Customer Reviews for THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black

THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black

Value-loaded features like a break-open action and adjustable length-of-pull provide higher-end performance at an entry-level price. The break-open hood offers smooth action for right- and left-handed shooters, while providing easy primer access and cleaning. 1" removable stock spacers make for a perfect fit for hunters of all ages and sizes. QLA® muzzle speeds reloading time. Adjustable fiber-optic sights. Triple-lead-thread breech plug prevents seizing. OAL: 41.5". Weight: 6.5 lbs. Length of pull: 12-1/2" to 13-1/2". Available: .50 caliber. Finish: Blued/Black.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.808 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
25 out of 26(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Review 1 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

5th year hunting with it

Date:September 30, 2014
This will be my 5th season with this rifle. The experts will tell you there are better rifles on the market, but in my opinion, you'll pay significantly more for a marginally better rifle. This one shoots great, its easy to clean, the sights are perfect, and its built well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tc is the best

Date:August 17, 2014
Tc has hit a homerun with this muzzy.i have owned three other inlines and this one out shoots all of them for half the price. And no ,this is just a better gun.ishoot blackhorn 209 and the impact never hangfires.the headspace is perfect .there is zero blowback from the primers.it shoots one big hole at fifty yards and inch and a half groups at a hundred.with open sights!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Another first time

Date:July 29, 2014
This is my first Black powder and can't wait for elk season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun...Learn how to shoot it.

Date:December 29, 2013
This is a great gun-not just for the low cost but for the overall value. Take your time and work up a load- saying you have bad accuracy after dropping 3 pellets down the muzzle and blasting away is not what black powder hunting is all about. Also- some bullets will come apart at 150 gr loads but drop deer quick with 85 gr of BP.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Buy - Did not disappoint

Date:November 5, 2013
Bought this muzzle loader for my 12 year old son to hunt with this year. Took me only 4 shots to sight it in and it shoots great out to 100 yards. Since we have only had it for a few months not sure what its full capability is but I am extremely impressed so far. My son killed a small buck with it already this fall and loves shooting it and looking forward to hunting more with it. The price is great for what you get!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Good Gun Bad Breach Plug

Date:October 14, 2013
See that almost all reviews are five star so I was surprised with my experience.
After my initial shooting of five shots had a little trouble unscrewing my breach plug.
After breech plug removal, cleaning and lubrication,I went back to the range to sight in my scope.
After fifteen shots could not remove the breach plug.
Called Thompson Center support and they indicated that I needed to remove and clean my gun every five shots. Was shooting the Triple Seven powder pellets, three at a time.
Noticed other reviews shooting lighter loads. Gun appeared to handle and shoot tight groups with the 3 powder pellet charge that I was using.
Have gun at a local gunsmith and will try cleaning after every five shots if he can get the breech plug out.
Also the front fiber optic tube had almost worked it self out of the holding rings after sight in period.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

IMPACT

Date:September 30, 2013
I bought my first muzzleoader in 1979, it was a Thompson Center Hawken Kit. I hunted with it for many years and harvested many deer with it. Some years ago a friend of mine purchased a Knight Muzzleloader and convinced me to buy one. I hunted with it for many years and was never really satisfied with it so last year I purchased a Thompson Center Impact at Cabela's and put there 4-14 x 44mm Powder Horn Scope on it. My first day hunting with it I harvested a large Doe at about 100 yards. I am very pleased with the gun and would highly recommend it to anyone that wants to hunt with a Muzzleloader.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun /value

Date:April 16, 2013
This gun is a great shooter and great value. Well made. I liked the fiber optic sights so much I mounted see thru scope mounts. Only thing I would change is the the front swivel stud is recessed. Does not allow mounting of a bipod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

accurate value

Date:January 27, 2013
Good inline design, great brand name for a relatively inexpensive gun that has strong reviews from the experts. Accurate on the range out to my range's max of 200 yards. TIght bore - so was glad to find Barnes T-EZ sabots, also from Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Muzzleloader

Date:January 15, 2013
This is a fantastic muzzleloader, especially for the money. It's accurate, easy to load and clean, and is great fun to shoot. I recommend this to anyone wanting to hunt with a muzzleloader!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Impressed

Date:January 8, 2013
For the cost I was impressed with the handling and accuracy of this muzzleloader. The only probem I had is the breach release requires a lot of pressure to release if not fired. Light, well balanced and carries well. Good recoil pad. I didn't scope it but satisfied with the groups using the fiber optics... good sight picture.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Extremely happy with the impact.

Date:September 28, 2012
This is my first muzzleloader and I'm extremely happy with it. It's very light, it's easy to shoot, with the butt plate, there isn't that much kick either, and I like the design a lot for operation and cleaning. Some minor cons: when it's cold out (15 or below) or after the gun has been sitting awhile, it can be difficult to work the slide barrel release to open the breach--not a huge deal and I'm sure there is some lube I could put in there. Secondly, the sight windage adjustment on this gun is not exactly fine tuning. Rather than having minute clicks right or left, you just loosen the entire sight and slide it over to where you want it. I was able to actually sight in the gun fairly quickly by being extremely careful and deliberate when moving it, but I could see a lot of time and frustration going into that. My state only allows open sights for blackpowder deer and I wouldn't put a scope on it anyway. Plus, I like the sights on it too. I can easily and consistently hit a pop can at 100 yards--which I'm sure is fine for reaching out to 200 on a deer if I have to. Third, the ramrod is a little cheap. Again overall, I'm extremely happy with the gun.
I actually bought this gun a year ago and it knocked down a big whitetail doe at maybe 70 yards in its tracks. Tremendous power! Used 95 grains of 209 blackhorn, Federal 209A shotgun primers, and 250 grain Thompsen Center Shock Waves. Can't wait for the season to arrive again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TC Impact

Date:September 19, 2012
Super value. If you are looking at an inline at a very reasonable price, look no further. Inlines offer many features that are not immediately obvious to the BP shooter. Well made, thought out rifle. Trigger is excellent, better than most of my rifles at 2 -3X the price! Scope it as soon as you can. Now, if only PA would allow inlines during Flintlock season. Hmm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Buy

Date:September 10, 2012
This is a very good weapon for the money. In fact, it is a very nice muzzy any way you get one... Do not be put off by the hood-opened action, it works just fine and locks up tightly. Put a little plug lube on it as it breaks in, and it will soon be smooth as a baby's b... The gun is light and handles well. It has a light, crisp trigger...notice the little metal lump on the back of that trigger...it acts as an over-travel screw and aids accuracy. I will not expound upon that great accuracy...there are plenty of others to do so, but it does shoot very well, consistently, using Blackhorn 209, Harvestor Black Crush-Rib Sabots, and Win. primers with 250 or 300 grain .452" pistol bullets. This is a very good choice for both seasoned veterans and new muzzy-shooters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Don't let the price fool you.

Date:May 14, 2012
TC did an awesome job with this one. I'm quite plesed with this rifle. Easy to use, easy to clean, fit and finish is great and it is accurate. Brought it to the range to test it out. The load I started with was 90 gr. of BH 209, 260 gr. Scorpion and CCI 209M primers. 2 shots to dial it in and it was one ragged hole from there on out at 50 yards. Can't wait to shoot it at 100 yards, I'm sure it will do great !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: frazier park,ca
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product,great value..

Date:February 20, 2012
Good:
1)Trigger is excellent. Be careful once you pull the hammer back. Its ready to go with a thought. Best trigger of any gun I own.
2) Super light-carry it up any hill or for hours. Lighter than most rifles.
3) Shoots straight- 2" groups are easliy possible at 100yds with peep sights, maybe more yardage possible with a scope.
4) Easy to clean- break open design with removable plug is super easy to clean-black powder is dirty, clean often.
5) All in all- great value for the money.
Minuses-
1) ramrod needs some help,sturdy, but needs threads at the end. Needs upgraded or modified rod. Easy to drill and thread end to accept "T" handle.
2) Stock sights need help. Front sight OK. Rear sight way too close to front, very easy to be off wth slight misalignment. Found "rail-peep" for Encore fits right on to factory holes. Improved groups to reasonable (with iron sights) at 100+ yds. Kill out to 100yds no prob with iron sights. If you are good with iron sights, look out.
3)Thats all I can find to complain about, thanks T/C.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Channelview, Tx
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the impact

Date:December 26, 2011
I got the black power impact for Christmas from my girlfriend. I took it out and hunted Christmas Eve night and made my first kill with it. Even though it was at 10 yards and getting dark, it was great. I have never shot any black powder gun before, but I love it. I don't doubt this gun can make a good kill at over 200 plus yards. I will hunt with this gun forever. I love it. I recommend this gun to any hunter. I'm going to get another one soon, for my girlfriend to hunt with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: delta colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sharp rifle!

Date:December 17, 2011
very nice smokepole for the price.wish trigger guard was metal not plastic but still a bargain for a TCmuzzle loader american made and lifetime warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alamance, NC.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Deal

Date:October 23, 2011
Buying the TC Impact is one the best things you can do. The Impact is a strong & easy rifle to carry. It will shoot as well as any high price inline sold today. I will be keeping this one. Sold my others after buying this one. The rifle groups well using .44 or .45 cal bullets in Crush Rid Sabo. Will do good with SST Sabo bullets. Good rifle for woods or open field deer hunting. Took my scope off and use it with open sites. Good rifle for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thompson/Center Impact Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gretna,NE
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing

Date:May 30, 2011
The black plowder gun is one of the best ones you can buy i havent shot a deer with it because i havent been out for for the season do to family issues but ive shot it about fifty times and its a dead on accurate gun u can cant beat the price its also very easy to clean and the sights are amazing the fiber optics work the best even better than the scopes so i would recoment this gun to any one new to black powder or to someone that knows everything about black powder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 26