Customer Reviews for SPRINGFIELD ARMORY Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols

SPRINGFIELD ARMORY Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols

The award-winning Springfield XD is engineered to work with your body to help you reach your full potential as a shooter. Pick up an XD for the first time, raise it to eye level, point at a target and you’ll likely be looking right down the sights. The XD’s Point & Shoot Ergonomics™ make it feel more like an extension of your body than an object in your hand. Fully hammer-forged barrels with precision rifling enhance accuracy. All critical internal parts are forged and precisely machined from billet for durability. Steel slides are mated to super-tough, all-weather polymer frames. Tough, corrosion-resistant finishes keep them looking great. Stainless steel magazines drop free when the release is activated. Easy, no-tool disassembly makes routine maintenance a snap. Standard features on all models include a striker status indicator, grip safety, loaded-chamber indicator, Ultra Safety Assurance™ trigger system, ambidextrous magazine release and accessory rail. Every XD pistol in this line comes with a package that includes two magazines, a magazine loader, a magazine pouch, a holster and a hard-plastic carry case. Available: XD 9mm Service Model – A full-size version with a 4" barrel and steel, fixed three-dot sight system. Available black frame/grip and black steel slide. XD .40 S&W Service Model – A full-size version with a 4" barrel and steel, fixed three-dot sight system. Available a black frame/grip and black steel slide. XD .45 ACP Service Model – Offers the firepower of 13+1 capacity in .45 ACP from a full-size pistol with a 4" barrel. Steel, fixed three-dot sight system. Available black frame/grip and black steel slide. XD .45 Compact – A .45 ACP semiautomatic with a 4" barrel and shortened grip for easier carry. It comes with two magazines – a 10-round compact magazine and a 13-round Service Model magazine equipped with a XD Gear X-Tension™. This lets you convert from a Compact Model to a Service Model simply by swapping out magazines. Three-dot fixed sights. All-black model.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
39 out of 40(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Review 21 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Happily ever after

Date:March 20, 2011
I had previously only fired M1911A1's in the Army , 1000's of rounds- so this XD had some pretty big shoes to fill. So far 800 rounds and ZERO jams, even with the cheap russian ammo. Ergonomics are better than my 1911 and accuracy is much better. Very easy to clean and with a 13 round mag for 45- that's the only two complaints I had with my 1911's. Buy it- you'll love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XD .40 Service

Date:February 21, 2011
I'll keep it simple.
After reading reviews on dozens of handguns, trying to find what would be an excellent value as well as a quality weapon, and holding almost every single handgun the Glendale, AZ Cabela's has to offer, I decided to make my first handgun the Springfield XD Service in .40 S&W.
As almost everyone else has said, the weapon performs flawlessly (so far, at least). It's very accurate, very comfortable to hold and shoot, and I haven't experienced a single jam, misfeed, or any other malfunction (something I constantly hoped for, yet never had the fortune of knowing with my Beretta M9 in the Air Force).
The magazine loader it comes with seems to work well, though it's the only type of "loader" I've ever had the pleasure of using, so I don't know how it compares to others. Again though, no problems with it.
The double magazine holster is fine too. Comfortable on my belt, the angles make grabbing them comfortable and natural, and they hold the magazines securely whether they're empty or fully-loaded.
The gun holster itself, I have only one minor issue with, but my problem with it is partly my fault too. It holds the XD very securely (it clicks into place when holstered properly), but the holster itself leaves the last two inches of the barrel exposed. After wearing it on a fishing trip the other day, I found the left side of the barrel to be scratched slightly. I found the culprit to be those dumb little copper-colored buttons on the pocket of my jeans. I realized what happened was when I was holstering the pistol, I was pushing it into my jeans, rather than straight downward, and the barrel was rubbing on that button. Like I said, my fault, due largely to inexperience. I'll remedy the issue by buying the XD model of the Blackhawk! SERPA Sportster holster.
All in all, I'm very happy with my purchase, and would absolutely recommend it (and already have) to anyone looking for his or her first handgun. By the way, as always, the gents working at Cabela's have been incredibly patient, very helpful, and completely professional. Can't wait to go back to the store, if only to look around for another several weeks before my next major purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago,IL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WoW

Date:January 26, 2011
bought the 40 XD and all i have to say about it is WOW .. very accurate right out of the box, never had a malfunction or jam , fits great in my hands and to be honest i feel sorry for whoever is on the receiving end of this bad boy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PHX
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:January 22, 2011
If you're looking for a handgun which is able to do everything this is the gun. Ergonomic, easy to maintain and simple. I have put 500 rounds through it of all types of ammo and have not had an issue yet. It is a bit big to be a sole CCW gun but will enjoy for many years of quality shooting experiences.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gun Lake, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My personal, favorite pistol

Date:December 28, 2010
I have a 4" XD9, and find it easy enough to conceal under most cirmcumstances. When shooting, it is purely a pleasure. I am more comfortable shooting this pistol than any other, and that is what one needs in a personal defense weapon. My wife shoots it well, and has since asked for her own. Fantastic build, very easy to clean and maintain, and no failures ever, after a couple years of carry and use. The stainless slide shows no wear whatsoever. Glad to recommend and give 5 stars for something I feel is a flawless product. Bet my life on it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mountain Top, PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XD40

Date:December 12, 2010
I have the .40 cal and have put everything from light load FMJ's, to self defense JHP's, to 200 gr hard cast HFNGC's from Double Tap through it with no problems. Easy to disassemble and clean, and reassemble. Sweet little gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1st Handgun

Date:November 7, 2010
I purchased an XD 4" in .40 S&W yesterday for a great price. I went to the range today to fire it today. I put 100 rds through it and had no problems at all. The balance and recoil were perfectly matched. I was firing Remington 165 grain rounds. The first round was on target within the inner ring. I would recommend this weapon for the first time purchaser over all others. I have fired Taraus, Glock, Ruger, Sig, Colt, and S&W. This is by far the most comfortable handgun I have fired.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.45 has virtually no recoil

Date:September 5, 2010
I used to only shoot 9mm, but I bought the all black XD .45 and was surprised with how easy it was to shoot. The slide is smooth (better than my Taurus pro pt111), and the trigger is great. Love the safety. If your hesitant to get a .45 because of recoil, let me tell you Im 5'9" and weight 150 exactly. And this .45 is so easy to shoot. Its a tad big for concealed carry (I carry a Kahr pm9 in my cowboy boot) but for a home gun, this is the only one I would use. Having been voted gun of the year a few times in various magazines, you can go wrong. I also added a cool little light to the bottom of the barrel, so it has a area to do that too which is a nice option if you like lights or laser dots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

XD45 design problem

Date:August 28, 2010
The XD45 and XD45c seems to have a problem with magazine failures. The XD45 upon ejection drags the bottom of the spent cartridge across the top of the loaded magazine. This dragging forces the cartridge in the mag to the rear causing cracking on the rear mag wall. This problem is only apparent on the XD45 series. The new XD45m has a design revision on the bottom of the slide forcing the next in line cartridge downward thereby eliminating the problem seen on the XD45 series.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent

Date:August 28, 2010
This was one of my first gun purchases ever. I got the 4" .45 acp and I absolutely love EVERYTHING about it. The trigger pull is smooth ( granted they ripped the trigger safety off of glock) I have put around 500 rounds through it with only one failure to figure which was probably because of junky ammo. The only thing i complain about is the price of 45 acp because its so much fun to shoot you go through them quickly, which is why I am looking into buying the same exact gun in 9 mm. I think the 4 inch is the perfect size, the gun is still big enough that its a full size gun, but yet compact enough to conceal and still be able to fit your whole hand on the handle. LOVE IT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alamosa CO
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worht Every Penny

Date:July 21, 2010
I bought this gun a month ago and was wanting something that my fiance would shoot if the time called for it. She is a true city girl and doesnt like all my guns. I keep of double barrell in my closet but know that she would never use it if the time called for it. So i got the XD9 and convinced her to go and shoot it with me. She does great with it and the gun is prefect. I hav eput 500 round through it without a single problem. Very accurate at 30 feet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Provo, UT
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun, great price!

Date:July 12, 2010
After tons of research on affordable and well constructed hand guns every great review and test led me back to the XD. So I purchased it about 9 months ago, and hunting, hiking, target shooting, and home safety have never been the same! Talk about a reliable and effecient hand gun. Never had a problem with it once. The only other gun that I might purchase would be the XD(M). I would highley recommend this gun to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Herriman, Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love the XD

Date:July 7, 2010
I love the XD series. I have a XD 9 and a XD 40 subcompact. I love them both. Very easy to feild strip and clean. I am CCW permit holder I carried the XD 9 for a long time and now use the XD 40 subcompact and love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arlington, WA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

4" XD-9 Great Gun

Date:June 12, 2010
Springfield has a winner with the XD. Picked this up to accompany my M&P45c because it's cheaper to shoot 9mm than it is the .45ACP ammo. My wife and I have put about 1200 rounds through it with one failure to fire (cheap MFS ammo) and one failure to eject (my wife limp wristed).
The gun is very easy to shoot and the recoil is easily manageable. It is fairly accurate (but I can shoot tighter with the M&P). I love everything about the XD-9, except that it ain't a .45ACP (maybe my wife will get me one for Christmas.)
I would recommend this gun to anyone looking to get started, for a CCW piece, or another to add to your collection. It is versatile, reliable, fun to shoot and easy to clean & maintain.
Springfield also throws some goodies in the case (mag carriers, holster & loader) that make it a great "getting started" kit.
For the gent from Illinois that is contemplating the XDm - my wife did (in 9mm), and loves it. Her only complaint is the 19 round mag always seems to print when she carries concealed. The 16 rounder in the XD-9 hides a little better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent!!!

Date:June 5, 2010
I purchased the XD .45 4" about a year ago and have put through about 2000 rounds. The gun is outstanding. Extreemly accurate at 20 feet (which is what I shoot at), durable and have not had one jam. The gun cleans extreemly easy as their are only 4 or so parts.
I have been into guns my enitre life and this is the best handgun I own. MUCH better than the Glock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Add one of these to your collection

Date:May 3, 2010
This has been one of my favorite handguns of all time. Very accurate, well balanced, very simple to break down to clean. I have the XD-40 (.40 S&W), very manageable recoil, feels great in your hand at the target range. Buy it when it goes on sale, you won't be sorry. I may add the XD-9 to my collection in the future (9mm is less expensive ammo to shoot). Kudos goes to Springfield for an excellent handgun design. The XDm is the next step up, with a match-grade barrel and a few other refinements, but it's more expensive. It's likely worth the extra $100 for the higher-grade precision barrel. In fact, I may buy the XDm for my 9mm version. Five stars, get one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: grover beach CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GET ONE!!!

Date:March 26, 2010
let me tell you, i have had my XD40 for over 5 years and i could not be happier. it is just a great gun. i have shot every hand gun on the market and none of them even come close. i have shot over 5,000 rounds with it. it has saved my butt hunting hogs more then once. if you want a gun that is perfect out of the box this is the one for you. if you get one you will love it, thats all there is to it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Blanco, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XD All the way

Date:February 12, 2010
In past years I have owned several different brands of semi-autos and liked each and every one of them until I read about the XD. I'd had a Ruger semi-auto for years that was a serviceable weapon, but it had issues with which ammunition it liked. It was a fussy weapon to shoot. I decided to get my concealed handgun license and as such needed a weapon I could trust as a full time carry weapon. Enter the XD. I'd tried the Glock, S&W, Taurus and other similar. I decided on the XD after reading 20 different "magazine" reviews and firing the other similar weapons. I am extremely pleased with my XD's. I started out with the XD 9mm but sold it once I decided I wanted to move up to something a bit "heavier" for concealed carry. At present I have a .40 S&W sub-compact (I carry it daily) and 2 .40 S&W Service (one of which I carry daily) and an XD .45 ACP Service that I carried prior to deciding to carry an appendix and a BUG. I have fired anything I could get my hands on for practice, usually the least expensive round I could find, and these babies eat everything I run through them. Literally 1000s of rounds through each of them and not even 1 hick-up. If you are looking for a cost effect, well made, durable and reliable weapon that out-shoots them all right out of the box, I HIGHLY recommend the XD or XDm weapons. You will NOT be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SLC, UT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Second to None!

Date:February 4, 2010
I bought a xd45 4" as my first hand gun after doing tons of research to make sure i was getting a solid high quality handgun that wouldn't cost me my first born child. I can say I chose right. I Had my xd45 4" for about a year and a half and put about 1000 rounds through it, not one miss fire and not one jam! Very accurate and extremely easy to break down and clean! I recently switched out my 4" for the xd45 5" tactical compact, this gun is the best of both worlds, the extra inch on the barrel is even better increasing accuracy and lessens the recoil. You can put in the smaller mag for concealed and the larger mag which extends the handle for target shooting. I'm now looking to buy a 3" sub compact. I've shot several types of hand guns my friends and family has owned but nothing matches up to the quality of this gun. I've been sold on these guns, they are reliable, reasonably priced and very durable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Springfield Armory® XD 4" Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Firearm!

Date:February 2, 2010
Was in the market for a glock style polymere pistol. Did alot of research and shoping around! In the end the one gun that i was impressed with the most was the sprinfeild XD .45 compact. This gun is like two in one, comes with the 10-1 round magazine for more compact carry, but also comes with the 13-1 round mag for the full size duty style carry.. I love all the safty features , striker status indicator, loaded chamber indicator, grip safty, internal drop saftey. Also love that it has an ambidextrous mag release being that im left handed. I read alot of great reviews on this gun online but it was the moment i held it in my hand that i knew it was the one, just felt so balanced and well built. This gun shoots like a dream. Not alot of recoil for the caliber. Went shopping for a glock but came home with the XD! Great firearm!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 40