Customer Reviews for COMBAT ZONE Taurus 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

COMBAT ZONE Taurus 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols

Built to the highest standards with premium components, the Taurus line of Model 1911s delivers performance and features you'd expect from handguns costing far more. The frame, slides and barrels are constructed of hammer-forged, ordnance-grade steel. Each part is machined to tolerance levels that surpass industry standards. Skilled pistol smiths hand-fit and tune each gun to ensure optimal performance and accuracy. All are semiautomatic, chambered in .45 ACP and have 8+1 capacity. Each also is outfitted with Heinie straight-eight sights, an ambidextrous safety and ventilated trigger. Available: Taurus 1911 with Picatinny Rail – A rail for mounting lights, laser sights and other accessories gives this pistol a tactical edge. Checkered all-weather grip panels provide a secure hold. Available with a blued slide on a matte gray frame for a two-tone appearance, and also in an all-black model. Taurus 1911 with Rosewood Grips – As an added bonus, the standard grips are also included with this special gun. Available in stainless steel, duo-tone and blued finish.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
10 out of 13(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Taurus 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Review 1 for Taurus 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Duluth, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love mine

Date:February 5, 2012
I have had mine for a couple years now and I am about 500 rounds deep. No problems as of yet.
I have read of some parts failures, but they pretty much all said Taurus fixed them and fixed them quickly.
One thing that I did notice that kind of annoyed me with a friend's 1911...on every forth or fifth round the case would be ejected up in the air and come down on top of my head! We got a good laugh about that. (Mine doesn't pick on me like that)
IMO Taurus makes some fine products. They used to be a Beretta factory AND they make most, if not all, of the parts for their guns on site...unlike most manufacturers that order various pieces from multiple sources leading to poor fit and the need to custom work some parts. We also get the added benefit of lower cost because they make their own parts. With Taurus, you get more than you pay for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Taurus 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rockland county, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Taurus 1911

Date:January 17, 2012
Have fired over 1000 rounds without a hitch. I did buy Chip McCormick mags since the Taurus mags looked sort of cheap. Didn't care for the Taurus grips so I bought some high quality grips. For the money it's a great gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Taurus 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Bingen wa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Pt1911

Date:November 15, 2011
Have 2 of these guns the extractors keep breaking on both guns. I only feed ammo from magazine. A problem Taurus needs to aknowledge and fix.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Taurus 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SLC,UT
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best pin shooter

Date:September 26, 2011
My first pt 1911 is blue it is now some were over 2,000 rounds, it worked so well I now have an other in stainless. But keep it clean like any other gun and it does not fail...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Taurus 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Taurus 1911 - Great Handgun

Date:July 6, 2011
I bought the Taurus 1911 last week. Out to the range and 150 rounds later, excellent choice. I have several guns: glock, ruger, smith and wesson, with my new Taurus 1911, my handgun collection is now complete. Shoots great, one or two handed, low recoil, and very accurate. The finish and "feel" of this gun is compairable to other highend 1911s.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Taurus 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: St Louis
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Taurus 1911

Date:May 16, 2011
Extractor broke 4 times. Must be design flaw or defective parts. Taurus kept replacing it under warranty. Finally got fed up and returned to Cabelas for a refund. After research on the internet, extractor failure is a common problem with this gun. Extractor is injection molded instead of machined from solid metal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Taurus 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Puyallup WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not Just Great For The Money, Great Period

Date:May 14, 2011
I purchased the PT1911 after extensive research. I can not say enough good things about this gun. The fit and finish on mine is perfect. When I did the first cleaning I found Taurus does a lot of polishing work to the moving parts, work which I will not have to spend time doing. Trigger is smooth and light, it makes the trigger on my Glock feel terrible and it has a custom trigger job. It shoots where you aim. Took out pop cans at 60yds without a problem. This will not be my last Taurus purchase. I plan on getting a Judge for the wife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Taurus 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Taurus 1911

Date:May 5, 2011
This was my first gun purchase, based upon recommendations from a friend who is retired from police services. He pointed out all of the advantages and upgrades done to the Taurus 1911's, compared to other brands. I liked the fit and finish, so the choice was easy. Now that I think of it, I think he actually wanted it. He was impressed.
Since that time, I have purchased one Taurus revolver and a PT92F (Beretta copy). I understand that the Taurus company had some manufacturing problems in the past, but from my experience, all of the Taurus product I have purchased, as well as my conversations with others who also own them, have been very, very positive.
There are cheap guns (like Rock Island and Hi Point): guns that are cheaply made, and inexpensive guns: guns that represent good value. Taurus 1911 is an exceptional value.
I rate the Taurus 1911 as a 5 star, easily. It is very, very accurate. It feels good in the hands, points well, and shoots where you are aiming. I liked it so well that I bought a back-up copy (from Cabelas also).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Taurus 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EXCELLENT GUN FOR THE MONEY

Date:April 19, 2011
I purchased this gun several months ago and have not been disappointed in the least. With over 800 rounds through this gun, I've only had about 5 misfires (due to needing cleaning, and not properly seating the mag). I haven't had any problems with anything loosening up in regards to the sights and hand-grips.
A bonus to buying from Taurus is that they give you multiple upgrades that you would have to buy separately from other companies. The gun comes stock with an ambidextrous safety, hand checkered fore and aft grips, and single piece spring guide among other things.
The gun shoots pretty accurately. I primarily have been shooting Winchester's FMJ, which wasn't bad, but Hornady's TAP-FPD really tightens the groupings.
The gun came with two factory 8 round magazines that work great, so I decided to purchase two more. When I got the other two mags from a different website they would only fit 7 rounds round in them and feed correctly. I sent them to Taurus' repair site and got a pair back that work correctly.
Be warned, the Taurus customer service was very rude, but they got the job done.
Hope this helps. I have been more than happy with my purchase. I've heard horror stories about some, but most companies have a few bad apples at some point, so don't let that scare you to much.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Taurus 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Abington, PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Taurus PT1911 DUO TONE NOT WORTH THE MONEY

Date:November 13, 2010
I seen the regular PT1911 on sale in a cabelas ad. Did my research and ended up buying the gun. First time at the range, gun jammed on the 39th round and bent up the magazine. I was left with one good mag. gun came with two sets of grips, the plastic black grips were cracked. Next visit to the range, all my shots were off to the left. Noticed that the rear sight had moved. Had the guys at the gun range adjust it for me. 50 shots later same thing. Went home upset because i thought the guy at the range didn't tighten it good. Adjusted the gun myself, took it to the range again. 30 rounds in the sight moved again. Will be sending this gun out for repairs. I would not recommend this gun, Don't waste your money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Taurus 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MPLS, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tarus PT 1911 Blued

Date:September 11, 2010
Allot of features for the money. Only put 200 rounds through it but no malfunctions at all. I have a Kimber Custom Crimson Carry II which had numerous FTF during the first 300 rounds. It eventually broke in and performed better, but the Tarus was great right out of the box. Just as acurate as my Kimber half the price. The trigger didn't feel as good as the Kimber at 1st, felt kind of gritty, not smooth and crisp. The more I shot it the better is got. Overall great gun for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Taurus 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Crosby, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PT 1911

Date:March 15, 2010
Probably today's best bargain in 1911s.
It ain't the best 1911 around, but it is the best in it's price range.
I carried [and loved] 1911s for over 40 years.
If I bought one today, this would be the one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Taurus 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Caldwell, Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Taurus 1911 awsome gun! Price can't be beat

Date:February 7, 2010
I bought this pistol about 2 years ago and it is the most accurate hand gun I have shot to date. After it was broken in I shot 1 1/2" groups at 25yds unsupported. My dad who wasn't even wearing his glasses shot it at 25yds and still grouped just over 2". It feels great in the hand and the recoil is quite managble. This is a great pistol but I would add this - fully loaded it is very heavy so I would not consider it for a carry gun I have an XD-40 for that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.