Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns

REMINGTON Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns

Experience the reliable, smooth-shooting characteristics of the tried-and-true Model 870™ in an updated, armor-clad form. Remington’s ArmorLokt™ construction seals the receivers and barrels behind an overmolded synthetic shield. The SuperCell™ recoil pads make 3" magnums feel like dove loads. Long, natural-pointing forends give gloved hands plenty of surface area to work the action. Built-in sling swivel studs. Shoots 2-3/4", 3" and 3-1/2" 12-gauge loads. Available: Model 887™ Nitro Mag – Among the most durable and reliable shotguns ever built, it has no external surfaces to rust. Exclusive ArmorLokt™ construction process seals the receiver and barrel in a vault of weather-impervious synthetic armor that also withstands abrasion. Its receiver is manufactured from solid steel and the barrel is hammer-forged. This is Remington’s softest-shooting pump gun ever. The SuperCell™ recoil pad reduces felt recoil up to 54%. Hi-Viz front sight with interchangeable light tubes. Sling swivel studs. Includes Modified Rem Choke.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.694 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 62 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
9
1 Star
11
42 out of 62(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Review 1 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

M887 good gun

Date:March 3, 2014
Just bought the shotgun and put 75 rounds through it. I used 2&3/4 and 3" shells with no problems. Recoil wasn't bad. Love the waterfowl pattern. The action was smooth and overall the gun felt good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Shotgun I have owned

Date:January 26, 2014
I bought this gun to replace my Remington 870 wingmaster and couldn't be happier. This gun shoots circles around the wingmaster with a much tighter pattern and 1/3 the recoil. I would go so far as to say this is a better gun than my Benneli auto-loader. You can't go wrong with this gun, best Remington shotgun I've ever owned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

poor quality shotgun

Date:November 29, 2013
I bought this gun out of curiosity after reading reviews on it online for months. People either hated it or loved it. Knowing not to buy a product its first year in production I decided to wait a few years before purchasing. I used it last waterfowl season and it wasn't what I expected coming from Remington. I had several misfires with the firing pin not striking the primer, jammed a few times and the front sight fell off while shooting ducks. I hunt with two other guys who bought this gun and they have had the same problem, one guy sent his back to Remington and they gave him a new gun with the same problems. Not to mention the action feels sticky and rough. If anyone has spent time shooting an 870 you will notice a big difference cycling the action. Also this gun is not 100% rust proof with the armorlokt coating. As mentioned before I got this gun to see if I would like it and I do not, I cant even give the thing away. Do yourself a favor and buy an 870 (preferably the wingmaster), its a proven reliable gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Shotgun I've ever shot

Date:October 29, 2013
I am an avid Duck hunter as well as some upland bird hunting. I have to say this is the best of many shotguns I've shot. I am familiar with Benelli Nova's, Super Nova's and Black Eagle II. As well as the Rem. 870 and 11-87. Out of all of these shotguns I found myself loving the 887 more. The way the gun fit me and shoots is excellent. The recoil on 3.5" loads is very easy to take compared to the Super nova and 870, and is comparable to me to the Black Eagle. Yes the gun has a little break in period problem with the slide. But, I found after 20rds of 2 3/4 and one 3.5" round I've never had it lock up on me again. LAST NOTE: do buy a really good water and shock proof superglue and glue that stupid removable front sight onto the gun. There is nothing worse than losing it in the early morning of a duck hunt. If you do lose it Remington is Very good about getting you a new one (for me at no cost or shipping first and only time).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Horrible reliability

Date:August 13, 2013
Purchased the single shotgun brand new and in 6 months have managed only 4 shots. Slide release mechanism on the front of the trigger guard was a selling point for me, I was very wrong. This gun is now back at Remington for the second time now as after firing a single shot, the slide and slide release jam and the spent shell is stuck in the chamber requiring field stripping. I pray that it will come back fixed this time. If Cabelas would take this thing back I'd gladly be rid of it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Working gun ever

Date:May 9, 2013
I bought the Combo package. I got the turkey barrel and water fowl barrel. It was done in camo and came with two chokes. I have taken turkey hunting in the rain and had no problems. I have used the other barrel for dove hunting and had zero issues. I did clean and oil the gun when i bought it and have had no problems at ALL! All the naysayers must work for Bennelli.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice line of guns.

Date:April 17, 2013
I own the tactical and the 28 inch barrel, both black. Shot thousands of rounds of just about every kind of ammo and not one hiccup. I cant chose which gun I love the best, both serves there purpose equally and without problems. Cleaning the gun is simple once you figure it out, little different at first, but after you do it right, its no problem. Shoot and clean these weapons and they get better each time. I have read tons of reviews saying negative things about the M887 shotguns, never had a problem with mine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

poor quality

Date:April 9, 2013
Bought the 887 on Thursday and went hunting on Saturday took the gun back on Monday. Would not eject the shell twice in the field and had to be disassembled. My buddies kept shooting birds while I disassembled and reassembled. Action was sloppy and hard to reassemble. Cabela's was great, gave me store credit and I got a Winchester SXP. Love the SXP action and won't go back to a Remington,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good

Date:March 4, 2013
I bought the waterfowl edition, but dont think for 1 second this is only for waterfowl. It comes with a "remington over decoys" choke tube. The constriction on it is .006. As a reference, an IC choke tube is .010, MOD is .020, FULL is .035. So the "over decoys" choke is for really close range, it also works decently with slugs because it doesnt deform them very much. I have ran everything from 2 3/4 birdshot to 3 1/2 buckshot and it all works. Depending on what load and choke you use, you can go from dove, to pig. to bear, ducks, and whatever else you feel needs shooting. Its light, and has a very large pump so people with different arm lengths can grab it to fit there liking. The recoil pad is nice and i can clearly tell the difference when im shooting this or my grandpas old double barrel with a solid wood stock. When you first pull the gun out of the box, take it apart and heavily oil it. I failed to do this step and the gun jammed so bad i thought it was broken. After the first 150 rounds, (buy some cheap birdshot) it really starts to loosen up and before long no oil is nessesary to keep it running. The 3 1/2 shells fit really tight as your pumping the gun so there harder to work with but still manegable. Really my main problem with this gun is the camo, in a do-all hunting gun you want something that can stand up to abuse. And this camo flakes really easy. If your leaning on something and shoot, the recoil will cause the camo to come right off of wherever it made contact. If you get a chance to hold the EXACT gun your purchasing before you buy it, look closely. The vent rib on mine wasnt poured straight so my bead sights werent alined perfectly. It doesnt make a huge difference after you get used to it, i just aim slightly to the left of my target by reflex. But its still something you want to avoid if you can. That was simply a manufacturing error though and does not affect the review of this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very good purchase

Date:December 1, 2012
this gun is as close to perfect as it gets. the gun absorbs recoil very well. im 16 and i can shoot 200 rounds thru it without any pain. the only thing is you gotta make sure its clean or its gonna jam on you. but all around great gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington 887

Date:November 28, 2012
Good gun but it has an issue with jamming but if you push the pump up before pulling it down you won't have the problem. Happened to me and took it to the gunsmith and he said that was the problem
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Remington 887

Date:October 16, 2012
I bought this 12 ga. gun when it first came out about 2 years ago when it first came out for waterfowl hunting. its a great gun, accurate, durbable; dropped it in the mud picked it up, ran some water trough the action to clean it out a bit and shot like nothing happened to it. although there is one downfall, their is play on the pump if it is pushed back just a little bit it wont fire because the pin will not strike the primer ive had too many great oppertunites at birds and "click" and thats just not acceptable in my hunts
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

terrible

Date:October 8, 2012
I bought one of these to have as a backup for my Benelli Super Vinci......If I could give negative stars for the 887 I would. I thought this gun would be an upgrade to the Model 870 which I shot and really liked over the years....don't be fooled! This gun has the worst fit and finish of any gun I've ever used. It has the stickiest action of any pump I've ever shot causing me to jam the gun frequently. I've never jammed a pump until I used this pile from Remington. Save your money..I can't believe Remington would put out a gun of this terrible quality. It's so bad I'll never own another Remington, the 887 has ruined their reputation with me forever.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good gun

Date:August 2, 2012
i got this gun more than a year ago i have had no problems with it, it shoots good no matter the shot load, i use it for all types of shooting. skeet, waterfowl, and deer. i recommend this to anyone who needs a shotgun. the only things that are bad is you need the slug barrel for deer if you dont use buckshot also the front sight is all plastic and can snap if you are not safe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice gun

Date:May 8, 2012
Just bought this gun from Cabala's this spring. I saw some bad reviews on YouTube. I also saw one that was good and recommended cleaning the gun before using it. I called Remington they suggested doing the same. They also said that there have been some changes since the gun was first released. I love the gun I love the AmorLoct coating I hunt a lot in bad weather so I plan on putting to the test. Shot my first turkey ever with this gun. Plan on using it for predators and birds. The only issue that I have is that there are not many aftermarket accessories as the 870. But great gun lighter than the 870 shoots good. Love the rust protection.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love my 887

Date:April 28, 2012
One of the best shotguns I have ever owned. I bought this to hunt dove, quail, deer and mainly turkey. First season with the gun and I dropped 2 gobblers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nampa Idaho
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Gun

Date:March 3, 2012
I got this gun for a wedding gift from my wife. I have taken it out quail, dove, and skeet shooting. It works great. Its easy to take apart and clean. I haven't found one thing I dislike about this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Roosevelt, UT
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I will enjoy this gun

Date:January 25, 2012
My wife got me this gun for Christmas. Before doing anything with it I read many of the reviews on here. The main thing I noticed about the reviews was to make sure you really oil this gun before taking it out. So I did that thoroughly. I have put two boxes through it and I haven't had the gun jam once. I think that if someone writes a bad review on this gun, it is because they did not take the proper care before using the gun. I have taken it duck hunting, and while doing that I slipped in the river submersing the gun. It hasn't missed a beat. The only reason why I would not give this gun 5 stars is because when shooting 3 1/2" shells, the recoil really hurts your cheek. My shoulder was fine, but man it feels like you take a good shot on the cheek. It handles 3" very nice, but 3 1/2" you are going to feel. I think it is because it is so light. I would highly recommend this gun, just make sure you do what you are supposed to and you will too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Baldwin Co. AL.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Knocks Down Ducks!

Date:January 23, 2012
Purchased 887 in November 2011 for an upcoming duck hunt in the delta. Overall impressed with the point and shoot characteristics of the shotgun. Took the 887 to the range for shot pattern testing and found the action slightly stiff at first, which caused two malfunctions with 3 inch shells. However, after 1 box of shells shot through the 887, never experienced another issue. Went hunting in the delta with Hevi Shot 3 inch #3 waterfowl loads and experienced no malfunctions on a 3 day duck hunt in flooded bean fields or timber.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Remington® 887™ Nitro Magnum Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very Dissapointed in Remington

Date:January 18, 2012
I got the 887 for Christmas this year and was so excited. I went duck hunting and it jammed several times with the 3 1/2 inch shells. I went down to 3" and the spent shell got stuck in the barrell. I had to take the gun apart in my blind and use a pocket knife to get the shell out. Often it loads a shell before the shell it fully ejected out and causes it to jam. I have taken it 8 times and it has jammed over 50% of the time causing me to miss a lot of second shots. I have an 870 Wingmaster that is 35 years old that is amazing. This 887 is terrible and I have gone back to my 870. It should be recalled. Don't waste your money, you'll be dissapointed in Remington.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 62