Customer Reviews for SPRINGFIELD ARMORY Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols

SPRINGFIELD ARMORY Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols

Springfield Armory’s XD Subcompact 3" are the shortest concealed-carry polymer pistols in the world. They also feature the only light rail in their class. Comes with two magazines – a 13-round 9mm; 9-round .40 S&W and a 16-round 9mm; 12-round .40 S&W with a grip extension. 3" steel Melonite® barrel with fully supported ramp. Dovetail, three-dot, steel front and rear sights. Trigger pull is available between 5.5-7.7 lbs. Black polymer frame with forged-steel Melonite black finish. Dual-spring recoil system with full-length guide rod. Shown with grip extension magazine.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.95 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
40 out of 40(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Review 1 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2011

Amazing Handgun!

By
Location: Lansing, KS
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased this class just before my CCH class to use to qualify and am glad I did. This gun is VERY Accurate! It feeds reliably and feels great in your hands. I took this gun to my combat pistol training course as well and it performed very well in all the drills we went through with rapid fire, moving firing, reloads on the move and several others. I use the gun more without the extended magazine because practice for conceal carry more with it and no problem with the shorter grip. The trigger pull is soft, the safety features are very nice and everyone I have taken to the range has absolutely loved this gun. i would recommend this gun to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2016

My Choice for Daily Carry

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I’m a 20-year Navy Veteran who was a service qualified Expert (pistol) marksman. I own a Glock 19 Gen 2, Glock 23 Gen 3 and, a number of non-polymer handguns (my wife has a Sig P238)… my Springfield XD-40 subcompact is by-far my favorite everyday carry defense weapon. It feels great in my (large) hand even with the smaller 9-round mag. I carry it concealed IWB in a Sof-Tuck (#106) holster but I suppose I could use a Blackhawk Serpa under an un-tucked shirt (now that Texas allows open carry – I have one but prefer to conceal).
The three most important elements you must have in your defensive carry weapon are; Reliability, Accuracy, and Safety. The Springfield Armory XD subcompact pistol meets (and exceeds) all three requirements. I shoot a couple hundred rounds every month (because you fight like you train). I clean it only after I get home (not even a quick field swabbing) and it fires every round I put through it. My XD has never failed to load or eject even after hundreds rounds of cheap range ammo (I use Hornady Critical Defense for daily carry). A 3-inch barrel gun would not be my first choice for a tactical weapon but, for a daily carry gun, the XD subcompact meets the challenge; I HIGHLY recommend it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2015

Superb Weapon - HIGHLY recommend!

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have well over 2 thousand round through my weapon, w two failures to fire on faulty primers. No FTLs, FTEs. Gun feels great in hand. Love the ambidextrous magazine eject. Very accurate. Depending on magazine used, can be either a 2 finger sub-compact or full grip like full size gun. Noticeably less felt recoil compared to Glock 26 (an excellent weapon too). XD has higher bore axis but is heavier. A piece of cake to field-strip and clean. The trigger is criticized by some, but I like it. Very smooth at 5.5 pounds, but the Glock definitely has the firmer definitive reset. About the best thing in my mind - not often mentioned by others - is that with the grip safety, I can reholster the weapon very, very safely by placing my thumb over the slide rear while inserting into holster, essentially disabling the weapon from being able to fire should that trigger get hung up on something. I like that a lot!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2013

Easy Handling Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I've had my XD-sub for two years and love the feel and the weight of it. I shoot left handed and got a left hand
molded paddle holster from Springfield. I altered it so it
doesn't DIG into my side and I use it as a cross holster.
It works beautifully and allows me to draw quickly and easily and the accuracy of the XD-sub is fantastic. I would recommend this gun to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2013

Excellent gun most reliable I have had

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have now put more than a thousand rounds through my XD9 subcompact and have yet to have an issue. very simple to field strip and clean. Excellent concealed carry option as well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2013

Best Ever

By
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I picked up the XD9 sub compact after handling one owned by a friend. I would swear the grip was designed specifically for me. The fact that I am a former 1911 owner may help as the XD9 is about the same angle. I was a little concerned about the three-inch barrel but I shoot better groups with the XD9 at 7 and 20 yards than I do with a Ruger 9mm auto with a 4-inch barrel. Took it to the range and ran 200 rounds through it without a misfire. I would advise, however, that you get the Pearce grip for the 13-round mag--SA should put it on mags from the factory. Wouldn't trade this piece for any other make or model. I have total confidence that if I ever need it for the reason I got it, I will be the winner.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2013

Awesome Concealed Carry Firearm

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Recently bought the subcompact 40. This is the third Springfield Armory pistol I own. I was skeptical that a 3' barrel pistol would group well but found out real quick this little pistol can shoot. Nice tight groups out to 15 yards. Shooting Winchester 200 grain hollow points. I recommend this firearm highly. Added a Blackhawk Sherpa holster and can comfortably carry all day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2013

Great Sub-Compact!!

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have owned this gun now for almost 3 years and it has never failed me..
Everyone who shoots it asks me if I would be willing to it sell to them.
It is a great buy and an extremely dependable firearm.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2013

Great Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This gun is my first sub-compact which I bought in December 2012. I first rented a springfield at the gun range, and knew I had to have one. This gun fits in my hand like a glove, and is very easy to shoot. I have had zero probelms with my Springfield XD-9 9mm. I am going to use this gun as my concealed carry gun. I would recommend this gun to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2012

It's not the gun, it's me.

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
The 9mm sub-compact is a great gun. I've put way over 500 rounds of cheap range ammo through it and have had no cycle or ejection issues. None. It's a little bit of a load to carry even with the smaller 13 round mag and a Pearce grip extension. Grip and trigger safeties are a great combination. Wouldn't give up the "weapon cocked" and "round in the chamber" indicators . But it's a pretty short distance between that front and rear sight and once I get that target out to anything over 30', my groupings aren't very grouped. This I'm sure is true of any sub or small carry weapon and I can recommend the gun for what it's designed to do; lotsa rounds dependably into a close target.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2012

Outstanding handgun

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
What more can be said after 29 5 star and 1 4star reviews. Here's my two cents worth. I own a Beretta 96FS SW40 as well which I consider a superb full size. That will be my top drawer bedside home defense weapon. I was interested in a subcompact carry weapon with plenty of punch and capacity. The XD9 really fits the bill. Before I bought this, I test fired the Glock 26, Beretta PX4 Storm, and the Smith& Wesson MP. All of them are reliable and worthy. None of them produced the tight groupings that I posted with the XD. I think much of that has to do with the extremely comfortable ergonomic feel of the XD. As a former Marine NCO, I qualified with the M1911 45 cal in 1967, and consider myself a decent shot. At 66 both my eyes and less steady hands make it more difficult, but I'm still consistenty on target. I really enjoy this firearm and give it an A+ recommendation. Buy it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2012

Exactly what i need, REALIABLE!

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
When i was looking to purchase a new handgun i wanted the most reliable firearm there was. and this met that to a T!!! put over 750 round through it with no FTF's or FTE's! it was spot on accurate right out of the box, i didnt need to make ANY adjustments. any fliers were 100% my own fault. Every one i have had fire thie firearm has loved it and all have said that it is their next purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2012

Springfield XD Sub-Compact Can't do better for CCA

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought this late spring, used to qualify for the conceal and carry permit. Did great especially one handed. Thge wepon is smooth and very reliable. I looked at about every model in this price range before deciding on the one I wanted. The 9MM is all one need to get anything they may need it to do. If anyone has trouble with accuracy I'd sugget they try getting lessons to correct their bad habits...... Buy it and you can't be disappointed
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2012

Springfield

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This is a great sub compact. Accurate right out of the box. I have shot many different types of ammo and the gun responds to anything I run through it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2012

One Sweet Gun!

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought the XD40 a couple weeks ago. Man I'm glad I did. It shots very nice. It shots every thing I put through it. I also own a SR9c and it's a tough choice between the two.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2012

Great carry weapon

By
I've always been a great fan of S/A I've owned many of there weapons and have never had a single problem with them. This pistol out of the box is right on at the range what i mostly like about it that it's not bulky could be carried without a problem, Also a great bedside weapon for home protection i have my 12 gauge but in a pinch i would totally trust this weapon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2012

Fantastic

By
Location: MN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Started shooting and carrying hand guns about 1 year ago after many years of hunting and shooting various rifles. Ended up purchasing three handguns because, (as many of you know) shooting handguns is a blast. Of the three I purchased, this is by far the best! Load it, aim it, shoot it and it hits what you aim at. The model I purchased is the XD sub compact 9mm.
I also bought a glock 26 9mm and a Sig PX290 9mm. The Sig has been sent back to the factory for repair as it shoots 18" low at 20 feet (unbelievable? check reviews and you will see this is not uncommon). The Glock has a hard trigger pull which causes me to pull the shots to the left. I am planning on getting the trigger adjusted to reduce this effect. One thing that I like in terms of using this as a "carry" handgun is the secondary safety on the back of the grip. It is a little heavier and more bulky than my other two but if you are going to "carry" you need a gun that will hit what you aim at EVERY time. Perhaps the issue with the Glock is related to my shooting style but with the Sig, when I aim at the heart of the target at 20 feet I hit at thigh level. When I shoot the Springfield, I can put 10 rounds in a 2" group at 20 feet without even thinking about it. As I said at the top, FANTASTIC!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2012

All-round winner.

By
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I have a Springfield XD9 Sub-Compact. It was the first pistol I purchased as a good all round gun, for the reasons listed below.
Pros:
-Ergonomic; the pistol just feels good in my hand. Hard to explain, but a lot of Springfield owners have commented on this phenomenon.
-Safe; this handgun as how many safeties? Lets name them off: Trigger safety, grip safety, firing pin indicator, loaded chamber indicator, drop safety are the ones I am aware of. There are probably even more. The amazing thing is, none of these get in the way of normal operation; they only add to your information with no detracting factors at all. My wife and mother-in-law especially love the firing pin and loaded chamber indicators.
-Reliable: I have had only one malfunction after over 2,000 rounds; an old 135gr low-recoil hyrda-shok case got stuck halfway while ejecting from the chamber. A quick lock back of the slide and it was cleared. I strongly believe it is ammo related and not firearm related.
-Accurate: Once the operator gets used to firing a sub-compact, this pistol is remarkably accurate. An excellent, 5lb or so crisp trigger pull with a good reset contribute considerably I'm sure.
-High Capacity: Springfield managed to pack more rounds in their mags than most other manufacturers. With this Sub-Compact, you can even buy 16-round (9mm) extended mags so it has a full size grip! Even the short mags pack 13+1 firepower though. Considering this little gun can handle +P+ ammo (if the shooter can!), that is a lot of omph for any situation.
-Light Rail: I haven't tried it yet, but there are several excellent firearm lights you can mount on this, and the balance doesn't particularly change.
-Compact: Obviously this pistol is very compact. Just about as small as a cut-down full size can get.
-Value: You really can't go wrong with the value of Springfield's products. Especially if you buy a combo package with mags, holster, etc.
Cons:
-The only real cons come from this being a sub-compact; muzzle rise and blast are significant, sight radius is small, short grip, tendency to fire low-left due to anticipating the above factors, decreased muzzle velocities due to the short barrel. None of these issues are really the product's fault though, more issues with the overall class. If you want to mitigate some of these problems, consider the 4" barrel service XD9 (nearly the same price, same design), or the very excellent XD(m) series of pistols (be prepared for a price point jump, however).
If you want a good overall pistol to fulfill multiple uses well, safely, and reliably, then strongly consider the XD sub-compacts and even the XD service models.
As always, make sure to fire many other similar firearms from other manufacturers at your local range so you can make a well informed decision. Make sure to attend a firearms safety course or two if you are a new buyer, as well.
Stay safe and happy shooting!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

GREAT

By
Location: Milan,mi
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have put about 3000 rounds though this .40 cal with out one problem.If you looking a .40 cal this is your gun
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Springfield Armory® XD 3" Subcompact Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Very Solid Pistol - Raving Fan

By
Location: stl, mo
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I have the sub compact in .40 cal and I like it alot. Comes with a lot of freebies too (XD Gear).
I've shot cheap ammo to expensive rounds and all have fed perfectly fine. I've never had a jam or misfire using this gun.
My buddy who is new to handguns bought a Beretta 9mm and couldnt hit paper with that. He borrowed my Springfield and even with the 3 inch barrel had a nice grouping.
These are pretty darn accurate for such a small gun. No complaints here.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 40