Customer Reviews for JACKS LINKS Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

JACKS LINKS Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns

Reliability has always been a long-standing hallmark of Remington autoloaders and the Model 11-87 continues the legacy. Its patented pressure-compensating gas system is the biggest reason why hunters rely on Remington semiautomatic shotguns. Available: Model 11-87™ Sportsman® Super Mag Waterfowl – Hides right along with you thanks to full Mossy Oak® Duck Blind® camo coverage. Rubber overmolded grip panels on the stock and forend for a sure hold in all weather conditions. A soft-shooting action and the revolutionary SuperCell™ recoil pad combine to tame 3-1/2", 12-gauge rounds. Adjustable length-of-pull kit offers 1" of adjustability for a custom fit. The 28" barrel accepts Rem™ Chokes and the included Wingmaster HD® Specialized Waterfowl Choke tubes are a lethal ticket when the birds are cupped and committed. It also comes with HiViz® sights featuring interchangeable light pipes. Black padded sling included.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
4
1 Star
5
10 out of 20(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Review 1 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

worst gun ever!!

Date:September 23, 2012
I have had this gun for 2 years now and had to send it in because the shells wouldn't go in after cycling out. That didn't help either came back and shells get stuck going in still. I have tried all kinds of shells. Only good thing is there is more ducks out there now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Jose, CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reliable

Date:March 18, 2012
I own 2 of these. One is the XCS version, the other is a Sportsman model from 3 years ago. The XCS cycles 3" shells without any issue, but will hang on 2 3/4" 1 oz. target loads. It is chambered for 3 1/2" so it is not designed for trap shooting. The Sportsman is chambered in 3" and it shoots light target loads without any problem. It will also shoot 3" steel loads without an issue. I stripped and cleaned both guns very carefully when I bought them. I used Rem Oil to lubricate them. I used Kleen Bore wipes to remove carbon deposits. Never had FTF. Never had a "jam" outside of the light loads in the 3 1/2" chamber. 11-87 gets a bad rap now because the basic design is 25+ years old and newer $exier gas guns cast a long shadow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

11-87 Super magnum

Date:February 26, 2012
I just purchased my 3rd super magnum and all I can say is they are one of the most reliable shotguns i have used with all loads, I hear a lot of complaining that they only work with 3 1/2 inch loads, but in the owners manual it says you need to remove the barrel seal activator when shooting light loads. if you do that then it is 100% reliable with all loads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ishpeming, MI
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Questions

Date:February 16, 2012
Hey guys, I just purchased the 11-87 but have not shot it yet. By the sounds of it, it doesnt seem like to many people are happy with this gun. I plan on using it to duck/goose hunt and will be running 3 and 3 1/2 inch loads through it. I understand that there is an activator that needs to be taken out of the gun in order to cycle these larger rounds. I would appreciate any other advice you guys have about the 11-87...for instance is there a round that i should use to break the gun in with? Do you think this gun is bad enough to were i should just bring it back? I need something that will withstand all the elements of Northern Michigan
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

11-87 Super Mag

Date:January 16, 2012
Own a 11-87 Super Mag for 9 years i have replaced about every part of the gun at least once, some more than others. Have to send it to the offical Remington dealer every year for repairs. Not design for waterfowl hunting at all. I clean the gun right after every trip and strip it completely down as shown by the remington gunsmith. I have to bring two guns due to so many malfunctions. Wish i had spent the extra money for a better gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Atkins, AR
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

!! Double Trouble !!

Date:January 14, 2012
Let me start off by saying that I look for the good in everything but these sportsman series 1187's keep me looking!! I bought two of these guns, each at different times, and each gun had their problems. One of the guns would not unload due to the bolt only releasing about 1/8 inch then locking up solid. The other gun had problems with the shell carrier locking in the up/load position and being a pain to deal with. I also feel that it's only fair to note that I have an older remington 1187 super mag special purpose and it continues to function flawlessly year after year. I'm seeing a lot of reviews that back up exactly what I have experienced.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Branford, CT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Work horse!

Date:January 9, 2012
Snow, sleet, mud and even shot well after being submerged during an arduous hunt in 'my' secret swamp! I hunt often and hard, many times early before work...getting it done-love this sport! This shotgun never quits and will shoot anything I load into it. Keep up the great work Remington. This one is a keeper.
Happy hunting in 2012! jbj
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not happy

Date:January 6, 2012
Bought the 11-87 super mag waterfowl version before this years duck season. I have used an 870 express mag for the last 25 years and decided it was time to get a new gun and wanted to try a semi-auto. The first day out I had problems with the gun not cycling 3 inch shells and 3.5 inch shells. It would leave the bolt open after ejecting the empty. I was a little disappointed with my brand new gun not working fully, but I wrote it off as the gun just breaking in. Last week while out hunting, 5th time using the gun, after shooting at a flock of ducks I realized that the lever used to pull the bolt back to load it was gone. Now I am sitting out in the marshes with a new gun that will not load...needless to say I am not happy with my purchase. I have always loved my Remington but I think I made a mistake with this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Louisiana
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

my favorite

Date:December 23, 2011
best shotgun ive ever had. puts my brownings, winchesters, berettas,and benellis to shame no better gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

broken

Date:November 13, 2011
Do not buy this gun if you plan on shooting 3-1/2" magnums. Mine broke 3 times. Worked great for 3". Only good thing is that Remington fixed all three times for free, even after warranty expired. Now I use it for a Turkey gun since Turkey hunting only requires one shot. I bought a maxus and my problems have been solved. Maxus handles ten times better too. Lighter and swings better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

11-87

Date:October 2, 2011
bought this shotgun and its only cycled 3 shots smoothly a handful of times. the problems im having are with goose loads the action sometimes locks open after a shell is ejected. and now the action is sticking half way after you hit the latch to close the action. the gun is not dirty i clean and oil it after every time out (its not over oiled) this would be an awesome shotgun if it worked properly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:January 10, 2011
I have the 11-87 supermag waterfowl gun and so far it's a great gun. I have been told that the gun jams with 3 1/2 inch shells, but so far it hasn't with mine. You need to read the owners manual if you buy it because it tells you in bold red font that you must remove the barrel seal activator when using 3'' or 3 1/2'' loads. By not removing that your gun will jam easier. As long as you follow the owners manual you shouldn't have any problems. It pulls up great and it's the best bang for your buck for an automatic shotgun. I hunt geese and ducks over 40 days a year and it's a very reliable shotgun for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Corry, PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Extremely Versatile Shotgun

Date:October 27, 2010
Have bagged rabbit, grouse, pheasant, turkey and deer with my 11-87 over the last 3 years, using 2.75 and 3.5 inch shells both shot and slugs. Very versatile gun. Yes, will occasionally jam with 3.5 inch shells, but keep well oiled and it does fine. Small price to pay for a gun that will shoot any shell and you can hunt anything with. Very happy with my 11-87.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

11-87 super mag

Date:June 22, 2010
did have the problem with the gun jambing but once i tuned the gas release valve the gun never jambed. best gun i have ever had next to the winchester sx3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: KC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Too many jams

Date:March 21, 2010
The 1187 in 3" is the best semi-auto I've ever owned, the 1187 Super-Mag is the worst gun I've ever owned. Always jammed with 3.5" loads when you needed that follow up shot most. Finally just got fed up with it, finally traded it off for another 1187 3". I gave the Super-Mag one star for the few times it successfully cycled 2 shells in row.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: central washington, columbia basin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

11-87 supermag

Date:February 4, 2010
bought this gun two years ago. second time out the barrel ring broke and the barrel came off in my hand. missed most of the first season. Remington repaired and 'updated'the gun at no cost. 'O' ring on the magazine is constant problem and the gun doesn't want to cycle 3 1/2 mags unless you clean it every hunting trip. I use this gun for ducks and geese and not very happy with the reliability or performance. I have an 870 and an 870 supermag, they are the guns I count on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:January 20, 2010
I have owned one for several years now and do not have a single complaint. I do not have the 3 1/2" model but could not imagine a more reliable gun. I have fired several thousands of rounds and have had more shells fail to fire due to some type of primer/powder error than I have had jams.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

rem 1187 sps

Date:January 19, 2010
Used this shotgun for years now (since 2000), it is my second 1187 in 3""mag. It has been very reliable and I would buy again.
over the years I have owned other auto shotguns i.e. H&K Benellis, Berettas, for the money you cant beat a 11-87. Now I own all Remingtons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Preston, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Remington 11-87 sportsman super mag

Date:January 14, 2010
I bought this gun it was ok but i found one fault that i did not like very much. his gun has a extra ring with it then normall 11-87's because it shoots 3 1/2" shells so this ring alows the use of 2 3/4" shells . You must take this ring off in order to shoot 3" or 3 1/2 shells . the only reason i did not like this feature is because i thought it was kinda a pain to have to remember if the ring is on or not if you are going to shoot magnum shells. if you shoot while the ring is on with magnum shells your gun will damage . i went to a gunsmith and he told me this. the reason i purchased this was for hunting and in the field this is kinda hard and i dont wanna drop this in the marsh or field while changing this ring . other than that remington is a great gun and this is a pretty sweet gun it draws quick and light.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Remington® 11-87™ Sportsman® Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Pea Ridge, AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

ruined my season

Date:January 1, 2010
I got the 11-87 supermag in july for duck season, it was reliable in dove season and when skeet shooting. Then come duck season problems started. first group of ducks of the season i take one shot with just a 3 inch shell and the gun barrel was 1/4 of an inch from flying off. It had kicked the the screw on cap of the magazine tube that holds the barrel on almost off. the screw threads had crossed and the cap was stuck tight. I took it to the gunsmith and he got it off and put it on tough. I go home and shoot two 3 inch shells and it does the same thing but doesn't get stuck. then i got it as tight as i could again and went and shot another 3 inch shell with the same results. It seems the screw threads are striped, even though they look fine. I am very disapointed in the brand new gun messing up, Im looking into the two year warranty even though I never filled the warranty card out. My winchester 1300 pump is what iv been using on ducks, at least i have never had a problem with it in 8 years compared to 4 months. love remington but this experience has turned me off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.