Customer Reviews for Tula Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Tula Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box

Stock up for high-volume shooting with this great deal. Noncorrosive, with smooth-cycling polymer-coated steel cases. 55-gr. FMJ bullets with reliable out-of-the-box performance.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.481 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
20 out of 27(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Review 1 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kalifornia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tula Works Just Fine

Date:August 9, 2010
My friends and I shot a bunch of this over the weekend, including 30-round mags emptied as fast as possible (under 10 seconds semiauto). Also shot other brands for a total of several hundred rounds through my AR-15. It's a custom rig, DoubleStar lower and Talon Arms piston upper. We shot the Tula near the end of the day, so the rifle was certainly not "clean" for it. Not one misfire or failure to feed. We were hosing down targets at 50 yards and taking slower shots out to 200 yards, it didn't matter. Good ammo, cheap $$, and as accurate as the Hornady or Federal bulk packs we also ran through. Maybe at longer ranges (over 200y) this stuff might not be that accurate, but we didn't shoot at those distances to know for certain. For those with direct gas-impingement uppers, maybe you will see an effect on performance, but those run dirty even with the cleanest US-made new ammo. Note that most rifle ranges have some excuse to prohibit using steel-core ammo; in Kalifornia it's for fear of "starting a brush fire". That won't happen, they just want you to buy range ammo at $27 per box for 20 rounds. We had brush and whatever else grows in the Mojave desert all around us and it did not come close to igniting. However, most ranges will not let you shoot this ammo. But if you can shoot in an area without anyone there to hassle you, you're just wasting cash shooting anything else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tula 223

Date:August 9, 2010
I bought 1000 rounds of this stuff for plinking ammo in a Ruger mini-14. After 300 rounds it has been flawless with no jams, failures to fire or eject, even when emptying a 20round clip as fast as possible [you can do that a lot at this price]. If have not tried it in my Bushmasters as they typically don't digest steel cased ammo very well--I don't know why. If you're into happy-blasting or bump-firing, this is your stuff [at least for a mini-14]. Also, with only a 4x scope, most of the shots out of a 20 round clip are within 2- 2 1/2 inches. Not bad, considering the equipment and the ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Earth
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good TGT ammo

Date:July 23, 2010
I have a Daniel Defense XV M-4 and have put numerous 30 round mags thru the weapon without a break. I have had no malfunctions or 24 inch sparks coming out the end of the barrel as per one of the reviews. Also, I have shot the same brand in my M1911 (230gr) with no issues. Granted, it does not have the consistency of brand name (Remington, etc) ammo or reloading your own, but it works for targets not CQB.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

concerned

Date:July 5, 2010
OK here is the scoop. I bought 1000 of this Tula .223 from Cabelas because it was so cheap. Now I think I wasted my $$.
1st of all, I have never had a malfunction in my AR-15 (Colt upper)until I bought this stuff. With the Tula ammo I had 3 malfunctions in the 1st box of 20 rounds. It feels like it is downloaded as it has noticably less recoil and seems quieter than the American Eagle ammo I compaired it to.
2nd of all, one of Cabela's competers mention that the bullet is made of a "bimetal jacket" which is copper over steel and will attract magnet. Well, let me tell you that it is a fireworks show when you shoot this stuff. With the American Eagel ammo it shoots a small even 3" round flame out of the barrel each time, while the Tula shoots a 24" sparkler show each shot with small balls of flame going everywhere. This makes me very concerned that it is metal on metal and damaging my barrel, Too bad I can't return this stuff and if I could rate it less than a 1 I would.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: arizona
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.223 tula

Date:July 5, 2010
Not for use in an ar platform, although this ammo cycled, the primers fall out upon extraction causing jams in the trigger. now only 2 out of twenty did this. but still if you needed to pull the trigger click isn't what you want to hear. Now out of my howa bolt action this ammo was great. Its no match ammo but its good enough to take a coyote with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

zero issues

Date:May 7, 2010
As far as people saying this is dirty, well its not polished brass Lake City stuff...its Russian and its a little dirty when compared to other $400+ per thousand round ammo. However, it functioned flawlessly in my AR. I shot 60 rounds of Herters with zero issue, then followed up with 60 rounds of this with no cleaning in between. No malfunctions, no issues period.
The real test is tomorrow when I will be involved in a tactical rifle class and will be shooting 1,000-1,500 rounds through my gun. Probably won't stop to clean it and will run the gun until it fails (if it fails). Going to shoot a mix of Wolf, Herters, and Tula. Expecting zero issues.
For the people with misfeeds, check your mags. Most issues are your magazine, not the round. GI magazines are cheaply made, so function is not always par. Invest in some Magpul magazines and be done with the magazine failures...And clean your gun, function test it, and remember that GI spec AR parts are prone to defects and different tolerances, so if your gun malfunctions, get it fixed. Its probably not the ammo, its a piece of your gun (buffer, extractor, etc...). And the reason most Mini-14s run so well is that the tolerances are much looser in the action, so they can gum up and get dirty without the issues an AR will have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellant for the price. {so far}

Date:May 2, 2010
Fired 100 rounds thru 2 different guns at a man sized target at
50 yds. Every round fired & every round hit. Good, cheap target
ammo sure makes shooting fun!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kenai,AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good ammo

Date:May 1, 2010
I have used tula, brown bear and wolf in my S&W M&P Ar15. I have run about 500 rounds of each through, with tula being the last brand i used. I am ashamed to admit i have yet to clean this weapon, but have had only a few jams and none with the tula. This is a good cheap ammo, that makes it affordable to go play.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Decent range ammo for my AR15

Date:April 18, 2010
Fired hundreds of rounds of this ammo and Wolf as well. No problems in any of my AR15s from my Colt, ASA, DSA, and Spike's. Folks who find this ammo 'junky' may need to maintain their ARs better. Or for an extreme opinion, I'd suggest getting rid of any gun that can't shoot even the lowest quality ammo. Who wants a picky gun that only eats expensive ammo? For the price, this is great range/plinking ammo. Tactical or self-defense...not so much.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No problems so far

Date:April 12, 2010
Shot 240 rounds through my S&W M&P 15 last weekend. Not one issue.
I'm ordering more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: HSV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Tula

Date:April 4, 2010
I got 500 of these the other day. I fired 120 this weekend. The second shot did not fire - the primer was pushed back into the pocket. I had another round that was underpowered and did not cycle the action. I pulled one bullet - the bullet weight 57 grains. The powder was a stick powder and oddly the steel case was boxer. Neither the primer nor the bullet were sealed.
I got about 5 inch groups at 100 yds for 10 shots - nice group in the middle but flyers low and high increased the diameter. Overall, I would give a pass on this one and try another brand. On the plus side - it does not smell bad and there were no issues with extraction - the polymer coating works very well. Looks like QC is the next hurdle for Russian ammo.
Blasting ammo, only.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Reno, NV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not bad for the price

Date:April 2, 2010
I've fired several boxes through my Savage bolt action and it works just fine. Only one dud which is better than I expected for the price. Each time I've purchased, the Cabela's guys warn me about this being junk/dirty ammo and look out for the coating melting in your barrel. So far so good. I just clean the gun after using it. Seems like okay ammo for plinking, not sure if I'd be comfortable shooting it through an auto where it could gum things up quicker.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: USA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.223 Mini 14

Date:March 29, 2010
I've bought 2000 rds of this ammo so far for my new mini 14. Shoot 1500 of it, usually 300 at a time, and not 1 misfire or jam. I have shoot more expensive ammo and quality-wise there has been no difference. Accuracy-wise, was same at 100yds with open sights. A lot of people complain about dirty ammo and jams. Being an infantry marine all i can tell anyone is clean your firearms (and clean em' good) after every shooting trip. This will solve 98.9% of jams and weapon failures. Don't be lazy...clean your firearms! GOD BLESS THE USA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ft. Worth, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great P-Dog ammo

Date:March 20, 2010
I purchased 100rds of this ammo back on NRA day at a great price just to try. I now wish I had gone ahead at that time and purchased a 1,000rds. I went thru all 100rds without any problems shooting at P-Dogs this week in Kansas. This ammo even worked in my brother's Mini-14. I just wish it came in a HP or SP so I could us it at the local range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA Earth
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I only shot a box

Date:March 20, 2010
The first round out of the box had a primer issue. As for the other 19, I fired in very rapid order from a brand new out of the box D P M S lite 16 rifle. Did not have a single jam, miss-feed, stuck casing. Nothing but rapid fire h e l l furry on a milk jug.
I did not notice the rounds being under powered, as for being dirty, I cleaned my gun after firing and the patches came out nearly as clean as they were going in.
I am not sure what's with all these comments about dirty ammo. Who cares if it's dirty? I clean my guns when I finish with them so dirty, corrosive, com bloc ammo or mil spec doesn't matter. Steel case brass case, lubed or not I will shoot it. I fear no ammo and this stuff is worth the money.
I have no clue to accuracy, I was firing fast as I could. I found no noticeable difference between this and the 40 rounds of Monarch I fired after wards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No problems

Date:March 19, 2010
My brother and I built a couple of mid-length ARs. After zeroing in we each ran a couple of hundred rounds through without any problems. He also put about 50 through his mini-14 without a hitch. You can't beat the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Surprise, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shoots just fine

Date:March 12, 2010
I dont see what the problem is with this ammo. It is what it is, a cheap steel cased ammo. Tried some of this in a bushmaster AR. No problems. Just make sure your AR is cleaned and lubed well before and after the use of this ammo.
Its not a high quality brass cased ammo. For what it is, it shoots just fine. I have no complaints.
I was getting a 8 inch group at 100 yards with iron sights. No problems with jams, feeds, FTF, FTE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not the same

Date:March 11, 2010
ammunition consistantly double fed in my AR or didn't even chamber a new round. Would not recommend. Customer Service was excellent at Cabelas. Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: MA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Caution

Date:March 8, 2010
I've been using this ammo in my AR15. I've never had a dud bullet. I only have two things to watch for:
1) the coating on the steel jackets will eventually melt in your gun's bore and cause a failure to eject. If this happens, do yourself a favor and remove the shell imediately with a long rod down the barrel. If you wait until the gun cools off, the coating will glue the bullet to the bore, it is very difficult to get out. Keep the chamber very clean!
2) The bullet itself has a steel core and will punch through most metal targets. This ammo is not allowed in contests due to its steel core.
Other than that, it's great ammo at a cheap price. Enjoy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tula .223 Rem. 55-gr. FMJ Rifle Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: cheney WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

garbage, don't waste your money!

Date:March 2, 2010
I bought 500 rounds of this on 2-26-2010, and took it to the range the next day. i trie it in 3 differnt ar's, all of them upper end models, all using 30 round clips. on the first rifle i got to round 57 and the gun siezed up, i could not get the gun to cycle as the bolt carrier was badly jammed. it took nearly 40 minutes to get the gun apart, and when i did i found that the case was stuck in my rifle, to which i used my cleaning rod to remove it. i switched to another ar and began to have cycling issues after about 40 rounds. this was the same with my third ar as well. i stopped shoting and was forced to clean the guns after only 50 shots in the remaining 2 rifles. this ammo is dirty, under powered, and poorly manufactured. this ammo is defanitly no wolf ammo, as i have never had problems with wolf in any of my rifles. the only plus was that my mini-14 seemed to like the stuff, as it did not jam or misfeed once. if you are considering this ammo do yourself a favor and spend a little more and buy better ammo, your gun will thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 27