Customer Reviews for SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols

SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols

Smith & Wesson had law enforcement and the military in mind when they designed the M&P pistol. The pistols incorporate a Picatinny rail for light and laser sight mounting, stainless steel components and unparalleled ergonomic design. An internal locking system on select models prevents unauthorized use. Zytel® polymer frame slide and stainless steel barrel and structural components. Select models have a Novak® Lo-Mount carry rear sight. Two-Tone with Black slide/Flat Dark Earth frame. Available: M&P Kit 9mm – 17+1 capacity. Steel ramp dovetail-mount front sight and steel Novak® Lo-Mount carry rear sight. Stainless steel slide and barrel and structural components. Slide and barrel have a black Melonite® finish. 4-1/4" barrel length. Comes with three 17-round M&P9 standard base magazines, a Fobus holster, a Fobus double magazine pouch and a Smith & Wesson tactical penlight. M&P Kit .40 – 15+1 capacity. Three backstraps let you customize the grip. Factory-set 6.5-lb. trigger pull. Steel ramp dovetail-mount front sight and steel Novak® Lo-Mount carry rear sight. Slide and barrel have a black Melonite® finish. 4-1/4" barrel length. Comes with three 15-round M&P40 standard base magazines, a Fobus holster, a Fobus double magazine pouch and a Smith & Wesson tactical penlight.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.798 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 94 reviews
5 Stars
82
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
92 out of 94(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer Reviews for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Review 21 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2013

M&P 9MM

By
Just bought this yesterday and put 200 rounds through it. This is an awesome gun for a new or veteran shooter. Not one problem with it, and I specifically shot some cheap ammo. It was very accurate and had a nice trigger, (better than most out of the box) This is my 3rd M&P and I hope to soon have it in 45.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2013

Great gun

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have shot around 1000 rounds through this gun and it works every time. M&P is a great USA made handgun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2013

S&W M&P 9mm Excellent first gun

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought this gun less than a month ago. It is the very first firearm I have ever owned and think it is a great value for the money. I have put 500 rounds through this gun in the past few weeks with zero FTL or FTF issues. I bought this for home protection as well as fun at the range. The 9mm is perfect as it doesn't kick as hard as I'm told a .40 or .45 would so the other half is comfortable firing it as well. A .40 or .45 might have been too much for her. I'm really enjoying this gun and looking at concealed carry options such as the S&W Shield as well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2013

Excellent handgun!!

By
I am very happy with this smith m&p 9mm. It shoots well. I've had no malfunctions after putting 500 rounds thru it. It feels excellent in my hand. The back straps are great and I like the 17 round mags. Its very easy to field strip and clean. The trigger takes a little time to get used to. Overall, very happy with this gun. Thanks Cabelas in Gonzales, Louisiana for the easy transaction.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2013

one of my favorite guns

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I love this gun! The 2 tone looks great and it's a straight and comfortable shooter. it's the best deal in the house when you consider you get 2 additional back straps, 3 mags a holster and a mag holder all Included.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2013

M&P 9 Full Size

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I was torn between this and a glock, and am glad I went with the M&P. Feels Good in the hand with interchangeable grips and beaver tail. Has much better three dots sights than a glock, and has options. I went with an ambidextrous thumb safety which is optional, and is capable of firing with out the magazine in it which is also optional. It has a good trigger and is able to switch the mag release to either side. I also love how simple it is to dissemble and clean. PS also comes with two magazines.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2013

Can't shoot it enough.

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I bought my two tone M&P at Cabela's about a year ago to add to the full size M&P I already owned, and the Shield I bought last Spring. The two tone is set up with a Streamlite TLR-1 and Blade Tech tactical holster. I also had S&W send me some flat earth palm swells as I prefer the monotone look, like the VTAC model.
My other full size M&P carries a Crimson Trace laser and CT Lightguard which came with a slide holster to fit. Both are great bedside and carry guns. I do find myself carrying the Shield a lot as well, as the tacslide holster fits it well. All 3 are 9mm. I'm looking to get the M&P in .22 for my son. He's a lefty, and it's the only .22 I've found with a reversible mag release and ambi slide stop. By the way, I can't remember having a problem with any of them, with somewhere close to 10,000 rounds put through them together.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2013

Amazing firearm

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I was on the market about a year ago for a handgun and looked at the M&P line. After reading other reviews and looking up videos of testing with them I decided to get one. When I found the 2 tone kit at Cabelas I fell in love with it even more. I have had the handgun for just over a year and have about 1000 rounds through it with no problems. The range kit is a super deal with the 3 magazines, 3 back straps, and holsters. I have been looking for a M&P 40C or even a M&P 40 SHIELD for a cary gun. I would recomend this to anybody and everybody that wants a great firearm for an amazing price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2013

my first pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I bought the M&P 40 full size several years ago for my first pistol. I'm a petite woman, and wish the compact size was available when I purchased this gun. It has been a great gun. I absolutely love it. Only malfunction I had was an end of spring broke off when I disassembled it. I contacted smith & Wesson and replaced it without any issues.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2013

It's a keeper

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I had tried three other major brand striker fired .40S&W handgins, and I kept one fo them for a long while. It served me well, but after shooting a friend's S&W M&P40, I decided to sell mine and buy one of these M&P's for my own. Had I bought this one first, I would have never tried the others. I decided on this Dark Earth Carry kit because I liked the looks and 3 mags is a plus. The holster rides a little low for my liking, and doesn't have that "snap" I'd like from a kydex holster. But as for the pistol:
This is the softest shooting .40 S&W handgun I have ever shot or owned. I use the smallest palmswell adapter as I have very thick hands and that is the one that works best for me. I don't know how else to describe it but it just is an amazing fit for my hand.
The sights are very good, typical style 3-dot that have become the standard. The grip angle is perfect for me, very natural to point and comes right up on target. Accuracy is a very subjective thing unless bench tested, but I shoot this pistol even better than any other striker fired pistol. The trigger has a great reset and is a good example of a striker fired self defense pistol. I have not had any failures of any kind in 500 rounds of various ball and JHP ammo. The 15 round magazines are well made and drop free upon ejecting.
If you are looking for a striker-fired pistol, I cannot think of a better choice. It is made in the USA by a good company that stands behind it's product. It is accurate, reliable, fits the hand well, and will serve you well for many years. If I could do it again, I would get a model without the holster, and buy a good belt holster seperately.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2013

Great & Reliable!

By
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Purchased the M&P .40 two tone for my 21st birthday. I have many pistols that have been handed down, but this was my first actual purchase. Did the research, M&P stated that it was rugged, durable, and reliable- all these claims are true. I've since fired about 1,000 rounds through it, never a jam. I do clean it every trip though.
I have since upgraded to Tritium night sights, and converted it to a .357 SIG. It's only a barrel swap, so the change between .40 and .357 is about 5 seconds.
Easy to use.
**If you are wanting to conceal this weapon, please be careful if loaded. There is only a trigger safety. I have never had an accidental discharge, and have even tried dropping it with a snapcap loaded, but accidents do happen!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2013

Smith & Wesson M&P Pistols are awesome!

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
The M&P line of handguns are one of the best production lines I've seen from from S&W in a while. I am very impressed with the design and ergonomics of these weapons. The ability to change the grips out in order to better fit your hand help tremendously. These guns are also very accurate right out of the box too. In addition, I will have to say that S&W has one of the best customer service departments in the business. I recently had some magazine springs go bad and they sent me the replacements free of charge and without question. You won't go wrong with purchasing an M&P!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2013

Great gun

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I am very happy with the M&P 45 cal pistol. It is a very comfortable shooting pistol, and very accurate gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2013

Excellent Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased the 9mm right after Christmas, I have put 400 rounds thru it. I used 4 different manufactures ammunition including an aluminum case, 115gr and 147gr, this gun took everyone of them with no issues or jams. The trigger does take a little bit to get use to it, As far as using the sears deactivation lever, I didn't have a problem with, I liked the safety feature of it; you don't need to use it if you don't want to. For my carry weapon I will look at the SW M&P 40 compact. I would recommend this gun to anyone, I too went to cabela's to get a clock, but once I picked this gun up, it was a done deal.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2012

Perfect gun for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I purchased this handgun this weekend and have shot a box of shells threw it. It shoots amazing, and its very accurate. The staff at the cabelas in Hazelwood MO was very helpful and kind on helping me find wich pistol I wanted. I highly recommend thsi pistol especially for a first time pistol buyer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2012

M&P 9mm

By
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Picked one of these up a few days ago and took it on it's first run today. 150 rounds(50 115grain fmj and 100 147 grain fmj) out of the box without a single problem. I'll admit I walked into Cabela's to buy a different brand 9mm but this one really sold it's self.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2012

Dependable

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
With the changeable backstraps you can find the right size grip for the right feel in your hand. 40 cal. handles like a dream, great crisp trigger, very accurate. I got mine with night sights. The staff at Hamburg, PA, Cabela's was very helpful. This is my carry piece, so the .45 stays home for home defence. But my favorite is the S&W M&P .40 FS. It just that good of a pistol.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2012

BEST PISTOL PURCHASE EVER!

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I had previously owned a Glock23 / .40 cal., a S&W 686 plus .357 Magnum revolver and a Beretta FS92 INOX 9mm. After doing much research between the new Glock GEN 4's, Springfield Armory XDM's and the M&P's and reading review after review I finally bought the M&P 40 almost 3 weeks ago. Of the 3 pistols I have owned this is hands down the best pistol I have owned and shot. It feels very comfortable in my hand with the factory medium grip and is very accurate out of the box. I have put over 400 rounds through it without a hitch. This feels to have less recoil than my older Glock 23. I am planning to switched to small grip to see if I can tighten up grouping which is about 4" at 15 yards. Keep in mind I am not an avid shooter, but plan to practice much more. Cabela's was extremely helpful in the purchase process and going through the features of the 3 manufactures I was looking at. I plan to get another M&P, the Shield in 9mm or maybe the 40, for the reviews are very good on it as a concealed pistol. Likely the 9mm though, just like to have more rounds if I plan to carry concealed. You will not regret buying a M&P! Bottom line try all the pistols you think you like and close your eyes and buy the one that feels the best in your hands. You have to feel comfortable with your choice, my was the M&P series and no regrets!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2012

M&P .40cal - Outstanding Pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I couldn't be happier with the performance of this handgun. Smith & Wesson has done an outstanding job with the engineering and construction of this pistol. I haven't found anything that I don't like about it. I've cycled hundreds of rounds through this gun so far with a variety of ammo and have not had one malfunction. Also, the sights were accurate out of the box. I'm very happy with my purchase!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Smith & Wesson® M&P Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2012

Great gun!

By
I have fired many handguns, but M&P's are among my favorite. I have a M&P9c as my concealed carry gun. It is very comfortable and easy to conceal in the warmer months. It is very reliable and matched with the right ammunition, you will feel confident carrying this small package. Very accurate and well engineered!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 94