Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle

REMINGTON Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle

The Remington Model 700™ Special Purpose Synthetic Tactical rifle delivers everything shooters love about the legendary Model 700 at an affordable price. From the rock-solid receiver’s "three rings of steel" configuration to exceptional right-out-of-the-box accuracy, the 700 SPS™ has all you’d expect from America’s most popular bolt-action centerfire rifle. Its improved all-weather synthetic stock is more ergonomic for better handling and has sling swivel studs. The carbon steel barrel comes clean without sights and is drilled and tapped to accept scope mounts. All exterior metal features a matte blued finish. The SPS™ Tactical version adds features to deliver even more incredible tack-driving, game-dropping accuracy. Its X-Mark Pro® trigger is externally adjustable so you can customize the trigger pull. A SuperCell™ recoil pad minimizes kick for fast follow-up shots. The 20" heavy-contour barrel teams with dual-point pillar bedding to enhance accuracy. The ergonomic black synthetic stock has Hogue® overmoldings for a sure grip in any weather, and a semi-beavertail forend aids stable shooting off a rest.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Review 1 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2010

Remington Target Tactical

By
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Beautiful rifle, well balanced, fun to shoot like all Remington 700. However, it is expensive. I love mine!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2010

absolutley outstanding

By
Location: southeastern mt
i bought one of these rifles last july and the accuracy is amazing on it i regularly shoot and easily shoot 3-4 inch groups at 800 yards i used it to hunt antelope last fall and my doe was an easy target at 800 yards very accurate when set up right and the 5r rifled barrel is the way to go for those long long shots
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2010

Remington Target Tactical..... if you're a gambler

By
Location: Central Connecticut
I purchased my Target Tactical after being caught in the hype about "tack driving" and "legendary 700 accuracy". My rifle turned out to be anything but.
With match ammo it shoots anywhere from .75MOA to 2.5 MOA w/ no wind and excellant optics. Everything is tight and I have tried several scopes that have shot sub .250 MOA on other rifles. I believe that the barrel is defective so I returned it to the factory after 600+ expensive rounds and days of frustration.
Remington has this beast now and I hope they can fix it... although they promised to email me when the riflle arrived two weeks ago at their repair center in NY and they haven't yet. Who knows how this will end. My guess is that it will take months to get this resolved.
A very nice rifle if you get one that shoots. Otherwise look elsewhere for a "tack driver"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2010

In Fairness to Remington

By
Location: central connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
After having written the below review I recieved my Target Tactical back from Remington. It appears thaT I am not the only person to have had this problem. I guess thats a good thing cause they know how to fix it.
After receiving the rifle back I have averaged .5-.6 MOA with some groups .012 MOA (measured w/ a caliper!!)
An amazing rifle that everyone wants to stare at. Remington stood behind their product. What a shooter!!!!!! Finally.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2010

amazing out of the box accuracy

By
Location: Harrison, Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I own several rifles that I have spent a considerable amount of money to get the the kind of performance you can get from this rifle right out of the box. I was very hesitant about the purchase of the rifle because of the stock touching the barrel when on a rest, which is a precision rifle no no but does not seem to affect this rifle at all. I reload all my own rounds but bought some FGMM ammo to shoot first and with the factory ammo was able to achieve 1/2 moa which is unheard of, cant wait to see what reloads can do. Great product I highly reccommend this rifle to anyone looking foor an inexpensive precision rifle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2011

Bargain for Accuracy

By
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is the most accurate rifle have owned out of the box. 0.25 moa with factory Hornady HPBT 168gr. I love the X-mark trigger. Like others have stated the stock will touch the barrel if sandbagged or bipod. Doesn't seem to affect accuracy. Easily capable of 3" grougs at 300yds. Feed is flawless. Has very little felt recoil due to limbsaver pad. For the money it cant be beat if you are looking for an entry level tactical platform.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2011

.308 Bull Barrel

By
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
By far the sweetest rifle I have ever owned or shot. Awesome groupings and very little recoil for a .308. Paired with the Nikon Prostaff scope and this is an awesome set up that I am going to own for a very long time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2012

Remington 700 sps tactical .308

By
Location: USA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This is a very well bulit weapon. All you have to do is slap on a bipod and a scope with tactical turrents and you can hit anything. 1 in groups at 100 meters with hornaday sst 150gr.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2012

Job well done

By
Location: Kyle, TX
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This gun is excellent. Enough said. Tack driver. I would buy another if there was a need. No issues with it at all.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2012

great rifle

By
Country: United States
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I can hit a 6" plate at 300 yds with mil. surplus ammo.
What more could you ask?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2012

My last Remington?

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Have a safe full of Remington and other rifles. Their heavy bbl and fluted bbl rifles of 15-20 years ago are some of my prized possessions. I bought 2 of these tactical carbines in .223 and .308. The .223 is misfit between the bolt face and chamber and rubs when chambering a round, making the bolt hard to close. Accuracy is good but not great and due to the 1:9 twist, heavy bullets are not going to be accurate in this gun. The much hyped Hogue overmolded stock is too flexy and attracts dust and dirt like fly paper. The .308 caliber rifle has a better bolt/headspace fit and is more accurate with match ammo but still has the Hogue stock issues. These rifles are mass produced with very little human fitting of parts. There are lots of good .308 rifles out on the market now like the Ruger American and the Savage Axis/Edge and they are cheaper and more accurate. They were not designed to be tactical carbines but I am not sure these Remingtons were either. More tacticool than tactical.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2012

Love it

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
The Hogue stock is ok but I'm no "sniper". From a reasonable 200 yds, my groupings are definate center mass kill shots. That's all I can ask for.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2013

Great gun in the right hands

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have this gun in .223 and it shoots just fine. It's not for the part time shooter and requires sometime to adjust to it. This is a range gun and requires a bench. But all in all, it's a great gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2013

Extremely Satisfied

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
My 700 SPS Tacitcal in .308 Win with handloaded Sierra 168 grain Matchkings and 45 grains of Varget plus CCI Benchrest primers, consistantly produces 1/2" - 1" groups @ 100 yds every time!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2013

Rifle great - service could be better

By
Country: South Africa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Firearm is awesome for the price. Bought it with the intention of removing the stock which makes contact with the barrel with a bi-pod attached. Otherwise very happy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2013

Remington 700 sps tactical .308

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Paired with a Leupold VX-3 CDS 4.5-14 and shooting hornaday sst 150gr 1/2 moa groups out to 350 yds. Not bad for an old man with shaky hands and bad eyesight.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2014

Very accurate platform

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Very solid entry level tactical rifle. The Hogue stock is very easy to hold well and reduces recoil significantly, but is a little wimpy at the forend. I like it. The rifle is finished nicely and fitted well. After only 40 rounds of break-in, I shot a 1/4 MOA group at 300 yards. That's the size of a nickel. It likes a warm barrel and bullets up to about 170 grains. Expect some break-in time for the trigger, mine is still too stout, but hasn't been adjusted. This is a good enough rifle to make me a much better shooter, which is just what I wanted.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014

A Very Good Rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought this to be my primary varmint rifle three years ago and I still love it. I have placed a Vortex Optics Viper 6.5-20x44 PA scope on it and it is a tack driver. I have made 400 yard shots on ground squirrels lying down with a Harris bipod. My one complaint is that the stock isn't very stiff and the free floating barrel can come in contact with the stock which can change your point of impact. If you buy this rifle you will not be disappointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2015

Good

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
It is a solid rifle with the exception of loading it. It is very hard especially when you mount the scope. Make sure to push with 2 fingers on the cartrige otherwise you will struggle a lot loading the rifle. Wish if Remington changes this the laoding mechanism by using a magazine/clip type.
Cannot wait to take this rifle to the range & try it. Hopefully it will perfrom as it looks.
The Pairie Du Chien firearm dept team (Benji, Daryl, Jim, Nate, and Karen) were very friendly. They were helpful. Actually, I brought my old rifle, they took the scope, bipod, and sling, and then fit them to the new rifle.
If you want to buy a gun, go there
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2015

Awesome Rifle!

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I've always loved bolt rifles and did my fair share of research on Remington and this rifle. If you are looking for a good balance of power and accuracy this is the gun for you. It was my first rifle and I plan on keeping it until it can't fire another round through it. It's an excellent rifle and I am so glad Brian, a Cabela's Outfitter pushed me over the edge on it.
For being new to the shooting scene and being able to hit targets 250 yards out, I'd say this is one of the most accurate rifles on the market.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 21