Customer Reviews for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols

Utilizing detailed computer analysis and ergonomic design, the evolutionary result is Smith & Wesson’s Sigma Series of production pistols. This pistol has an 18-degree grip, that makes aiming as natural as pointing your finger. Combine that with the quality S&W is known for and you have a sidearm that excels in performance and price. Lightweight polymer frame. 4" barrel length. Two-tone finish. Dot front sight and fixed rear sight. Available: 9mm Sigma – Brushed Stainless (Cabela’s Exclusive), Stainless Steel with Black Polymer. Capacity: 16+1 rounds. Weight empty: 24.7 oz. 40S&W Sigma – Brushed Stainless (Cabela’s Exclusive), Stainless Steel with Black Polymer. Capacity: 14+1 rounds. Weight empty: 24.4 oz.<
Overall Customer Rating:
4.131 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
6
49 out of 61(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Review 21 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: French Settlement, LA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sigma 9mm

Date:March 9, 2011
I was looking for a pistol that was similar to my Glock 22, but in a 9mm. After purchasing this one, I was impressed. It functioned very well and accuracy was just as good as my Glock. The trigger pull is rather long and stiff, but after a few hundred rounds it seemed to lighten. I have fired over 500 rounds, several different brands and configurations, through it with out any problems at all.
If you are considering a Glock, give this pistol a look. It is very close in appearance, feel and function at over $200 cheaper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lansing, KS
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun at a great price

Date:March 26, 2011
I have owned this gun for over a year now and have put probably about 1000 or more rounds through this gun. Its compact and light, accuracy is great and the trigger pull wasn't bad from the start of the gun but I wanted something smoother so i polished the sear and its a much lighter smoother pull. Doesn't matter what you try to shoot out of this gun, it will shoot just fine. I have fired various hollow points and many different types of FMJ without jams. Has plenty of holster, laser and light options including the laserlyte laser that mounts in place of the rear sight. Bottom line is I would bet my life on this gun, and sometimes do since it's a great carry gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saint Peters, MO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Why not?

Date:March 30, 2011
Originally had this 7 years ago as my first pistol, but had to sell it when confronted with financial problems. My guilt for selling it prompted me to re purchase the Sigma this month.
Overall fit and finish, ergonomics, balance, and reliability are top notch. Not to mention the price comparably can't be beat. Sure it probably won't win any beauty contests or accuracy tests past 25 yards, but neither will the competition.
The only true complaint I have with this pistol is shared by other shooters; the trigger. It's not bad but it sure ain't great either. One does get used to it after a few mags and the pull will loosen up after a few hundred rounds but out of the box, it's really "gorilla-grip" stiff.
I've been shooting Winchester 124gr NATO ball ammo through it with no failures. Average group is 2.75 inches as 25 yards.
All in all, a great pistol and highly recommended as a first pistol, house gun, or truck gun. Happy Buying!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Modesto Ca
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Bang for the Buck$

Date:March 31, 2011
Have had a Sigma 9mm for 6 or 7 years. Have put lots of ammo through it with out any stoppages. Even reload lead bullets and they work fine. Easy to take down and clean. Feels good in my hand. Shoots very well.
I understand older models have feeding problems. But, mine does not. I just bought a Glock 27, sub- compact, but only because Smith & Wesson does not may a Sigma sub-compact. If they did I would have bought it!!
The trigger is long and heavy. But some people say they can easily fix that by removing a spring??? Search under Sigma trigger fix.
However, The trigger works for me. You may not have the same results I've had, but, I think the Sigma is the BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK$.
4 stars due to trigger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Boise, ID
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

.40SW Sigma

Date:May 12, 2011
I purchased a .40SW Sigma in 2008. Overall, it's not a bad gun, but it's still not good.
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: The weapon seems to shoot up and to the left. I have tried various brands of ammunition and found the same result. After pulling back on the trigger to shoot, my finger jams quickly into the magazine release button. The S&W Sigma has a very long and uncomfortable trigger pull.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Everett, WA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

A Bad S&W

Date:May 17, 2011
I have had a Sigma 40VE for the past 3 years. It is by far the worst gun I have owned. Very long, heavy trigger pull and almost impossible to hit a target at 20 feet. The choice of ammo does not make any difference. This is the last S&W semi auto that i will own. Ready to buy that Glock 22 and enjoy shooting a real handgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boise, Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best 9mm for the money

Date:June 11, 2011
I bought the Sigma 9VE a month ago. I wanted a high capacity 9mm auto to replace the Glock that I recently got rid of. I reload a large volume 9mm ammo and needed something good to launch all that copper jacketed lead down range.
A couple trips to the range and 500+ rounds fired, the Sigma has been 100% reliable and very accurate. Sandbag rested on a bench, I can consistently print 3" 7 round groups at 25 meters.
The stock trigger pull was very heavy so I completed the trigger mod that has been floating around on the web for years. It now breaks at 5-1/2 lbs and feels very smooth, clean and predictable. This is strictly a range gun for me. It would be very risky to use a modified gun for self defence due to liability issues.
Don't let the incredilbly low price be a concern. Just be glad that S&W is selling it for so cheap. This is a very high quality and well made gun. With a stock trigger, I would not hesitate to use this weapon to protect myself and family.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: St. Amant, Louisiana
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

40 Sigma

Date:July 24, 2011
Bought the 40 Sigma with 2 10 round mags and put about 400-500 rounds through it with no problems. Small, easy to take down, and clean. Clean mine every 1-2 weeks even if I don't shoot it. Trigger is a little rough like I expected as it has no safety. Good for close quarters protection but long range, not quite. I think I'll get 3 14 round mags and keep it even when I buy another weapon. Only other complaint is the rail system. Can buy an adapter to accept most lights/lasers for around 8 bucks but then it wont really fit in a holster, especially a Blackhawk Quick Draw one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: frankfort,il
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

S&W Sigma

Date:August 9, 2011
Love it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bensalem, PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EXCELLENT FIREARM

Date:September 10, 2011
I purchased this firearm from Cabela's Superstore in Hamburg PA. The experience was excellent. The employees at the store answered all of my questions and gave me excellent service.
The SW40VE is an excellent choice. Not too heavy and easy to take down and clean. Fits perfectly in both my Bulldog Size 3 soft holster with the extra magazine pocket and my Serpa. It's not so heavy that you feel it hanging on your hip and is perfectly balanced to shoot straight.
With now 1500 rounds through this firearm I have never had an issue and it doesn't get filthy like other pistols I shoot regularly. It is not picky at all and will eat up any brand of range ammunition as well as personal defense. The feel is perfect in my hand, the beavertail rests great in my hand and the raised grip is perfect for a moist hand when practicing at the range.
I have the .40cal version of it and I will say that it has a little lift to it when you first take it out to practice but with practice it is very managable. The trigger is slightly different than what I practice shoot prior to this purchase but it's more a double action. I have excellent groupings, much like the SpringField XD but I practice a lot so your experience may be different.
I would recommend this firearm for any lover of Smith and Wesson or someone looking to enter into the world of concealed carry. I trust my life and that of my family and friends with this firearm. It's not just your right, it's your duty... Happy Shooting!~
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Allen, TX
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Value for the price

Date:September 12, 2011
Purchased the Sigma 40 cal and has shot about 150 rounds. No jams. Trigger does take a few rounds to get use to but once you get the feel of it you can get comfortable. This is a great gun for the price. If you a a foam at the mouth target shooter thisis not the gun for you. If this is your first gun or need one for protection or at the lease, again a great value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St Louis
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smith & Wesson

Date:September 26, 2011
Great pistol Great Store and salesmen Thanks for your help !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Boise, ID
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value

Date:November 5, 2011
Excellent gun for the money, especially with the 2nd clip. Higher capacity was a great selling point. Has a heavy trigger which was a plus for me since it's primarily for defense.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Owatonna, MN
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good buy and good quality

Date:November 10, 2011
I bought this gun before I looked at the reviews and I am really glad I did. I bought the 9MM Sigma and it has a crisp light triger pull. It points naurally and is very accurate. At 15 yrds. I can hit a variety of golf balls and ping pong balls consistantly. I have run about 300 rds. thourgh it and the only isse I had was one double feed and that was it. Good gun for the money. My wife even wants one now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:January 7, 2012
I have to disagree with some of the reviews here, and defend the Sigma series. This gun is a fine weapon for the price, the trigger is a 12 lb. pull and once you man up its fine to fire. Deadly accurate at 30 feet, you shouldn't need more to protect the homestead.I bought the .40 and having a high capacity clip is a bonus. The best advice is, the best gun for you is the one that feels the best in your hand. Happy shooting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hampshire
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Entry model

Date:January 11, 2012
good value for the money , easy to handle and shoot.
we had some dificulty getting the slide off the very first time , now its a breeze. good for entry level shooters or reasonable cost firearm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Leavenworth Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good gun for great price

Date:January 29, 2012
I got this at the Cabelas in Kansas City 2 days ago and have put 500 rounds of bulk ammo through it and have not had a single problem with it. The trigger pull is a little heavy but easy to get used to and since I got it with the intent of it being a conceal carry / home defense I prefer the heavier pull. If you are looking for a first gun on a budget look no further.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun for great price!

Date:February 7, 2012
I had purchased this pistol several years back as a home defense piece and have been very happy with it since day one. When I was looking, my idea was for an introductory piece that I could easily afford and had the stopping power I felt I needed. This gun solved both issues. There were very few jams initially and none in the past 800 rounds I've put through it. Works great and feeds well everytime. FMJ, JHP and Hydroshocks all work well. The .40 shot shells DO NOT eject, so fyi. The cases are too long.
The trigger is an obvious downside as I've worked on some revolvers to lessen the pull weight, but is still ok. Too heavy for my wife to use, but for a man it should be fine. I can hit groups the size of my hand at 25 yards just about everytime. A slow trigger pull and the gun will be very accurate. If you start rapid firing just to empty the magazine you'll be all over the place.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So far so good.

Date:February 7, 2012
I recently purchased the Sigma 40 from Cabela's and so far, I'm please with this firearm. I've only put about 100 rounds through it, but have encountered no issues, it took three different brands of ammo with no problem. The only thing I noticed is that it seems to lose a bit of accuracy once it starts getting dirty, after maybe 60 or 70 rounds. My son has the 9mm Sigma, and he's no jams or malfunctions after about 300 rounds so far. But he also has the accuracy issue once the gun starts to get "dirty." After a good cleaning, the accuracy is decent. Field strips easily too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Smith & Wesson Sigma Series Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: boise idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:February 9, 2012
i bought this gun and so far this is my best and i got it for home protetion i have put about 1000 rounds thought it and still shoots great just need to clean the gun every time after shooting it and when you go out to shoot give it one last lube and you can shoot all day long
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 61