Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle

REMINGTON Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle

The Remington Model 700™ Special Purpose Synthetic Tactical rifle delivers everything shooters love about the legendary Model 700 at an affordable price. From the rock-solid receiver’s "three rings of steel" configuration to exceptional right-out-of-the-box accuracy, the 700 SPS™ has all you’d expect from America’s most popular bolt-action centerfire rifle. Its improved all-weather synthetic stock is more ergonomic for better handling and has sling swivel studs. The carbon steel barrel comes clean without sights and is drilled and tapped to accept scope mounts. All exterior metal features a matte blued finish. The SPS™ Tactical version adds features to deliver even more incredible tack-driving, game-dropping accuracy. Its X-Mark Pro® trigger is externally adjustable so you can customize the trigger pull. A SuperCell™ recoil pad minimizes kick for fast follow-up shots. The 20" heavy-contour barrel teams with dual-point pillar bedding to enhance accuracy. The ergonomic black synthetic stock has Hogue® overmoldings for a sure grip in any weather, and a semi-beavertail forend aids stable shooting off a rest.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
16 out of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Review 1 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington Target Tactical

Date:January 29, 2010
Beautiful rifle, well balanced, fun to shoot like all Remington 700. However, it is expensive. I love mine!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: southeastern mt
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

absolutley outstanding

Date:January 29, 2010
i bought one of these rifles last july and the accuracy is amazing on it i regularly shoot and easily shoot 3-4 inch groups at 800 yards i used it to hunt antelope last fall and my doe was an easy target at 800 yards very accurate when set up right and the 5r rifled barrel is the way to go for those long long shots
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Central Connecticut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Remington Target Tactical..... if you're a gambler

Date:May 17, 2010
I purchased my Target Tactical after being caught in the hype about "tack driving" and "legendary 700 accuracy". My rifle turned out to be anything but.
With match ammo it shoots anywhere from .75MOA to 2.5 MOA w/ no wind and excellant optics. Everything is tight and I have tried several scopes that have shot sub .250 MOA on other rifles. I believe that the barrel is defective so I returned it to the factory after 600+ expensive rounds and days of frustration.
Remington has this beast now and I hope they can fix it... although they promised to email me when the riflle arrived two weeks ago at their repair center in NY and they haven't yet. Who knows how this will end. My guess is that it will take months to get this resolved.
A very nice rifle if you get one that shoots. Otherwise look elsewhere for a "tack driver"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: central connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

In Fairness to Remington

Date:May 31, 2010
After having written the below review I recieved my Target Tactical back from Remington. It appears thaT I am not the only person to have had this problem. I guess thats a good thing cause they know how to fix it.
After receiving the rifle back I have averaged .5-.6 MOA with some groups .012 MOA (measured w/ a caliper!!)
An amazing rifle that everyone wants to stare at. Remington stood behind their product. What a shooter!!!!!! Finally.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Harrison, Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

amazing out of the box accuracy

Date:September 5, 2010
I own several rifles that I have spent a considerable amount of money to get the the kind of performance you can get from this rifle right out of the box. I was very hesitant about the purchase of the rifle because of the stock touching the barrel when on a rest, which is a precision rifle no no but does not seem to affect this rifle at all. I reload all my own rounds but bought some FGMM ammo to shoot first and with the factory ammo was able to achieve 1/2 moa which is unheard of, cant wait to see what reloads can do. Great product I highly reccommend this rifle to anyone looking foor an inexpensive precision rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bargain for Accuracy

Date:May 4, 2011
This is the most accurate rifle have owned out of the box. 0.25 moa with factory Hornady HPBT 168gr. I love the X-mark trigger. Like others have stated the stock will touch the barrel if sandbagged or bipod. Doesn't seem to affect accuracy. Easily capable of 3" grougs at 300yds. Feed is flawless. Has very little felt recoil due to limbsaver pad. For the money it cant be beat if you are looking for an entry level tactical platform.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.308 Bull Barrel

Date:December 30, 2011
By far the sweetest rifle I have ever owned or shot. Awesome groupings and very little recoil for a .308. Paired with the Nikon Prostaff scope and this is an awesome set up that I am going to own for a very long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: USA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington 700 sps tactical .308

Date:February 12, 2012
This is a very well bulit weapon. All you have to do is slap on a bipod and a scope with tactical turrents and you can hit anything. 1 in groups at 100 meters with hornaday sst 150gr.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kyle, TX
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Job well done

Date:February 21, 2012
This gun is excellent. Enough said. Tack driver. I would buy another if there was a need. No issues with it at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great rifle

Date:July 3, 2012
I can hit a 6" plate at 300 yds with mil. surplus ammo.
What more could you ask?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

My last Remington?

Date:July 29, 2012
Have a safe full of Remington and other rifles. Their heavy bbl and fluted bbl rifles of 15-20 years ago are some of my prized possessions. I bought 2 of these tactical carbines in .223 and .308. The .223 is misfit between the bolt face and chamber and rubs when chambering a round, making the bolt hard to close. Accuracy is good but not great and due to the 1:9 twist, heavy bullets are not going to be accurate in this gun. The much hyped Hogue overmolded stock is too flexy and attracts dust and dirt like fly paper. The .308 caliber rifle has a better bolt/headspace fit and is more accurate with match ammo but still has the Hogue stock issues. These rifles are mass produced with very little human fitting of parts. There are lots of good .308 rifles out on the market now like the Ruger American and the Savage Axis/Edge and they are cheaper and more accurate. They were not designed to be tactical carbines but I am not sure these Remingtons were either. More tacticool than tactical.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love it

Date:October 10, 2012
The Hogue stock is ok but I'm no "sniper". From a reasonable 200 yds, my groupings are definate center mass kill shots. That's all I can ask for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun in the right hands

Date:March 11, 2013
I have this gun in .223 and it shoots just fine. It's not for the part time shooter and requires sometime to adjust to it. This is a range gun and requires a bench. But all in all, it's a great gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Extremely Satisfied

Date:March 29, 2013
My 700 SPS Tacitcal in .308 Win with handloaded Sierra 168 grain Matchkings and 45 grains of Varget plus CCI Benchrest primers, consistantly produces 1/2" - 1" groups @ 100 yds every time!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: South Africa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rifle great - service could be better

Date:May 14, 2013
Firearm is awesome for the price. Bought it with the intention of removing the stock which makes contact with the barrel with a bi-pod attached. Otherwise very happy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington 700 sps tactical .308

Date:October 14, 2013
Paired with a Leupold VX-3 CDS 4.5-14 and shooting hornaday sst 150gr 1/2 moa groups out to 350 yds. Not bad for an old man with shaky hands and bad eyesight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very accurate platform

Date:January 1, 2014
Very solid entry level tactical rifle. The Hogue stock is very easy to hold well and reduces recoil significantly, but is a little wimpy at the forend. I like it. The rifle is finished nicely and fitted well. After only 40 rounds of break-in, I shot a 1/4 MOA group at 300 yards. That's the size of a nickel. It likes a warm barrel and bullets up to about 170 grains. Expect some break-in time for the trigger, mine is still too stout, but hasn't been adjusted. This is a good enough rifle to make me a much better shooter, which is just what I wanted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington® Model 700™ SPS Tactical Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Very Good Rifle

Date:January 14, 2014
I bought this to be my primary varmint rifle three years ago and I still love it. I have placed a Vortex Optics Viper 6.5-20x44 PA scope on it and it is a tack driver. I have made 400 yard shots on ground squirrels lying down with a Harris bipod. My one complaint is that the stock isn't very stiff and the free floating barrel can come in contact with the stock which can change your point of impact. If you buy this rifle you will not be disappointed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.