Customer Reviews for MOSSBERG Mossberg Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos

MOSSBERG Mossberg Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos

These pump-action combos each include two barrels – a 28" vent-rib field barrel for upland and waterfowl seasons and a fully rifled 24" slug barrel with open rifle-style sights(hardwood only) and camo versions sport canti-lever scope mounts for deer season. Both can shoot shells up to 3-1/2" magnum and have 5+1 capacities. Available: 535 ATS™ Field/Deer Combo – Available with a handsome hardwood stock and forend or a weatherproof synthetic stock and forend in Realtree AP™ camo.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mossberg Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Review 1 for Mossberg Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great 12 gauge!

Date:May 27, 2013
I was finally able to "break in" my new mossberg yesterday with a day of trap shooting with some friends. All in all, about 150-175 shells were sent through and not a single jam! At first, and up until about the 50-75th shell, there were a few times it seemed a little difficult to cycle a shell, but a few squirts of Hoppes #9 lubricating oil seemed to work wonders. I guess you can expect that from a brand new gun. She was shooting flawlessly from then on out!
The kick on the gun was not bad at all. My shoulder is bruised, but that's just the fact we shot so much!
the combination of price, durability, and construction simply cannot be beat. I highly recommend this shotgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mossberg Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent purchase

Date:November 8, 2012
THis gun the Mossberg 535 12 gauge is my first shotgun purchase. I have the field/deer combo with the 24'' rifled barrel and the 28'' smooth bore barrel. I have the blued barrels and wood stock.
The rifled barrel is amazingly accurate with the Federal Sabot 300 grain copper slugs. The smooth barrel with stock chokes has decent paterning. I did pick up the Undertaker Choke for Turkey and find these Patterns tighter at a better distance. Smooth Barrel is also a good home defense choice as I had excellent pattern with the Hornady Z-Max Zombie defense shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mossberg Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works well on trap and skeet.

Date:August 19, 2012
I bought this gun for hunting and field use. I ended up getting into trap and skeet shooting this year. This is not the shotgun I would pick for that task but it has worked very well.
I plan on using it for hunting this fall but will also continue to use it for trap and skeet shooting as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mossberg Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent value for the hunting "buck"!

Date:May 7, 2012
Two barrels, 3.5" shell capacity, adjustable trigger, great price, Mossberg name; what's there NOT to like???
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mossberg Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Impressed

Date:December 4, 2011
This was my first firearm purchase and so far the only shotgun I've purchased. I bought this gun based on a recommendation from my father in law and lots of research on my own. This gun is hard to beat for the price, especially because of the two barrels. I live in CT and was able to shoot my first deer this weekend. The gun is accurate and the kick is very manageable. I think this is a great first gun, especially for someone like me just getting into the shooting sports. I have shot clays a few times but have not gone bird hunting yet, so I can't comment on that. I would absolutely recommend this firearm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mossberg Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Westport, CT
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mossberg 535 ATS Pump Action Field/Deer Combo

Date:November 19, 2011
The rifled barrel with Hornady SST sabots is a game changer. the field barrel is fine and chokes swap in and out easy. its a simple flawless indestructible tool that cost half of my other shotgun and performs better. I dont worry about the finish or a ding or dent and that freedom makes a hunt easier to enjoy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mossberg Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CT
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reliable

Date:October 24, 2011
This was recommened by many of my friends for a beginning shotgun for price and reliablility ,and they were right. It has been a pleasure using this for beginning trap shooting. Many people since have told me they have had their Mossberg 500 for 15 years or more and they still love it. I expect I will be using it for a long time. My only regret I should have gotten the field and home defense barrels instead of the field and hunting barrels.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mossberg Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

835

Date:December 11, 2010
great performance,best price.sighted in with ALL kinds of shells,after about 100 rounds down range and a really sore shoulder, federal barnes expanders the best with 2" groups at 100 yards.this gun does not like higher velocity ammo. the only ejection problems were with brenneke 3" gold magnums. got 2 deer this season with ease. smooth and accurate.DWR.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mossberg Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mossberg Pump Action Shotguns

Date:January 17, 2010
I own an older Mossberg 500A with the poly choke & an 835 Ulti-Mag Waterfowler. There's not too much I can say about these guns. I bought the Waterfowler because the 500 was just that good! The 835 did have an ejection problem that is common to these guns, but it was easily corrected. When it comes to pump actions, you simply cannot show me a better gun at a better price, period. Even if you're willing to pay more, why? The Mossbergs are just as reliable, trustworthy & durable as the more expensive models! That leaves more money for more gear! The Mossbergs also put the safety where it belongs, on top of the tang.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mossberg Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Preston, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

mossberg

Date:December 19, 2009
I purchased the mossberg 835 and i am very happy with it. I also own the 500 as well and its just as nice. mossberg is a no frills kinda gun. They may not be the prettiest but they work and they have a 10 year warranty to back up any of your disconcerns. There are plenty of after market products and factory accesories to make your hunting gun great. Ported barrels make recoil easy on the arm. Some people do not like mossberg products and say they are cheap and fail but, Remember a gun is what you make it if you keep it oiled, clean and care for it , it will last and serve you well. Even an expensive gun will fail if not cared for.
I dont have the heart to bring one of my expensive nice guns out wading in the marsh or out to be abused by hunting i just want a gun to work and be affordable it doesnt need to look pretty for the ducks or deer . Take a look at one at your local cabelas and compare it to other price ranged guns and consider this gun and hey a 10 year warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mossberg Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:February 20, 2012
been using for rabbit, grouse and ducks for 3 years great accuracy, look,low recoil and good action the only thing i would say could be better is the handle you use to pump the action is a bit loose but no big deal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mossberg Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Duluth, MN
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great go anywhere/do anything gun!

Date:February 9, 2011
I now own a Mossberg 835 12 gauge, a 500 20 gauge, and my most recent pick up - a 535 12 gauge. I have the field/deer combo with the 24'' rifled barrel and the 28'' smooth bore barrel. I have the blued barrels and wood stock.
I LOVE the gun! I can drive tacks with slugs (I recommend experimenting with different slugs to find what you like best) I like the 2 3/4'' Federal barnes expanders tipped. And the 28'' barrel patterns great with the chokes the gun came with.
All around this is a great gun! It'd be a great life-long gun for an up and comer too! It boots a bit with 3 1/2'' shells and slugs, but that should be expected. The weight of this gun is nice, it looks good, has the tang safety and is about as dependable as they come! I'm very happy with it! I've hunted my whole life and this is one of my best gun purchases in recent years!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mossberg Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mossberg 535 ATS Pump Action Field/Deer Combo

Date:February 5, 2011
Recieved this gun for Christmas last year and it has performed flawlessly. Used it with 3" shells for turkey hunting in October and nailed a tom at 54 yds with ease. Put the rifled barrel on in November for deer hunting and used 2 3/4" shells and bagged two deer on the first day. This has so far been my favorite shotgun to both hunt and target shoot with. I am a lefty shooter and the thumb safety makes it easy to take the safety off and pull the trigger quickly before the deer has a chance to run anywhere. Shot 500+ shells target shooting and the only problem I have experienced is the action release button gets stuck sometimes and you need to play with it a little for it to release. This was simply fixed by making sure to press straight up and had no other problems. Great gun for many different things, I would definately recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mossberg Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mossberg 835 Ulti mag combo

Date:January 30, 2010
This is a great gun . The advantage of having 2 barrels is you can hunt everything from doves to bear. I did have a problem with the screw that is threaded into the magazine cap for mounting the sling swivel to the gun. It pulled away from the cap without warning.The gun fell to the ground. It was not loaded. I was not to upset because I was carrying a Turkey over my other shoulder.I used a good epoxy to repair the problem. At a great price you cant beat it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mossberg Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good gun

Date:December 3, 2009
It's a good gun for everything and unexpensive too. It is also a very good combo if that's exactly what you're looking for.
Unfortunately, there's no 20 ga option. Unfortunately also, there is no option to get the combo with barrel suited for a scope (if you want to have a scope, you'd need to buy a new barrel!) - that's where 1 star goes away.
I bought this gun, installed extra shooting pad (to control recoil), installed sling swivels, bought replacement barrel combo and replacement scope for that combo (paid also to mount it properly with some locktite).
Now, I am happy and I can place a dead center with a good sabot at 100 ft. I have also a bird barrel for rabbit-hunting or bird-hunting and open-sights barrel if I ever have a fancy to make my life more difficult and deers' life easier ;)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mossberg Model 535 ATS Pump-Action Shotgun Field/Deer Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Ok

Date:January 13, 2010
I bought the camoflauged mossberg 500.. i like the looks but you cant oil the paint it will wear it off. and the synthetic feels pretty chinsy. i noticed my winchester skeet loads dont eject from gun i gotta pull out with a knife..other then that its a great gun very low kick for a 12 gauge..comparable to a 20 gauge
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.