Customer Reviews for MARLIN Marlin® Model 1895 Lever-Action Rifle

MARLIN Marlin® Model 1895 Lever-Action Rifle

The hunter who’s looking for plenty of power in a compact, stow-anywhere package will find the ideal solution in the Marlin Model 1895G "Guide Gun." The mighty .45-70 Government cartridge has proven its worth on every species of large North American game. Available: Marlin 1895GS – Identical to the standard Model 1895G except the receiver, barrel and all major metal parts are machined from weather-resistant stainless steel, and most other metal parts are nickel-plated. A handsome, compact powerhouse capable of taking the largest North American game. Model 1895GBL – The next step in the evolution of Marlin’s popular Guide Gun series. The list of upgrades includes expanding the tubular magazine to full length, giving it a six-round capacity. A larger-loop finger lever makes for easier cycling of the action while wearing gloves. The two-tone brown laminated wood stock enhances resistance to weather and gives the rifle a distinctive appearance. Blued finish on metal parts. Model 1895SBL – In addition to the upgrades offered by the Model 1895GBL above, this version offers a deluxe black/grey laminated hardwood pistol-grip stock with a fluted comb, cut checkering and deluxe recoil pad. All major metal components have stainless steel finish. This model comes with XS Ghost Ring sights and a mounted rail to accommodate a mounted scope.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.71 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
29 out of 31(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Marlin® Model 1895 Lever-Action Rifle
Review 21 for Marlin® Model 1895 Lever-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Marlin 1895 GBL

Date:July 8, 2012
Had this rifle now for a month or so and couldn't be more happy with it. keeping a 3" grouping at 100 yards loaded with 405gr remington. recoil is very managable with the thick recoil pad and the big loop leaves lots of room for gloves. it holds 6+1 rounds too, which is great cause i don't like the look of a short magazine tube under the barrel. it'll drop anything you could come across!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Marlin® Model 1895 Lever-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Marlin 1895G - 5 Stars!

Date:August 14, 2012
Marlin sure did it right when they developed the 1895G (affectionately known as the "Guide Gun"). It's short, handy, powerful, dependable, and deadly accurate - what else do you need in a rifle? My only complaint, and this has been mentioned by many others, is that the iron sights that come with rifle are pretty poor. Thankfully, though, you can find excellent, inexpensive aftermarket sights that bring out the rifle's true accuracy. My rifle was made before Marlin was acquired by Remington so I cannot speak to the current quality. I did, however, see a newly produced one at a Maine gun shop and the quality of the wood and the smoothness of the action was lacking. Isolated case or the new normal? I'm not sure. If you can find a pre-"Marlington" 1895, buy it immediately and don't look back!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Marlin® Model 1895 Lever-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice compact cannon

Date:October 15, 2012
Bought a used 45-70 off the rack at a Cabela's that opened in Rogers, AR. Also bought medium scope mounts, the low mounts did not work as they lowered the scope to the rear sights, even folded over. Shoot leverevolution and the rifle has proven to be highly accurate. Recoil is stout but really not punishing. The thick recoil pad helps, as does the weight of the rifle.Cycles ammunition smoothly through, with the only malfunction when I cycled it slowly. Have the GBL and the brown laminated stock is very nice, and the bluing is very nice. I don't know if this rifle was made prior to Remington's buy out, but if it is maybe I am lucky, if not perhaps they read these cites and pay attention.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Marlin® Model 1895 Lever-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Marlin quality control issue

Date:October 16, 2012
I purchased a Marlin 1895 with the 22" barrel about a month ago. It jammed and would not feed ammo the first time I used it. I had to send it back to Marlin (Remmington) before firing a shot. They replaced the tube magazine and made a couple of other adjustments and got it back to me in less than three weeks. The rifle shoots and feeds fine now.
I have since heard of many problems with these new Marlins feeding ammo. I like the gun, but if I had it to do over I would buy a Browning or Winchester and avoid the aggravation of returning a brand new gun to the manufacturer. Marlin needs to improve their manufacturing quality control.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Marlin® Model 1895 Lever-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1895 GBL

Date:October 25, 2012
Fantastic rifle and a blast to shoot (no pun intended!) The compact size makes it easy to carry in thick woods, and the large lever loop makes cycling the action very easy with gloves on. One suggestion is out of the box, work the lever alot. You have to break it in a little if you want smooth cycling when you get to the range. I noticed when I got mine home the lever felt tight, so I kept working it and cleaning untill it felt nice. Also, mine doesn't like to feed the Hornady leverevolution ammo...maybe because of the follower but hey, I can live with that!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Marlin® Model 1895 Lever-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle with some minor improvements

Date:November 27, 2012
Marlin created a versatile, solid rifle with the Guide Gun. Can be used to hunt deer or great for backpacking in bear country. It is compact and accurate at ranges under 200 yds. Also the lever action allows for quick shooting and a powerful punch with the 45-70. I put in a stainless magazine follower to help with feeding and reliablity. Overall great gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Marlin® Model 1895 Lever-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deer crusher

Date:January 1, 2013
I have taken sixteen deer with this gun,only one ran away.It has massive knock down power,and is very accurate.I can get a half inch group at 100yrds,using 300gr jhp handloads.The down side is heavy recoil,but it handles it well,due to weight of the gun,and the balance.This in not a gun for a beginner,but worth every penny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Marlin® Model 1895 Lever-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

big gun

Date:January 8, 2013
I bought a Model 1895 Classic a few weeks ago. It is as well made as my 336 I bought in 1965. Only blemish is the end of the lever that engages the bolt was not cleaned properly prior to bluing as it left an alligatored finish. Otherwise it functions well, looks good and is very accurate. Fit and finish is nice. the 45-70 is a kicker but is fun to shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Marlin® Model 1895 Lever-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1895 Marlin Guide rifle works extraordinary quick

Date:November 11, 2013
Just had the pleasure to drop an 8 point buck with my 45-70 Marlin 1895 Guides Rifle, while on a river canoe trip in Maine.
The deer went down on the first shot.
I like the cross bolt safety for loading and unloading, it is a very safe feature.
The results can be seen on a Youtube or Google with a search of allenmeguide
The rifle handles well and quickly when the need arises to get on target and the punch it has, is very powerful in 45-70. John Registered Maine Master Guide
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Marlin® Model 1895 Lever-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My I love this rifle

Date:March 10, 2014
I own an 1895 CB 45/70. Now I know this model is off the new gun market but it is basically the same firearm listed. All I have to say is "I absolutely love this rifle". It is so much fun to shoot. The rifle has a tremendous knock down power and the 405 grain bullets will go through heavy brush. I use this rifle in thick brush, so I sight it to 100 yards. It is so accurate 1-2 inch groups and It circulates the bullets well. Marlin/Remington you out did yourself!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Marlin® Model 1895 Lever-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

kicks like a cannon 1895 SBL

Date:June 9, 2014
I bought mine about 3 years ago and it was love at first sight. the fit and feel for my large build 6'4" 250lb are awesome, I use it as a brush gun in Alaska. I load my own rounds that are just a tad hot and you can tell when you touch this baby off as your shoulder gets pounded and upper torso gets rocked back. It packs one heck of a punch as the guy at the range next to me found out when he touched it off and nearly popped his shoulder out of the socket with one round. He left the range a few minutes later. I use hard cast non expanding lead load for pass though penetration, wide meta-plate at 405 grains for punching wide open channels and maximum shock and energy transfer. its like running a 20' half inch of re-bar clean thru one end and out the other of the beast. I just use the ghost ring that came with it no scope. It also shoots off the hip and follow ups with the large loop lever make all the difference. I did take the gun down and fine polish all of the workings to speed up the action and reduce break in time. everything just glides smooth as silk now. Get one you will love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-31 of 31