Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® Model 70™ Featherweight Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

WINCHESTER Winchester® Model 70™ Featherweight Rifle

The legendary handling and quickness of the Model 70 Featherweight is justly famous among hunters everywhere. The Model 70 action offers Pre-’64 style controlled-round feeding, a three-position safety, and is highlighted by a jeweled bolt body with knurled bolt handle. The M.O.A. Trigger System is among the finest trigger ever offered in a bolt-action with zero take-up, zero creep and zero overtravel. Like the original Featherweight, the angled-comb Grade-I walnut stock still features the Schnabel forend and satin finish with elegant cut checkering. A premium Pachmayr® Decelerator® pad helps soak up felt recoil. All models weigh about 7 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Winchester® Model 70™ Featherweight Rifle
Review 1 for Winchester® Model 70™ Featherweight Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Atkins, AR
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Firearm!!!

Date:October 25, 2011
I started hunting with a win model 70 featherweight in 30.06 cal back in the late 90's and have taken a multitude of deer with this rifle. I love the 3 position safety and the super smooth bolt and claw extractor!! Top this gun off with a reputable optic and you will be set for years and years to come!! This gun just feels good in the hands and never fails to deliver!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winchester® Model 70™ Featherweight Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great rifle

Date:November 23, 2012
I own most everything in production. Picked this up in 270 and it shoots .6 five shot groups with Winchester factory ammo. Nice trigger. Pretty wood.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winchester® Model 70™ Featherweight Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The rifle is sexy and like a Harley a piece of art

Date:October 31, 2012
I read the reviews and spoke to many satisfied Winchester gun owners. I bought the Model 70 Featherweight in 300 WSM. Mounted a Nikon Monarch 5x20x44 and out of the box, bore sighted shot a 1 inch and a half group at a 100 yards in the bulls eye. I have a Remmington 798 7mm mag and have shot other large cal. guns and the recoil on some make me flinch. Not so with this gun, the recoil felt like a 270 or lighter. The rifle is sexy and like a Harley a piece of art.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winchester® Model 70™ Featherweight Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Model 70 Featherweight

Date:June 6, 2012
I picked up a Model 70 Featherweight a few years ago in .22-250. Since then it has taken out coyotes, skunks, badgers, jackrabbits, and a few mulies. Resting on a fencepost, I can easily make 400 yard and longer shots on a sillhouette target. It's proven to be one tough, reliable and very accurate rifle for everything from long range varmints to deer to riding around out on the ranch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winchester® Model 70™ Featherweight Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sad commentary on ability

Date:May 31, 2012
I have owned my model 70 30-06 featherweight Stainless for over 15 years. It was packed away in a gun safe until last deer season and I took two deer, however, it did not last the season before the front shoulder strap eye pulled out of the wood stock. Anyone know where to get it fixed or what it will cost? In any case, a very sad commentary on Winchester arms ability to make a good field gun…
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winchester® Model 70™ Featherweight Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Firearm!

Date:February 12, 2012
I was given a Winchester Model 70 Featherweight .243 from my Father. I would have to guess that it was produced in the early 90's. It is just the push-feed and not the controlled round feed (CRF) like that of the current models. I put a Nikon Prostaff 4-12X40 on it and was shooting 1" groups at 100 yards with cheap 100 gr. Federal soft points. With Hornady 95 gr. SST bullets, I was shooting consistent 3/4" groups at 100 yards. I love this gun and the Schnabel forearm! It balances great and felt recoil is not bad at all despite it having the old thin hard rubber recoil pad. The new ones with the decelerator pad will be a joy to shoot. I have handled the new models and have to say that the new CRF actions feel even smoother than my older model. After this excellent range trip, I think that I may have decided that my next gun is going to be a Winchester Model 70 Super Grade in 300 WSM- Super Grade for the added weight to dampen some of the magnum's recoil and the 300 WSM for its awesome external/terminal performance. Winchesters are the best of both worlds- they are great looking firearms and shoot even better. Thanks for the great heirloom Dad!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winchester® Model 70™ Featherweight Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New-Brunswick
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Value on the market today

Date:October 4, 2011
I gave it 5 stars. Not because it's perfect, but because in order to beat a Winchester Model 70, and I had 2 of them since 2008. You would have to pay significantly more money. Actually, the only rifle I own that I like better than my two model 70 is a Kimber Longmaster Classic. And I had them all mostly. Savage Model 14 American Classic. Ruger Hawkeye Sporter. Browning A-Bolt Stainless Stalker, Tikka T3's. Even a Savage Model 12 and a Remington Sendero SF 2. And truly, the only "hunting" rifle that is any better than my model 70 would be a late version of a Kimber. They are not the most accurate, I know, but they are the best "hunting" rifle money can buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winchester® Model 70™ Featherweight Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mountain Top, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

308

Date:December 30, 2010
I bought this in .308 for a first time trip to Saskatchewan. Worked up a good load using Nosler 150 Ballistic tips with a 3/4" group. I passed the time waiting for the big one admiring the fine fit, finish and overall workmanship. Got a nice 150 class whitetail too!. Which model 70 to buy next is the only question.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winchester® Model 70™ Featherweight Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St.Louis, Mo
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Rifleman's rifle for a reason

Date:September 16, 2010
I have a featherweight in 30-06 and a synthetic stock in 300 win mag and don't even consider other rifles when looking for another caliber. Both shoot tight groups year in year out, perform flawlessly in all weather and take down deer, elk, pronghorns. Fit & finish is excellent and have had no problems, what more can you ask for ?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winchester® Model 70™ Featherweight Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh,Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

model 70

Date:January 6, 2010
Ihave been hunting for 50 years and this is my all time favorite gun in 30-06 cal. The number one thing for me is the safety. I never worry about falling and the gun going off. I don't like the one positon push safe the rest of the gun makers use. I constantly find my self checking it because I hunt brushy areas and from a tree stand. When I am not seeing deer...I admire the rifle and what a work of art the featherwieght is. A gun I am proud to own.I have shot some 30 odd deer with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Winchester® Model 70™ Featherweight Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Guns I Own!!!!

Date:December 25, 2009
I have this gun in .223 and .270. I love both of my guns both are deadly accurate and light weight. My Grandpa gave me both and he has had them since 1970 so you can see how well built both of them are.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winchester® Model 70™ Featherweight Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Model 70 Featherweight Classic

Date:December 19, 2009
I love this gun. Have this in a 243 WSSM. Perfect for deer sized game and smaller. Pinpoint accuracy with a Leupold 4.5-14 LR scope. I wish the WSSM ammo was more available and less expensive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Winchester® Model 70™ Featherweight Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Featherweight

Date:November 29, 2009
I've had mine in 30-06 for over 25 years and love it with the Leupold VariX2 3X9. I love the trigger and set mine @ about 2 #s. Sure, she kicks hard in this cal. but this not a plinking gun, but these last few weeks my 14 year old son has been shooting it getting ready for a trip to Texas next year and he can handle it.
If you're recoil shy, go with the .270. This gun was not built for 500 yard shots, but mine has taken everything I've tried for and I used to carry her guiding hog hunters and that means shots on wounded have run from a running hog @ 100 yards to sticking the barrel under the chin @ 6 ".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Winchester® Model 70™ Featherweight Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great fit and finish and shoots great

Date:November 25, 2009
I have this in the 270 Winchester. Purchased new when they restarted making them in South Carolina.
The quality is great, better then the old Springfield models.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Winchester® Model 70™ Featherweight Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: waukesha,wi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

kicks harder than my 7 mag.

Date:November 23, 2009
i bought this gun over 10 years ago, thinking it would be great for hunting here in wisconsin and also out west. I was wrong, in the 30-06 cal., it kicked harder than my 7 mag. also had a hard time holding a 2.5 in. group at 100 yds. while using a clamp style bench rest. the gun looked nice but that was about it. I would not recommend this model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.