Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols

RUGER Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols

Ruger’s first striker-fired semiautomatic pistol is now available in a compact model with a money-saving accessory package. This .45 pistol delivers outstanding performance at an affordable price. The durable glass-filled nylon grip is mated to a stainless steel slide outfitted with adjustable sights. Ambidextrous manual safety and magazine release. Reversible backstrap and magazine disconnect. Double action only. Available: SR45: A .45 cal. with excellent balance and comfort. Ergonomic grip and narrow slide. 10+1 capacity. Slide available with a black nitride or brushed stainless finish.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.825 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 80 reviews
5 Stars
72
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
76 out of 80(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Review 21 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Misses the mark

Date:November 7, 2013
First the good. Ruger Quality. Gun goes bang every time you pull the trigger. Decent sights. Crisp clean no creep trigger. Nice grip, thin and flat. Over all an OK range gun. Now to nit pick. The safety is located too far aft on the slide. It is a little small and difficult, if not impossible to operate without breaking your firing grip. Slide release is too small. After market extensions for these 2 problems are not yet available. There is an extended mag release available and this would be a good addition if you have smaller hands. The machining is well done but is very sharp. This can be fixed with with some ultrafine sand paper. There are no forward slide serrations and the forward sides of the slide are highly polished. This makes press checks difficult. I have put about 1000 rounds of various brands of ammunition through this gun in the last month or so with not failures on the firearms part. My wife has adopted it and used it for a 4 day class in Nevada. Accurate enough, and reliable but I watched her struggle with the problems I identified above. I really wanted to like this gun, butt for me, it just misses the mark in too many design issues to be a hit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SR9

Date:October 29, 2013
My wife bought me this pistol for my birthday last year. It was my 4th ruger that I own. I like the chambered bullet identifier, so there is no question if my pistol is chambered. The accuracy is unbelievable. To put a mag (17 rounds) on paper and to be able to cover it with a half dollar at 15 feet is awesome. My wife also loves it for the smoothness and handling of the gun all around. You can't go wrong with the SR9. I have not experienced any FTF or feeding issues with my pistol, even with my reloads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very, very good pistol

Date:August 28, 2013
I OWN MANY PISTOLS IN DIFFERENT CALIBERS. SR40 IS THE ONE THAT SETS BESIDE MY BED AT NIGHT. I HAVE SHOT PROBALLY 1000 ROUNDS THROUGH IT. I HAVE HAD NOT ONE PROBLEM WITH IT EVER. AS A FORMER U.S. MARINE I HAVE SHOT 10'S OF THOUSANDS OF ROUNDS THROUGH ALL KINDS AND CALIBERS OF GUNS SO I BELIEVE I HAVE THE EXPERIENCE TO RATE A NUMBER OF GUNS AND THE RELIABILITY. ACCURATE.FEELS GOODIN MY HAND. FYI ALWAYS CLEAN GUNS AS SOON AS YOU BUY THEM AND AFTER SHOOTING THEM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One fine gun

Date:August 7, 2013
Flawless, great handgun. This gun will hold it own with ANY higher priced gun, Just the best handgun I have ever purchased. Thanks Ruger, you guys did it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great 9 mm

Date:July 22, 2013
This is my favorite 9 mm. I have thrown over 1000 rounds through this gun, from cheap stuff I thought would not fire to higher end ammo, no issues. No jams, gun is accurate, easy to maintain. It did need a break in (something like 300 rounds) , I'm very happy with this gun, it is my main C&C choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Pistol

Date:July 16, 2013
Had a chance to fire 200 rounds through my new Ruger SR .45 today. Wow, what a great firearm. I had only previously fired Glock 9mm and .40, and this .45 had just a hair more recoil than the 9mm, and great control. Accuracy was dead on, and feels great in the hand. Compared to other comparable .45's , the Ruger offers a terrific value, and also happens to look great as well with the stainless steel slide. Highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger SR45

Date:June 4, 2013
I purchased the SR45 in early May and finally went to the range to shoot it. It was GREAT!!!! I was extremely happy with the pistol and I don't have anything negative to say about it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wonderful Guns

Date:May 27, 2013
I started out winning an SR9 at Whitetails banquet, which got me in wanting a SR40. So now i have each and boy do these guns shoot. I have three clips for each and can unload them very fast with putting the lead on target and 25 yards easily, funny thing is the 40 has less felt recoil then the Nine. If you want an accurate fast handling firearm don't be afraid of these! We shoot many reloads, and factory loads the 40 performs without a problem, the Nine doesn't like cheap factory loads with none brass cases, but I don't like them either!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Gun

Date:May 26, 2013
Very smooth and comfortable to shoot. It is very accurate and the trigger feel is exceptional.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top Gun

Date:May 24, 2013
I used a movie cliché to get the attention this firearm deserves.
I bought this handgun a year ago,and have put about 3000 rounds through it.I have used several different loads and manufacturers with the same results.Accurate and reliable.Never a misfire in all those rounds.
BEST pistol I have ever owned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger SR45

Date:May 14, 2013
I bought my SR45 a week ago and just put about 75 rounds through it. It worked great! I had no issues. The SR45 feels smooth but packs a lot of punch. I am very happy with my purchase and would happily recommend to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding

Date:May 9, 2013
Could not ask for a finer weapon. Acurate right out of the case. Easy to take apart and clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love at first Fire

Date:May 3, 2013
My wife and I went to our local shooting range to try a few different 9mm pistols. I was looking for something compact because I am going to get my CHL. We shot a Glock 26, The SR9C and a XDM 3". I knew after shooting the SR9C, I would be purchasing one soon. Great gun, smooth trigger. I love the safety features; loaded chamber indicator and manual safety. I quickly shed the pinky extension because i felt it didn't offer any more support and it made the weapon just that little bit longer thus harder to conceal. Ruger makes a great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice fit

Date:April 27, 2013
I have put 200 rounds through this gun without any FTF. It is a very nice fit for my medium sized hand and well balanced. Almost all my guns are Rugers and the quality is tops.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very happy

Date:March 28, 2013
I've shot over 300 rnds with no issues. No special ammo just your basic target ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SR40C Best Pistol

Date:March 8, 2013
I picked up the 40c about a month ago and can't say enough good things about it. It shoots so nice that my 16 year old sister has no problem with this .40 which many think of as a very snappy round, but not nearly as bad with this pistol. Have put roughly 1000 rds through it with absolutely no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best pistol

Date:March 5, 2013
I purchased the new Ruger SR45 a week ago. I know this is for the SR9 and SR40 bit they are the same platform and my owners manual is for the 9 & 40. But this is one of the best pistols I have shot. I have shot several 1911's, a block 21, and several other pistols. This gun just feels perfect in the hands. When shooting it, there is not much recoil. I am a beginner shooter with pistols (I'm more of a rifle guy) and I was creating groupings of 2"-3". So it is very accurate and have not ran into any problems yet. If my SR45 shoots lime the rest of the SR's then I highly recommend this gun. I was lucky enough that the day I got it, cabelas had a shipment on some Rutgers and I grabbed the last sr45.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SR40c

Date:February 5, 2013
Great gun! Shoots really smooth. The 9 round clip with the finger extension fits great in my hand. I got it to get my CHL. This will be great with a IWB holster.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfection in 9mm

Date:January 18, 2013
I have now owned my Ruger SR9c for about a year and a half. 1000+ rounds later and I've yet to have a single malfunction of any kind! I've used everything from UMC to Speer Gold Dot 147 grain without a hitch. The adjustable backstrap really made a difference. Takedown is easy, and the 17 round magazine makes range time that much more fun, though you sure burn through ammo in a hurry! It's great for conceal carry, you can wear it all day with no problems. It's a bit big for a pocket, but IWB is a dream. I've owned several Ruger firearms and have yet to have a single complaint about any of them. This is my wife's favorite handgun. She'll shoot head shots at 15 yards like it's her job. The double spring and polymer frame really helps with recoil, even with +P rounds. Bottom line, I wouldn't trade my SR9c for anything, except maybe two SR9c so my wife will stop taking mine!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice pistol

Date:December 30, 2012
I originally bought the ruger P-95 for a CCW. Nice gun but to big for concealment. About a month later I purchased the SR-40c. The recoil was about the same as the P-95. I've put about 500 rounds through it so far with no issues. the only issue I have is, you have to push the clip in pretty hard before it clicks into place. Good concealment gun, good price. Saving up now for my SR-1911!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 80