Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols

RUGER Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols

Ruger’s first striker-fired semiautomatic pistol is now available in a compact model with a money-saving accessory package. This .45 pistol delivers outstanding performance at an affordable price. The durable glass-filled nylon grip is mated to a stainless steel slide outfitted with adjustable sights. Ambidextrous manual safety and magazine release. Reversible backstrap and magazine disconnect. Double action only. Available: SR45: A .45 cal. with excellent balance and comfort. Ergonomic grip and narrow slide. 10+1 capacity. Slide available with a black nitride or brushed stainless finish.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.764 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 89 reviews
5 Stars
78
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
83 out of 89(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Review 21 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2014

Excellent handgun

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 65 and over
Two years ago I purchased the SR40C. It was my first handgun and I had no idea what to expect. Once I learned how to shoot and practiced at my personal gun range I became very proficient with this gun. It was as accurate or more accurate than the Glocks, Sigs, Smiths or any other handguns my friends let me shoot.
It was stolen last year so I bought the SR9C.so to have all my guns in 9mm. This gun fits my hand perfectly, more so than the Glock and M&P. Accuracy is outstanding and felt recoil is minimal. Yes, it has many safety features that other guns do not but you learn to use them properly. Also, it is a very good looking handgun.I love the Loaded When Up
indicator.
The trigger is better than other mentioned brands.It is outstanding.
It is my primary cary weapon. I LOVE THIS GUN.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2014

Good As Advertised

By
Bought the SR9C model last week. I am happy to say that this gun is everything I hoped for. Feels great, shoots straight and is extremely reliable. 370 rounds in with not one issue. Goes Bang everytime. I feel very confident this gun would do what I need it to do in a defensive situation. My next purchase will definately be a Ruger.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2014

Better than a glock!!!!

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
sr9c is made very well and shoots great. Adjustable sights a big plus, great trigger, looks fantastic and it is made in America. Also has a good price. Save yourself some money and get a better gun than the glock 26, SR9C!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2014

SR9c is a great pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
My wife bought an SR9c and loves it (I like the thing, too.) The only bad things are the slide release being a bit small and stiff, the grip extension being a little loose and the safety lever being a little small, but those are minor issues. It has eaten everything that we have fed it, including aluminum case nylon jacket ammo that a friend said not to buy (too late) because he couldn't get it to run through his Glock. No failures of any kind. It is natural to aim and produces decent groups out to 25 yds, standing unsupported. Field stripping is about as easy as it gets.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2014

The Ruger SR45

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I just wanted to say a few thing's about this fine Ruger firearm that I just obtained last week. It is the Ruger SR-45. The weapon is just outstanding, I have fired around 250 Rounds in the gun and have not had any problems with the weapon. It feed's just about ever kind of ammo that I could feed it and it worked great. I am a Deputy Sheriff's and I carry this weapon as my backup. I have no problem's having this weapon as a backup or Duty Weapon. Ruger has made one fine gun keep it up.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2014

Goodish gun

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
It works well, but certain features are very annoying. The ambidextrous release can sometimes cause the mag to fall out while shooting. This usually only happens when you have big hands(because you can accidentally bump it when the gun recoils). If you do, I would go with the M&P series by smith and wesson.
SR45
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2013

Dependable and Rugged

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Typical Ruger quality....tough, consistant, and accurate shooter. Sent around 1000 rounds through it in about 4 months with no FTL/FTE issues...or any issues at all. Shot everything from high-end ammo to alum case junk. Again, no issues. Easy to strip and clean. "Slamming" the loaded mag home MIGHT release the slide into battery. If you're not ready for it, it's a shocker.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2013

A great gun

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Shoots every type of ammo I could find!!! Several hundred rounds and only failure to feed was I needed to clean my gun, after shooting hand loads with nasty, dirty powder. Easy to conceal, slim grip, 17 plus 1 capacity. A great purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2013

Absolutely love this hand gun

By
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
First pistol I have ever owned. This pistol fits my hand like a glove. Love the way it feels while firing. Accurate and no issues with several types of ammo. Would definitely recommend this pistol.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2013

Misses the mark

By
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
First the good. Ruger Quality. Gun goes bang every time you pull the trigger. Decent sights. Crisp clean no creep trigger. Nice grip, thin and flat. Over all an OK range gun. Now to nit pick. The safety is located too far aft on the slide. It is a little small and difficult, if not impossible to operate without breaking your firing grip. Slide release is too small. After market extensions for these 2 problems are not yet available. There is an extended mag release available and this would be a good addition if you have smaller hands. The machining is well done but is very sharp. This can be fixed with with some ultrafine sand paper. There are no forward slide serrations and the forward sides of the slide are highly polished. This makes press checks difficult. I have put about 1000 rounds of various brands of ammunition through this gun in the last month or so with not failures on the firearms part. My wife has adopted it and used it for a 4 day class in Nevada. Accurate enough, and reliable but I watched her struggle with the problems I identified above. I really wanted to like this gun, butt for me, it just misses the mark in too many design issues to be a hit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2013

SR9

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
My wife bought me this pistol for my birthday last year. It was my 4th ruger that I own. I like the chambered bullet identifier, so there is no question if my pistol is chambered. The accuracy is unbelievable. To put a mag (17 rounds) on paper and to be able to cover it with a half dollar at 15 feet is awesome. My wife also loves it for the smoothness and handling of the gun all around. You can't go wrong with the SR9. I have not experienced any FTF or feeding issues with my pistol, even with my reloads.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2013

very, very good pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I OWN MANY PISTOLS IN DIFFERENT CALIBERS. SR40 IS THE ONE THAT SETS BESIDE MY BED AT NIGHT. I HAVE SHOT PROBALLY 1000 ROUNDS THROUGH IT. I HAVE HAD NOT ONE PROBLEM WITH IT EVER. AS A FORMER U.S. MARINE I HAVE SHOT 10'S OF THOUSANDS OF ROUNDS THROUGH ALL KINDS AND CALIBERS OF GUNS SO I BELIEVE I HAVE THE EXPERIENCE TO RATE A NUMBER OF GUNS AND THE RELIABILITY. ACCURATE.FEELS GOODIN MY HAND. FYI ALWAYS CLEAN GUNS AS SOON AS YOU BUY THEM AND AFTER SHOOTING THEM
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2013

One fine gun

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Flawless, great handgun. This gun will hold it own with ANY higher priced gun, Just the best handgun I have ever purchased. Thanks Ruger, you guys did it again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2013

Great 9 mm

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This is my favorite 9 mm. I have thrown over 1000 rounds through this gun, from cheap stuff I thought would not fire to higher end ammo, no issues. No jams, gun is accurate, easy to maintain. It did need a break in (something like 300 rounds) , I'm very happy with this gun, it is my main C&C choice.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2013

Excellent Pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Had a chance to fire 200 rounds through my new Ruger SR .45 today. Wow, what a great firearm. I had only previously fired Glock 9mm and .40, and this .45 had just a hair more recoil than the 9mm, and great control. Accuracy was dead on, and feels great in the hand. Compared to other comparable .45's , the Ruger offers a terrific value, and also happens to look great as well with the stainless steel slide. Highly recommend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2013

Ruger SR45

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased the SR45 in early May and finally went to the range to shoot it. It was GREAT!!!! I was extremely happy with the pistol and I don't have anything negative to say about it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2013

Wonderful Guns

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I started out winning an SR9 at Whitetails banquet, which got me in wanting a SR40. So now i have each and boy do these guns shoot. I have three clips for each and can unload them very fast with putting the lead on target and 25 yards easily, funny thing is the 40 has less felt recoil then the Nine. If you want an accurate fast handling firearm don't be afraid of these! We shoot many reloads, and factory loads the 40 performs without a problem, the Nine doesn't like cheap factory loads with none brass cases, but I don't like them either!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2013

Awesome Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Very smooth and comfortable to shoot. It is very accurate and the trigger feel is exceptional.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2013

Top Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I used a movie cliché to get the attention this firearm deserves.
I bought this handgun a year ago,and have put about 3000 rounds through it.I have used several different loads and manufacturers with the same results.Accurate and reliable.Never a misfire in all those rounds.
BEST pistol I have ever owned.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Ruger® SR45&#8482 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2013

Ruger SR45

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought my SR45 a week ago and just put about 75 rounds through it. It worked great! I had no issues. The SR45 feels smooth but packs a lot of punch. I am very happy with my purchase and would happily recommend to a friend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 89