Customer Reviews for BROWNING Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun

BROWNING Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun

This gas-operated autoloader, it has a strong, yet lightweight, aluminum-alloy receiver. Browning’s new recoil-taming Power Drive Gas System has larger exhaust ports to dump gases faster on heavy loads. An all-new patented, enclosed-seal keeps residue out of the action for cleaner operation. The piston has a 20% longer stroke travel for more reliable feeding with light loads. The barrels on these versions sport flat, ventilated ribs and 3-1/2" chambers. They have lengthened forcing cones that are more than 2" longer than other systems. The long, gradual taper minimizes shot deformation and maximizes pattern uniformity, consistency and density. All come with three Invector-Plus™ choke tubes. Weatherproof composite stocks feature close-radius pistol grips, Browning Speed Lock Forearms, textured gripping surfaces and Dura-Touch® Armor Coating, that improves the grip and overall feel of a firearm. The new Inflex Technology recoil pad is the softest on any autoloader. More than a mass of recoil absorbing material, it’s engineered with directional deflection to pull the comb down and away from the face of the shooter with every shot. Lightning Triggers offer a smooth, crisp feel with minimal travel. With locktimes averaging .0052 seconds, the Lighting Trigger is 24% faster than the nearest competing autoloader. Maxus shotguns utilize the Browning-exclusive magazine cut-off, allowing the shooter to retain shells in the magazine and eject a shell from the chamber without cycling a shell from the magazine. The patent-pending Turnkey Magazine Plug is easily removed in seconds using any vehicle key. Combined with the Speed Lock System, the magazine plug can be removed from Maxus shotguns in seconds. Maxus models are available with black or camo stocks and 26" or 28" barrels.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.561 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
38 out of 41(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Review 21 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2011

Amazing gun

By
Amazing shotgun. i love it i have shot everything from dove and quail to ducks and geese. never had any problems with jamming or anything like that beats my super black eagle II hands down. tough gun for in the wet blind. got mine in mossy oak duck blind finish scratches semi though
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2011

Love It!!

By
Location: nevada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
My husband bought the Maxus for me for Christmas 2 years ago. I loved it so much that we bought one for him last year. We have both been using our guns for dove, quail, rabbit, duck, geese and chukars and it has performed wonderfully in all hunting environments. We hunt in temperatures that range from 0 to 100 degrees We have never had any issues with jamming and it will cycle whatever we put in it. It is so much lighter than my old pump shotgun and I can carry it all day without getting tired. I would recommend this gun to anyone and everyone. This gun is light, comfortable to shoot, durable, and dependable. I will never own another shotgun like this one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2011

fantastic

By
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This is the first browning I have ever bought, and it won't be the last. The handling and recoil is superb on this shotgun. I have hunted 2 seasons with it and it has been great. The first time i took it out it froze, but my fault for not cleaning all the factory oil out. Now I just clean and rub all oil out when it's below zero. Since then it has been flawless. I shot a remington 1187 before this but would break under 3-1/2" loads. The maxus handles them with ease. I recomend this to anyone who wants to buy a quality autoloader.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2011

Maxus Hunter, 3" Chamber, 30" Barrel

By
Location: Star Valley, WY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This gun is absolutely phenomenal. I do not often hunt in marshlands or humid conditions. However, in the arid, cold climate of Wyoming, this gun works nearly perfect. I have put about 8,000 shells (of varying kinds) through this gun. After every 200 rounds or so, I would usually clean my auto-loaders. The Maxus can easily be extended to 500 rounds. (Note: I care for my guns very well, but the occasional drop in the mud or sand is not uncommon.)
As of right now, the only two things I do not like are the safety and the chokes. I wish the safety was a top-tang safety, although I don’t think it’s possible on this type of gun. The chokes are not superb; they’re good for awhile, but need to be replaced after heavy use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2011

No doubt in my mind.

By
Location: PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I looked at several high-end semi's before buying the Maxus...all of the close competitors are comparable on the shelf, but the Maxus shouldered best for me.
I've now shot a few hundred rounds of super-light target loads, a handful of 3" mags and some 3.5" mags. Having shot a 3" pump my whole life, I feel comfortable saying that the Maxus shoots 3.5" much softer than any of my pumps shot 3". Very happy with my purchase...it handles every load without flinching, very easy to clean, very easy to break-down and rebuild, shoots soft, points clean, light to carry...I don't have a bad thing to say about it.
I like the quick attach sling mounts, and the speed-loading features. Have yet to use the magazine lock other than to test it, but a great idea!
If you're stuck between the Maxus and another comparable gun, I'm sure you'd be happy with both, but I can speak from experience that the Maxus will not let you down.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2011

America 1 Italy 0

By
Location: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
i hunt in Hackberry, La, I bought this gun last year to try it out because i had a xtrema that basically imploded in the blind. This shotgun brings back the best of browning autoloaders. It was dropped in the mud out of my stupidity and everywhere mud could go, it went. i stuck a hose down the barrel and washed it out and rinsed it a little and it seemed to be firing better when it was covered in watery sludge! no field strip was required at all. great shotgun Browning < <like
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2011

best gun out there

By
Location: katy, TX
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I cannot say enough good stuff about this gun , it does not get the credit it deserves, it will do it all and very well at that, very light and points very well, sometimes when i carry it on my shoulder i forget its there it is so light, there is hardly any recoil even with 3.5 inch BB shot, it cycels just about anything on the shelf, it patterns very well and i have taken dove with this gun out to 45 yards no problem, the chokes are great you wont need to buy any after market chokes because the ones they come with are awesome, great gun and fast as you can pull the trigger.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2011

Work Horse

By
Location: Delacroix, LA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have hunted with this gun for an entire season and it has performed flawlessly. I put almost 2000 rounds through it between teal and big duck season, and I didn't jam a single shell.
We hunt out of the marsh, and get muddy and wet on every single hunt, so my guns take some serious abuse. I litterally take a hose and spray off the gun to rinse the mud off and then throw it back in the boat. I only took it apart (incredibly easy) and cleaned it between the split, and at the end of the season and thats it.
For me it came down to the SBE II or the Maxus, and I couldn't be happier with my choice.
I highly recomend this gun to anyone who hunts hard and puts some serious abuse on their equipment.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2011

Browning Maxus Sporting Clays - 30" 12ga

By
Location: North Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought the Maxus Sporting Clays 30" in the nickel silver/walnut. It is truly a beautiful shotgun. The finish is exceptional. Speedloading is great, balance and weight is just right. Has the ability to fit the gun to you with the provided shims / spacers which is critical to bring your shooting to a higher level. Cycles faster and shoots softer than any other shotgun I have ever fired. Comes with a really nice hard case, 5 choke tubes, wrench, multiple hi-vis fiber optic sights inserts, stock shims & spacer. Functions perfectly- Great quality-The ultimate clays shotgun!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2011

There is no better!

By
Location: North Dallas, TX
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This gun is absolutely unbelievable. Cycling time, Ability to fire any size load, and dependability. You will NOT be dissapointed with this. Adjustable shims and LOP inserts make it a tool that you can adjust for you and not the other way around. Recoil is virtually non-existent.
There are also so many little details that show how much thought and planning went into it. Speed loading, Quick change fore-end. It truly goes on and on! This gun is light enough to be a field gun and yet soft enough to shoot sporting clays... You MUST fire this thing!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2011

MAXUS

By
Location: Valleyfield, Qc
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Bough this gun about a month ago, have shot some snow geese with 3½'' Blackcloud's and it has not jammed ONCE. I was shooting in -5 celcius temperatures (approx 22 farenheit) and NEVER has it jammed. They do say in the manual NOT to coat everything in oil, that helps alot for the jamming in cold temps. Since the snow geese have migrated now, i have been skeet shooting with the Maxus and it cycles through light 2¾'' loads just a easily as the blackclouds. One thing to be careful with is that the DuraTouch coating is sensible to any petrolium based products (ie...DEET, Solvents) so a special attention is needed when hunting and cleaning. Using these petrolium based products will make the coating have a little yellowish tint to it (say's the sales rep.) I have shot close to 1000 rounds including the skeet and snow geese hunting, an i sware, it has not jammed once, even in the cold temps...AMAZING
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2011

great gun

By
Location: south jersey
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Bought this gun new this past september from cabelas. Ive shot at least 1500 rounds through this gun. From hevi steel 3.5'' all the way to 2-3\4 7.5 shot target loads and this gun lives up to expectations. The only issue i had with it was with remington gun club shells. i shot about 100 through it shooting 5 stand one night and it was 15 degrees out and it was jamming. cleaned the gas piston and switched over to federal target loads and it was fine. i now stay away from remington gun club shells due to the huge excess of unburnt powder. great buy will buy another for skeet shooting
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2010

Worth Every Dollar

By
Location: Delaware
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Too many times I been lured into buying something because the hype overwhelmed my ability to think straight.
I did it again with the Maxus except this time the gun lives up to every once of the hype. It cycles so much faster than any other gun in my hunting group - they shoot Beretta, Benelli and a Remington. The felt recoil is remarkably more tolerable with this gun. In the past, when I knew that I would be shooting many rounds, I used lighter loads to compensate for the inevitable recoil beating. No more. I shoot what I want.
I've been hunting for over 40 years. I've never owned a gun like the Maxus. It excels in every way that a waterfowl hunter needs it to. It is relatively light weight, cycles extremely fast, swings easily, patterns well, is nicely balanced and, above all durable. I've put the gun through one very tough duck/goose season without a single problem.
I would recommend this gun to anyone. I commend Browning for building a gun that actually live up to the hype.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2010

Maxus vs Xtrema2

By
Location: Dearborn, MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I own both the xtrema2 and maxus. I love the gun. The muzzle jump and recoil is very noticable compared to the xtrema. You can get back on multiple targets much quicker with the maxus. Its also about a pound lighter compared to the xtrema. Browning was is known for trigger issues in their models but believe me when I tell you that this time around they fixed it. The new lightning trigger system is amazing. I won over 15 shotguns and this is by far the best 3.5" gun I own. I love this gun and dont think I will be pulling out the xtrema this year for waterfowl.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2010

Outstanding

By
Location: Ontario
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I got this gun last Oct. Never fired it before and went out for geese. First 3 shots 2 geese down clean. Very very light & fast gun. Had 870 Supermag before. Shot Federal black Cloud 3.5's in both. Significantly less recoil with Maxus. No bruise regardless of angle or if shouldered imperfectly. Shot roughly 6 boxes of Black Cloud. Never jammed once.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2010

Excellent Gun

By
I have this for about 7 months now and I love it. The low recoil makes it great for pheasant hunting. When I missed a bird I could make a quick followup shot and be dead on. My favorite feature of the gun is the speed load. This is a sweet shotgun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2010

Sleek

By
Location: Rochester, NY
As the price of 3 1/2 chambers went up, all premier guns, I thought common economic sense would not permit me to buy such a gun; unless you have a great friend who wants to deal you one, they don't go down in value unless imperfected.
Then along came Browning, ready to move into the market with a newer tech gun at a competetive price. I read the professional reviews and knew it was now or never.
The gun lives up to the reviews and more! What remains for you is the personal feel of a very sleek profiled shooting machine.
Performance: flatten geese at fifty yards.
Caution: prefire gun, closed choke patterns carry beyond belief; you may easily shoot through birds.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2010

Maxus passes my test

By
Location: Crawfordville,Fl
I have had my Maxus for about four months. I can tell you after hunting in waist deep swamp river water. My Maxus has NEVER MISFIRED, or JAMMED. This is the easiest shotgun, I own to clean. After setting in a few hours of morning rain, waiting for the sunrise. Day after day, my Maxus just keeps on dropping ducks out of the Florida sky. I have tried the lightest load, 2 3/4" to the heavest 3 1/2" shells, spits every thing that I have thrown at it so far. A big two tumbs, high up from me to Browning. Remember, true duck hunters are a breed like no other.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2009

Ducks and Geese Beware

By
Location: Durham, CT
This gun is awesome. The weight, balance and cycling of this semi-automatic is great. I have used it several times now, have folded more ducks and geese this year than ever. It's simple to clean to get ready for the next shoot. Browning has lived up to its reputation in building a great gun that is solid, light weight gun with a low impact recoil. A great gun for the blind.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Browning® Maxus Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2009

Excellent Field Gun

By
Location: Connecticut
I am just back from a duck hunt with the Browning Maxus. The weather was very cold. I have had trouble with autoloading shotguns in very cold weather. The Maxus performed flawlessly. The recoil from heavy waterfowl loads was not a problem and there was very little muzzle jump. It seems that Browning got this one right.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 41