Customer Reviews for SPRINGFIELD ARMORY Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols

SPRINGFIELD ARMORY Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols

From battlefields around the world to shooting-competition winner circles, the Springfield family of Model 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols has been making itself known for decades. Renowned for durability, reliability and accuracy, these handguns consistently deliver top-notch performance in the field, at home and at the range. Made in USA. Available: EMP™ 1911A1 – Springfield’s Enhanced Micro Pistol (EMP) is the exceptional result of a successful effort to re-engineer the 1911 into a compact, short-action pistol. It’s the smallest, most easily concealed 1911 and is loaded with features you’d expect from a superior firearm. The 3" stainless steel match-grade barrel delivers outstanding accuracy. The long, aluminum, match-grade trigger breaks cleanly at 5-6 lbs. The fixed, low-profile combat rear sight and dovetail front sight have three tritium dots for easy viewing in low light. A dual-spring, full-length guide-rod recoil system makes the EMP pleasing to shoot and cycle flawlessly. Forged aluminum-alloy frame with durable black hardcoat finish reduces weight. Forged stainless steel satin finish contrasts nicely with the handsome thinline cocobolo-hardwood grips. Available in 9mm with three nine-round magazines with slam pads, and in .40 S&W with three eight-round magazines with slam pads. Mil-Spec .45 ACP Package – An upgrade from the standard G.I. model with improvements that were added to the design during the years the Model 1911 was in military service. These added features include high-profile, three-dot sights; high hand grip; beveled magazine well; polished feed ramp; throated barrel; lowered and flared ejection port; and angled slide serrations. Package includes one magazine, a 1911 belt holster, a cleaning brush and a plastic molded case. Available: Parkerized Blue, Stainless Steel. RO™ Range Officer .45 ACP – Built for competitive-shooting versatility, with low-profile target sights, a match-grade stainless steel barrel, lightweight hammer, High-Hand™ beavertail grip safety and ultralight speed trigger. Cocobolo grips. Includes two seven-round magazines. RO Range Officer Compact .45 ACP – The accuracy, consistency and reliability of the Range Officer in a compact, carry-friendly package. A fiber-optic front sight and combat rear sights sit atop the rugged forged-steel slide. Lightweight alloy frame sports full-size features like beavertail grip safety, extended thumb safety and beveled magazine well. Lightweight Delta™ hammer and crisp, 5- to 6-lb. trigger deliver smooth, consistent shooting. Classic checkered grips for a firm, nonslip hold. Includes two six-round magazines. Loaded 1911A1 .45 ACP – Includes modern 1911 improvements that previously were only offered on custom pistols. Features include: precision-fit forged frame and slide, serrated mainspring housing, flared ejection port, delta lightweight hammer, adjustable match trigger, ambidextrous thumb safety, titanium firing pin, High-Hand beavertail grip safety and cocobolo grips. Includes two seven-round magazines. Available: Parkerized, Polished/Matte Stainless Steel. Range Officer 9mm – Performance, precision and reliability without any nonsense. Quality forged frame and slide with a precision fit. Match-grade stainless steel barrel. Lightweight Delta™ hammer. Fully adjustable rear target sight. Beavertail grip safety, extended trigger and flat mainspring housing. Single-sided, extended thumb safety.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
20 out of 21(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Review 1 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1911

Date:June 8, 2010
This is one of the finest sidearm I have ever owned. Flawless operation. Parts are cheap and available.
The only problem I ever had is when I went to take the grips off to replace them, I found the studs were not secure to the frame. Not a real problem I replaced them anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Herriman, Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great 1911

Date:July 7, 2010
For the money, hands down one of the best 1911 on the market. I have a Colt and a Springfield 1911. I would say the springfield is the better of the two.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great pistol

Date:July 21, 2010
This is the first pistol I have ever purchased and as far as I can tell it is a great pistol. I purchased the GI model and it is extremely fun to shot and is fairly accurate. You have to have a firm and tight grip or the bullet will not go where you want it to. Once you get the hang of shooting it, the pistol is fairly accurate. I'm not the best shot but was hitting 3 inch groups at 20 yards. The only complaints I have is that the parkerized barrel is starting to show wear only after 200 rounds and the fact that .45 acp ammo is around $20 a box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Punxsutawney, Pa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic Firearm

Date:October 14, 2010
Recently purchased an EMP in 9mm. Compact, concealable, flawless, feels great in the hand. Very good firearm and would recommend to anyone. 18 years in law enforcement and this is my new favorite firearm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EMP is the BEST Compact 1911 Style Handgun Out!!!

Date:December 16, 2010
I purchased the EMP in .40 about 6 months ago, at the Fort Worth Cabela's, and I have fallen in love with this little gun every day since. Besides the beautiful fit and finish, it is THE MOST accurate compact .40 I own. I have various compact carry handguns in .40, 9mm and .380, but the EMP always outclasses each one at the range. It is amazing how accurate this little firearm can be. I have had several tight groups at up to 25 yards with this little gun.
The only complaints I have is it is a little hard to take down without the supplied takedown clip, and it's also a little on the heavy side. However with practice you can take it down quickly and the extra muzzle weight lends to a more accurate gun. I will take the trade off of extra weight, any day to ensure a first hit when needed. I cannot say enough about this little compact handgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

9mm EMP Lives up to reputation

Date:December 18, 2010
There are not many of these on the market. The Phoenix area store had one. It was as nice a weapon as I have ever used. They worked with me and a local dealer in my home state to do the transfers to get it to me. It shoots beautifully. Same size as my nearly 100 year old Colt Pocket 32, but safer,and perfectly reliable out of the box. Kicks harder than a Hi-Power or a Luger...but just as accurate for me at 25 yards. ONLY down side is that there is no Crimson Trace grip for the EMP (yet)...so make due with the Tritium enhanced sights. This is an outstanding choice for concealed carry. Pricey but I was not disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Favorite 1911

Date:February 17, 2011
I purchased the EMP .40 about 1 year ago. It shoots great, Conceals great, Night sights are awesome & Cabela's Wheeling store was great. Located & Shippted it from another store for me in less than 2 weeks. They called me write away. I pickted it up that day. I am very pleased with purchase and experience.. PS. CAN NOT BEAT CABELA'S SERVICE!!! Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Philadelphia, Pa.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

perfect 1911

Date:March 27, 2011
I'm a big fan of the 1911 platform, I own three others all quality pieces from makers you would know, all in 45acp. I was in the market for a new 9mm something not striker fired. I had handled other 9mm 1911 style pistols, and all the others maintained the full size grip and frame and simply installed a 9mm barrel. I was unaware of the EMP from Springfield until I saw it at a gun show. As soon as I took hold of it it was love at first grip. Springfield had actually reduced the size of the grip and frame, and while I have larger hands, it felt custom made for me. This little beauty shoots and functions as good as it looks, not to mention the substancial weight reduction. Attempting to improve on perfection, I sent it back to Springfield and had them checker the front strap, add an expanded mag well,(which gives pinky purchase) and remove the right side thumb safety, as well as polish up the internals. This is my EDC, carried in a Raven concealment kydex phantom holster. This is the ideal set up, functional, powerful, reliable, beautiful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Antelope, CA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Springfield 1911A1 GI

Date:March 30, 2011
I have spent over 1000 rounds through this firearm and only had 3 malfunctions (2 casings slipping back into magazine which may have been a mag problem and 1 was user error feeding malfunction). This is an awsome first gun for the accuracy, price, and ammo it uses. I customized mine with trijicon night sights, hogue grips, and a full length guide rod. The gun itself is very good as it is for many users and it is built a little loose. If it doesn't rattle a bit it will have a higher chance to jam if it gets dirty. If you need custom or spare parts many of the top gun part manufacturers make em so the chance to find parts is high. After mine "broke in" after 200 bullets the accuracy was pritty good. The stopping power due to its walloping slug is ideal for law enforcement, home defense, or just recreational shooting. The recoil is a little higher than a 9mm handgun but it's a bearly noticable difference. So why not get your hands on a one hundred year old American classic? especially one that will prove to be a reliable sidearm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Grand junction CO
Age: 36-45
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

1911 MC operator

Date:January 11, 2012
Safety failure after 200-300 rounds, sent back for repair, after repair hammer falls to half cock when round chambered. Sent back again. Warranty good quality control issues though
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Blaine, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great all around

Date:January 15, 2012
Owned for over a year, and only one stovepipe but i think it was the ammo. I carry this everyday, its got a little weight to it, but with my Blackhawk belt and Galco holster there is no problem. I shoot PMC for my target rounds and never a misfire or stovepipe, and i shoot Critical Defense for my carry rounds. Great buy for the money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicagoland Area
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Beautiful Gun with Great Performance

Date:March 6, 2012
I had been looking for a Springfield 1911 MIL-SPEC for month's with no luck at all and then I went into Cabela's in Hoffman Estates, IL and had them order me one which took a few weeks but when it had finally arrived they called me and I went into check it out (already knowing I was going to buy it). Purchased the gun along with some Kimber magazines. Since my purchase I have put 500 rounds through the gun without a single issue or malfunction using Remington & Winchester Ammunition. This gun is a Tack Driver very accurate and great to shoot. I have received multiple compliments on this gun about how beautiful it is (Parkerized finish Black Package). People have asked to shoot it but I have told them to go to Cabela's and purchase their own. Best Investment that I have made yet, I have no need to purchase another handgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Favorite shooter

Date:March 24, 2012
I have an EMP 9mm and I love it. The quality of the gun is evident and it is an amazingly accurate despite such a small size. I have a Glock, a Ruger and a Sig Sauer, but thus is my favorite gun. I have fired approximately 500 rounds of various brand cheaper ammo through this gun without any jams or problems. Although a bit pricy, it is worth it because this is the kind of quality gun you will want to keep forever. I considered a Kimber but I believe quality is similar and the Springfield isn't ammo finicky.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Springfield Armory Range Officer full size 45ACP

Date:March 25, 2012
All I can say is THANK YOU. Thanks to my son's Godfather for suggesting the 1911 style Springfield Armory. Thanks to Tim at Lacey Cabelas for showing me this weapon and comparing to other models and makes. Heavy 45 that absolutely helps in keeping the 45 ACP loads from hurting your hand. This handgun is a pleasure shooting and even my wife likes shooting it, due to the guns weight absorbing much of the nastiness of 45 loads. Put 200 rounds through it on day one and wanted to keep shooting but had another appointment to get to. GREAT GUN!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:March 31, 2012
I first fell in love with this at a gun show. I picked it
up and it felt like it was part of my hand. I bought the
EMP1911A1 9mm .Haven't had it very long,but so far
it works flawless.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

S.A. OPERATOR 45 acp

Date:May 27, 2012
This is a National Match Pistol for our Marine Recon, SEAL's & SF "Operators".
This is the best 1911 45 acp I've used besides my P220 hands down!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hard to beat

Date:July 6, 2012
Have the EMP40 G10 grip model. Originally wanted the 9mm, after shooting 9's for a while I actually came to like the 40S&W better. Seeing as this was going to be a CC pistol I wanted more power than a 9 but less weight than a 45 when loaded.This was the compromise. At first I didn't like it a lot, thought I made a bad choice. I kept going back to the range every week, shooting about 50 rounds each time. It has now grown on me and I will say this: I always thought it to be one of the most comfortable guns to hold (my ands are not big, medium) and I am impressed by the accuracy. Chained holes freehand is a great day for me. It's not light, but it also does not transfer wicked recoil which many claim the 40S&W does. Have had zero troubles with this in 2 years.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1911 Mil-Spec

Date:December 6, 2012
I bought this gun over a year ago and have put around 300 rounds through it. It's a nice gun overall and I use it as my carry gun. I rated it at a 3 because of the sights. Mine seem to be off slightly. It has a lot of trigger creep too. Once funds become available I plan on getting a trigger job and some better sights cut into it. As it is out of the box, I wouldn't count on it for anything other than close combat self defense. I also recommend breaking this item down as soon as you get it home and oiling all the moving parts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Range Officer

Date:March 27, 2013
I am extremely pleased with the Range Officer. This is the first 1911 in my collection and it has quickly become a favorite. I utilized the 1911 as a side arm during my enlistment and this takes the 1911 platform to a new level and leaves change in your pocket to enhance what you desire. Came with a solid case, holster and belt mounted dual magazine holster as well as a few other necessities. Smooth Operation and positive weight allowed 200 plus round trip to the range. Looks as good as it performs too.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Springfield Armory® 1911 Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

back to basics

Date:December 18, 2013
In a world of more is better.this milspec .45 is a real treat! I have fired many" custom" 1911s.with big fancy sights and lasers.and they don't compare to this pistol. when you fire this gun you feel like your holding a piece of history.nothing to distract you.just old fashioned reliable shooting fun.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 21