Customer Reviews for SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols

SMITH & WESSON Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols

Smith & Wesson developed the C.O.R.E (Competition Optics Ready Equipment) models for those looking for a specialized platform that accepts optics. The C.O.R.E pistols are specifically designed to accept Trijicon® RMR®, Leupold® DeltaPoint, Jpoint®, Doctor, C-More STS and Insight MRDS optical sights, but are easily adapted to meet any demand. Stainless steel slide wears a Black Melonite® finish for extreme wear and corrosion resistance. Polymer frame is ultralightweight, rugged and withstands heavy use. Interchangeable palm-swell grips in three sizes for a custom fit sport an enhanced texture for improved grip. Fixed, two-dot sights for rapid target acquisition. Striker-fired double-action is smooth and reliable.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.78 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 82 reviews
5 Stars
71
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
80 out of 82(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Review 21 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:January 29, 2013
I am very happy with the M&P 45 cal pistol. It is a very comfortable shooting pistol, and very accurate gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Gun

Date:January 12, 2013
I purchased the 9mm right after Christmas, I have put 400 rounds thru it. I used 4 different manufactures ammunition including an aluminum case, 115gr and 147gr, this gun took everyone of them with no issues or jams. The trigger does take a little bit to get use to it, As far as using the sears deactivation lever, I didn't have a problem with, I liked the safety feature of it; you don't need to use it if you don't want to. For my carry weapon I will look at the SW M&P 40 compact. I would recommend this gun to anyone, I too went to cabela's to get a clock, but once I picked this gun up, it was a done deal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect gun for the price

Date:December 30, 2012
I purchased this handgun this weekend and have shot a box of shells threw it. It shoots amazing, and its very accurate. The staff at the cabelas in Hazelwood MO was very helpful and kind on helping me find wich pistol I wanted. I highly recommend thsi pistol especially for a first time pistol buyer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

M&P 9mm

Date:December 16, 2012
Picked one of these up a few days ago and took it on it's first run today. 150 rounds(50 115grain fmj and 100 147 grain fmj) out of the box without a single problem. I'll admit I walked into Cabela's to buy a different brand 9mm but this one really sold it's self.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dependable

Date:December 14, 2012
With the changeable backstraps you can find the right size grip for the right feel in your hand. 40 cal. handles like a dream, great crisp trigger, very accurate. I got mine with night sights. The staff at Hamburg, PA, Cabela's was very helpful. This is my carry piece, so the .45 stays home for home defence. But my favorite is the S&W M&P .40 FS. It just that good of a pistol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST PISTOL PURCHASE EVER!

Date:November 26, 2012
I had previously owned a Glock23 / .40 cal., a S&W 686 plus .357 Magnum revolver and a Beretta FS92 INOX 9mm. After doing much research between the new Glock GEN 4's, Springfield Armory XDM's and the M&P's and reading review after review I finally bought the M&P 40 almost 3 weeks ago. Of the 3 pistols I have owned this is hands down the best pistol I have owned and shot. It feels very comfortable in my hand with the factory medium grip and is very accurate out of the box. I have put over 400 rounds through it without a hitch. This feels to have less recoil than my older Glock 23. I am planning to switched to small grip to see if I can tighten up grouping which is about 4" at 15 yards. Keep in mind I am not an avid shooter, but plan to practice much more. Cabela's was extremely helpful in the purchase process and going through the features of the 3 manufactures I was looking at. I plan to get another M&P, the Shield in 9mm or maybe the 40, for the reviews are very good on it as a concealed pistol. Likely the 9mm though, just like to have more rounds if I plan to carry concealed. You will not regret buying a M&P! Bottom line try all the pistols you think you like and close your eyes and buy the one that feels the best in your hands. You have to feel comfortable with your choice, my was the M&P series and no regrets!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

M&P .40cal - Outstanding Pistol

Date:November 24, 2012
I couldn't be happier with the performance of this handgun. Smith & Wesson has done an outstanding job with the engineering and construction of this pistol. I haven't found anything that I don't like about it. I've cycled hundreds of rounds through this gun so far with a variety of ammo and have not had one malfunction. Also, the sights were accurate out of the box. I'm very happy with my purchase!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun!

Date:October 24, 2012
I have fired many handguns, but M&P's are among my favorite. I have a M&P9c as my concealed carry gun. It is very comfortable and easy to conceal in the warmer months. It is very reliable and matched with the right ammunition, you will feel confident carrying this small package. Very accurate and well engineered!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

S&M M&P 9MM FDE/Tan

Date:October 21, 2012
I just recently purchased this gun on Friday at Cabela's. Shot 300 rounds through it already and am very pleased with the gun. The gun is breaking in nice and very accurate. The kits that come with the gun, the carry and range kit are perfect. The only thing I didn't care for too much was the Kydex holster it came with. Don't get me wrong it's a good holster but it's only a level 1 holster. There is no retention that holds it in. But that is trivial compared to the gun itself.
Very pleased with the gun and the professionalism at the store. It was an exciting experience being it was my first hand gun bought. Definitely a good gun for a first time buying.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smith & Wesson M&P 9MM Pistol

Date:October 9, 2012
Great gun. This is the first pistol that I purchased and I have been really happy with the product. It is a well balanced and easy to shoot handgun, and is very comfortable to shoot. My 14 year old son has also been able to get used to it very easily. The handle grip options make it simple to customize for your hand fit, and I added a laser sight that mounted very securely on the front rail area.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top notch pistol

Date:September 21, 2012
Bought the range kit and it is a great deal with all the extras that come with it. Gun looks great and I've put 400-500 rounds through it with zero problems. Feels great in the hand and I keep it next to my bed every night for home defense. I would trust my life to this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great size

Date:September 12, 2012
I purchased the two tone kit recently in .40 after debating for months between the XD and the M&P. I shot an XD and they are definitely great guns, but I just could not get over how much bigger the XD was while offering smaller capacity than the M&P. Granted, when you move up to the XDm, you get more capacity, but it also costs more and you are only gaining one round capacity in .40 and two in 9mm. I was truly surprised at the size difference between the two. The M&P has been a great shooter for me and I absolutely love the gun. The two-tone colors are hit or miss. I personally like the coloring a lot but one of my buddies didn't, so I guess that is up to personal preference, but what isn't debatable is the fact that the kit is a great value. I also prefer the holster in the M&P kit as opposed to the XD's. The XD's holster leaves the bottom half of the barrel exposed to potential scratching and the M&P's covers the whole barrel. As a shoooter, the M&P is very comfortable and has very little recoil in .40 as compared to most 9mm's I have shot. Add in the fact that you can order a factory S&W 357 SIG barrel for cheap and reuse the magazines, or order a 9mm barrel and get 9mm magazines; you can basically have three guns for the price of one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best of the Best

Date:August 3, 2012
Before:
Conceal carry: Glock 17
Home defence: Springfield XD45
Tactical carry: FN Five seven
Now:
Conceal carry: M&P40
Home defence: M&P40
Tactical carry: M&P40
Yeah, it is that GOOD. This is my first S&W semi handgun. It feels like a grove and shoots great. trigger breaks crisp like snapping a glass rod. All my other handguns are locked away in the safe. you should try this handgun before buying something else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superbly made pistols you can depend on

Date:August 2, 2012
I bought a S&W M&P .40 Compact model in 2007 on the recommendation of a salesman at a local gun dealer and at first I thought I made a mistake. I didn't like how the pistol shot and I felt it was very inaccurate. But after shooting it more I figured out all the issues weren't the guns fault but my own.
These pistols are well built and although they are a little on the expensive side sometimes they are definitely worth it! I have shot Glocks and I also own a Springfield XD .45 and Kel Tec P3AT but the Smith is my favorite and the most reliable.
The triggers on the M&P series take some getting used to but the have the right amount of pull weight and feel comfortable enough to shoot all day. Some shooters complain about the lack of a definitive trigger reset but I honestly never noticed this "problem." These pistols are also very comfortable to hold and shoot. The grip shows a lot of thought in ergonomics and offers a decent amount of grip for a stock setup.
The sights are top notch for out of the box shooting. They are easy to see 3 white dot Novak style. I feel the sights on these pistols is one of their greatest selling points over some other factory sight setups on the market.
The build quality is superb. I've fired close to a thousand rounds through this pistol and it shows extremely little wear! The coating on the slide does and awesome job at protecting the metal; not a spec of rust has ever shown up with regular maintenance and cleaning. The barrel and grooves are in excellent condition also with very little wear. I've also not had any jams or fail to feeds with this pistol, not one problem in the five years I've owned it! All problems have turned out to be ammo related (bad primers).
The steel magazines are also of very good build quality and have performed without a hiccup. I like the fact that the magazines can be taken apart for cleaning and/or repair if needed.
I highly recommend a Smith and Wesson M&P pistol in whatever caliber you prefer. They all work on the same action platform and share the same high build quality. Not to mention the added bonus of Smith's awesome customer service! They will help you and answer all questions you have about their products. I use this pistol for concealed carry and home defense and feel 100% confident that it will go bang every time I pull the trigger!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

M&P 2tone Kit a Hit!

Date:May 26, 2012
I am already a fan of this handgun, and own one in 9mm. When I saw Cabela's offering this in the two tone range kit, I could not pass up the deal. 3 mags, 3 palm swells, one mag loader, one holster. Really? all this plus the very fact that you have a super sweet gun. Fit and finish were flawless. I was able to hit and group out a 5 inch circle at 25 yards- This is my home defense gun, my other M&P was gladly taken by my brother- Now we go to the range together in style!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best handgun I own

Date:May 9, 2012
I went looking for an upgrade to my newbie pistols ( a pair of Hi-Points) and boy was this an upgrade. My first pistols went bang every time I pulled the trigger and served their purpose, but as I learned more about shooting I wanted something of higher quality. I bought the M&P 9 based on reviews and a little time I spent handling the pistol at the new Cabela's in Marysville.
The staff made this purchase a great experience even in the midst of the chaos of a new store opening and non-stop gun purchases. I might have found a similar package for less online, but the expertise and personal attention made a real difference for me.
The fit and finish is outstanding; every component of the package is very well made with no visible flaws. The M&P 9 balances well in my hand, and the choice of backstraps gives the gun a customized feel. I was amazed the first time I stripped the gun down to clean it just how light the polymer frame was compared to the stainless steel slide. But when the magazine is loaded and inserted, the balance feels just right to me.
My son and I took the M&P out to the range for the first time yesterday and ran through about 250 rounds of Federal and Remington UMC with no failures. The accuracy was impressive without any adjustment to the sights. Both my son and I realized that this gun is reliably accurate but also revealed many flaws in our shooting technique. I know that our skills will improve when practicing with this gun in the future.
Bottom line for me: it's made in America, extremely high quality, reliable, and accurate. I feel the Cabela's package is a good value with the holster and extra magazines. Now I'll be saving my money again for another one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Firearm

Date:April 30, 2012
Picked up my M&P .40 a couple of months ago and couldnt be happier. This is an excellent firearm for the price plus all of the bonus accessories that come with it. I have put about 500 rounds through the firearm and it has performed flawlessly. I would recommend this kit to anybody I know.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: glendale
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellant purchase

Date:April 22, 2012
My first glance at this gun I wasn't really interested because of the 2 tone color but when I saw the package including the 3 clips , ez loader and holster I took a closer look and decided to purchase it turned out to be an excellant gun and the color is fine now that i like the way the gun handles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Chicago burbs
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Ehh...

Date:April 19, 2012
Bought this gun (9mm) a couple months ago and i think its just ok. I would have liked to have a thumb safety, which this one is lacking. I took it shooting and only had about 300 rounds through it until i had to take it back. The front sight became loose and almost fell off. It was out for repair longer than i actually had it in my possession. S&W repaired it, but i dont think i will never buy another one of their guns.
I hate the fact that you have to use a tool to remove the slide. I wish i went with an XD or glock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Smith & Wesson® M&P C.O.R.E. Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Springfield, Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

9mm M&P brown/black kit

Date:April 18, 2012
Purchased this pistol on april 14th and shot it the same day. (200 rounds) This pistol is flawless, great ergo's nice recoil and very accurate. The holster and two magazine holder are very nice quality. I also shot my nephews FN 9mm (nice gun) the same day and I have to say I can't imagine not owning an M&P! 51 rounds total on my belt is reassuring to say the least.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 82