Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® Super Redhawk® Revolvers

RUGER Ruger® Super Redhawk® Revolvers

Ruger’s big-bore Redhawk Revolvers pack the punch you need for big-game hunting and protection from dangerous animals. All feature rugged, weather-resistant, stainless steel construction with black rubber Hogue® Monogrip® cushioned grip systems. Available: Super Redhawk – Outfitted with the most rigid scope-mounting system ever invented for handguns. Enjoy all of the advantages of the standard Redhawk with added features, such as a hammer-forged barrel and an extended frame machined to accept Ruger scope rings (included). Its six-shot cylinder makes this powerful revolver popular among hunters, metallic-silhouette shooters and those looking for an added level of safety and confidence when outdoors in dangerous-game country. Available in .44 Magnum with a 7.5" or 9.5" barrel, .480 with a 2.5" or 7.5" barrel and .454 Casull with a 7.5" barrel. Super Redhawk Alaskan – Providing the confidence of a six-shot cylinder in a size and weight that is practical enough to conveniently carry afield where personal protection may be needed. Alaskan models feature a 2-1/2" frame-integral barrel for fast draw-and-aim capability. Available in hard-hitting .44 Magnum and .454 Casull calibers.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® Super Redhawk® Revolvers
Review 1 for Ruger® Super Redhawk® Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago Heights
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well worth the money!

Date:November 12, 2010
has a great kick when fired.Well built. Very powerful
when using buffalo bores.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® Super Redhawk® Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Incline Village, NV
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SRH 44 Mag is a great gun!

Date:January 16, 2011
As with all the Ruger's this gun is one sturdy piece of work. It's also well balanced and easy to handle. I just added a Red Dot scope and that's a great addition, giving good accuracy at 50 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® Super Redhawk® Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SRH in 454 Casull w/7.5 in barrall

Date:April 19, 2011
This gun is awesome. I am moving to Alaska and bear protection is important if you want to live very long. When you see a bear you never feel like you have enough gun. Very accurate. Going to try to mount a scope on it for hunting. great gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® Super Redhawk® Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

More than enough gun for the money

Date:July 19, 2011
I purchased a 4" barrel 44 magnum Ruger Redhawk at Cabela's in October of 2007. I find the double action trigger very smooth for a firearm designed primarily designed for an outdoorsman. It has enough accuracy at typical handgun ranges out to 50 yds. I average 2.5" groups at 25 yds. For me, however, 50 yds is stretching it. Later on, when I got my permit, I found that the gun conceals nicely with the right holster. I use a Ted Blocker holster with an FBI tilt. With summer clothes this may be a problem. It is somewhat heavy to carry but the weight also soaks up the recoil from factory
loads that use heavy bullets. The handgun is well made and it is unlikely that one would need replacement parts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® Super Redhawk® Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hayward, CA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

no wimps need apply

Date:July 23, 2011
If you want a hard thumping, kick your behind accurate pistol, then this is the one for you. I went the long barrel, slapped on a scope, went to the 25 yard line and put a two inch group with some Hornady's. After another round with a box of Winchesters , I was done for. Most important I had more fun than a barrel of monkeys. FUN FUN FUN and this is going pig hunting with me (in case the pig is armed). Great job by Ruger. It comes with the scope rings too
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® Super Redhawk® Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Redhawk Alaskan 454 casull

Date:August 12, 2011
I purchased this gun through Cabelas special order firearms and was very pleased with the service. They found the 454 for me when nobody else could. The price is a bit high but the gun is worth it. It is extremely well built and very accurate. The 454 ammo is very expensive and so I have only shot 50 rounds of 454 but it was a lot of fun. 454 has a Big kick but the gun handles it well. The grip on the gun is big and comfortable. The 45 colts have a lot less kick and I found the Redhawk Alaskan 454 to be very accurate with the 45s at 10 yards. I own several revolvers and this is my favorite one to shoot so far. I have a Ruger Super Blackhawk in 44 mag that I have not shot yet. So I will have to compare to that once I get to shoot it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® Super Redhawk® Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Huntingdon, PA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Night Sights Needed Desperately !!

Date:January 9, 2012
The Super Redhawk gets all the upgrades like
night sights from meprolight and a lazer sight from crimson trace....but the Ruger Redhawk in 45 long
colt that can be loaded for bear protection can only
get a fiberoptic front sight by Hi-Viz....no rear fiberoptic sight...
Bears, Mountain Lions and 2 legged predators all
like to work at night, and lots of hunters go to their stands before daylight carrying flashlights...no way
are they going to be able to see their sights with
the standard sights on the Ruger Redhawk or even
the Super Redhawk....I love the Ruger Redhawk in
45 Long Colt, it's packable, hot loads are more than
enough, but.....no good at dusk or dawn or after dark...sorry...Ruger needs to get with it.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® Super Redhawk® Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Weapon!

Date:May 17, 2012
Love this weapon! Nice feel to it. Very well-made! Using this for backup when bear hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® Super Redhawk® Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very well made!

Date:July 19, 2012
I bought the Super RedHawk at my local Cabela's and it sat around for a month or so before I finally put it to work at the range. What a great, well made, very, very accurate fire arm. My son shot 30 rounds or so and his 105 Lb girlfriend shot 30 plus rounds too. She has never fired a hand gun ever. She put all rounds in the kill zone at fifty yards. I put her on a P22 after that and she wanted the .44 instead. Its just that fun to fire.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® Super Redhawk® Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My Deer Hunting Revolver

Date:June 15, 2013
Well I finally purchased a revolver for deer hunting. Why Ruger, because of everything I read and experience using their guns, this was the best gun I could buy for deer hunting. I have the Super Redhawk - .44 magnum. Yes, the gun is a little heavy but as you know, us deer hunters are tough. Trust me, when I pull this gun out of it's locked case, all I get is "ohs and ahs". After getting sighted in this gun could almost out shoot my scoped shotgun at 50 yards. I am proud of this gun and Ruger really made a great gun - I wouldn't change anything on this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® Super Redhawk® Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best hand gun ever made

Date:January 13, 2014
I have owned this pistol in 44 mag for 19 years with well over 40,000 full bore hand loaded rounds fired and it is still going strong! I have had my 454 Super Redhawk for 9 years with close to 10,000 full bore hand load rounds fired through it. If you want a strong trustworthy hand gun this is the one for you!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® Super Redhawk® Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun gun to shoot

Date:March 1, 2014
I have a 44 magnum with a 9.5 inch barrel. I have had it less than a year and it is a blast to shoot. It is very accurate and can hit with sites at 50 yards consistently at a 100 yards not as good my eyes aren't what they used to be. Hard to find a holster for it but found one that a works with a scope mounted on it. Will try to mount a scope later this year. Plan to use it for hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.