Customer Reviews for SIG SAUER SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols

SIG SAUER SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols

These single-action subcompact centerfire pistols chambered in hard-hitting .380 feature anodized-alloy beavertail frames and rugged steel slides for lightweight dependability shot after shot. Weighing less than 1 lb. empty (loaded wt: 16.2 oz.) and measuring a mere 5.5" long and less than 4" high, they're easily concealable and comfortable to carry. SIGLITE® Night Sights are removable and adjustable for on-target accuracy. Includes six-round magazine and lockable hard case. Available: P238 Edge –  Features matte Ti-PVD-coated stainless steel slide, aluminum frame and black G-10 grips. PVD controls. P238 Scorpion –  Features stainless steel slide with front cocking serrations, Flat Dark Earth coat and Hogue® G-10 Piranha grips. Black controls. P238 Blackwood* – Stainless steel frame and slide with blackwood grips. Frame is finished with a black anodized hard coat. Ambidextrous safety. P238 Rosewood – Rosewood grips, black anodized hard-coat frame finish and Nitron-finished slide. Ambidextrous safety. P238 Nitron – Fluted polymer grips and stainless steel frame and slide. Nitron-finished slide and black anodized hard-coat finish on the frame. P238 Blackwood – Stainless steel frame and slide. Frame has a black hard-coat anodized finish. Blackwood grips.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.965 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
29 out of 29(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Review 1 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2016

It's a keeper

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Reliable and accurate. Never had a misfire or misfeed in the four years I've had it. And You can load/unload with the safety on. I won't be trading this one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2015

Great gun esp easy to rack the slide, low recoil

By
Country: United States
Gender: Female
If your looking for a very small compact gun and are comfortable with 380 ammo then this is a great gun. I have carpal tunnel and this gun is by far the easiest pistol I have found to rack the slde. The single action makes it a dream to shoot. The lower cal makes the recoil much easier to take. I was able to get small groupings in practice shootings in a short period of time. No problems at all with takedown for cleaning. So small in height and width, it is very easy to conceal. Fits in a fairly small pants pocket in a pocket holster or in a iwb holster with ease. Being a woman, some of my wardrobe just isn't easy to fit with some guns, but this one fits with most and is small enough to not imprint in the proper holster.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2015

Totally satisified with my P238

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Due to arthritis I needed to part with my Beretta and get something smaller to shoot and for carry.
Purchased the Sig Sauer P238. This weapon has never misfired one single time in the year I've had it to the range. I own a Glock 42, which is also nice and small and minimal recoil, but due to my arthritis and how I shoot this pistol, I've had many misfires and jams. I seem to tilt the weapon upwards too much for the shell to eject. Never one problem with the Sig at all. And I'm using the same hands with both weapons. Plan to sell the Glock and get another Sig P238.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2015

Easy to Rack, accurate

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I despaired of finding the right CCW for my wife. It was like Goldilocks and the 20 guns. She had broken both arms and doesn't have a lot of wrist strength. And she is very particular about trigger pull (as most of us are).
She picked it up, racked & aimed and said, "yep this is it, buy it and some ammo and let's go to the range". And she felt the same way after a couple of boxes of ammo through it. Worth the cost, although we did score a really good price with some nice extras when we bought.
So far I've found it to not feed or eject well with steel cased WPA. Also I tried some [good quality] factory reloads and every other round either jammed or stove piped, really surprised me. But the new brass ammo has all functioned almost flawlessly.
The safety is the easiest and most intuitive I have seen. She flips it off on the draw every time almost without thinking. But if you are a leftie as I am, I would not recommend it for carry, not if you want to carry cocked and safety on. The safety is really for a right handed shooter.
A beautiful, well made gun. I enjoy shooting it when she lets me. I do like that it is essentially a mini 1911. In this case, you do get what you pay for.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2014

I like it too!

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Awesome gun with no ammo trouble and accurate as it gets. The weight is perfect for .380 ammo but I did need to get several ( read many,many) 7 round mags to be comfortable since the flat bottom is small for me. I had to get my GF one after she shot mine a few times cause that just made her happy happy. She wanted the Rainbow edition which really is a very cool looking gun. I have a Shield 9 that's usually carried but the SIG may take it's place.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2014

Best CCW I Have Purchased

By
Country: United States
Like a miniature 1911 in 9mm. At 20 paces I can place standing shots within 2''. Functions flawlessly. Some reviews on other sites said ammo is a problem for jams. Have used the least expensive for target and have no challenges. Have shot several brands and grades. Never has jammed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2013

Best Choice

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Looked at several small conceiled carry type pistols. Looking is one thing but once you feel this little honey the hunt is over.**** best buy ever for conceil carry.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2013

I own 3...

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Yeah. 3. They're that amazing. If your debating on buying a compact. Buy this gun. You won't regret it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2013

Great little pistol

By
I got this pistol a few month back and I love it. It is very accurate even at 50 and 75 feet and after putting several hundered rounds though it I've had 1 failure to load and two failure to fire. The failure to fire was a problem with the ammo, not the gun.
It conceals very easily in a front or cargo pocket and the wallet holster that came with it is very nice.
I picked up the pinky mag and that really improves the grip.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2013

AWESOME PURCHASE

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Just purchased the SIG P238 Cabela's Exclusive Gun,
went to the shooting range and shot 100 rounds thru this outstanding gun, so happy the salesman talked me into this sale,THANK-YOU!!! CABELA'S and SIG SAUER GUNS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2013

Great pocket pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have shot quite a few different rounds through this great little gun without one problem. It is as easy to conceal as a smart phone. I did a lot of research (including Cabela's reviews like these) before buying this pistol and this gun was considered the best in class by most reviewers and I'd have to agree.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2012

its a sig

By
Next to buying your wife a revolver this is a great choice. Simple, safe and reliable.With modern critical defense ammo ,the .380 is easily the equal to a 9mm. I have fired every type of ammo through it without a problem. I would add that the springfield XD(M) is also exceptional but there is just something about the sig.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2012

Excellent comparatively

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Ive owned my 238 for a year now and put over 900 rounds through it. I have not been able to shoot 100 rounds consecutively through this gun using high grade ammo only, hornady critical defense and gold dot. It will have a failure to eject just before I make 100 rounds. Mine does not function dirty. It is not a range pistol it is a ccw pistol and in that category it is the leader. Very shootable, very accurate, very attractive!!! It is a great secondary to my G26. It is my wife's primary ccw and she loves it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2012

Sweet zombie deterrment

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Best conceled pistol I have owned. Over 1000 rounds and not one misfire. Also extremely easy to break down and clean. WELL worth the $.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2012

Fantastic CCW

By
I will follow suit with others and say how wonderful this little Sig is. It is hands down the best Pocket gun I have ever shot. I have only put 20 rounds through it so far, but I was sold at 6. I don’t think the price will bother you once you shoot it. I'm purchasing a second one for my wife.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2012

P238

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I own several pistols & I really love my little P238 - 380. It's super small yet is comfortable and very accurate. My favorite pistol to carry & to shoot! You won't regret a SIG. Some 9mm are too big so you don't carry them. This is nice, small & safe.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2012

Mini 1911!!

By
Took this little guy to the range today. The feel of this gun is much greater than any other "Pocket Gun" that I have fired. The thing that sold me on this one over the LCP (Which I just sold) is the single action trigger, breaks crisp and short, trigger reset is very good for follow up shots unlike the LCP, Bodyguard, etc... The fiber optic front sight is excellent and in the dark they are even better since they are also night sights! Broke it in with 100 rounds of standard ammo, 1 failure to eject in the first magazine, after that no misfires or anything and finished the day up with very nice +p hollowpoints :) Really amazing groups for a pocket gun! Kept up with my full size 1911 at 25yds, it shoots right where you aim it! Amazing gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2012

Sig P238 - well worth the money

By
The Sig P238 is a miniature clone of a full-size M1911 pistol, allowing "cocked & locked" carry. Much easier to shoot accurately (than DAO pocket guns) because of its light single-action trigger. Lightweight, comfortable grip, functional safety, big sights, minimal recoil.
I have so far practiced with over 500 rounds of both inexpensive target & personal defense ammo - never a malfunction of any kind.
Comes with only one mag - choice of multiple finishes & grips.. Well worth the money. Highly recommended.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2012

WOW!!

By
Location: Naples, FL
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I just love this little .380. Sharp, crsip action, accurate and built nicely. This pistol performed from the get go straight out of the box. It looks great too! I carry it everyday in a pocket holster or specially designed T-shirt.
I would highly reccomend this pistol.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2011

Quality

By
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
When it comes to quality, it very hard to beat a Sig Sauer. I Purchased a P238 in .380 with wood grips. A work of art. No short cuts in manufacturing this little .380. When shooting it , you have to look twice to make sure it not a full size pistol, it accurate for its size. I never worry about this pistol not functioning. This will be a collectors item someday that we get to shoot today.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 29