Customer Reviews for MOSSBERG Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos

MOSSBERG Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos

These pump-action combos each include two barrels – a 28" vent-rib field barrel for upland and waterfowl seasons and a fully rifled 24" slug barrel with open rifle-style sights(hardwood only) and camo versions sport canti-lever scope mounts for deer season. Both can shoot shells up to 3-1/2" magnum and have 5+1 capacities. Available: 535 ATS™ Field/Deer Combo – Available with a handsome hardwood stock and forend or a weatherproof synthetic stock and forend in Realtree AP™ camo.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 21(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Review 1 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2016

Can't Beat The Price, Value & Quality

By
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This was my first shotgun. After much research I wanted to get a versatile shotgun that could have multiple uses. This was the one that fit my needs and I couldn't be happier with it. It comes with two barrels (smoothbore and a fully rifled one) and this by itself is a great value. I was deciding between a Remongton 870 and a Mossberg 500 but ended up choosing the 535 because it allowed me the option of using 3 1/2 shells in addition to 2 3/4 and 3 shells. Shoots well and recoil is very manageable. The only thing that I'm not too excited about is that additional barrels are hard to find. I was looking for a home defense barrel - something in the 18" to 20" range but they don't make it for this gun. Other than that it is excellent for any small / big game adventure or target shooting. I bought the blued and wood version and also got the Mossy Oak gun wrap tha Cabela's sell and it makes this gun looks GREAT!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2015

Mossberg 535 ATS

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I bought this shotgun about a month ago mostly for turkey hunting, I was satisfied when I first held it. It seemed like a very sound, sturdy firearm. When I shot it I was even more satisfied. First time shooting it I shot a variety of rounds including 2 3/4" target loads, 2 3/4" hi-brass buck, 3" and 3 1/2" magnum turkey loads. The gun handled it all like a champ. Not a single jam or misfire. The firing pin sounds like it hits a little light for a shotgun but after firing it Im very confident its not striking soft. Switching barrels or installing new barrels is very easy and quick. I patterned this gun at 30, 40 and 50 yards with the Carlson's Ported Turkey Choke with the Mossberg/Winchester/Weatherby option. I did get the model of this gun with just the hunting barrel, I didn't get the rifled barrel so I cannot comment on that but everything else is very satisfying. Only negative thing I have to say is that the slide is slightly loose, I read some other reviews that said the same thing. While Im sure this will not be a problem and cant really be fixed just because the chamber is very long therefore the slide has to be wider it still could collect moisture if it's raining. I doubt I will hunt in the rain but I figured I should include it in my review.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2014

Best Gun For The Money

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This shot gun Mossberg Model 535 is a excellent gun for deer or birds. Last year I got a nice buck first time out on opening day of gun season. I have used it for duck, goose, turkey and all bird hunting along with trap. This gun is a great all around gun no jams no matter what shell from 2 3/4, 3 or 3 1/2 that chokes it comes with are dead on. I would recommend this gun to any one from 1st time hunter to a seasoned hunter.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2013

Great 12 gauge!

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I was finally able to "break in" my new mossberg yesterday with a day of trap shooting with some friends. All in all, about 150-175 shells were sent through and not a single jam! At first, and up until about the 50-75th shell, there were a few times it seemed a little difficult to cycle a shell, but a few squirts of Hoppes #9 lubricating oil seemed to work wonders. I guess you can expect that from a brand new gun. She was shooting flawlessly from then on out!
The kick on the gun was not bad at all. My shoulder is bruised, but that's just the fact we shot so much!
the combination of price, durability, and construction simply cannot be beat. I highly recommend this shotgun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2012

Excellent purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
THis gun the Mossberg 535 12 gauge is my first shotgun purchase. I have the field/deer combo with the 24'' rifled barrel and the 28'' smooth bore barrel. I have the blued barrels and wood stock.
The rifled barrel is amazingly accurate with the Federal Sabot 300 grain copper slugs. The smooth barrel with stock chokes has decent paterning. I did pick up the Undertaker Choke for Turkey and find these Patterns tighter at a better distance. Smooth Barrel is also a good home defense choice as I had excellent pattern with the Hornady Z-Max Zombie defense shot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2012

Works well on trap and skeet.

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought this gun for hunting and field use. I ended up getting into trap and skeet shooting this year. This is not the shotgun I would pick for that task but it has worked very well.
I plan on using it for hunting this fall but will also continue to use it for trap and skeet shooting as well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2012

Excellent value for the hunting "buck"!

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Two barrels, 3.5" shell capacity, adjustable trigger, great price, Mossberg name; what's there NOT to like???
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2011

Very Impressed

By
Location: Connecticut
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This was my first firearm purchase and so far the only shotgun I've purchased. I bought this gun based on a recommendation from my father in law and lots of research on my own. This gun is hard to beat for the price, especially because of the two barrels. I live in CT and was able to shoot my first deer this weekend. The gun is accurate and the kick is very manageable. I think this is a great first gun, especially for someone like me just getting into the shooting sports. I have shot clays a few times but have not gone bird hunting yet, so I can't comment on that. I would absolutely recommend this firearm.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2011

Mossberg 535 ATS Pump Action Field/Deer Combo

By
Location: Westport, CT
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
The rifled barrel with Hornady SST sabots is a game changer. the field barrel is fine and chokes swap in and out easy. its a simple flawless indestructible tool that cost half of my other shotgun and performs better. I dont worry about the finish or a ding or dent and that freedom makes a hunt easier to enjoy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2011

Reliable

By
Location: CT
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This was recommened by many of my friends for a beginning shotgun for price and reliablility ,and they were right. It has been a pleasure using this for beginning trap shooting. Many people since have told me they have had their Mossberg 500 for 15 years or more and they still love it. I expect I will be using it for a long time. My only regret I should have gotten the field and home defense barrels instead of the field and hunting barrels.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2010

835

By
great performance,best price.sighted in with ALL kinds of shells,after about 100 rounds down range and a really sore shoulder, federal barnes expanders the best with 2" groups at 100 yards.this gun does not like higher velocity ammo. the only ejection problems were with brenneke 3" gold magnums. got 2 deer this season with ease. smooth and accurate.DWR.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2010

Mossberg Pump Action Shotguns

By
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
I own an older Mossberg 500A with the poly choke & an 835 Ulti-Mag Waterfowler. There's not too much I can say about these guns. I bought the Waterfowler because the 500 was just that good! The 835 did have an ejection problem that is common to these guns, but it was easily corrected. When it comes to pump actions, you simply cannot show me a better gun at a better price, period. Even if you're willing to pay more, why? The Mossbergs are just as reliable, trustworthy & durable as the more expensive models! That leaves more money for more gear! The Mossbergs also put the safety where it belongs, on top of the tang.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2009

mossberg

By
Location: Preston, MD
I purchased the mossberg 835 and i am very happy with it. I also own the 500 as well and its just as nice. mossberg is a no frills kinda gun. They may not be the prettiest but they work and they have a 10 year warranty to back up any of your disconcerns. There are plenty of after market products and factory accesories to make your hunting gun great. Ported barrels make recoil easy on the arm. Some people do not like mossberg products and say they are cheap and fail but, Remember a gun is what you make it if you keep it oiled, clean and care for it , it will last and serve you well. Even an expensive gun will fail if not cared for.
I dont have the heart to bring one of my expensive nice guns out wading in the marsh or out to be abused by hunting i just want a gun to work and be affordable it doesnt need to look pretty for the ducks or deer . Take a look at one at your local cabelas and compare it to other price ranged guns and consider this gun and hey a 10 year warranty.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2015

Solid Gun but Garbage Rifle Sights

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Like every other Mossberg, this is a great gun for the money. Mossberg makes some of the most reliable utility shotguns out there.
It's got a bit of bulk to it, but this is a great, versatile shotgun. However, I will say that the sights on the rifled barrel are garbage. After spending a small fortune on slugs and a couple days at the range, I discovered they allow for very limited adjustments (especially for a slug gun large adjustment may be necessary) and with only set screws you have to be extremely careful when moving them. Then after a (careful) walk in the woods, my front sight got bumped loose. It isn't adjustable but popped out of position, I put it back but could no longer trust whether or not my gun was on.
If you plan on spending any time at all deer hunting with this gun, invest in a quality set of iron sights and/or a scope and you'll have one heck of a deer gun. Otherwise, this is a good reliable gun!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2015

Good Value for the Money

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
My take on the Mossberg 535 is that it is a very good deal for your money, and it is very competitive with any other make or model of pump shotgun. I grew up hunting with an Ithaca Model 37 20 gauge, and I eventually moved up to a Remington 870 Wingmaster 12 gauge. Nobody in my family has ever previously owned a Mossberg firearm of any type. I can say that I am pleased overall and judge the shotgun with realistic expectations. It has shot tighter with its stock choke tubes than most shotguns I've owned or shot. For example, it patterns more like a full choke when using a modified choke. The only inexplicable thing has been the occasional failure to draw another round from the magazine into the chamber when pumping the shotgun. The previous shell will eject, but nothing made its way into the chamber. This flaw may not to be blamed on the shotgun. It may have been attributed to me short arming the pump and not pulling it all the way down. All in all, I think if you've ever owned, shot or hunted with a Remington 870, Ithaca 37 or Benelli Nova, you will find that a Mossberg 535 is equal to any of these tried and true firearms, and it comes at a very nice price tag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2012

great gun

By
been using for rabbit, grouse and ducks for 3 years great accuracy, look,low recoil and good action the only thing i would say could be better is the handle you use to pump the action is a bit loose but no big deal.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011

Great go anywhere/do anything gun!

By
Location: Duluth, MN
Gender: Male
I now own a Mossberg 835 12 gauge, a 500 20 gauge, and my most recent pick up - a 535 12 gauge. I have the field/deer combo with the 24'' rifled barrel and the 28'' smooth bore barrel. I have the blued barrels and wood stock.
I LOVE the gun! I can drive tacks with slugs (I recommend experimenting with different slugs to find what you like best) I like the 2 3/4'' Federal barnes expanders tipped. And the 28'' barrel patterns great with the chokes the gun came with.
All around this is a great gun! It'd be a great life-long gun for an up and comer too! It boots a bit with 3 1/2'' shells and slugs, but that should be expected. The weight of this gun is nice, it looks good, has the tang safety and is about as dependable as they come! I'm very happy with it! I've hunted my whole life and this is one of my best gun purchases in recent years!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2011

Mossberg 535 ATS Pump Action Field/Deer Combo

By
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Recieved this gun for Christmas last year and it has performed flawlessly. Used it with 3" shells for turkey hunting in October and nailed a tom at 54 yds with ease. Put the rifled barrel on in November for deer hunting and used 2 3/4" shells and bagged two deer on the first day. This has so far been my favorite shotgun to both hunt and target shoot with. I am a lefty shooter and the thumb safety makes it easy to take the safety off and pull the trigger quickly before the deer has a chance to run anywhere. Shot 500+ shells target shooting and the only problem I have experienced is the action release button gets stuck sometimes and you need to play with it a little for it to release. This was simply fixed by making sure to press straight up and had no other problems. Great gun for many different things, I would definately recommend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2010

Mossberg 835 Ulti mag combo

By
This is a great gun . The advantage of having 2 barrels is you can hunt everything from doves to bear. I did have a problem with the screw that is threaded into the magazine cap for mounting the sling swivel to the gun. It pulled away from the cap without warning.The gun fell to the ground. It was not loaded. I was not to upset because I was carrying a Turkey over my other shoulder.I used a good epoxy to repair the problem. At a great price you cant beat it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mossberg® Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2009

Good gun

By
Location: Milwaukee, WI
It's a good gun for everything and unexpensive too. It is also a very good combo if that's exactly what you're looking for.
Unfortunately, there's no 20 ga option. Unfortunately also, there is no option to get the combo with barrel suited for a scope (if you want to have a scope, you'd need to buy a new barrel!) - that's where 1 star goes away.
I bought this gun, installed extra shooting pad (to control recoil), installed sling swivels, bought replacement barrel combo and replacement scope for that combo (paid also to mount it properly with some locktite).
Now, I am happy and I can place a dead center with a good sabot at 100 ft. I have also a bird barrel for rabbit-hunting or bird-hunting and open-sights barrel if I ever have a fancy to make my life more difficult and deers' life easier ;)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 21