Customer Reviews for SPRINGFIELD ARMORY Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols

SPRINGFIELD ARMORY Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols

The award-winning Springfield XD is engineered to work with your body to help you reach your full potential as a shooter. Pick up an XD for the first time, raise it to eye level, point at a target and you’ll likely be looking right down the sights. The XD’s Point & Shoot Ergonomics™ make it feel more like an extension of your body than an object in your hand. Fully hammer-forged barrels with precision rifling enhance accuracy. All critical internal parts are forged and precisely machined from billet for durability. Steel slides are mated to super-tough, all-weather polymer frames. Tough, corrosion-resistant finishes keep them looking great. Stainless steel magazines drop free when the release is activated. Easy, no-tool disassembly makes routine maintenance a snap. Standard features on all models include a striker status indicator, grip safety, loaded-chamber indicator, Ultra Safety Assurance™ trigger system, ambidextrous magazine release and accessory rail. Every XD pistol in this line comes with a package that includes two magazines, a magazine loader, a magazine pouch, a holster and a hard-plastic carry case. Available: XD 9mm Service Model – A full-size version with a 4" barrel and steel, fixed three-dot sight system. Available black frame/grip and black steel slide. XD .40 S&W Service Model – A full-size version with a 4" barrel and steel, fixed three-dot sight system. Available a black frame/grip and black steel slide. XD .45 ACP Service Model – Offers the firepower of 13+1 capacity in .45 ACP from a full-size pistol with a 4" barrel. Steel, fixed three-dot sight system. Available black frame/grip and black steel slide. XD .45 Compact – A .45 ACP semiautomatic with a 4" barrel and shortened grip for easier carry. It comes with two magazines – a 10-round compact magazine and a 13-round Service Model magazine equipped with a XD Gear X-Tension™. This lets you convert from a Compact Model to a Service Model simply by swapping out magazines. Three-dot fixed sights. All-black model.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.878 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
40 out of 41(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Review 1 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

XD45 design problem

Date:August 28, 2010
The XD45 and XD45c seems to have a problem with magazine failures. The XD45 upon ejection drags the bottom of the spent cartridge across the top of the loaded magazine. This dragging forces the cartridge in the mag to the rear causing cracking on the rear mag wall. This problem is only apparent on the XD45 series. The new XD45m has a design revision on the bottom of the slide forcing the next in line cartridge downward thereby eliminating the problem seen on the XD45 series.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I like it!

Date:October 19, 2012
I resisted these guns for a long time, but am glad I have one now. May be ugly, but it goes bang every time and I can hit what I'm aiming at. Having actual steel sights was a pleasant suprise. Also, the guide rod is steel, not plastic. Nice balance of low weight and recoil. Great grip angle.
Cons: It's ugly, kind of chunky, and I think the grip safety is unnecessary. Plus, it interferes with the palmswell grip sleeve that I need in order to shoot well. Had to cut out a notch in the sleeve, which led to it loosening up. I had to epoxy it in place, which decreased the value of the gun.
Overall, I'm happy with it. I just wish it didn't have a grip safety.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Keller, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value!

Date:January 13, 2012
I have a 4" XD45 service pistol. I've owned this pistol for quite a while and every time I go to the range, I'm impressed. It's accurate, completely reliable and has a great trigger. I recommend this this pistol to anyone who asks what a good choice for a pistol would be and I recommend it to you. It's an outstanding product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOW

Date:May 23, 2011
I just purchased an XD9 Service model, I have shot several different brands of pistols over the years, everything from High Point to to Sig Sauer to HK, I feel that for the money the Springfield 4" is the best value for the dollar of any pistol in its class. Probably the best straight out out of the box shooter I've ever experienced! I will absolutely be buying another Springfield in the future!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Pistol!!!

Date:July 1, 2014
I love this handgun! It fits perfect in my hand and it has not jammed once!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XD45 Service

Date:October 6, 2013
I have shot several thousand rounds and it hasn't missed a beat EVER!!!!! Way better trigger and slimmer than my Flock 21.HeHe. Would like to get the XDM 9mm next. LOVE IT!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Money well spent

Date:June 11, 2013
Springfield quality and precision. Outstanding firearm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love this gun!

Date:March 15, 2013
I have owned this gun for about three years. It is the best gun ever. I have a Sig Sauer P238, which is a good gun. However, I keep the safety off because I keep forgetting to slide the safety switch down when I need to shoot. I know it is dangerous to have the safety off when the gun is on my belt, but it is even more dangerous to have the gun locked in a critical situation.
The Springfield XD has built-in safeties that are automatically turned off as you shoot. I love this feature! One safety is on the trigger. The second safety is on the back of the grip. This second safety is turned off when you hold the gun in a shooting position. The third safety is inside the gun in case you drop it.
The Springfield XD is larger than my Sig P238 so I have my P238 on my belt right now. However, I love my Springfield XD so much that I am going to purchase a Springfield 9mm XD-S when they become available.
I love my Springfield XD! I let my friends shoot my gun and we all agree that my Springfield XD is the best!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very pleased!

Date:May 7, 2012
Very pleased with the pistol. Was looking for a reputable manufacturer which included multiple safety features. Once I selected the pistol and made the decision to purchase, was also very pleased with the case and accessories that were included. A trip to the range was further confirmation I made the correct choice. Would recommend this to others for consideration when looking for a pistol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XD 45

Date:April 4, 2012
Picked up the xd45 not to long ago. This is an awesome gun. Shoot a couple of boxed and not one problem. Love this gun. Wish I would have gotten it sooner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Recommended

Date:March 25, 2012
This is probably the most comfortable piece out there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: wilmington, de
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

money well spent

Date:January 13, 2012
i waited along time before i purchased my first semi-auto handgun, and was so pleased with my choice, and was even more pleased with the service i recieved from the very knowledgable salesperson @ cabelas.they were even very happy to assist me in having my handgun shipped to my local dealer since i live out of state. i've shot about 2,000 rounds sofar and have had not one shell not eject or jam. easy take down makes cleaning a breeze. i'm just very very satisfied!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Red Oak, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AWESOME!!!

Date:January 11, 2012
I had my heart set on a Springfield Range Officer 1911when I went to Cabela's. They, like everyone else at the time, were out of stock. I was shown the XD 45 and when I picked it up it was like "Daddy's home"! It felt great in my hand. When I shot it I was really surprised. My Glock 23 (.40 cal) kicks harder than the XD. What a weapon!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Elgin, IL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun!

Date:January 9, 2012
My favorite handgun to shoot! I own 6 handguns and this one is just a great little gun. Great handgun - Great Price - Great Package. I bought the XD9 based on reviews and a friend's recommendation - could not be more pleased with my purchase. I have had NO problems with it whatsoever. Accepts all kinds of ammo and have yet to have a malfunction of any kind. My purchase experience at Cabela's was the best to date!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florissant, Mo
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XD Compact .45 cal....WOW

Date:December 21, 2011
Really... what can I say??? Pictures does not do justice for this gun. I love the XD(m) how it looks etc. But you can't go wrong with this model. 4" barrel... its not bad for conceal and carry.
With the extended mag with 13 rounds... wow, it really gives it a great look as if you have a XD(m). Everything is smooth as silk! Wow, I have put away my other gun and this is my primary!
Also, the mag pouch comes in handy, so easily you can carry two extra on your side and one in your gun, you can't beat that.
This is a true extention of your hand!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic Weapon!!!

Date:November 15, 2011
I purchased this weapon not too long ago now and love it. Have done a lot of research and have handled alot of weapons ranging from handguns all the way up. By far the best handgun I've seen and shot!!! The simplicity of the weapon as well as user friendly. Breaks down and cleans with extreme ease. Only one thing to get use to if you get it in the .45 is the ligth weight frame. Takes a little getting use to with shooting it but after about 50 rounds or so you should get the hang of it. Perfect gun right out of the box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NW Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Springfield XD40

Date:October 12, 2011
This is an outstanding handgun. I have the XD40 in stainless and love it. ZERO jams in 2 years (over 500 rounds). I see myself in the future buying the XD in other calibers. Glock quality at a much better price. It's my 'go to' piece for things that go 'bump bump' in the night.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: chicago
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

xd 45 by springfield arms

Date:June 2, 2011
It took along time to find the perfect hand gun and this was the winner. Smooth action lite weight and plenty of stopping power. I would make this purchase everytime
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XD BEATS ALL

Date:May 23, 2011
I decided to wait until now to post my review of the Springfield XD 4 inch 9mm. At this point I estimate approximately 2500 round through my XD. Not one single failure. No FTF, FTE, NOTHING. All that I do is try to clean my gun after every 200 rounds or so, and wipe down the magazines every couple hundred rounds. This has now become my bedside gun loaded with Winchester PDX1 Bonded 124 GR. JHP's. The only complaint I have about this gun is the method of take down, I wish it was more like Glock's. The first time I went to field strip the gun I put a huge scratch in the slide, my fault of course, but would still like the see a design that would prevent that. All in all, WHEN IN DOUBT GO WITH THE XD!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brighton, MI
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best bang for your buck

Date:May 17, 2011
I've owned the XD.40 for over a year now, put over 7000 rounds through it, and never a jam or misfire. extreamley user friendly. this is my primary carry gun. yes theres better guns out their if you can afford a SIG, but for the money you cant beat it. also has a slimmer grip than a glock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 41