Customer Reviews for THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle

Top-end quality and accuracy at an entry-level price. The Venture is guaranteed to deliver minute-of-angle accuracy – 1" groups at 100 yds. Plus, it features a classic sporter-style composite stock with traction grip panels. The match-grade T/C barrel with 5R® rifling increases stability and reduces fouling. The adjustable trigger is preset to 3 to 3.5 lbs. of pull, zero creep and overtravel. Includes factory tool for adjustments. Three-round single-stack magazine maintains perfect alignment for flawless feeding. 60° bolt lift is made possible by three locking lugs for greater bolt-to-scope clearance.
Overall Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Review 1 for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top shooter

Date:December 11, 2013
I feel I can give an accurate review on the TC Venture as I now own seven of them in various configurations and calibers.Putting the price aside this gun is a winner, I use the camo versions for predator hunting the snow camo guns are gorgeous and blend in great as do the max 4 guns. From the 204 ruger to 270 all my TC's are tack drivers.I reload all I shoot and can get 1/4 in groups from these guns with very little effort. Oh yea for the price, I'll put mine up against any production rifle out there!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Looking for great shooting rifle for cheap?

Date:December 3, 2013
If your looking for a gun that shoots lights out sub 1" groups for less than half the price of allot of guns out there than this is the gun for you! Take the money you saved and buy a better scope!
Bought mine in 300 win mag with weathershield.
First three shots at 100 yds all touched, are you kidding me and this was with a 3x9 nikon scope. I have rifles that costed 10x what I have into this venture and they can't shoot groups like this gun can.
Only complaint like everyone else is the cheap plastic clip. My buddy has on in a 6.5x284 thats fluted and shoots super tight groups as well.
Took this buck in Canada this past nov with my venture.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Venture 270 win

Date:May 25, 2013
First time shooting the gun, I was able to shoot 3 different brands of ammo within 1.25 inches at 100 yards out of a lead sled. I used Federal Powershock, Remington Core lokt, and Hornady American Whitetail. The first 3 shot group that I did with the Hornady were all touching, although the next few groups I did opened up to about 1 inch. It didn't shoot Winchester super-x well at all (3-4 inches). Federal fusion was about 2 inches. I will use either the Hornady or the Remington which seemed to do best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deer Beware

Date:March 9, 2013
Other than a small 22 I shot as a kid, this is the first rifle I've owned. I'm by no means an expert shooter. However, I was able to take one of these out of the box, slap a 3-9 scope on it, and have no trouble keeping 3 shot groupings within an inch at 100 yds. Oh yeah, and I did it with the cheapest Wally World ammo I could find. Great rifle for the money, especially now that I see it's on sale for $100 less than what I paid.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle

Date:February 22, 2013
These are great guns. I have two of them and the are very accurate! Nice and solid in your hands. Can't beat a lifetime warranty either.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superb Value

Date:October 30, 2012
I bought this rifle in 270 win. Let's get the negative out of the way... the magazine is plastic and it got stuck after I loaded a couple of times. I sent to back to TC. They fixed it. I took this rifle out to the range to see what it can do at 100 yards. They claim sub moa guarantee with premium ammo. I shot a 1 inch group with Hornady Superformance and was happy. I also wanted to see what it can do with the cheap stuff. I shot Federal Power Shock SP and got 1 inch groups again. Very Happy. I tried Remington Corelokts 3 shots all touching .5 inch group ... I was pleasantly surprised it shot better with the cheap corlokts than the Hornady Superformance. I am Elated with this rifle!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best gun ever

Date:August 10, 2012
I recently bought the .338 win mag and love it. It is now the third T/C Venture I own. I can shoot sub MOA's with all three and 1 1/4" groups at 200yrd's. I use the Barnes VOR-TX 225gr in the .338 and HSM with Hornady A-MAX bullets in my other two.
HSM and Barnes ammo are the only factory ammos I have been able to shoot teas groups with. The Trophy Gold ammo from HSM is over priced junk for accuracy and knock down on game, don't use it. Hornadys own ammo is good too, but I like there low end stuff better then the Superforamnce.
Get a T/C Venture you will love it. I don't care to ever own anything else myself. Best gun you will ever buy, especially for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: hastings mn
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great rifle

Date:September 25, 2011
I recently purchased this rifle in .270 win and was impressed. The gun is accurate, lightweight, and just plain fun to shoot. The only con for me; and it's not a big deal, is the plastic magazine. For less than $500 it's a great value. Can't wait to hunt with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SD
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tc venture

Date:August 29, 2011
I jest got my self the TC venture 270 love the gun all and all but i do not like the plastic clip it take time to reload the clip cause you cant reload it from the top like all the orther ones you have to load it from front to back not down. and other then the clip its a very good gun
PS if some one from tc reads this take notes make a new clip
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WAJ Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simply the best!

Date:August 16, 2011
There is no better production rifle out there. It is simply the best. It shoots as good or better than custom rifles costing up to 3 or 4 thousand dollars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WYCKOFF, NEW JERSEY
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CABALAS SLUGGER EXT SCOPE

Date:March 10, 2011
EXCELLENT OPTICS. VERY CLEAR AND SHARP. THIS SCOPE IS MOUNTED ON AN ITHACA MODEL 37 FULL RIFLE BARREL, 20 GA. I HAVE HAD ANOTHER BRAND OF SCOPE ON THIS GUN BEFORE I BOUGHT THE EXT SLUGGER AND THE OTHER BRAND OF SCOPE CANT COMPARE TO THE EXT IN ANY FASHION. THE OTHER SCOPE WAS 50% HIGHER IN COST THAN THE EXT. THE SLUGGER EXT IS A TRUE VALUE. THANKS FOR A GREAT PRODUCT WITH A REASONABLE PRICE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accuracy as Guaranteed

Date:January 17, 2011
I took my new TC Venture 30-.06 to sight in with 5 different varieties of ammo. I have a Bushnell Elite 4200, 2.5-10x on it, and the combo delivers the 1" groups at 100 yards that Thompson Center guarantees.
To be specific, I could count on 1 MOA accuracy from the Hornady Super Performance, and Federal Permium 165 grain ballistic tips I was shooting.
The Federal Ultra Shock and Fusion PSP's, and Remington Core Lokt 165 grains were more like 1" - 2" groups, which I was pleased to see.
The only thing I do not love about the gun, is the safety can be a bit difficult to disengage. There is a discernible click that is difficult to mute. It seems the mechanism will loosen up the more I use it, but that was an initial observation I made.
Also, I am not in love with the gray plastic inserts on the stock and foreg grip. To me their purpose is defeated, since they feel more or just as slick as the composite stock. A rubberized material would have been great there, even for a few extra dollars.
All in all though, you can't beat this level of accuracy at this price. Features and peripherals mean a lot less than being able to drill bulls eyes at 200 yards.
I am already looking at another TC Venture in .243. That's all the endorsement I probably needed to write.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

T/C Delivers Again

Date:December 7, 2010
I bought mine in .22-250 to use coyote hunting. Using Hornady varmint ammunition I am having excellent results. From the smooth bolt to the adjustable, crisp trigger I am completely satisfied. I think that I prefer carrying this gun coyote hunting to carrying my Browning X-bolt deery hunting. At one third the price, it might not be as pretty but it shoots and groups just as well....maybe even better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: hunterdon county NJ
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

accurate

Date:November 25, 2010
this is an awesome gun once i got it sighted in at a hundred yards, i shot three more shots and the 3 shots all cut each other. me and my dad went down to the 3 shots and put a dime on all 3 shots and covered up all 3 THAT IS AMAZING! i got mine in the 7mm magnum AWESOME GUN!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lancaster, PA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rifle, Right Price

Date:November 22, 2010
This rifle is ACCURATE...Period. The first time I shot it I was able to tell it was going to be an accurate rifle, and the proof is in the target that I pulled down with no bullseye left in it. And the best thing about it is mine likes the cheaper ammo and shoots it well. I plan on shooting at least one deer with it this season!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Peters, MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent buy, excellent rifle.

Date:October 18, 2010
Bought mine this summer in .270 win and just got to shoot it this weekend. What a great experience. You could pay more for a hunting rifle but why? This rifle delivers what it claims, highest quality at an affordable price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hazleton, Pa.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

unreal

Date:September 8, 2010
I purchased a venture recently, put a nikon pro staff 3to9 on it and on my first trip to the range I shot a 5 shot group that I covered with a quarter. I'm not the worlds best shot, but lets just say this is everythng it is cracked up to be. A missed deer is certainly not the rifles fault. It sure lives up to its billing. A graet buy for a great price. Get one before they are all gone. I would highly recommend this rifle to anyone who wants a shooting machine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsville, NJ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Venture 270 win

Date:July 21, 2010
On a recent visit to store, I looked at several rifles in this caliber in various price ranges. The fit and feel of the TC was equal or better than rifles selling for much more. The benefits and features equal higher priced rifles for a very affordable value. Several days later after making my purchase I visited my local range and fired the rifle for the first time. I have never owned a rifle that was as accurate right out of the box as this one was. Look out Deer this hunting season. My wife liked the rifle so much as well as the price she wants her own. Will absolutely be buying another if not more. Great value and exellent accuracy. If looking for a rifle with more bang for your hard earned money, Look no further.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thompson/Center Venture™ Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NW,GA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best bang for the buck

Date:May 31, 2010
i got this rifle last year put a nikon monarch on it and a bipod and it out shoots alot of my other brownings . they advertise sub moa and with good bullets it does about 1/4 moa very nice gun no complaints. best part is they r kind of new so hunting camp will all drool over it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.