Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers

RUGER Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers

The Ruger Lightweight Compact Revolver (LCR) is a light, small-frame handgun with a smooth, easy-to-control trigger and highly manageable recoil. Its patent-pending polymer fire-control housing holds components in their proper dimensional relationships, reduces weight significantly and reduces recoil. An optimized friction-reducing cam results in a smooth, nonstacking trigger pull. The cylinder and barrel are supported by a monolithic, aerospace-grade aluminum frame treated with a black synergistic hard coat to reduce weight and enhance durability. The cylinder is strong 400-Series stainless steel, extensively fluted to reduce weight. Five-shot capacity. LCR – Chambered in .38 Special+P and outfitted with a Hogue® Tamer™ grip to reduce perceived recoil. Integral U-notch rear sight. Replaceable, pinned, ramp-style front sight. Cylinder is treated with an advanced form of Ruger's durable Target Grey® finish. LCR-LG – Same as the model above but with the added advantage of Crimson Trace® Lasergrips® for fast target acquisition and follow-up shots. Cylinder is treated with an advanced form of Ruger's durable Target Grey finish. KLCR-357 – Chambered in potent .357 Magnum. Blackened stainless finish. Integral U-notch rear sight. Replaceable, pinned, ramp-style front sight. Hogue Tamer grip reduces perceived recoil. Cylinder is treated with an advanced form of Ruger's durable Target Grey finish. LCR 9mm – Chambered in 9mm Luger. Outfitted with a Hogue Tamer grip to reduce perceived recoil. Integral U-notch rear sight. Replaceable, pinned, ramp-style front sight. Stainless steel barrel construction. Cylinder is finished with Ionbond Diamondblack™. Includes three moon clips. LCRX – Features an external hammer that allows single-action mode.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
31 out of 32(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Review 1 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix,Az
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love at First Shot!

Date:March 12, 2012
Yes indeed it was love at first shot! Especially when my wife hit the center of the apple on the applesauce container we used as a plinking target out in the Az. wilderness area. We both loved this gun at first shot and fell in love all over again with the great outdoors and each other. We have been married for over 30 years and this sweet LCR has brought us together even closer. You should have seen her smile and heard her excitement as she nailed that target as it brought back memories of growing up on the farm back in Ohio where her dad taught her how to shoot so acurately and safely. I even have the video to prove it. Priceless!!! Thanks to a great partnership between Ruger and Cabela's!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect for Concealed Carry

Date:September 25, 2014
I bought a Ruger LCR in 38+P with the Crimson Trace laser for my wife. She loves it, shoots it well, and will actually carry it. That's the question for guys buying CC guns for their wives to carry - Will they? This gun is so light and easy to shoot that my wife can slip it into her pocket or purse without a CC purse or having to holster the gun on her belt. She will carry it without hesitation, just grabs it, pockets it, and walks the dog no problem. I love it for the same reasons. Now my daughter wants one for those late nights walking across the parking lot at her work. I've tried other CC guns but this one is by far the most practical and easiest to carry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet little pistol

Date:April 7, 2014
I shot @12 feet 4 inch group no problem. Satisfactory for close range. Girlfriend owns a smith and Wesson 6906 and shoots it accurately. She placed the lcr in her hands and already wants to carry it in her purse because it's so light. I asked her about carrying it and she admitted she already wants the ruger lcr 38 plus p. we'll I guess I need to buy more guns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fair

Date:December 17, 2013
This decent overall handgun got it in 38 special. The amount of kick not bad for the size and caliber, but .380 would be more manageable for weaker hands. I am not a great shot but hard to hit 8" target farther than 15 ft out. Does not have a mechanical safety. The reason for 4 star not safety and not that accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great

Date:December 3, 2013
got it in 357, reliable, smooth trigger, BRUTAL RECOIL! and surprisingly accurate at 25 yds! (5 inch groups)
love the fit and finish, smooth trigger.
shooting full powered 158gr 357 mags will hurt/bruise your hand. however, for home defense I use glasers or magsafes. I figure, G-D forbid, if I have to use it in a real life situation, any felt pain will be ignored.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

:Love it

Date:September 16, 2013
My Dad bought me a 38 special Ruger for protection and I love it! Its perfect for a women because of how light weight & compact it is. Its a great concealed carry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Pocket Pistol

Date:July 18, 2013
I purchased this pistol in the 22 Long Rifle . Fits great in my pocket and is light weight . This week I purchased some 22 long Rifle ammo that was powerless and it was as quiet as a cap gun with no recoil at all . I also shot some 22 Long Rifle ammo with powder for more of a bang but still little recoil . I have owned and shot Rugers for years and they held up well . Only thing Is on ejecting the 22 casings sometimes a few get past the ejector but that is not a big problem as sometimes rimfire rounds catch when they get a crimp in them . I have larger caliber guns but sometimes it is nice to pop a few cans with something not to expensive to shoot . And I am sure with more powerful 22 Long Rifle Ammo it will be enough for a protection gun too . It comes in 22 magnum also for those that want a little more kick .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It is what it is!

Date:June 4, 2013
The LRC Ruger 38 Special is lightweight and has a decent grip. Along with the positives of a hammerless revolver for personal protection, it is what it is. A very close range weapon, not at all accurate beyond 10 yards unless your a professional shooter but as a revolver, it is dependable when it counts. Unlike an automatic, you will get 5 shots off and not worry about a feeding problem after the first shot. I would have given this LCR Ruger 5 stars but the weapon is not a high quality manufactured piece. Too much back and forth play in the cylinder when locked in position.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellant for conceal carry

Date:May 29, 2013
This revolver is easy to conceal with no projections to catch on anything.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect Gun

Date:May 20, 2013
I got the 357 about a year ago and absolutely love it. It's a little ugly but the grip feels great and the trigger is perfect. The 357's have quite a bit of pop so I usually practice with the 38's. If you're torn deciding between this gun and another revolver I assure you wont be disappointed with this one. You get a lot of gun for the money... well worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger LCR

Date:March 9, 2013
I think this Ruger LCR 38 is a very fine weapon to carry all day & shoots great
Fits the hand very well & will fit nice for pocket carry or angle carry
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great self defense gun

Date:December 18, 2012
I bought this gun for my wife to carry. She really like the low recoil and the grip. She is tiny an like how well the gun feels in her hand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Luke warm likeability

Date:October 27, 2012
I don't know why this gun gets such rave reviews. I have owned several other Rugers, GP100, P95, and love them both. This one I sold after a few months. I had the .38 version,recoil is pretty brutal, but to be expected in such a light gun,so that is the trade off. But it was too much more my wife to shoot,she hated it, so little advice for any men buying for their wives. It has very comfortable grips but horrible sights and just plain hard to shoot accurately beyond 10 ft. I would not depend on this to protect me if this situation arose.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

An Exceptional Revolver

Date:October 13, 2012
Fired 50 rounds through this .38 Ruger LCR today and it worked flawlessly. The recoil is well absorbed by the comfortable grips, site alignment worked very well for me and it was just flat-out fun shooting this weapon. Purchased for concealed carry and so far I am delighted with the workmanship, quality and ease of use of this well designed revolver.
My wife also fired a few rounds today and now she wants one to carry in her purse.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:September 12, 2012
.357mag = highest amount of recoil !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southwest Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Pleased

Date:April 1, 2012
I bought my Ruger LCR in .38 Special at the end of January. It is very lightweight, feels good in the hand, and conceals nicely for a revolver. Because of its light weight I had concerns that the recoil might be rough, but the Hogue grips that come stock on the gun proved that to be a non-concern. The felt recoil is very manageable, though I probably would not want to shoot it all day. There are other guns that are all day guns, I will use the LCR for CC. The only complaint I have is not the gun's fault, but my own...I wish I would have spent $40 more for the .38/.357 KLCR.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Galt, Ca
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LCR 38/357

Date:March 2, 2012
I have found these pistol's to be excellent in quality and function. I have 35 years in Law enforcement, and started with revolvers. Transitioned to Semi-auto in the 90's. I am a certified Rangemaster/ Lawenforcement trainer/ Range safety officer.
The reason I give these pistols such a high rating is they are simple. For self defense, they will do their job quite well. You don't have any training issues that lead to the pistol short stroking and jamming after the first shot. Revolver are very forgiving and extremely reliable.
The revolver also allows one to carry shot loads if in snake country, a semi auto will not function properly. Also, you can use reduced power loads to train with and full power when needed.+++++
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet trigger

Date:February 26, 2012
I have owned the Ruger LCR (.38 SPCL/.38+P - no laser) for over a year. Arguably the smoothest, most consistent trigger pull of any DAO revolver on the market. Its light weight (part polymer), sweet trigger, and slightly bulky Hogue grips combine to make this handgun a pleasure to carry & shoot.
Excellent choice for daily CC. A near tossup between the LCR & J-frame revolvers. You decide.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florissant, Mo
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PERFECT CCW

Date:February 20, 2012
I suggested this gun to my wife. She has advance case of RA and auto gun was pretty much out of the question. This gun fit her hand PERFECTLY! The trigger wasn't bad either. It was like buying a custom made gun.
We went to the range. She loved it. Using the higher grade bullets like the "self defense" rounds adds a bit more recoil and can leave your hand "stinging" a bit after 10 rounds.
When i shot it with the basic FMJ rounds, it wasn't bad.
So far this gun has been the choice of many women, but is not a "girly" gun. Its perfect for anyone. In fact I'm thinking about getting one for my back up. Small, SUPER light... you have to check it out to see.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruger® LCR™ Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spring Valley
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LCR RUGER .357 Awsome

Date:January 7, 2012
Love my LCR .357, I got the hot pink Hogue hand grip, very accurate and does not kick like a Mule like my friends said it would!!! Note: its hard to find a nice holster for it. Galco has a nice leather holster for it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 32