Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos

REMINGTON Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos

Enjoy famous Remington performance right out of the box in this range-ready rifle/scope combo. Model 770 rifle includes a premounted and boresighted 3-9x40 scope. Features an easy-camming 60° bolt and ultra-accurate, six-groove, button-rifled barrel. Loading and unloading is fast and safe, thanks to a detachable box magazine. Other advancements include a new, ergonomically contoured stock with a raised cheekpiece for fast scope-to-eye alignment. Textured fore end enhance control in any weather. Molded Sling Swivel studs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
7
58 out of 68(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Review 1 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

gun

Date:November 29, 2009
this is a great gun to get a kid or new hunter started on!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Brownwood,Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

770 magazine

Date:November 30, 2009
The rifle shoots great light weight I have owned my 770 for one year and have dropped 180 to 195 lb hogs and one white tail buck all went down on first shot the shot hit right where I put the scope. Only problem I still have is the magazine.The last round going from the magazine the the chamber does not line up properly have to move around with my finger. Will soon get with Remington and find out what the fix would be for this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

questionable

Date:December 9, 2009
I purchased this gun in hopes of having a rifle to hunt with for a long time. The problem is, the bolt has become loose and doesn't expel or load the bullet without hesitation or without catching. I will be sending my rifle in after the season to be serviced and hopefully they can fix it, but it's an inconvenience to me and costs me more money. I will say on the positive side that with my first shot with this rifle, I dropped a massive 10-point buck from about 250 yds away with the stock scope still attached. So the rifle is powerful and the scope isn't too bad either. I would buy remington again, but I haven't talked to their customer service people yet, so we'll see what happens there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:December 15, 2009
got this gun last year in a 270 win, it is a great gun i have taken many deer with it the only problem i have had is that ,if i use lead tip bullets, when i close the bolt it will smash the tip a little bit cant figure out why but other than that this is a great gun serious knockdown power
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: huntington,tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pretty good

Date:December 30, 2009
its a pretty good gun for the price although not as good as remingtons top end guns. It may produce a 2' group at 100 yards.im giving it 4 stars because its a good gun for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: The County, Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wow

Date:December 31, 2009
bought this riffle in a .300 win mag ... talk about dropping power. nice light weight riffle ... not much kick either.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: bluegrass state
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

rem. 770

Date:January 26, 2010
have this rifle in .308. for the price it is a good value. shoots good, and is comfortable to carry around all day. the only drawback is a little slop in the bolt, and it doesnt always load well from the clip. reloads group at 3/4 inch at 100 yds
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pueblo, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rem. 770 .243

Date:February 8, 2010
This is the best .243 you can buy for the money. It is a bobcat and mule deer killin' machine! If your looking for a cheap long lasting rifle look no more. The scope is ok, stright out of the box with 70gr. bullets 100yrds. What more can you ask for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Duncan Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Zero'ed in at 50 out of the box

Date:March 2, 2010
Bought 30.06 version of this gun in August and have killed plenty of deer with it. Scope is good. Wish it was a little more clear but other than that no problems. I will agree with others that the bolt is a little sloppy. But you can work around that. I shoot 180 grain core lokt bullets, works well with them. Will probably buy a smaller caliber later on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alexandria,MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good rifle

Date:April 11, 2010
I got the 270.win not a bad choice for my first rifle. Bolt is not very smooth but it's a good rifle for a cheap one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Boise, ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not terrible but a little rough.

Date:April 14, 2010
I got this rifle in .308 because I didn't want to take a $800 rifle into the field to get banged around. I had it one day and the front 'swivel stud' that's integrated into the stock broke clean off. Not a huge problem cuz I had a spare swivel stud lying around. As I was drilling the stock for the new stud though, it cracked up the middle where the 2 halves of the stock had been molded together...BIG problem. Even though this was technically my fault, it broke way too easily. I sucked it up and got in touch with Remington and asked where I could BUY a stock but they said, "Don't worry about it, we'll send you a new one." My new stock was here in less than a week. There's a reason I LOVE Remington and their customer service is a huge part of it. I still won't use the factory swivel stud though. I put an Uncle Mikes stud through the side of the stock about 6 inches back from the front and it works alot better. Sits on the shoulder better too. Ok...that was the stock. On to the rest...the bolt throw is stiff as heck but nothing a little polish job can't ease up a little. Now the best part. Accuracy is great! After sighting in the scope (which is just ok but you'll probably want something a little better) I was able to shoot consistent 3/4in groups at 100 yards using 165gr. Hornady BTSP.
Bottom line is that this rifle is extremely rough around the edges but for a hunting rifle/truck gun, it's what it is supposed to be. For the price, I would definitely recommend it because of the accuracy alone. The other stuff is fairly easy to take care of.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Gonzales La
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

7mag 770

Date:April 29, 2010
I've had this rifle for almost a year, bought it on the fact that deer season was soon aproaching and a new rifle was needed(sold my old one) and it wasnt a mistake. Love the gun havent been to the range but shot at 50 yds and put in inch high for 100, all i can say is that deer vs 7mm rem mag = deer never moves out to 450 yds. Put a TASCO illuminated scope on and it works like a charm. Smoothed out rough edges such as the little cap under the grip popping off but pvc glue fixes it. Another problem i have is either build-up of either copper from the bullet or rust in the barrel not sure. But it still works great gu for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas City, KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington 770 30-06

Date:May 14, 2010
I bought this a couple of months ago and have taken it to the range plenty of times, scope isn't the best, but it is mounted great have shot over 150 shots and it is still centered at 100 after every round of firing. I use federal powerpoint ammo and e-tip ammo and its working great. The bolt however is a little sticky out of the box, but rem oil and five minutes of care will fix it, but you should clean it as much as possible or it will start to stick again. For the price it is a good gun and I will keep it for a long time. Remington tends to make their guns more durable than other brands so hopefully it will last a long time. It is a great gun for someone who needs a good rifle and doesn't have much cash.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:May 24, 2010
This gun is a really great gun. The bolt is a little sloppy, but it works just fine. I got this gun in .270 caliber and it is just really a great gun. Fun to hunt shoot and fun to hunt with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: chicago,il
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

remmington 770 30.06

Date:June 4, 2010
the remmington 770 in 30.06 is a great rifle . the only thing i dont like is that the bolt is a little sticky, but i find the reason it sticks is due to the way you push and pull it in and out, when ever i push the bolt on the bolt head it slides right in, and also dirt or keep it properly cleaned and lubed. the barrel can get hot , so dont touch it when shooting. this gun has great power and accuracy, the scope is good, i would perfer a mil dot scope,. but overall the only thing off or negative about this gun is the bolt stick which can be worked around. it also has recoil and is loud, which i love. for the price, its a deal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Milton, Florida (North-Central Santa Rosa County)
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Hunting Rifle - Scope could be better!

Date:June 28, 2010
I bought two of these Remington Model 770's! A 7mm Rem Mag, for my youngest son. Results: Two shots, at about 100 yards each. Two whitettails, on the ground. Both heart shots, and they dropped where they were shot, by my son. My Model 770, is in 300 Win Mag, and the first thing I did was replace the scope with a 3 x 10.5 x 50. It took me over 1 box of ammo to get the new scope zeroed in at 100 yards. I should have removed the bolt, to begin with, and boresighted it my looking down the inside of the barrel, at the target bullseye, at about 50 yards, and I could have saved a lot of ammo, in the process. I'm getting 1/2" to 3/4" groups, at 100 yards now, with 180 grain Winchester, Ballistic Supreme ammo, and that is fine, with me! I haven't been to the woods yet, with this rifle, but plan on doing so, around Thanksgiving, 2010, when the Florida gun season begins.....
The primary reason that I rated this 4 instead of 5 stars, is because of the scope, that came with the rifle. I believe that it leaves a little bit to be desired! I love both of the 770's! They get the job done!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GRREEEAT

Date:July 9, 2010
This is an excellent rifle shot it at about 40 yards and produced dime size groups has little kick to what you see on Yutube make sure to clean barrel before use. This rifle is great for someone to start out on and then move it on up to an A-bolt, R700, and/or Ruger M77.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT RIFLE

Date:August 10, 2010
This rifle shoots very smooth in 30-06, and I love the accuracy. I'm pegging the bulls eye at 300 yards. I've replaced the scope with a 6x24x50 mil scope and keep the bolt lubed, bought an extra 4 rnd clip, tri-pod and at the shooting range I just go out to have fun. I plan to be as accurate at 1,ooo yds as I am at three hundred. Can't wait to get my first venison. My wife doesn't want me to get bambi though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sparta, MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rifle, Don't believe people who say its not!

Date:August 14, 2010
I own this in 300 Win Mag, and it is a great gun. Very accurate once you sight it in. Mine was not bore sighted like it said, so you may want to do that. Scope works great on the rifle. Anybody who says its not a good rifle hasn't shot one. Bolt is sloppy but if there wasn't something to complain about there would be no reason for people to buy the Rem 700.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hazleton,PA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Gun, Trouble with the bolt

Date:August 22, 2010
This is my first deer gun i fell in love with it, im 15 and wasn't too happy when i got it home because of the bolt that is it.
I thought well ill put some 3-1 oil on it after 30-40 times of the bolt coming in and out it works alot better now, Great Gun but a little sloppy bolt .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 68