Customer Reviews for Remington Remington® Model 700™ BDL™ Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Remington Remington® Model 700™ BDL™ Rifle

The Model 700 BDL has been a favorite of hunters for more than four decades because of its strong, smooth action and consistent accuracy. The cylindrical receiver is machined from solid-steel bar stock for uniformity and strength. Its recessed bolt face locks up inside the counter-bored barrel and is surrounded by the receiver, forming three rings of steel around the cartridge case head for unparalleled strength. An integral extractor is set in a groove inside the rim of the bolt face, uniformly supporting the cartridge head. The hinged magazine floorplate makes for fast and safe unloading. These BDLs are made exclusively for Cabela's. They feature weatherproof synthetic stocks with swivel studs and 26" fluted blued barrels, drilled and tapped for the addition of an after market scope.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Remington® Model 700™ BDL™ Rifle
Review 1 for Remington® Model 700™ BDL™ Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2012

Best overall Rifle in the market

By
Location: Central Alabama
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I've this rifle since 2001 and still use it every hunt I go on. I first sighted this rifle in on four brands of ammo, Hornady hit the best in 180 grain. Using a cheaper 3-9-40 Leupold scope, it still dropped anything that walked before me. Just mounted a Swarovski 4-12-50 for my eyesight isn't what it was 10 years ago and killed a Coyotte and a Nice 8 point this season. My dad has used nothing but Remington since the earily 1950's and hunted all over the world with them, never any problems. This rifle has been flawless, and its a 30-06, best cal. in my opinion for north american game ..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® Model 700™ BDL™ Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2012

Nice rifle for the money...

By
Location: KS
This is a very nice rifle for the money. I picked one up at Cabela's in Kansas City in .270 Win, while it was on sale plus I got the employee discount. I thought it was a bargain. It may not be the fanciest or prettiest rifle in existence, but it is a solid performing utility rifle.
- Accurate (usually 1-2 MOA depending on the ammo)
- Fluted barrel (improved cooling surface area and looks cool)
- Light weight (great for stalking/hiking)
- X-Mark Pro trigger (very nice for a factory trigger)
- Legendary Remington 700 action
I've been happy with it for what it is: a solid performing, durable, utility rifle with a wide range of uses and capabilities.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® Model 700™ BDL™ Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2011

Love my 700 BDL .270!

By
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I just recently purchased a Remington 700 BDL .270 and absolutely love this gun. I purchased a Leupold VXII 3-9 scope to go along with it, sighted it in and shot about 30 rounds through it before going deer hunting this year. Walking into the woods on opening day, I had 100% confidence in my new set-up, and sure enough it didn't let me down. 1 shot, 90 yards later, I had a nice 8 point buck thanks to my Remington 700 BDL. I would highly reccomend this gun. Light, accurate, and reliable. Perfect combo in my book!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® Model 700™ BDL™ Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2011

Nice Rifle

By
Hiked a long way through mountains, lightweight, easy to handle, harvested an elk in Colorado. Performed excellent in all type of weather.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® Model 700™ BDL™ Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2011

GREAT RIFLE

By
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased this rifle because it did not look like the typical BDL. The fluted barrel and syn stock sold me. It shoots very well 1.5 inch groups or smaller all day long with any ammo. Plus I got 100 bucks back from Remington.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® Model 700™ BDL™ Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2011

Rem. 700 BDL

By
Location: Grand Junction CO
Just bought a new 700 BDL the other day. After looking it over more closely today with the idea of cleaning it up and preparing it for a scope I was dismayed. Real garbage! Has Remington lost all pride in workmanship??? The fit and finsh of the stock was terrible. The recoil pad was not even sanded to fit the stock. And after taking the barreled action out of the stock I found out how cheap the stock was. Made of molded plastic, even the recoil lug abutment appeared to be made of plastic. This stock could not have cost them more than 10 dollars. I've seen toy guns with better stocks. Then the final straw was when I looked down the muzzle with a bore light. I didn't expect it to be clean but I didn't expect to see rust either! In addition to rust spots there was a ring of green/white gunk extending down from the muzzle into the bore about a half inch. I don't even want to think about how this gun would group. I'm taking the gun back today!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® Model 700™ BDL™ Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2010

Never again

By
Location: papillion
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I got this gun on the reviews I seen on line about this being a sub MOA gun. Not even close. I have tried all kinds of ammo and still cant get this gun to group closer then 31/2" off a bench. Called factory was told that was all I should expect for a hunting rifle. Talked to a gun smith and tryed new stock as the factory one was plastic and not a free floated barrel. Shots got better around 21/2". and around 2" through a dirty barrel. If I clean the barrel its back out to 21/2". I will not send this back to the factory as I have read horror storys, and like they said this is acceptable for this gun. I will have a new barrel put on this gun, but not from the factory. never again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® Model 700™ BDL™ Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2010

Great Gun

By
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased the 700 bdl 30-06 and it is a great gun. I mounted a Nikon Buckmaster 3-9x40 on it. While sighting it in I noticed the grouping stays the same with the barrel cold and hot. Very accurate and easy to use. The recoil pad helps out tremendously. I shot 40 rounds of 165 grain Remington Core Lokt just becasue I was having fun and my shoulder was fine the next day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® Model 700™ BDL™ Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2010

XCR 300 Ultra Mag

By
Location: Nampa, Idaho
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I own many rifles all of which are to use when chasing bear, elk, deer and antelope in Idaho. Purchased a 300 RUM XCR edition and love it. I had the trigger adjusted to 3lbs and it shoot very accurate and can reach out and touch them at a distance. The only problem I have came across is that I am not able to find a high end barrel with the same finish as the XCR. Love the gun though
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® Model 700™ BDL™ Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2010

Remington 700: Unmatched quality and value

By
I just recently bought a 700 BDL in .300 Win Mag. I topped it with one of the new Redfield Revolution 4-12x40. When I took it out for the first time it produced MOA groups with Federal 180 gr Power Shok ammunition with a cold barrel. With the barrel hot it still shot 1.5 inch groups at 100 yards. In other words I shot cheap ammo and used one of Leupold's "value priced" scopes and it still produced very good accuracy for a big kicker such as the .300 Win Mag.
The recoil pad is also something of note. Remington's Super Cell recoil pad took a lot of the bite out of recoil. I was able to shoot an entire box of 180 gr ammo with no problem. Best of all I didn't have a black and blue shoulder the next day.
One extremely minor flaw. For the first 8 or so rounds the bolt was very difficult to close. After about another 10 rounds the bolt was much easier to close, and the action operated like a true Remington 700.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® Model 700™ BDL™ Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2010

7mm Rem Mag

By
Location: Washington Coast
The first time I went deer hunting with my rifle. I shot a big 5 by 5 at 300 yards or more, right behind the ear. This rifle is excellent and has never let me down. It has always been dependable and continues to keep on ticking. This rifle was well worth the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® Model 700™ BDL™ Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2010

700

By
Location: Fort Stockton, Tx
Great rifle got mine in .270 win L.H. and I could not be happyer
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® Model 700™ BDL™ Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2009

good gun!

By
Location: huntington,tx
This gun did just what remington said it would do! producing sub m.o.a groups at 100 yards. This is an excellent gun for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.