Customer Reviews for SIG SAUER SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols

SIG SAUER SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols

These single-action subcompacts chambered in hard-hitting .380 feature anodized-alloy beavertail frames and rugged steel slides for lightweight dependability shot after shot. Weighing less than 1 lb. empty (Desert weight: 16.2 oz.) and measuring a mere 5.5" long and less than 4" high, it’s easily concealable and comfortable to carry. SIGLITE® Night Sights are removable and adjustable for on-target accuracy. Includes six-round magazine. Available: P238 Lady – Rosewood grips, a red CeraKote-finished alloy frame and an engraved, Nitron®-finished slide deliver smooth-shooting style. P238 Rosewood – A handsome subcompact pistol with beautiful rosewood grips. The frame has a black, hard-coat anodized finish, while the slide’s finish is corrosion-resistant Nitron. Cabela’s-Exclusive P238 Special Edition with TFO Sight – Sporting handsome blackwood ambi-safety grips and a TFO fiber-optic sight system that glows day and night, this version comes with a six-round magazine and a holster for concealed carry. P238 SAS – Stainless steel slide sports SIG anti-snag treatment with eased edges. Ambidextrous safety for convenience. Custom Goncalo grips provide a nice contrast. P238 Desert – Custom two-tone desert finish is complemented by Hogue’s flat dark earth, finger groove rubber grips. Ambidextrous safety accommodates all shooters. P238 Texas – Wood grip provides an excellent grasp. Black-alloy Nitron finish. P238 Edge –  Features matte Ti-PVD-coated stainless steel slide, aluminum frame and black G-10 grips. PVD controls. P238 Scorpion –  Features stainless steel slide with front cocking serrations, Flat Dark Earth coat and Hogue® G-10 Piranha grips. Black controls. 
Overall Customer Rating:
4.96 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
25 out of 25(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Review 1 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I like it too!

Date:May 1, 2014
Awesome gun with no ammo trouble and accurate as it gets. The weight is perfect for .380 ammo but I did need to get several ( read many,many) 7 round mags to be comfortable since the flat bottom is small for me. I had to get my GF one after she shot mine a few times cause that just made her happy happy. She wanted the Rainbow edition which really is a very cool looking gun. I have a Shield 9 that's usually carried but the SIG may take it's place.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best CCW I Have Purchased

Date:February 16, 2014
Like a miniature 1911 in 9mm. At 20 paces I can place standing shots within 2''. Functions flawlessly. Some reviews on other sites said ammo is a problem for jams. Have used the least expensive for target and have no challenges. Have shot several brands and grades. Never has jammed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Choice

Date:September 16, 2013
Looked at several small conceiled carry type pistols. Looking is one thing but once you feel this little honey the hunt is over.**** best buy ever for conceil carry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I own 3...

Date:June 4, 2013
Yeah. 3. They're that amazing. If your debating on buying a compact. Buy this gun. You won't regret it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little pistol

Date:May 22, 2013
I got this pistol a few month back and I love it. It is very accurate even at 50 and 75 feet and after putting several hundered rounds though it I've had 1 failure to load and two failure to fire. The failure to fire was a problem with the ammo, not the gun.
It conceals very easily in a front or cargo pocket and the wallet holster that came with it is very nice.
I picked up the pinky mag and that really improves the grip.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AWESOME PURCHASE

Date:April 23, 2013
Just purchased the SIG P238 Cabela's Exclusive Gun,
went to the shooting range and shot 100 rounds thru this outstanding gun, so happy the salesman talked me into this sale,THANK-YOU!!! CABELA'S and SIG SAUER GUNS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great pocket pistol

Date:March 12, 2013
I have shot quite a few different rounds through this great little gun without one problem. It is as easy to conceal as a smart phone. I did a lot of research (including Cabela's reviews like these) before buying this pistol and this gun was considered the best in class by most reviewers and I'd have to agree.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

its a sig

Date:November 14, 2012
Next to buying your wife a revolver this is a great choice. Simple, safe and reliable.With modern critical defense ammo ,the .380 is easily the equal to a 9mm. I have fired every type of ammo through it without a problem. I would add that the springfield XD(M) is also exceptional but there is just something about the sig.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent comparatively

Date:November 12, 2012
Ive owned my 238 for a year now and put over 900 rounds through it. I have not been able to shoot 100 rounds consecutively through this gun using high grade ammo only, hornady critical defense and gold dot. It will have a failure to eject just before I make 100 rounds. Mine does not function dirty. It is not a range pistol it is a ccw pistol and in that category it is the leader. Very shootable, very accurate, very attractive!!! It is a great secondary to my G26. It is my wife's primary ccw and she loves it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet zombie deterrment

Date:October 11, 2012
Best conceled pistol I have owned. Over 1000 rounds and not one misfire. Also extremely easy to break down and clean. WELL worth the $.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic CCW

Date:September 25, 2012
I will follow suit with others and say how wonderful this little Sig is. It is hands down the best Pocket gun I have ever shot. I have only put 20 rounds through it so far, but I was sold at 6. I don’t think the price will bother you once you shoot it. I'm purchasing a second one for my wife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

P238

Date:August 27, 2012
I own several pistols & I really love my little P238 - 380. It's super small yet is comfortable and very accurate. My favorite pistol to carry & to shoot! You won't regret a SIG. Some 9mm are too big so you don't carry them. This is nice, small & safe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mini 1911!!

Date:June 7, 2012
Took this little guy to the range today. The feel of this gun is much greater than any other "Pocket Gun" that I have fired. The thing that sold me on this one over the LCP (Which I just sold) is the single action trigger, breaks crisp and short, trigger reset is very good for follow up shots unlike the LCP, Bodyguard, etc... The fiber optic front sight is excellent and in the dark they are even better since they are also night sights! Broke it in with 100 rounds of standard ammo, 1 failure to eject in the first magazine, after that no misfires or anything and finished the day up with very nice +p hollowpoints :) Really amazing groups for a pocket gun! Kept up with my full size 1911 at 25yds, it shoots right where you aim it! Amazing gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sig P238 - well worth the money

Date:March 23, 2012
The Sig P238 is a miniature clone of a full-size M1911 pistol, allowing "cocked & locked" carry. Much easier to shoot accurately (than DAO pocket guns) because of its light single-action trigger. Lightweight, comfortable grip, functional safety, big sights, minimal recoil.
I have so far practiced with over 500 rounds of both inexpensive target & personal defense ammo - never a malfunction of any kind.
Comes with only one mag - choice of multiple finishes & grips.. Well worth the money. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Naples, FL
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOW!!

Date:February 18, 2012
I just love this little .380. Sharp, crsip action, accurate and built nicely. This pistol performed from the get go straight out of the box. It looks great too! I carry it everyday in a pocket holster or specially designed T-shirt.
I would highly reccomend this pistol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality

Date:December 18, 2011
When it comes to quality, it very hard to beat a Sig Sauer. I Purchased a P238 in .380 with wood grips. A work of art. No short cuts in manufacturing this little .380. When shooting it , you have to look twice to make sure it not a full size pistol, it accurate for its size. I never worry about this pistol not functioning. This will be a collectors item someday that we get to shoot today.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent daily carry

Date:November 7, 2011
I use the P238 SAS version as my daily carry, and it has performed flawlessly, with only a couple of hiccups at about the 500 round mark. It started jamming on me, so after some trouble-shooting, I replaced the recoil spring. Now it's back to it's old reliable self, accurate, solid, and beautifully made. I replace the recoil spring every 500 rounds just to be safe, since I use loads that are on the heavy side.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Apple Valley, MN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding!

Date:October 12, 2011
I recently just bought a matching set of these little Sig's for my wife and myself to use as our carry guns. I just got back from the range after breaking in both guns with 250 rounds thru each from four different manufactures. Both of these guns worked perfectly and ran thru all this different ammo without a flaw!
In addition what was really impressive was the accuracy both of them had right out of the box. Not being an expert pistol shoot I was able to shoot 2-3 inch groups at 21 feet with no problem at all.
You will pay little more for this gun but, when it comes down to it I want a gun I can depend on. This gun is worth every penny!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Caldwell, ID
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pricey But Worth It!

Date:September 18, 2011
Bought the P238 for the wife as she was having trouble with her 9mm. Needed something smaller and easier to handle but without the snappy recoil of direct-blowback .380's.
Saw the P238 with its locked-breech action at Cabela's and remembered how mild the perceived recoil was with my old Colt Mustang (which the P238 is modelled after) so we bought it with high hopes.
Tried it at the range where we fired appx 50rd of UMC FMJ & 7rds of CorBon DPX. Functioning was 100% with all ammo tested in two factory mags and two Colt Mustang mags.
The wife really likes the tritium/fiber optic sights, the more manageable recoil and how easy it is for her to work the slide and other controls.
Bottom line: We're very happy with the P238 despite the price, I'm hoping that someday this will be her first CCW pistol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SIG Sauer® P238 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet lil Sig

Date:September 1, 2011
I bought the rosewood grip 238 about two months ago as a daily carry gun. It shoots very well, and has had no feed/extraction problems with any of the ammo I've put through it. I really like that it has a safety- something that's lacking on most pistols of this size. I also like that it has night sights. It feels right in my hand, and point shoots like ann extension of my arm. I bought it because it's a Sig, and I've not been disappointed with it at all.
I would definitely recommend this pistol to anyone looking for a compact carry gun, it's the ticket.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 25