Customer Reviews for SIG SAUER SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols

SIG SAUER SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols

Compact, easily concealable and great for inexpensive plinking at the range. Sharp-looking design teamed with an ergonomic grip delivers a top-notch shooting experience. Tough, wear-resistant polymer frame features an integrated accessory rail, rugged blowback system, fixed barrel, adjustable sights and multiple safety devices. Available: Mosquito .22 LR – The Mosquito .22 LR is 90% the size of the popular P226® and it delivers the traditional SIG Sauer accuracy you’re looking for.    Mosquito Purple .22 LR – Classic, black polymer frame is contrasted by a slide with a stainless purple finish. 90% the size of the SIG Sauer P226. Mosquito OD Green .22 LR – Polymer, OD Green-finished frame and slide deliver a traditional military look. Mosquito OD Green TB .22LR – Fixed, threaded barrel and an OD Green-finished frame and slide. Mosquito Flat Dark Earth .22 LR – Polymer, Flat Dark Earth finished frame and slide.
Overall Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
22 out of 28(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Review 1 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

agree with "depends on what you like"

Date:April 8, 2014
This is the pistol you want to love so badly that you ignore all the negative press and buy it anyway, then wonder what you are doing wrong when it acts up. I have one, and several of my friends bought one also, and they all FTE/FTE. I have done ALL the "tricks" to mine (new spring, old spring, ream chamber, polish feed ramp, sprinkle pixie dust over it and stand on one foot when you shoot it) OH.. and tried all sorts of ammo, yes including CCI mini-mags. While it is true that the CCI and certain other HOT ammo makes the gun shoot more reliably, none of it makes it NEARLY as reliable as my Browning Buckmark, Ruger MKII, High Standard Military, or Colt Woodsmaster (all semi-auto .22 caliber handguns). So if you don't mind clearing jams, this gun is great. If you think (like I do) that a gun should function reliably/consistently, this is probably not the choice for you. I have studied this pistol intensely and what the problem is, is that the slide does not have enough mass so that the recoil from the fired round will not reliably compress the rather stiff hammer spring consistently, thus causing the slide to not open fully (and eject, or feed). Sure, the weaker recoil spring helps, but it's not the recoil spring that giving it problems.. it's the hammer spring. When GSG realizes this and fixes it, this will be a great little gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Terrible

Date:April 1, 2014
gun jams easily. numerous failure to feeds, fail to eject. very unreliable firearm. manufactured by another company with a sig name plate. big waste of money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Review and possible cure

Date:February 5, 2014
I read the reviews of this gun with interest and came to the conclusion, at first, not to buy one. But then I ran across a deal on a used one at a local gun shop. I cleaned it up took it to the range and experienced the same failures as did people who wrote the 1 and 2 star reviews. I did not give up on the Mosquito. I did some research, read the manual (gasp a gun person reading the manual that came with his gun) and found the following: Mosquito's come with 2 recoil springs 1 for HV rounds and the other for SV rounds. In addition, I found that the springs were color coated to denote which one was which. The previous owner had lost one of the springs and I was stuck with the HV spring.I contacted SIG to inquire about replacement springs, they also shared something very eye opening the original springs that shipped with a good porting of the mosquito's were not straight like most are in a semi-auto where the spring is not captured. They had a slight flair on one end and had to be installed correctly or they could bind up during operation. Sig had corrected this by a change in the design of the spring. I was able to order 2 HV and 2 SV springs for them for a total of $15 dollars including shipping and handling. When I received the new springs I put in a SV spring and have not looked back As I got a great deal on the Gun in the first place, over $150 off list, it seems to me I got a great deal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good gun to teach and plink with

Date:February 3, 2014
I bought this gun basically to plink and teach my wife how to shoot. I read all the reviews, especially the ones that mentioned the ammo brand limitations. CCI mini mags are very hard to find, so I was concerned about that, but purchased anyways, and glad I did. First off, use the SHORTER spring and clean the pistol before using the first time, and you can use any quality brand ammo. I broke the gun in with 200 rounds of mini mag, then tried the Remington Golden Bullet and basic CCI 40 grain ammo (about 200 rounds of each), and haven't had a single issue. Basically any good 36-40 grain ammo, that is over 1,200 fps will work fine. After the first 50 rounds, then lubricate after every 100 for the first 450 rounds, and you will have no issues. Using cheap ammo with any gun will not give you good results. Once I hit 1,000 rounds with CCI and Remington Golden Bullet, I will try my surplus of Federal 40 grain.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little gun

Date:December 29, 2013
Gun has a great feel to it and is very accurate.If you use the suggested ammo for it you shouldn't have any issues, but I have actually managed to wean mine off of exclusively mini mags. I put about 400rds of nothing but mini mags through it at first cleaning it often. Then I moved to regular cci rds, about 200 or so. Now I can run federal bulk through it without issue. As long as its kept clean, works fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SWEET, VERY SWEET

Date:December 1, 2013
I bought this pistol for my wife. DO CLEAN THE GUN BEFORE YOU SHOOT. No jams while using cci ammo. My loves how it shoots and feels in her hand. She did let me shoot and it is nothing short of sweet and a lot of fun. Now she can tink with her own gun with me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good pistol once you find the right ammo.

Date:August 23, 2013
As other reviews have mentioned, this pistol is a little picky about what ammo will function properly. Many people like CCI, but I have found the most reliable to be Remington 22 Viper. I think the truncated cone shape allows it to feed more consistently.
This was my first pistol and I would gladly recommend it to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Plinking Gun

Date:June 28, 2013
I bought my mosquito before i read all the negative reviews and i'm glad i did so. I'm actually surprised by the amount of negative reviews. After i purchased mine i took it home and the first thing i did was read the owners manuel. It clearly tells that the gun needs to be cleaned before being fired for the 1st time. Then it tells you that the gun comes with 2 springs.One for stout ammo and one for weaker ammo. After cleaning mine i went ahead and put the lighter spring in mine because i didnt have any of the cci that is recomended. and since then i have shot winchester wildcat, remington golden bullet, bulk pack winchester and federal without any problems. with the heavier spring i have shot cci, velocitor,minimag,stinger and the segmented hp just fine. The only problem i have had was with aguila ammo, and the shell casings was so thin that when the rim was struck it would bend the casing causing it to stick.
I bought mine because of the size it was a little bit bigger than the other 22's i looked at and felt better in my hand. I would recomend this gun to anyone looking for a good 22 pistol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Great pistol for teaching clearing jams

Date:May 31, 2013
My Mosquito functions absolutely flawlessly with CCI mini mag 36 gr HP and 40 gr RN ammo. Functions about 95% with other high quality target ammo at similar velocity. Shoots groups under an inch at 15 yards.
With virtually all other ammo failure rate approaches 50% with failure to feed and failure to eject being the two most common malfunctions. Returned pistol to Sig with no improvement in function.
Effective training tool for teaching clearing of malfunctions. Just throw few rounds other than CCI mini mags in the magazine along with the mini mags and it will almost certainly jam on at least one round.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sig mosquito ammo

Date:March 14, 2013
After a three week wait to get cci minimags ,we tried out our new mosquito. Cleaned gun like directions, shot 100. cci minimags than 50 rounds aguila 22lr intercepters from cabelas's,than 100 more cci's. NO malfunctions at all. Gun worked perfect. No problems with the aguila ammo.Nice feel in the hand ,I am glad I bought this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Happy I bought it

Date:February 7, 2013
I recently purchased a mosquito and was initially disappointed. The first 10 rounds I fired through it stovepiped. However, that was using dirt cheap Winchester range ammo. Once I got my hands on some CCI Mini Mags, this thing has been flawless. I've put 1000 rounds of CCI through it in the last month and not had one single malfunction. Keep her clean and oiled and use good ammo and this thing is fun to shoot. Seriously, it's almost as fun as my Sig p226 especially when you consider the ammo price. It is nice and heavy and the grip feels great. Has a decent sound and recoil. I wish they made mags bigger than 10 rounds but oh well. The mags it comes with are super easy to load using the little knob to depress the spring. Buy one and have some cheap fun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect

Date:December 20, 2012
I am so glad I didn't listen to the reviews. This gun shot perfect with cheap Remington rounds before I cleaned & oiled it. It is a quality gun and looks nice. My next gun will also be a SIG.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Impressed

Date:October 23, 2012
I had been wanting to get a 22 pistol for at least a year and I looked at several different brands. I finally decided on the Sig Mosquito even after I had read plenty of bad reviews on this handgun. I love the way it looks and how light it is, which is the main reason I purchased it, and I was blown away the first time I fired it. Despite all the bad reviews on this handgun I have had zero failure to fires. Follow exactly what Sig recommends (cleaning the pistol well before firing, using CCI Mini Mags, etc.) I am very happy I purchased this handgun and have been totally impressed with its performance. BUY IT!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pretty nice plinker.

Date:September 23, 2012
Read all the bad reviews but decided to get the Mosquito after using a friends of mine. After owning this Mosquito for few months and shooting it around 20 times feeding over 2000 rds I have found it to be a great firearm. Only 1 FTF using Federal bulk ammo. Started out shooting CCI ammo but have since switched to bulk as it feeds and cycles great even during rapid firing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Clean/Lube/ChangeSpring/BreakIn

Date:August 14, 2012
This is a really fun gun useful for teaching basic SA/DA pistol skills. Has the same de-cocking lever as say the P220 Compact. Gun cycles fine if you read the instructions and online FAQs carefully. The instructions and second spring are hidden under the foam in the case.
1) Before shooting, take down and clean the shipping grease off the gun and then lubricate the gun appropriately
2) Change to the weaker longer spring with the smaller end back for standard and high velocity loads as CCI Mini Mags. Use the stronger shorter spring for hyper velocity loads.
3) Break in the gun using CCI Mini Mags
4) You can lubricate the extractor every 100 shots or so through the little hole on the outside of the right side of the slide just ahead of the right thumb safety.
DA and thumb safety movement is only adequate, but not a problem if the shooter is planning to move on to shooting a larger caliber SA/DA pistol such as a P220 which has a much better DA and does not have a thumb safety.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun if you break it in on Mini-Mags

Date:June 14, 2012
This is a great shooting gun. The instruction manual explicitly says it is designed for CCI Mini-Mags. Only shoot Mini-mags for at least the first 1000 rounds. After that it now eats Federal 525 pack just fine. Most .22 pistols I've owned have been ammo sensitive. This may be a bit more sensitive than some others, but break it in well on Mini-Mags and you'll be very happy with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mosquito

Date:June 9, 2012
I purchased the Sig Sauer Mosquito more as a simple, fun range gun for my wife. However man I love to shoot this gun too!
Pro's: weight, sights, trigger pull, low recoil, and easy to handle.
Con's: finicky with ammo, need to clean/lube before you shoot it.
Overall I knew going into the purchase that you need to be shooting CCI Mini Mags. And that I needed to lube it before I ran off to the range. So I never encountered the problems that others have. I've put well over 1,000 rounds through it and have not had a single problem of any kind.
So get the right ammo and your golden, just like gas don't try putting regular in a high performance engine! It's a fun great gun to shoot and own. I'd buy all over again!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad choice

Date:June 4, 2012
I bought this gun for my 15 year old daughter to shoot at the range with me, right out of the box it failed to eject or misfed about 3 to 4 times a clip. I sent it back to sig. and got it back in about 2 weeks, they said they reamed it and lubed it. we took it to the range and it still jammed. It seems that it will only eat cci rounds. I will not be buying another sig. this being my first one I think I will stick with the American made Rugers for my hand guns
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Portage, IN
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Dont always get what you pay for.

Date:April 15, 2012
Bought this gun for my wife. It shot good with CCI ammo for the first 200 rounds. Did not like Federal at all. Same thing with Blazer,ftl, fte 3 or 4 per clip. Gave it a good cleaning and went back to CCI. IT shot good for 100 rounds then even had trouble with those. Spent more time clearing jams then shooting. Took it back to Cabelas and cut our loss. Never will buy a Sig again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SIG Sauer® Mosquito Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So Happy!!!

Date:April 13, 2012
I got this pistol because l have been spending a fortune on ammo lately. I wanted a .22 that looked and felt like the real thing. I got this because my next gun will be the Sig P226, and this is the .22 version. I just went and shot this gun and am so happy that I got it. I shot 100 rounds of CCI mini mags with no problems whatsoever. I did use some of the lube that came with the gun before I shot it, but other than that, I did nothing to it. I am fully satisfied that this gun is good to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 28