haven't adjusted the sights yet), groups of 3-5 in at 15-20 ft (again only 200 rds). Ergonomics are the best I've ever felt, truthfully the main reason I wanted this gun, fits your hands like a glove (I have girl hands though). I only have 2 negatives with this gun, a) It's a pain to re assemble do to the xtra long spring and breakdown requires a special tool (don't loose it), and b) It's a .380, which is expensive and not that easy to come by. Other than that a good gun. On a final not I have put the cheapest ammo through and have had only 2 FTE, guess I got lucky!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A great gun

Date:April 29, 2012
After buying this gun and taking it home, I wasn't very impressed. This was the dirtiest new gun I've ever saw.. It appeared that after test firing it was well oiled. The trigger wasn't very crisp and I wasn't very thrilled about the simple safety instead of a decocking lever.
I cleaned it up real good and headed to the range with some Magtech, Fiocchi and some reloaded ammo.
I was quickly impressed by the ease of slide operation and the lack of felt recoil. The trigger broke in quickly and with it came decent accuracy. The pistol was very comfortable in the hand and it's controls were easy to adapt to. During rapid fire it stayed right on the mark. There were no malfunctions. This is an excellent gun for new shooters. It's very fun to shoot and I think Walther, a pioneer in the 380 caliber really did something speacial here. I expect to see this gun imitated in the future just like the Walther PP and PPK have been. My one complaint is you need a tool to take it down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Glendale, AZ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One Fun Gun

Date:April 10, 2012
Bought this as an early birthday present for my girlfriend and we both love it can't wait till we are able to go back to the range and shoot some more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Finicky

Date:February 22, 2012
I've had FTF and FTE problems also. The PK380 seems to prefer Remington and Monarch ammo. Tried to use Winchester, Federal and American Eagle and had problems 7 out of 8 times. Other than this, I really like the pistol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Picky Little Gun

Date:February 5, 2012
I purchased this gun as something for my wife to shoot with low recoil and an easy slide. First few times at the range I put around 200 rounds of various ammo through it with numerous FTF and FTE. After thorough cleaning and some more shooting I have gotten better consistency with Remington ammo and any of the higher quality home defense stuff but definitely doesn't like to cycle the cheap stuff. Even with the better ammo I have alot more FTF and FTE than I would like. Gun is definitely made for small hands and even for a gun of this size I feel like accuracy is lacking a little bit. Bottom line is this is a good looking well priced gun that lacks performance. Will likely be looking to sell or trade in the near future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

inspect internals

Date:August 25, 2011
bought and did initial brake down and clean found exensive wear on guide rod pin and barrel . went back to store asked about ather unit in house were same so went fired 100 - 150 rounds pistol wouldnt cycle reqiring pull on slide to cycle. Will be going to see what Cabelas will Do for me . I purchased the combo 380 du to the purchase of a p22 love it but not happy with this handgun as it was purchased as a back up for my issued g22
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: IOWA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Piece for CCW!

Date:May 3, 2011
Bought this pistol with the intent of having a 2nd pistol for the range that my 12 yr old daughter could shoot. I have a M&P .40 and had let her fire it once, and she hated it due to the recoil on it. Took her to the store and let her get a feel for the .380'sthat they had in stock. she handled the Bersa, the Bodyguard, a Taurus, and the PK380. Now mind you she is 12 and is 5'3" but even in her hands she didnt like the pinky hang on the Bersa or the Bodyguard. she was happy with the balance of the PK and the relative ease in which she was able to change the slide on it. Once at the range, she said the recoil was like" shooting the P22 they had at the range last time". After having my chance to put a 100 rnds downrange, I was truly impressed myself. virtually no recoil, very accurate 3dot sights @ 15 yds. The pistol sat nicely in my hand, never feeling like it was too small as some of the other CCWs can give guys with bearpaws for hands. Hands down well worth the money spent. only drawbacks are the fact it comes with only 1 magazine, and its 8 rounds at that and the take down wrench. the way its designed, they could have built a flat lever on the side of the pistol to stay in permanently rather then run the chance of loosing the only means you have of stripping the pistol down, but a minor item in the overall excellent picture of the PK380.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phx, AZ
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Walther PK .380

Date:April 27, 2011
Bought this gun a few days ago after much research. I saw a lot of positive reviews and many negative as well. For some reason I was still drawn to this gun. I do not regret purchasing it one bit though. It is very light weight and fits nicely in my hands(which are pretty big and has a very manageable recoil which you can not say the same about most conceal guns. The 8+1 capacity is nice. Fits well in my inside the waistband holster and is easily concealed. It is also very accurate and the addition of the adjustable sights makes it even better.
The only down falls I've found with it are the lack of a slide release and the tool that is required for break down and cleaning. I also wish it came with more than one magazine, especially since they are hard to come by and kind of expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Detroit, MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Keeper for Target only?

Date:April 19, 2011
I picked this up as my first daily carry. Was quite happy with it until it stopped extracting. I returned it to S&W who said they needed to replace the extractor. Upon receiving it back I took it to the range and found that it still had 20% failure to extract. I called S&W and told them that it seems sliding the next round forward as it cycles closed so the spent case hits it. They asked for it back again. I asked if they would send me a mag to see if that was the cause, as some others have said you can not buy a mag anywhere. They said yes and promptly sent me a mag out 3 months and several phone calls later.
Now with the new mag it still fails to extract not as bad but still often enough that I question why I carry it. I would deem it as a target piece but with the price of 380 ACP dosen't make sense ether.
Time to move on and get something I can believe in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Farmington, MO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love This Gun

Date:April 7, 2011
I bought the PK 380 as a home defense gun to have next to the bed, but once I took it to the range and after the first round I couldn't help but love this gun. I came home raving to my wife about it and she decided to join me at the range and see for herself. I now own both the black and nickel models.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SE Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice CCW Handgun

Date:April 7, 2011
Walked into the store expecting to buy another .380 and after comparing features, trigger pull and safety bought the PK380. Took it to the range the same evening after a complete take down & cleaning.
Pro- Very accurate with very little recoil. Easy to load and fire. Good sights and balance. Good CCW handgun, but bigger than a mouse gun.
Con- Only came with one mag and additional mag was $42 ordered from the factory. It also needed a very good cleaning before firing, all metal parts had a thick coat of oil.
I bought it for my wife, but after running 250 rounds through it I may have to buy another for myself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: rural missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shocking accuracy

Date:January 20, 2011
Bought this for the wife since she has a p22 that she loves. I figured it was gonna be a belly gun at best, glad to say I was wrong. First 8 rnds went in to a 1" bullseye dirty bird target from 7 yards out. One. Ragged. Hole. At 25 yds it still put 8 rnds inside the 8 ring which is about what the front sight covers anyway. All we tried was 95 gr magtech fmj. No failures in the first 200 rnds. Make sure you clean and degrease thoroughly BEFORE your first shot, makes a major difference. First gun in 20 years I didn't have to mess with sights and try $250 worth of different ammo just to get a decent group.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: grand junction, co
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

home defence

Date:December 13, 2010
i like it as a home defense gun my wife can operate it easily and the 380 is enough to stop some one if hit properly. i have taken it out to the range a few times and it was alright there. people with big hands like mine look out it will bite due to its small size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Walther PK380 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Omaha, NE
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great All Around!

Date:October 27, 2010
Purchased this Pistol for home defense/target shooting and have found that it was a fantastic choice all around. It is easy to shoot for both my wife and me; low recoil and quick to get back on target. In a fast action firing test two-handed All rounds hit the paper from 60ft and within a 7"group.
Slow target shooting had the groups at 3" from 10 yards. The action is very soft but the slide spring easy to pull and so my wife has no problems. We put about 150 rounds through on the first shooting and it had absolutely no problems, either with ejection or with firing. It worked perfectly every shot. We'll be enjoying this pistol for years to come.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 26