Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers

RUGER Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers

Ruger's Lightweight Compact Revolver (LCR) is a light, small-frame handgun with a smooth, easy-to-control trigger and highly manageable recoil. Patent-pending polymer fire-control housing holds components in their proper dimensional relationships, reduces weight significantly and reduces recoil. Optimized friction-reducing cam results in a smooth, nonstacking trigger pull. Cylinder and barrel are supported by a monolithic, aerospace-grade aluminum frame treated with a black synergistic hard coat to reduce weight and enhance durability. The strong 400-Series stainless steel cylinder on the .357, 9mm and .327 models are extensively fluted to reduce weight. Five-shot capacity. Available: • LCR – Chambered in .38 Special+P and outfitted with a Hogue® Tamer™ grip to reduce perceived recoil. Integral U-notch rear sight. Replaceable, pinned, ramp-style front sight. Cylinder is treated with an advanced form of Ruger's durable Target Grey® finish. • LCR-LG – Same as the model above but with the added advantage of Crimson Trace® Lasergrips® for fast target acquisition and follow-up shots. Cylinder is treated with an advanced form of Ruger's durable Target Grey finish. • KLCR-357 – Chambered in potent .357 Magnum. Blackened stainless finish. Integral U-notch rear sight. Replaceable, pinned, ramp-style front sight. Hogue Tamer grip reduces perceived recoil. Cylinder is treated with an advanced form of Ruger's durable Target Grey finish. • LCR 9mm – Chambered in 9mm Luger. Outfitted with a Hogue Tamer grip to reduce perceived recoil. Integral U-notch rear sight. Replaceable, pinned, ramp-style front sight. Stainless steel barrel construction. Cylinder is finished with Ionbond Diamondblack™. Includes three moon clips. • LCRx – Chambered in .38 Special+P and outfitted with a Hogue Tamer grip to reduce perceived recoil. Features an external hammer that allows single-action mode. Cylinder is finished with Ionbond Diamondblack. • LCR .327 – Chambered in .327 Federal and outfitted with a Hogue Tamer Monogrip® to reduce perceived recoil. Integral U-notch rear sight. Features an external hammer that allows single-action mode. Cylinder is finished with Ionbond Diamondblack.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.806 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
35 out of 36(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Review 1 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2012

Love at First Shot!

By
Location: Phoenix,Az
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Yes indeed it was love at first shot! Especially when my wife hit the center of the apple on the applesauce container we used as a plinking target out in the Az. wilderness area. We both loved this gun at first shot and fell in love all over again with the great outdoors and each other. We have been married for over 30 years and this sweet LCR has brought us together even closer. You should have seen her smile and heard her excitement as she nailed that target as it brought back memories of growing up on the farm back in Ohio where her dad taught her how to shoot so acurately and safely. I even have the video to prove it. Priceless!!! Thanks to a great partnership between Ruger and Cabela's!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2016

good gun

By
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased this gun for cc and its a perfect revolver for this , Its fairly accurate good enough to do the job its designed for .
the only problem I have with the gun is the laser grip its a bit small for my hand it can be a little difficult to push the button you need to think about it my hands are bit to big for the grip .
this is my primary carry gun for every day use I carry it in a ankle holster hardly know its there .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2015

Ruger 9mm revolver

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Purchased the Ruger LCR 9mm, just when I thought doesn't get better than LCR .38P+ - it does with LCR 9mm caliber. All snub nose revolvers are going to have recoil, but 9mm version is 17 ounces vs 15 with LCR 38P+. A mere 2 ounces does make a difference in felt recoil. Has a nice white strip on front sight, makes it easier to get a good sight picture, found it to be an accurate, easy to conceal in cargo blue jeans. Ammo in 9mm is more economic and can reload with moon clips faster than a speed loader. I have found the perfect revolver for self defense for me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2015

excellent revolver

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I end up with the hammer and love it.
One of the lightest revolver, carry all day.
Every time you pull the trigger it goes bang.
Own many Ruger and won't be my last.
Can't go wrong with a Ruger.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2014

38/357 well worth the money

By
Country: United States
Have to agree with many other reviewers this gun is awsome! As a female who has only been shooting for under a year, and this being my first revolver, I am thrilled with this gun. I am considering using as cc.
Also considering buying more Ruger products. For being so lightweight, it is not lacking in quality.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2014

Perfect for Concealed Carry

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought a Ruger LCR in 38+P with the Crimson Trace laser for my wife. She loves it, shoots it well, and will actually carry it. That's the question for guys buying CC guns for their wives to carry - Will they? This gun is so light and easy to shoot that my wife can slip it into her pocket or purse without a CC purse or having to holster the gun on her belt. She will carry it without hesitation, just grabs it, pockets it, and walks the dog no problem. I love it for the same reasons. Now my daughter wants one for those late nights walking across the parking lot at her work. I've tried other CC guns but this one is by far the most practical and easiest to carry.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2014

Sweet little pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I shot @12 feet 4 inch group no problem. Satisfactory for close range. Girlfriend owns a smith and Wesson 6906 and shoots it accurately. She placed the lcr in her hands and already wants to carry it in her purse because it's so light. I asked her about carrying it and she admitted she already wants the ruger lcr 38 plus p. we'll I guess I need to buy more guns.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2013

fair

By
This decent overall handgun got it in 38 special. The amount of kick not bad for the size and caliber, but .380 would be more manageable for weaker hands. I am not a great shot but hard to hit 8" target farther than 15 ft out. Does not have a mechanical safety. The reason for 4 star not safety and not that accurate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2013

great

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
got it in 357, reliable, smooth trigger, BRUTAL RECOIL! and surprisingly accurate at 25 yds! (5 inch groups)
love the fit and finish, smooth trigger.
shooting full powered 158gr 357 mags will hurt/bruise your hand. however, for home defense I use glasers or magsafes. I figure, G-D forbid, if I have to use it in a real life situation, any felt pain will be ignored.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2013

:Love it

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
My Dad bought me a 38 special Ruger for protection and I love it! Its perfect for a women because of how light weight & compact it is. Its a great concealed carry.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2013

Nice Pocket Pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased this pistol in the 22 Long Rifle . Fits great in my pocket and is light weight . This week I purchased some 22 long Rifle ammo that was powerless and it was as quiet as a cap gun with no recoil at all . I also shot some 22 Long Rifle ammo with powder for more of a bang but still little recoil . I have owned and shot Rugers for years and they held up well . Only thing Is on ejecting the 22 casings sometimes a few get past the ejector but that is not a big problem as sometimes rimfire rounds catch when they get a crimp in them . I have larger caliber guns but sometimes it is nice to pop a few cans with something not to expensive to shoot . And I am sure with more powerful 22 Long Rifle Ammo it will be enough for a protection gun too . It comes in 22 magnum also for those that want a little more kick .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2013

It is what it is!

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The LRC Ruger 38 Special is lightweight and has a decent grip. Along with the positives of a hammerless revolver for personal protection, it is what it is. A very close range weapon, not at all accurate beyond 10 yards unless your a professional shooter but as a revolver, it is dependable when it counts. Unlike an automatic, you will get 5 shots off and not worry about a feeding problem after the first shot. I would have given this LCR Ruger 5 stars but the weapon is not a high quality manufactured piece. Too much back and forth play in the cylinder when locked in position.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2013

excellant for conceal carry

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This revolver is easy to conceal with no projections to catch on anything.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2013

Perfect Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I got the 357 about a year ago and absolutely love it. It's a little ugly but the grip feels great and the trigger is perfect. The 357's have quite a bit of pop so I usually practice with the 38's. If you're torn deciding between this gun and another revolver I assure you wont be disappointed with this one. You get a lot of gun for the money... well worth it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2013

Ruger LCR

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I think this Ruger LCR 38 is a very fine weapon to carry all day & shoots great
Fits the hand very well & will fit nice for pocket carry or angle carry
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2012

Great self defense gun

By
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought this gun for my wife to carry. She really like the low recoil and the grip. She is tiny an like how well the gun feels in her hand.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2012

Luke warm likeability

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I don't know why this gun gets such rave reviews. I have owned several other Rugers, GP100, P95, and love them both. This one I sold after a few months. I had the .38 version,recoil is pretty brutal, but to be expected in such a light gun,so that is the trade off. But it was too much more my wife to shoot,she hated it, so little advice for any men buying for their wives. It has very comfortable grips but horrible sights and just plain hard to shoot accurately beyond 10 ft. I would not depend on this to protect me if this situation arose.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2012

An Exceptional Revolver

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Fired 50 rounds through this .38 Ruger LCR today and it worked flawlessly. The recoil is well absorbed by the comfortable grips, site alignment worked very well for me and it was just flat-out fun shooting this weapon. Purchased for concealed carry and so far I am delighted with the workmanship, quality and ease of use of this well designed revolver.
My wife also fired a few rounds today and now she wants one to carry in her purse.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2012

Excellent

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
.357mag = highest amount of recoil !!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2012

Very Pleased

By
Location: Southwest Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought my Ruger LCR in .38 Special at the end of January. It is very lightweight, feels good in the hand, and conceals nicely for a revolver. Because of its light weight I had concerns that the recoil might be rough, but the Hogue grips that come stock on the gun proved that to be a non-concern. The felt recoil is very manageable, though I probably would not want to shoot it all day. There are other guns that are all day guns, I will use the LCR for CC. The only complaint I have is not the gun's fault, but my own...I wish I would have spent $40 more for the .38/.357 KLCR.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 36