Customer Reviews for GREENFIELD Remington® Model 700™ CDL™ SF Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

GREENFIELD Remington® Model 700™ CDL™ SF Rifle

Remington's Model 700 is renowned for accuracy and performance and has been setting the standard in production rifles for nearly five decades. In 2008, Remington introduced the Limited Edition Model 700 CDL SF LTD with great success. The rifle performed so well that shooters asked that a full line be produced. Now you have a chance to own one of these fine rifles. Each receiver is machined from solid-steel bar-stock aluminum, for uniformity and strength. The cylindrical shape provides a solid bedding area in the stock for consistent shot placement. The recessed bolt face locks up inside the counter-bored breech, which is surrounded by the receiver. This forms three rings of steel that enclose the cartridge case for incredible strength. An integral extractor is set in a groove inside the rim of the bolt face to uniformly support the cartridge head. The stock is handsomely crafted walnut with a black forend cap and grip cap. Select models have Remington's new X-Mark Pro™ adjustable trigger. A special version of the Model 700 CDL SF Limited Edition is available in the accurate, flat-shooting .257 Roberts caliber. The receiver is roll-marked with Model 700 Limited. To achieve maximum velocity, its magnum-contour barrel is a full 24". The barrel sports light varmint-style fluting for rapid heat dissipation.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Remington® Model 700™ CDL™ SF Rifle
Review 1 for Remington® Model 700™ CDL™ SF Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South, Duluth MN.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top Notch

Date:November 15, 2011
Ordered this gun in .257wby mag I just cannot say enough good things about it.. First deer shot with it flipped it over backwards. AWESOME. I use 115 grain ballistic silver tip bullets...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® Model 700™ CDL™ SF Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Altamont, Ut
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

extreme accuracy

Date:April 5, 2011
bought this rifle to go with the limited edition Boone & Crocket 700 I have both in 7mm Rem Mag pulled it from the box cleaned it broke in the barrel with the good stuff ( Nosler trophy grade) if you want the best shoot the best loaded up some custom loads built to match ( Nosler Accubonds) at 200 yards this rifle will shoot 3/4'' groups all day long mounted stainless steel Murphy precision picatinny rail and luepold VX III 4.5 x 14 shootin handloaded 140gr noslers at 3278 ft/sec
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® Model 700™ CDL™ SF Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A good looker and a good shooter in 300 WSM

Date:November 21, 2010
First off, I loved the look and feel of it right when the guy behind the counter handed it to me. The stainless, fluted barrel looks fantastic on the Walnut matte finish stock. It has perfect balance and weight when I compared it to many others, and I had planned on buying a new Browning X-bolt SS until I started messing with it in the store.
I already own 2 Browning A-bolt SS in .270 and .300 Win. Mag. They are good shooters and the bolt on them is ultra smooth, but the X-bolt I tried was just downright horrible compared to my A-bolts. It felt like I was holding a plastic child's toy.
Bolt action smoothness is important to me, and the Rem. 700 bolt was surprisingly just as smooth; much better than the Rem. 700 older models I own. And the new X-mark Pro trigger system breaks absolutely smooth. I preferred a slightly lower pull than factory, and it adjusts very easily; an absolute joy to shoot with.
I topped the gun off with a Leupold VX-3 with Leupold mounts (get this scope if you're looking for a good one). For barrel break-in and initial sighting-in, I used some cheap Win. Power Max 150gr. bullets. I loved the way it felt right out of the box, and it shot ok with this ammo; was getting about 2 inch groups at 100 yards. I was hoping for better when I jumped to my hunting ammo, and thankfully accuracy jumped dramatically. My deer ammo is Win. Balistic Silver Tips in 150gr. I consistently got .75 MOA up to 1.5" MOA 3-shot groups with this ammo at 100 yards using real shooting positions at prone with my hunting pack as the gun rest and sitting against trees using my knee as the rest.
As far as kick goes versus my .300 Win. Mag. it was noticably decreased. If you're looking for .300 mag balistics with less kick, this is your gun. Plus, it only has a 24" barrel, and I highly prefer 22-24 inches as this feels most comfortable to me.
I feel very happy with my purchase and feel this will fare me well in my future hunts. You will love the way this gun looks, feels and shoots if you take care of it properly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® Model 700™ CDL™ SF Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Waco,TX
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

7 MM -08 CDL SF WONDER WEAPON

Date:September 20, 2010
2 decades ago I purchased the 7MM-08 in the BDL Heavy Barrel Varminter. 1've shot witnessed groups of .284 to .336" at 200 yds from handloads using Hornady and Sierra bullets 162 to 168 grains bullets.
I've shot ELK at 300 yds and antelope at 773 yds "
I never ever thought I'd replace that original rifle...I DIDN'T I just added a newer version of an out of the box accurate rifle.
If you want to experience the best rifle and caliber ever made, then try the most secretive rifle , 7MM-08 and surprise yourself.
Then like the rest of us in the know , keep it a secret.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® Model 700™ CDL™ SF Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Gun

Date:July 7, 2010
I own over 50 guns and the only gun that compares to this gun are the Winchester 70's which i have a few of. I bought this gun in 7mm Rem Mag a few years ago, reloaded some ammo and had it shooting in half inch groupings at 100 yards. The recoil is very very small. This trigger pull is amazing and once it hits your shoulder you know its the right gun. I mounted a Luepold vxii 3-9X40 scope because i wanted nothing less for my prized possesion. If your looking for an all around amazing gun buy the remington 700 and never look back you will not be disapointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® Model 700™ CDL™ SF Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle

Date:January 8, 2010
After bore sighting, only required 3 30-06 rounds to zero. After that, consistently shot 1" or less groups. Decided to replace wood stock with XCR stock, did it myself, went to range, still zeroed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® Model 700™ CDL™ SF Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington CDL SF, .270WSM

Date:December 27, 2009
Excellent purchase! I put a Leupold VXIII 3.5-10 x 40mm. With a dednutz mount. Shooting 1" groups out of the box @ 100 yds. The gun shoots superb and is just a great looking piece.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® Model 700™ CDL™ SF Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lancaster,Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

700 CDLSF

Date:December 21, 2009
Bought this gun at Cabelas, It shot great out of the box. 1" GROUP AT 100 YDS.
150 gr Rem. Power Points
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® Model 700™ CDL™ SF Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: australia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rifle does need work from new

Date:December 2, 2009
I brought this rifle hoping it shot good out of the box, but it did not. It required proper bedding as it had none and fore end pressure removed.
Get the work done and its a good shooter.
or buy a tikka
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® Model 700™ CDL™ SF Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Powhatan,Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Remington Quailty Control

Date:March 27, 2011
I ordered one in 270WSM great looking rifle but it ends there, This rifle would not chamber because of headspacing problems and an extractor that would cut the rims off the cases.Ordered another hoping it was a freak thing, SAME THING different rifle. I own 2 Remington tack drivers I wouldn't trade for anything so I am not grinding an axe with remington. I purchased a Christensen custom rifle on the 700 action,guess what, EXTRACTOR problems, had to send back for a Sako extractor replacement. Quailty control has gone way down at Remington, buy a Browning or even a Winchester and you might not have these problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.