Customer Reviews for SIG SAUER SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol

SIG SAUER SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol

An innovative design enables you to quickly remove the mechanism and place it into another P250 polymer grip of your choice, allowing changes in caliber and size. After any changes, the pistol delivers both outstanding accuracy and reliable functionality. Its modularity not only makes the P250 easy to maintain, but also able to accommodate different hand sizes. Six different ergonomic combinations can be created by changing the grip circumference and trigger style. All-black (not shown) or bi-tone finish. Siglite® contrast sights provide target acquisition in any lighting situation. All models feature quick takedown with no tools required. Double-action only with trigger pull in the 5.5- to 6.5-lb. range. Available: Subcompact – Full-size Sig reliability and performance in a small package that’s ideal for concealed carry. Black polymer frame and Nitron® slide without an accessory rail. 3.6" barrel, an overall length of 6.7", a 4.7" height, a width of 1.1" and a weight of 24.9 oz. with a magazine. Capacity is 12+1 in 9mm and 10+1 in .40 S&W.   Compact – Bridging the gap between a subcompact and full-size pistol, this consistent performer is available in popular calibers. Barrel length is 3.9". Overall length is 7.2", height is 5.3", width is 1.4" and weight with magazine is 26.5 oz. An integrated accessory rail forward of the trigger guard permits mounting of a light or laser sight. Capacity in 9mm is 15+1, 13+1 in .40 S&W and 9+1 in .45 ACP.
Overall Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
18 out of 25(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Review 1 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Gun

Date:January 18, 2014
I received this gun as a gift... best present I've received to date. I already been to the range and put abour 500 rounds through it and had no problems. This gun was easy to use and on target every round. I recommend the Compact P250 to anyone looking for a weapon that truly user friendly. My only issue is finding a good leather holster for concealment. Other than that a great well balanced weapon. Happy Shooting!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent w/Interesting Features

Date:July 21, 2013
I used to CCW a S&W M&P9c w/thumb safety (due to the light APEX trigger I'd installed). However, even though the S&W was 100% reliable I just wasn't comfortable w/the thought of having to remember/manipulate a manual safety under stress so I headed to Cabelas to investigate possible alternatives.
I don't care for typical DA/SA triggers and *thought* I wouldn't like a DAO-only trigger until the helpful salesclerk handed me a SIG P250 Compact.
I was amazed at the long, smooth, light trigger pull and with such a trigger there's no need for a manual safety. The grip felt like it had been designed specifically for my hand, it nearly aims itself! (I read later where SIG went through 30,000 different hand test samples designing the P250's grip).
Took the chance, bought it on the spot and my first trip to the range was a real eye-opener as I was shooting far more accurately w/the DAO-style trigger than I could have imagined. True, I can't do doubletaps as quickly (yet) but the length of the trigger pull ensures each shot is deliberate w/less chance for negligent discharges.
I investigated the P250 further and learned of its modularity which allows you to mix and match various grip module sizes & calibers around a central serialized "fcu" (fire control unit).
While the P250 Compact's grip is perfect for my hand, the slide is a little too long for me to carry it as comfortably as my S&W so the P250's modularity came to the rescue in the form of the Compact grip module w/a P250 Subcompact slide (I had my local 'smith bob the front of the Compact grip module to match the Subcompact's shorter slide).
Now I have what is for me the perfect CCW piece that's short enough to carry comfortably yet has a full grip and 15rd capacity.
Takedown for cleaning couldn't be easier; just lock the slide back, rotate the takedown lever, release the slidelock and the entire slide assembly slips right off the grip module.
My wife liked my P250 9mm so much we picked up a P250 Subcompact in .380 for her.
We now have 3 P250's total (I have a std Compact to go w/my hybrid Compact/Subcompact), all have been 100% to date and we couldn't be more pleased with them.
ETA: I've included a pic of my hybrid P250.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not a dependable gun

Date:May 5, 2013
I bought this fire arm due to SIGs reputation for quality and dependability. This pistol is not reliable. Have encountered several failure to fire with all different types of ammo. Hammer seems weak due to the strange design of the DAO trigger system. Wish I would have purchased S&W m+p!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Reliability, 2 guns in one.

Date:April 30, 2013
I purchased the 2SUM (one gun; two form factors).
The P250 is modular giving you tons of flexibility and simple part replacement. Being able to purchase an X-Change Kit that includes different grip/barrel/slide sizes (full, compact, sub-compact), different grip thicknesses (large, medium, small), and a matching magazine is great! In just under a minute I can switch my Full size .40 to a sub-compact .40 or 9mm for easy carry.
The Self-Safe long dual action only trigger travel is smooth and always ready to fire. No need for a safety or hammer manipulation.
You don't have to purchase the 2SUM -- just purchase a single pistol of your choice and then add the X-change kit to switch size and/or caliber.
.40 CAL S&W Full size with medium grip
.40 CAL S&W Sub-compact size with small grip
I love this gun. Once you figure out that all SIG 250's require a slight front sight adjustment and pumpkin on a post sight picture you will be just as accurate as any other pistol. You know you need the front sight adjustment when you short low to the left. Just move the right sight to the Top of the right real sight post and you'll be dead on. Then have your friendly Cabelas shop move that front site appropriately.
I've put 1500 rounds through my pistols with 4 mags (one a .40/.357 hicap, 3x .40 hicaps, without a single jam. I've used FMJ and personal protection ammo just to mix it up a bit.
The Nitron finish will hold up to much abuse.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Nice Try!

Date:April 22, 2013
I bought the P250 sub-compact in .40 S&W several months ago meaning to use it for a carry gun. I loved the idea of the modularity and immediately ordered the full size kit in .40 from the factory also. As it turned out, the factory back ordered me on the full size, and in the meantime, I started fighting “failure to feed” jamming on the sub-compact. It did not matter the ammo, and it did it with both of my mags… it would just periodically (I could almost count on at least one per 10 round mag) catch the round at an angle as it nosed into the chamber. At this point I lost my emotional attachment to the thing and started to consider replacing it. It was a tough call, because about this time, the full size showed up, and I now had $700+ in it. I thought about sending it in, but then decided that I probably never would feel like I could ever trust it again. I finally broke down and took the loss on a trade for a Glock 23. Best decision ever! The Glock is a much more solidly built piece of equipment, and suddenly I’m shooting like a pro. On the P250…I say nice try Sig, but keep working
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Traded my compact 40 for Smith M&P 40 cal.

Date:March 17, 2013
This was my first Sig Sauer purchase out of 13 handguns owned. It was a Gen 2 and I really wanted to like the gun. I thought it was a decent shooter and that the inaccuracy was just shooter error. That was until purchasing two Springfield XDM that were both nail drivers out of the box. I would go back to the Sig occasionally hoping I had just improved my marksman skills but the gun never improved with me. Finally gave up and traded for a S&W since my friends love theirs so much. I will buy another Sig in the future but it will likely cost me much more money. Guess there was good reason why this model was so much less expensive than the rest of thier lineup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

i was impressed

Date:March 9, 2013
A friend of mine bought the Sig 250 compact 9mm. It was fairly priced. I wasn't too thrilled by its look, but after shooting it I was impressed. Compact is a great conceal size. User friendly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Do not like

Date:February 22, 2013
This was my first semi auto purchase. I went with the salesmans recommendation of Sig Sauer. I bought the P250c in .40 cal also because of it's modularity. I've put 100 rounds (165 and 180 gr) through it and had a few FTE's. I also do not like the long trigger pull with this DAO. Bought the short trigger also but didn't seem to help.Very easy to breakdown and clean. Very accurate. Will probably buy a different gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Probably one of the best guns I own

Date:January 25, 2013
I'm a former professional shooter, use to shoot Olympic Trap and use many very, very expensive firearms. I'm also a nuclear engineer, and have been both a gunsmith and firearms vendor in years past. Currently, I own several HK's, an M&Ps, a few big bore revolvers, cowboy action revolvers, and a Beretta Nano aside from the p250. The sig p250 is the coolest pistol I own.
The modularity is just awesome. Having that many options for a pistol is just crazy! Don't like the frame, get a smaller one; don't like the caliber, slip on a new slide; smaller trigger; different barrels...
You can pretty much customize till you resemble an escapee from the local lunatic asylum. BE CAREFUL THOUGH. It is EASY to drop a grand into this without paying attention.
So far, I've put close to 6K rounds through it, a 357sig-Compact model, and I've had 2 malfunctions; both were FtE (fail to eject) via stovepipe, but to cut a little slack I WAS using cheap ammo.
As far as I know, the p250 has 2 generations of design into it. The 1st was, for lack of a better term, terrible. ATF , Fed. Air Marshalls, and Dutch Police broke off contracts with the p250 allegedly due to lack of reliability, however no defining data exists to support that claim.
I have heard numerous reports of failures with the gen1 p250. Either the gun FtE, FtF (fail to feed), had barrel misalignment (a few models of .40SW would not shoot .357sig after barrel swap because the firing pin struck low on the case, not the primer), trigger defects (several springs were breaking under tension), or X-Change kits would not fit.
These are ALL gen1 p250 issues. The GEN2 is about as perfect as it comes and is pretty much bombproof. It is the p250 that should have been initially produced. NutnFancy rates the firearm a "Hall of Famer" pistol, and a true successor to the aged p226. It has also won several "Gun of the Year" awards from publishments whose names escape me.
The gen2 p250 is basically a totally different gun. Before purchasing, you need to look for a true picatinny rail (Gen2) instead of proprietary rails (Gen1) and thumb recess (gen1) or no thumb recess (gen2) to distinguish the different generation models of p250. Do NOT buy a gen1!
And as far as the DAO trigger?
Tough up kid! Buy some ammo and devote some time to a wheel gun. Welcome to the big-leagues.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun for the value

Date:January 12, 2013
I recently purchased my Sig - .45 ACP, at the end of December 2012 at the Cabela's in Dundee. I love the handling of this firearm. It's lightweight and the compact version makes this gun surprisingly enjoyable to shoot, even a round as large as the 45. I would have liked if this item would have come with a hard case, extra clip and cleaning kit like many other guns come with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

IN LOVE WITH MY 1ST SIG !!!!!

Date:December 19, 2012
I recently purchased my first pistol for home defense. Being that I had never owned or shot a gun before I grilled several of my coworkers, all avid gun users/ collectors for info/ advice. After getting multiple perspectives on size, caliber, brands etc, I began my own quest for just the right pistol for me (and my wife). As soon as I saw the P250 I wanted it. The design just screams SWEEEET and it feels great in the hand! Still, I diligently researched reviews, co. history, cost, accesories etc. I found a store nearby that had a diamond plate model w/ Siglite sights (yes-only 1) and they held it for me. I got it for a steal of a deal after a short haggle at the counter. I drooled on it for a few days and went to the range w/ a friend. IT DEVOURED 250 ROUNDS OF CHEAP/ DIRTY AMMO W/OUT A SINGLE HICCUP and accurate too considering it was my first time and got several center shots- I was just having too much fun to care about aim. I got a nice case for it and plan on getting a couple extd clips(17ct!!!) for it. I am a VERY happy customer and look forward to more range time. Def recommend for anyone looking for a nice piece/ home def/ CC pistol. BTW -VERY easy to strip/ clean/ change calibers on a whim and super light/ smooth trigger pull. (make sure you get a 2nd gen model w/ logo under mag release- see pics)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Misleading/Dangerous Information

Date:December 10, 2012
I recently purchased this pistol @ Cabelas hoffman estates. Looking for an inexpensive semi-auto for home defense after reading the description on cabelas website thought this was an excellent handgun for the price.. Problem is the description Claims this gun comes with "siglite contrast sights" that can be seen in any lighting conditions. This Statement is untrue and dangerous IMO. This handgun comes with contrast sights. After double checking with Sig They agree this statement is misleading. "Siglite" sights glow by themselves via tritium vial and can be seen in any lighting conditions unlike regular contrast sights. I brought this to the attention of the store and was given a $50 dollar gift card.. unfortunatly that does not come close to cover the SIGlite sights that according to Cabelas,this gun is supposed to have. I hope this wording gets changed before someone has to use this weapon in self defense in a low light situation and cannot get a good target aquisition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Performer

Date:November 29, 2012
I've owned this gun in the 9mm compact model for about a year now and have put several hundred rounds (almost all FMJ) through it. It is a consistant performer that has never jammed and has only failed to discharge once. It runs slightly larger than most compact 9mm which I like for comfort when shooting but makes it cumbersome to carry. I would recommend the sub-compact for a carry gun but love the large dual stack magazine that I don't believe is available in the sub-compact. I've shot similar Glocks, Rugers, and Kimbers and wouldn't trade my less expensive P250 for any of them!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:November 5, 2012
just purchased the compact 9mm. Shot only 100 rounds so far but had no issues. Gun is fun to shoot, seems like quality construction, easy to take down. Only 4 stars because I wish it came with two magazines. I would have purchased a second magazine when I purchased the gun but the Cabelas store did not carry one.
So far, very pleased with the gun and I would recommend it to someone looking for a easy point and shoot gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

avoid gen 1

Date:October 10, 2012
i bought a generation 1 p250 compact .40 and had to send it back. it started getting light strikes then not firing at all. ended up having a cracked hammer. sig replaced the hammer, trigger group and extractor. apparently the generation 1 had alot of issues with those parts. after it was fixed it was fine. i only had to pay shipping and had the gun back in a week. i personally didnt like the trigger but for a dao trigger it was very smooth. ergonomically the gun is great. also easy to clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sig P250 40 S&W

Date:May 11, 2012
This is a double action only polymer pistol that is dependable, affordable and accurate as some of Sig's higher price pistols. I own the P250 in sub-compact, compact, and full size. If you enjoy shooting revolvers you will enjoy shooting this pistol. if you do not like double action only do not purchase this pistol. It has a long but very smooth trigger pull. There is no safety on this light weight pistol. You can shorten the trigger pull by purchasing a short trigger from Sig. Take down is fairly simple. You can also purchase the conversion kit to change the caliber.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: oregon, ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

quality

Date:April 20, 2012
Just received this as a gift, nothing but quality. dead on sights, no jambs. eats everything i feed it. couldnt be happier!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

problem out of the box

Date:January 20, 2012
the gun was horrible. It had constant failures to eject and tried different ammos the second time. I sent it back to Sig Sauer and they stated that they upgraded extractor and firing system. It now works just fine. I am not thrilled with the trigger system but I am getting used to it. I own a P238 and it is a great weapon so I expected the 250 to be just as good out of the box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love my P250

Date:October 7, 2011
I have had the P250 compact 9mm for about 2 1/2 years now and I absolutely love this gun. It is my everyday carry weapon and it is very accurate and great fun to shoot. I will be buying one for my oldest son soon.
Semper Fi
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SIG Sauer® P250® Modular Centerfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: P-Town, Ut
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Call

Date:February 24, 2011
I had a hard time deciding between a Sig P250, and a Glock 23. I went with the Sig after much research and deliberation. I have no regrets!!! I have had it for a few months and have shot it on a weekly basis. It has never had a problem, and it shoots incredibly accurately. Both guns are great, but I am a Sig man and always will be. I highly recommend this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 25