Customer Reviews for HUNTERS VIDEOS CVA Optima Muzzleloader

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

HUNTERS VIDEOS CVA Optima Muzzleloader

CVA’s upgraded the already impressive Optima with cutting-edge technology that makes it an even better value. Its quick-release breech plug can be removed easily with a few twists of your fingers, even after repeated firings – no tools required. The trigger is light and crisp with virtually no creep, delivering the kind of performance you’d expect from guns costing much more. Includes DuraSight® one-piece scope mount. .50 caliber. Does not include open sights. Caliber: .50. Barrel Length: 26" fluted. Overall Length: 41". Weight: 6.65 lbs. Finish: Stainless/ Realtree Hardwoods HD®.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CVA Optima Muzzleloader
Review 1 for CVA Optima Muzzleloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:March 19, 2013
This is the second CVA Optima I have owned and I love them both. Great Gun for the money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CVA Optima Muzzleloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best muzzleloader money can buy!

Date:January 8, 2013
I got a nice buck with my new Optima, I would recommend this gun to anyone who wants to expand their hunting season AWESOME!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CVA Optima Muzzleloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Impressed!!

Date:December 2, 2012
My 10 year old son wanted to go deer hunting for the first time with me this youth gun season. He is only about 60 lbs and I was concerned about what kind of firearm he could use that would'nt crush his shoulder and his interest in hunting. I decided that a muzzleloader would be the best option. After looking at many different guns and reviews I decided to go with the CVA Optima. The lower price point and issues with older CVA's made me alittle worried; But the high reviews and lots of proof accurate videos sold me.
I paired this gun up with a Luepold 3-9 x40 Ultimate Slam scope. took it to the range and sighted it in with 100 gr. pyrodex and 250 gr. Hornady SST bullets. AMAZING RESULTS!! Next to no kick. 1 1/2" high at 50 yards and 1 1/2 low at 100 yards.
My boy and I did first morning hunt (4 hours) no deer. got lunch and came back for evening hunt (3 hours) and he killed his first deer. 50 yard shot broadside just behind the shoulder(PERFECT). She ran 45 yards and fell.
I was impressed so much I use it for my gun season instead of my shotgun. I killed a doe at 80 yards perfect heart shot. She ran 25 yards and fell. Love this gun.. A++++++. My dad is looking to buy one now.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CVA Optima Muzzleloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent!

Date:November 28, 2012
This is an excellent muzzleloader! Close inspection showed this gun was made with quality in mind, camo looks good and hasnt worn at all . shooting 100gr pyrodex pellets, lead hornady musket balls "forget grain" with rem shotgun primers. 203 rounds thru so far and not a single hangup / missfire. shooting 100 yards hitting same hole till about round 8 "without any cleaning" then about a 2 inch group. 300 yards with powerbelt 1/2 inch group with 150 gr pyrodex and 5 inch group with the musket balls at 257 yards Breech plug still comes out as easy as it did the day i took it out of the box. A Fine rifle indeed. If your thinking about this muzzleloader, stop thinking and buy it, you will not be sorry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CVA Optima Muzzleloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Great muzzleloader, as long as you use a scope

Date:October 11, 2012
I like everything about this muzzleloader except one. I hunt in Minnesota, and scopes are not allowed outside of regular rifle seasons. Mounting open sights on this muzzle loader make it extremely difficult to use. You are unable to lower you head far enough to accurately alight sights. The thumb hole stock sits too high to allow proper head position. On the flip side, this design works perfectly for scopes. So in short, if you hunt with a scope, buy this gun. If you hunt with open sights, keep looking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CVA Optima Muzzleloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Muzzleloader

Date:June 17, 2012
The rifle is very comfortable to shoot. The thumbhole stock makes for a steady grip and super control. The stainless barrel is very easy to clean and the quick release breach plug is a real plus. I have it fitted with a Nikon Prostaff scope and the gun has been very accurate at 100 yards with several different loads. Overall great gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CVA Optima Muzzleloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Roscommon, MI
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smoke Pole Extraordinaire

Date:December 14, 2011
Bought it for my teenage son. I hope he gets a chance to use it! Sighted in at 50 yards with 2x50 777 pellets and 240gr XTP sabot. Best I can tell, it was spot-on at 135 yds. Dropped a whitetail right in its tracks.
Finger removable breech plug works as advertised.
Works great with Nikon 3-9 ML Camo scope.
Got to get going to get another one for me!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CVA Optima Muzzleloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lumberton Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

None Better

Date:October 16, 2011
I can not believe that a more accurate muzzle loader is made. At 150 yds. the bullet cuts the same hole every shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CVA Optima Muzzleloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Philomath, Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Optima Thumbhole .50 cal

Date:September 29, 2010
CVA has out done themselves by making a premium quality muzzleloader in a price range that the average hunter can afford. This rifle is loaded with features that are normally associated with rifles costing much more.
From the quick release breech plug, to the fluted stainless steel barrel, to the ergonomically designed thumbhole stock, this rifle has it all! The comb on the stock is actually made for perfect alignment with the scope of you choice.
Oh, and did I mention, it is also a tack driver. 130 grains of triple 7 and a 270 grain powerbelt platinum bullet, three shots cutting each other at 100 yards!
Thanks Cabela's for stocking it and thanks CVA for an outstanding product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.