Customer Reviews for TIKKA Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles

TIKKA Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles

Weighing in at less than 6-1/2 lbs. and guaranteed to shoot 1" groups or better out of the box, this rifle is the all-day hunter’s dream. The gun’s metal parts are made of Sako’s high-grade stainless steel. The stock is fiberglass-reinforced copolymer material. The result is a lightweight, straight-shooting rifle that’s impervious to the elements. Features a single stage adjustable trigger from 2-4 lbs. Detachable magazine for quick loading and unloading.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.873 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 79 reviews
5 Stars
73
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
77 out of 79(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Review 1 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

accurate but not dependable

Date:September 7, 2014
New 243 t3 stainless out of the box shoots very well under 1" at 100 yards. Will not eject 40% of the cartridges. They do a 180 and stay in the chamber. It seems like a weak ejector spring. Cannot connect with Tikka at overseas phone # and do not want to send it back [although may not have a choice] after spending a lot of time and$ mounting a scope and working up a load with hunting season just around the corner. After all the hype about this gun, I have to say say dissappointed. Does anyone know how to get ahold of this company?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So impressed I bought another!

Date:January 19, 2014
I bought a .308 two years ago and have been nothing but impressed. Like other reviews its under 1" all day long. It does prefer a heavier bullet weight with a minimum of 165gr. It is an extremely lite rifle so the aftermarket limbsaver recoil pad does help it not kick like a mule.
I have been so happy with the .308 that I recently purchased another one for predator hunting in .223. It is just as good and it too will shoot under 1" all day long.
I foresee another Tikka t3 added to my collection soon. Most likely in 300 win or 7mm rem mag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best value and performance in a hunting rifle

Date:January 16, 2014
I currently have four Tikka T3 rifles in 30-06, .308, 7mm-08 and 7mm-08. Three are stainless and the .308 is the blued model. Previously, I gave three Tikkas to my grand kids and sold another one to a deer hunting buddy for his son. Thus, I have a lot of experience with Tikka T3's.
In my opinion, the Tikka T3 is the best hunting rifle you can purchase under a $1,000, period. It has the best weight to length weight/balance, it is inherently the best shooting, gun for gun, and the smoothness of the action and quality of the trigger is second to none. I have yet to shoot a Tikka T3 that did not shoot MOA or better at 100 yards with factory ammunition.
Because of the great trigger, weight, balance, accuracy, and slick bolt, hunting and taking game with the Tikka bears out what happens at the range. I know that the same target accuracy will translate to the field. If I can get the animal in the scope, the Tikka will come through.
I have owned and shot a lot of different rifles in my 50 plus years of hunting. The Tikka T3, regardless of model or caliber, is by far my most favorite.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle

Date:January 1, 2014
I own a .270 and it is great. Lightweight and super accurate. The only complaint is after 4 seasons of use, I pulled the trigger on a deer and it went "click". I quickly cycled the action and killed the deer on the next shot. I picked up the failed round and it had a very light primer strike. I have not been able to determine why the firing pin failed to strike the primer hard enough. The failure was on a second shot, there were 2 does at 225 yds. I killed the first then on the second doe I had the light primer strike.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value 30-06 caliber

Date:December 19, 2013
Purchased this rifle in 2007. It shoots one inch groups with Remington core loc factory loads 150grain. I hand load Barnes ttsx 168grain with RL-19. That hand load shoots under MOA. The best part about this rifle is how light it is. I carry this rifle on week long drop camp hunts in colorado's San Jaun national forest every year on elk and mule deer hunts. I have taken two mule deer and one elk with it. I'm so happy with it that I just purchased it in 300 win mag.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Spot On!

Date:November 23, 2013
.308 LH Shoot's 1/2- 3/4" all day long! My gun love's 168 Berger VLD,over 41 g. of RL-15. Limbsaver is mandatory! Trigger is superb, action butter smooth, Boyds makes after market thumb hole stock. Out shoots my Rem. 700BDL w/bull barrel. I own 20 plus rifles and this one is the one I hunt with!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Singing the Hallelujah Chorus!

Date:August 20, 2013
I must say I am very impressed with this rifle. I just picked up this rifle today, and just finished breaking it in and sighting it in, and it is a Sub-moa rifle. I have had so many problems with another brand (Ruger) that I had almost given up hope of having an affordable, accurate rifle, but now I am singing the Hallelujah Chorus! My only suggestion is spend the extra money and get Leupold STD rings and bases (low rings will fit a 40mm objective) and also pickup a limbsaver recoil pad (Part #10011). Thank you Tikka for making such a great rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Collecting All

Date:June 25, 2013
Bought the 7mm Rem Mag T-3 stainless for a CO elk hunt in 11'. One shot, one kill and had no trouble carrying this rifle at elevation.
Bought the 22-250 T-3 in Jan. 12'. A lite "tack driver" that has claimed 7 yotes!
Stumbled across the 300 win mag Hunter in a gun shop on consignment (too much recoil for 65 yr old man). Long story short, I have 3 Tikka rifles now that are light, rugged, and shoot better than any other rifle I own. With that being said, all of my "Big 3" rifles are retired and only see the light of day when I pull them out to clean them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bulleye

Date:June 7, 2013
Right on the money, good price and accurate. I owen a custom rifle and this one is better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date:May 15, 2013
I have had all kind of guns from high end to low end, they say you get what you pay for? In this case you get more, Tikka rifles are so far ahead of the big three American guns.. The only American gun I would compare it to and they are the same price is a Thompson Center Icon or Venture...I own both of these rifles and they are really a bargain.. My Tikka is 22-250 and it is my best shooting gun I own!! If your on the fence buy it!! You will not be disappointed, and if you are reading this 60 plus 5 stars rating? When have you seen that in a rifle? I put the Nikon Coyote scope and for the 22-250 this is a great pair..
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lives up to reviews

Date:April 28, 2013
I bought the Tikka composite in 270 winchester at the Hamburg store and went straight to the range. I cleaned it and fine tuned the scope and then shot groups at 100 yards with standard and premium loads in 2 bullet weights. 5 different brands of ammo and all shot 1 inch or under and all printed in the same location.
I'll add a barrel deresonator, limbsaver recoil pad (the factory pad is pretty rigid), fine tune the groups, shoot some longer distance and then it's off to Nebraska this fall. Look out Mr Mule Deer.
I was impressed with the smooth bolt function and definitely like the clean crisp smooth trigger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Christmas Present

Date:February 28, 2013
My wife bought me a Tikka T3 Lite for Christmas this year. With very limited shooting experience my brother in-law helped me sight it in at 100 yds. We got it dialed in with a Leupold VX-III. I put 4 shots that could be covered by a nickle. Took my first deer at 100 yds. one week later. Nice set up out of the box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tikka T3 lite in 243 win.

Date:February 19, 2013
Bought the Tikka as a light weight coyote rifle. Didn't like Remington factory ammo but shoots a couple of handloads into one hole. Bolt is very smooth. Very hard to find extra magazines. Overall I would buy this rifle again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent rifle

Date:January 25, 2013
I have 3 of the tikkas 270,3006,300win mag these rifles shoot as good as any of my custom rifles at about a 1/4 of the price. I shoot factory ammo out of all 3 and I get at worst 1/2 groups. More times than not I same hole at 100 yards & 150. With the excepition of my 270 out of Remingtons custom shop all the Tikkas out perform all other manufactors and I have inexcess of 30 deer rifles. The only draw back in the beginning was with the recoil with 300win mag but a good muzzle break took care of that. So in closing I highly recommend the rifles to everyone who is looking for a light weight,accurate and very affordable rifle. I intend to buy every caliber Tikka offers' Good hunting and do not forget the NRA needs everyone so they can keep our right to own these very impressive rifles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:December 24, 2012
I purchased this rifle in 30-06, and put a Leupold VX3 on it. Absolutely love it. This is a great rifle. I would not hesitate to buy again in other calibers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Hunt

Date:December 5, 2012
My son pick out a 270 Tikka for me at Cabelas in Nebraska, it is outstanding... I am on my way back to Cabelas in Texas to buy a second one....
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Rifle!!!

Date:December 4, 2012
I got this rifle last year in .30-06 and used it for the fist time last week for deer season and shot my first buck with it. This gun is super accurate the deer only ran about 15 yards before piling up!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Light, accurate, and easy care out of the box!

Date:November 4, 2012
I have this rifle in 30-06 caliber. My key concerns when buying this rifle were the lack of weight increasing recoil, plastic parts, and quality of factory rings. None of these concerns have proven valid. Due to stock design and fit, I don't see a difference in felt recoil in between this rifle and a couple of heavier rifles in the same caliber I've shot recently. The plastic is fiberglass reinforced and is very rigid and extremely tough and durable. And less metal makes for easier maintenance and less mass. The factory rings have proven utterly reliable when torqued up properly. The bore alignment made for minimal adjustments during sight in. This rifle is very accurate with Federal Fusion and Hornady Custom factory ammo. The trigger was just a bit stiff out of the box, but with slight adjustment it is the best factory trigger I've used. No professional gunsmithing required. Bedding system is excellent! The detachable magazine is great for the California scenario where an attached, loaded magazine on public roads is a misdemeanor... I can carry this rifle around all day without feeling it. The stock design is particularly ergonomical and the high comb combined with the factory medium rings helps align the scope to your eye as you mount the gun... Also, this rifle has the smoothest bore I've seen in a factory rifle. No copper fouling. I can retire my Sweets 7.62. Buy a fancy wood-stocked blued gun with steel trigger-guard to decorate your wall and buy this rifle to carry afield! If the challenge of "accurizing"-i.e. trigger job, glass bedding, free floating, barrel-lapping, re-crowning, etc.-is your thing, then this rifle will surely disappoint!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Deer Rifle Known to Man!

Date:October 22, 2012
I just got mine last week in a 300 win mag. Slaughtered a deer at 300 yards with it on the fourth day I owned it. Very nice gun. It has a better bolt than any gun you have ever felt......trust me. The stainless is nice knowing that it wont rust and the synthetic stock has an amazing feel and look and it is also nice knowing that wont get scratched as easily as a wooden one. Overall this gun is: Great Looking, Heavy Duty, Long Lasting, and Great Quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I'm sold on Tikka

Date:October 19, 2012
Lighter weight, better accuracy, smoother action, and lower price than most of the brand-name rifles. The Fins really know how to build a gun. I now own 2 Tikka T3 Lites. One is chambered in .308 Win, and the other in .300 WM. Recoil on the .300 is pretty stout, but that's the price of low weight. I can't think of any way to improve them, other than better recoil pads. But for the price, I'm being nitpicky. I have dozens of rifles, but the Tikkas are what I grab when I go hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 79