Customer Reviews for TIKKA Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles

TIKKA Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles

Weighing in at less than 6-1/2 lbs. and guaranteed to shoot 1" groups or better out of the box, this rifle is the all-day hunter’s dream. The gun’s metal parts are made of Sako’s high-grade stainless steel. The stock is fiberglass-reinforced copolymer material. The result is a lightweight, straight-shooting rifle that’s impervious to the elements. Features a single stage adjustable trigger from 2-4 lbs. Detachable magazine for quick loading and unloading.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.86 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 93 reviews
5 Stars
84
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
91 out of 93(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Review 1 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2016

Best for the money

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
I was looking for an all around big game rifle in 30/06. This is just that. Light weight enough with out feeling like a feather. Weather resistant components. All that and pretty accurate. I wanted a gun that works without frills and this is just that. I only shoot 150g Barnes TTSX Factory Loads out of it which shoot just under 3000 fps. I've taken a nice black bear, a white tail deer, a coyote, and a 6x6 bull elk so far from ranges of 30 yards to 361 yards. Don't let the stainless fool you. The metal still needs care and attention. As a one rifle do it all, especially considering the price it is well worth it.
One of the things I wish was a little nicer is the stock. Slightly cheap and feels like a tupperware. I like that its composite but it just feels cheap. It does the job and I don't plan to switch it out, but it seems like one of the reasons it costs what it does.
I also really like the detachable magazine. It is so nice to have the magazine, ride around in a car and as soon as you hop out you can pop that sucker in and you are ready to hunt. I usually load one in the chamber, then pop another in the magazine as I like to be prepared.
I have a 3-10x42 scope on it which does everything I need.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2016

Tikka T3 Amazing!!!

By
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought my Tikka T3 becuase of a reccomendation, and I can honestly say that it was a great purchase. I bought a .300 WM. I have done some modifications to the stock firearm however. I added a Bell and Carlson stock, I purchased and AI magazine with the stock, and I had a muzzle break put on the gun. I have hand loaded several types of ammo with great success. My gun absolutley loves Sierra Game King 180gr bullets in front of H1000. I have consistently shot 1 MOA groups out to 300 yards. We have drilled targets out to 600 yds and beyond. Amazing accuracy out of the box rifle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2016

outstanding rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
first rifle purchase and chose a .270 - east coast whitetail hunter and with Hornady American Whiletail/130 grain - am shooting a perfect cloverleaf - 1.5 inches high at 100 yards. First kill with it this past weekend. freehand - 150 yards - right through the shoulders. Point amd shoot - Tikka takes care of thr rest
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2015

Very Pleased

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I went to Cabelas with the intention of buying a 300 WinMag. I had a specific gun in mind but wasn't that thrilled after handling it, so the salesman suggested I try this one too, and I was immediately sold by the smoothness of the bolt slide and the overall balance. Out on the farm, I have an 18 in gong set up at 300 meters for my PSL. I simply screwed a new SWFA 30mm MilDot10x scope on Warne Hi mount Tikka mounts, no adjustment, no bore sighting, nothing. Using both in 150 gr Hornady Whitetail and Remington CoreLockt, this thing hit the gong 9 out of 9. I'd have to rate this combo right up there with my John Deere and my first tricycle. Even in the 300 WinMag, the recoil doesn't approach my Mossberg 12 gauge. Very, very pleased. Now for some ultra fine tuning to 1000 meters.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2015

Incredible Rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I'm new to hunting and the .270 was my first rifle. We went 2 for 2 the first deer season, both with very accurate shots. The rifle shoots under 1 inch groups at 100 yards, which is pretty solid by anyone's standards. My buddy is on the local SWAT team and shoots only custom made rifles. He can't believe how accurate the gun is out of the box, now he wants to buy one. I like the gun so much that I bought the .243 version for my boys.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2015

Awesome Rifle!

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Purchased this rifle for mainly the weight....after shooting , wish I had done sooner. The rifle has a great trigger pull that really helps maintain a nice shot group. I purchased the 7 mag and added a Limbsaver recoil pad which made it a pleasure to shoot. Buy one you will love it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2015

Nice Rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I was fortunate enough to win 1 of these on a gun ticket. Very nice gun light weight and shoots very well, the bolt is like silk. Magazines and accessories are a little spendy$ also not readily available every where.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2015

Sub MOA

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Bought the Tikka T3 in .308 last weekend. It shot 1/2 in. groups with Hornady Whitetail 150gr ammo. Absolutely love this rifle. Gave it 4 stars because I don't like the plastic bolt shroud so I ordered a metal one from one of the several after market companies out there. Other than the bolt shroud, this rifle is absolutely amazing and has a great trigger.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2015

Extremely accurate for the money

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought a 300wsm T3, and it is extremely accurate. Granted, I use hand loaded cartridges that have been 'tuned' to the gun. It will fairly regularly put three shots in a half inch or less. The down side of a Tikka is their ring setup. Buy aftermarket rings. Better yet, mount a screw-on rail from EGW and use the 6-screw Burris rings to mount the scope. I had my rifle slide off the back seat and land square on the scope. The aim was only off about 1/4 inch as best I could tell.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2015

Accurate

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I own several rifles. I could have bought any rifle I wanted. I read the reviews on this one and thought I would take a chance. I am glad I did. Once I had it sighted in, the next 3 bullets broke each others hole at 100 yards. I ran three more through at 100 and same result. The extra magazines are a little pricy, but I knew that before I bought the rifle. I bought the 30 06 and used Federal 165 Nosler Partition bullets, you will not be disappointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2015

7mm rem mag

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
The recoil is not bad at all. If you cant take it then u are a real big wuss. I shot 32 rounds out of it when i was sighting it in with no extra pad, and it was not bad at all. The action as well as the trigger are very smooth. It is extremely light, lighter than my son's YOUTH 7mm-08. The stock scope rings are trash. Any kind of rail mounts like that will losen and you will have to resight the scope in again. Go somewhere wher people are very knowledgeable with alot of experience and 18 and a new hire. The smarter people know that u can put a tap(skrew in) mount that will NEVER move. If you do that, this is a very accurate gun that you can rely on.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2014

Sweet Rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
If only I could shoot as well as this rifle then I would be set! The action is smooth as silk, trigger I adjusted to 2.5lbs and it is AWESOME! No other way to put it, I LOVE THIS RIFLE! Now this rifle is light and shooting a 30-06 round it will jump back at you a little so the addition of a Sims Limb Savers custom fit recoil pad tamed it way down. Using the factory supplied scope rings and a Vortex Diamondback 4-12x40 scope with BDC recital, is perfect. So buy one and be happy! The
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2014

WOW !!!!!!

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This Gun is amazing.... I waited a while because I ordered a left handed 300 win mag. Worth the wait and every dime I spent. I knocked down a 10 point Monster White Tail from my Tree Stand. Didn't go 30 yards.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2014

Love this rifle!

By
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I have this rifle in the .270 WSM and I love it! Great design, very durable, and extremely reliable! We started with a .300 WSM for my mom and then I got this .270 and now we have a .243 and a .308 Tikka. Great gun for the price. The only thing I with was different is the safety being two position. I would prefer a three position safety but as long as you practice good gun safety it will not be a problem. Overall a great, high quality rifle for the price!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2014

accurate but not dependable

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
New 243 t3 stainless out of the box shoots very well under 1" at 100 yards. Will not eject 40% of the cartridges. They do a 180 and stay in the chamber. It seems like a weak ejector spring. Cannot connect with Tikka at overseas phone # and do not want to send it back [although may not have a choice] after spending a lot of time and$ mounting a scope and working up a load with hunting season just around the corner. After all the hype about this gun, I have to say say dissappointed. Does anyone know how to get ahold of this company?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2014

So impressed I bought another!

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought a .308 two years ago and have been nothing but impressed. Like other reviews its under 1" all day long. It does prefer a heavier bullet weight with a minimum of 165gr. It is an extremely lite rifle so the aftermarket limbsaver recoil pad does help it not kick like a mule.
I have been so happy with the .308 that I recently purchased another one for predator hunting in .223. It is just as good and it too will shoot under 1" all day long.
I foresee another Tikka t3 added to my collection soon. Most likely in 300 win or 7mm rem mag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2014

Best value and performance in a hunting rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I currently have four Tikka T3 rifles in 30-06, .308, 7mm-08 and 7mm-08. Three are stainless and the .308 is the blued model. Previously, I gave three Tikkas to my grand kids and sold another one to a deer hunting buddy for his son. Thus, I have a lot of experience with Tikka T3's.
In my opinion, the Tikka T3 is the best hunting rifle you can purchase under a $1,000, period. It has the best weight to length weight/balance, it is inherently the best shooting, gun for gun, and the smoothness of the action and quality of the trigger is second to none. I have yet to shoot a Tikka T3 that did not shoot MOA or better at 100 yards with factory ammunition.
Because of the great trigger, weight, balance, accuracy, and slick bolt, hunting and taking game with the Tikka bears out what happens at the range. I know that the same target accuracy will translate to the field. If I can get the animal in the scope, the Tikka will come through.
I have owned and shot a lot of different rifles in my 50 plus years of hunting. The Tikka T3, regardless of model or caliber, is by far my most favorite.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2014

Great rifle

By
I own a .270 and it is great. Lightweight and super accurate. The only complaint is after 4 seasons of use, I pulled the trigger on a deer and it went "click". I quickly cycled the action and killed the deer on the next shot. I picked up the failed round and it had a very light primer strike. I have not been able to determine why the firing pin failed to strike the primer hard enough. The failure was on a second shot, there were 2 does at 225 yds. I killed the first then on the second doe I had the light primer strike.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2013

Great value 30-06 caliber

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Purchased this rifle in 2007. It shoots one inch groups with Remington core loc factory loads 150grain. I hand load Barnes ttsx 168grain with RL-19. That hand load shoots under MOA. The best part about this rifle is how light it is. I carry this rifle on week long drop camp hunts in colorado's San Jaun national forest every year on elk and mule deer hunts. I have taken two mule deer and one elk with it. I'm so happy with it that I just purchased it in 300 win mag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tikka T3 Lite Stainless Steel Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2013

Spot On!

By
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
.308 LH Shoot's 1/2- 3/4" all day long! My gun love's 168 Berger VLD,over 41 g. of RL-15. Limbsaver is mandatory! Trigger is superb, action butter smooth, Boyds makes after market thumb hole stock. Out shoots my Rem. 700BDL w/bull barrel. I own 20 plus rifles and this one is the one I hunt with!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 93