Customer Reviews for MARLIN Marlin® XLR Model Lever-Action Rifles

MARLIN Marlin® XLR Model Lever-Action Rifles

Lever-action rifles were once considered short-range "brush guns best suited to hunting in thick cover." This series of rifles changes that by boosting both performance and range. Marlin worked closely with ballisticians at Hornady to develop a line of rifles that would take full advantage of improved performance offered by Hornady’s LEVERevolution® ammunition. It’s use of spire-pointed Flex-Tip™ bullets teamed with higher velocities and more energy makes these rifles capable of true long-range performance. Available: Model 336MXLR – Chambered for the venerable .30/30, this rifle sports a 24" stainless steel barrel, receiver, trigger, trigger guard plate, five-shot magazine tube, loading gate and lever. It has a pistol-grip, black/gray laminated hardwood stock with deluxe recoil pad and swivel studs. It also features a solid-top receiver with side ejection, Ballard-type rifling, a precision-fluted bolt, adjustable folding semi-buckhorn rear sight, a front ramp sight and is tapped for a scope mount. Hammer-block safety. With LEVERevolution .30/30 ammo, it’s capable of harvesting deer out to 250 yards.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Marlin® XLR Model Lever-Action Rifles
Review 1 for Marlin® XLR Model Lever-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sapulpa,ok
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EXCELLENT

Date:January 1, 2010
I bought this rifle and am impressed. I own several rifles and bought this because it is a bit smaller than most. This year in the field I shot my rifle two times. The first shot i dropped a nice doe right where she stood. The second shot I dropped a monster 8 point from around 85 yards. Great gun. I put a siemons scope on mine and love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Marlin® XLR Model Lever-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: LaGrange, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love It!

Date:January 25, 2010
I always wanted a lever gun in 45/70 Govt and this year my wife surprised me at Christmas!
I love the classic style and classic cartridge combined with a modern and durable stainless and laminate finish. This is the perfect gun for hunting in North America!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Marlin® XLR Model Lever-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Deer Gun

Date:February 15, 2010
I hunt in the piedmont of NC, for the thick brush around here this is a PERFECT gun. It is very accurate and reliable...I have never had any trouble with this gun. Gotta love the western styling also. Get yourself one, you will not regret it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Marlin® XLR Model Lever-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wasilla, AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rifle!

Date:March 30, 2010
I purchased my .30-30 336XLR three years ago. With its 24 inch barrel and Hornady's new Leverevolution ammo it is a true 300 yard performer. Enhanced performance, flat trajectory, mild recoil, accurate, powerful... all in a lightweight, stainless steel, weather resistent, good looking, lever action rifle. The only negative... the 24 inch barrel makes the rifle a little long for stalking through thick woods. But that's a small price to pay for the other great features associated with this rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Marlin® XLR Model Lever-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cameron, WI
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Marlin 336XLR

Date:August 4, 2010
My dad held this gun in reserve for me at the Cabela's gun counter, and bought it a month and one day before my 13th birthday. I have always loved .30/.30 lever rifles, and this one makes a great addition to our collection. There is a very faint light-brown color on a small area of the stock, which makes mine unique. I have harvested plenty of deer with this rifle, and I am glad that I own one. Thanks for such a good deer rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Marlin® XLR Model Lever-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Coeur A Alene, ID
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Marlin 336 MXLR 338 marlin Express

Date:August 31, 2010
Fantastic!! Nicely made for the money and very accurate. 1.5" groups in 5 to 10mph varible wind at 100 yards with Hornady's Leverevolution ammo. Cycles nicely.. Oh ya, very important... A Leupold scope. If the scopes no good, the rifles useless! Kicks similar to 30-06 of similar weight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Marlin® XLR Model Lever-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mpls,Mn.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.338 express

Date:December 2, 2010
I harvested 3 deer this past hunting season (2010) with my new .338 marlin express.
I'm an old 30-30 deer hunter and I just love this gun. I have shot all sorts of cal guns deer hunting but just love the feel of the lever action. It's just second Nature for me. I suggets it for hunters that shoot over 150 yrds and want to drop your game right now! a real bone crusher!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Marlin® XLR Model Lever-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: chicago, il
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

45-70 1895 MXLR

Date:December 8, 2010
Bought it for the sheer knock down power and accuracy. The laminated stock and 24" stainless barrel are a big plus for Alaska and coastal hunting. I Plan on using it to harvest Moose on my new Alaska Property on the Kenai Peninsula. So far it does a great job at the range 100 feet and under with open sights. I have yet to sight it in for 2 and 3 hundred yard shots, really don't need to with Moose. Can't wait to see what these 325 grain flex tips do to a Moose 100 yards and under. If the shot presents its self i will find out what it can do at 2 or 3 hundreds yards. Over all I love my lever action 45-70. I did cycle over 1000 practice rounds through it prior to bringing it to the range to smooth out the action a little. I want to make sure the action is well broken in before field testing. The last thing i need is a cycle jamb in bear country. I also reload all of my own Hornady flex tips and am finding that sweet spot with a 325 grain freight train. I also shoot regular hardcast and copper rounds out of it as well. It doesn't kick nearly as bad as I thought it was gonna, kinda like a 12 gauge or a little softer. I did buy a scope for it to take those 2 and 3 hundred yards shots, I did sight the scope in for 100 yards but not for the 2 and 3 hundred yards. But for every thing 100 yards and under i use the original open sights and have no problem hitting a cup sized target at 100 yards and under. This one is a keeper can not wait to take it out with the scope to 3 hundred yard range next spring when the range opens back up. Can almost taste that moose now yummy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Marlin® XLR Model Lever-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hunt in Northern Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.308 Marlin Express XLR

Date:December 28, 2010
Great gun, highly accurate. Very versatile. Lots of fun. Minimal recoil. Great recoil pad.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Marlin® XLR Model Lever-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California foothills
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XLR 45/70 ss

Date:January 7, 2011
Up close and personal. Very powerful artillery.
It shot clean through the center of a 70 year old "sun dried" telephone after traveling 50 yards; then went another 50 yards and exploded a baseket ball size piece of clay. "405 jfn @ max. fps". The bullet was 100% completely intacted at the end. It kicks like a mule. Great hog gun or coastal bear hunting. Just make sure it is broke in and the lever cycles clean and smooth. The sights are very good for quick reponse. I find the pistal grip style to be the best for the 45/70 max. loads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Marlin® XLR Model Lever-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Philip S.Dak.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one of the best guns I own!

Date:February 4, 2011
I have a 308Express in SS laiminate stock. I love the gun. Couldn't beleive how far it would shoot. I have a scope on it and have shot deer at four hundred yards with no problems. The 160 FTX bullets are great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Marlin® XLR Model Lever-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: freeburg illinois
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:March 28, 2011
i have this gun in the30-30 version it is a great gun little kick the v sighs are a little off so i just bought mounts for it i'm gonna put a scope on it and see how it shoots after that overall great gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Marlin® XLR Model Lever-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: WF Texas, bought in FW
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

336XLR 30-30

Date:September 18, 2011
Purchased this a couple weeks ago at the Fort Worth Store. Cycled fine in the store, and since I had been looking for one for awhile, I did not really look too close at it (was glad to find it). When I got it to the range to fire it, the lever had a hard time closing when the extracter went over the cartridge rim. I think the hole in the receiver for the extracter is not right. Going to have to send it to Tulsa to get it fixed. Also, upper right part of the receiver opening, I can see a square of metal, like the barrel cutout was not done quite right. It does shoot VERY accurate for a 30-30, but not with leverevalution ammo...use 150 grain federals.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Marlin® XLR Model Lever-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

30-30 Lever Action Marlin

Date:November 3, 2013
Can't really picture a better revival product. This 30-30 XLR version of the lever action rifle comes up all 5 stars in my book. In combination with the Hornady LeverAction Cartridge, this will shoot 2-3" groups at 150 yards no problem. The gun will do better if you can.
The receiver and lever action are well machined and look very nice. Never have had a single issue with the function of this rifle. The stainless steel makes for a bit too shinny a rifle in my mind, but the ability to withstand tuff/wet conditions more than makes up for my cosmetic preference.
Would highly recommend this rifle to any one looking for a 200 yard rock solid tack driving product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Marlin® XLR Model Lever-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sharp shooter

Date:December 3, 2014
i dont own one but my buddy has the 45-70 alaskan guid model all done up by wildwest guns, and man that thing is sweet. it is on my christmas list for sure. with the mitten loop option, and the compactness of the gun with its power, just awesome
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.