Customer Reviews for WALTHER Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

WALTHER Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols

Often imitated but never duplicated, the elegant lines of the legendary Walther PPK have caught the imagination of shooters for over 75 years. Developed in 1931, it continues to thrill the shooting public. It was featured as the weapon of choice for years by Agent 007 in Hollywood James Bond films. The PPK/S with a longer frame for one additional cartridge, and the PPK are now produced in the USA under license by Smith & Wesson. Features include a firing-pin safety, a manual safety with decocking function, a double-action/single-action trigger and an extended beavertail. Available: PPK – Blued finish with black synthetic grips and 6+1 capacity in .380 Auto.   PPK/S – Stainless steel finish with black synthetic grips and 7+1 capacity in .380 Auto.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
14 out of 17(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols
Review 1 for Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fine Pistol

Date:February 19, 2013
First 100+ rounds not a single failure to feed or jam on varied types of ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sharp!!

Date:February 17, 2013
I mean it really is sharp.. The frame will almost cut you and will take shavings off your fingernail... Just a tad bit on the heavy side but is very accurate and reliable..
I never leave home without it!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

3.5 star review

Date:September 13, 2012
Very nice to carry, points nicely and fits better in the hand than most compact 380's. Manual safety/decocker is easy to operate and a nice feature. Shoots under 2.5" groups at 25M. No failure to fire, feed or eject in the first 250 rounds. Very easy to field strip, clean and reassemble.
Read also "nomisfires" 5/27/2010 review. I had many of the same issues (failure to feed manually from mag, failure to manually clear chamber, split cases). Pistol went back Walther USA for repair.
Overall a nice pistol. Just be prepared to send it back to Walther to have the kinks worked out. Better QC and it would be a great pistol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Walther PPK

Date:June 5, 2012
What can I say? It's a Walther, well made, nicely balanced, shoots like a dream. It's not a light plastic gun, it's all metal and steel, which helps recoil and makes it manageable in a small gun like this. Perfect for the pocket, purse, concealed holster, or jacket pocket. I don't feel undergunned with this, and I know it will last for a long time. .380 is easy for me to shoot and my girlfriend shoots it just fine, the 9mm was too much for her, this is perfect. Highly recommend this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Denton, TX
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PPK/s is a fantastic weapon

Date:January 10, 2012
When I got my CHL a few years back I carried a compact polymer pistol. It was far too light for my preference, so I bought a PPK/s to replace it. I could not be happier with this pistol. After a brief break-in period (around 250 rounds) it has performed beautifully, and after several thousand rounds it has yet to jam a single time. It is extremely accurate, with practice, and I consistently get 3" patterns from 25'. I have fairly large hands, and the flush magazine leaves my pinky without purchase for grip, but the extended mag remedies this issue perfectly. It sits well in the web of my palm, and though some have complained of the recoil being a bit harsh, I appreciate a pistol that allows me to feel it's power. Easily concealed, this is a fantastic carry weapon, and I enjoy the confidence of knowing without a doubt that it will fire without fail. All in all, great purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arlington, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:November 23, 2011
I've had a PPK/s for 20 years and bought a PPK last year. Great guns! Practice with it and keep it clean. I carry one or the other frequently and rely on them. Other reviews claim jams - never had the problem. Have noticed when some have "limp-wristed" the gun - that it made no attempt to control recoil, it could stove pipe or misfeed when brand new. Control your weapon and practice with it. It's quality has kept it around for 80 years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bowie County Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good buy

Date:October 7, 2011
Been retired for a while and wanted something smaller/lighter than my 9mm for a carry weapon; so after much research went with the PPK 380. Happy with the results; over 100 rounds through it with smooth action, tight grouping and real comfort. Recommend it highly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A classic

Date:February 10, 2011
I bought the PPK because because it's a classic gun, one that's stood the test of time. S&W is doing a good job of making them- cetainly better than Interarms did- and my blued steel PPK has been a flawless performer, with no failures to feed of eject in the first 100 rounds I put through it.
The trick to having a reliable PPK is to use good quality ammunition (no Blazer, budget ammo, or steel cased ammo, please!) and to thoroughly clean and lube it. It's not a bad idea to work the slide of a new gun several times before first shooting it, to held speed along break in,.
As for practicality as a carry gun: The PPK is pretty accuratei I can put all my shots in a 4" circle at 25' and a 12" circle at 75'. I like the safety feature, which makes it a bit less probably that someone will accidentally shoot it if they get their hands on it. But I don't think it's a practical gun today. There are plenty of thinner, more concealable .380s on the market, and plenty of 9mm autos that are more concealable than the PPK. Being a straight blowback gun, it has a nasty recoil that will surprise someone who's used to shooting a modern 9mm like a Glock. It's not particularly pleasant to shoot, which means the typical owner won't practice with it.
But while I wouldn't buy one to carry, it makes an interesting addition for the collector, and that's who I'd recommend it to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Dundee, MI
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Expect many problems with jamming

Date:November 30, 2010
It is accurate, it fits my hand, it is easily concealable and you can't help but like the nostalgia. However, it has serious jamming/feeding/ejection problems.
I shot four hundred rounds through it in hopes that it would loosen up and be a reliable carry gun. But it was not. I sent it back for repair three times. S&W finally replaced it. My new gun is more reliable but now I can't get the slide off to clean it. I took it back to Cabela's. They couldn't get it off either. They recommended shipping it back to S&W. Buy something else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent from the get-go

Date:October 2, 2010
I have owned a PPK/S for two years (purchased new from Cabela's). It has been accurate and reliable from the beginning, with no break in period needed.
I've shot it out to 50 yards and had no trouble keeping all shots in the scoring area of a standard B-27 target.
I especially like the fact that it came with two magazines - one flush fitting and one with an extension.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Platte Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Break It In

Date:September 18, 2010
This gun is a great design and there is a reason it has been around for over 80 years. The key is to break it in. Any gun bought to cary for protection should be shot a couple of hundred times before carying, but once this gun sees a few hundred rounds it will be one of the best and most reliable guns you have. The only complaint I have is that by modern standards with polymer guns it is a bit heavy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kansas City,KS
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PPK/S 380

Date:July 30, 2010
Not a gun to buy and put in service till you shot at least 250 rounds mine took about 300 before it would cycle and feed every time keep it lightly oiled. I can't see the sights to well but thats age so I like laser grips.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: St. Peters, MO
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Walther PPK/S

Date:May 27, 2010
For a firearm that was designed for self defense this one is completely unacceptable. I bought the Walther PPK because the design has been around for over 80 years and Smith & Wesson is now licensed to make them. The first round I chambered misfired. I then had at least one misfire per magazine. I fired 10 full magazines. Used two different brands of ammunition. Some of the spent casings were split.
The extractor is marginal. A fully resized casing won't extract, it has to be removed by pushing it out through the muzzle. Chamber isn't bored correctly perhaps.
A friend purchased one a few days after I did, different store, different city. Serial numbers are 6000+ apart. His also misfires.
A break in period may smooth out the action and trigger but shouldn't be necessary for a firearm to function.
Cabela's has been excellent with helping me resolve the problems with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Miami, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Needs break in

Date:May 12, 2010
It will jam when new but after 200 rounds it works great! Good shooter and reliable. Be patient. Shot off a bunch of rounds and it will be just fine. Keep it lightly oiled.............
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Rockland county, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Walther ppks

Date:April 27, 2010
There is a break in period for every gun and this gun is no different. After a couple of hundred rounds the gun shoots great. I have put over a thousand rounds through it including reloads and it functions perfectly. I did send it back to S&W since the trigger was too tight, which they fixed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maryland Heights, Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Walther PPK/S 380

Date:April 22, 2010
I'm not sure about the last persons review, but I bought my PPK/S from Cabela's. The Cabela's outfitter who helped me was very knowledgable about 380's and even owned a PPK/S himself. He told me that they have very tight tolerances which requires a break in period, and that I needed to shoot over 200 rounds of ammo before it would be 100% reliable. He also said to keep it oiled and never to shoot it dry. He was right, at first I had some failure to feed problems within the first 75 rounds. Now I'm over 300 rounds and no more problems. I keep it lightly lubed up and it's my everyday carry gun. I have no fear about it working if I ever need to use it. This is one of the best 380's I've ever shot, very accurate and very easy to conceal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Walther PPK and PPK/S Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Rob Ogdensburg, New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Walther PPK/S .380

Date:April 17, 2010
This is probably the worst pistol that I have owned. Gun always jams no matter what ammunition I use. Deffinetly would not recommend this pistol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.