Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos

REMINGTON Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos

Enjoy famous Remington performance right out of the box in this range-ready rifle/scope combo. Model 770 rifle includes a premounted and boresighted 3-9x40 scope. Features an easy-camming 60° bolt and ultra-accurate, six-groove, button-rifled barrel. Loading and unloading is fast and safe, thanks to a detachable box magazine. Other advancements include a new, ergonomically contoured stock with a raised cheekpiece for fast scope-to-eye alignment. Textured fore end enhance control in any weather. Molded Sling Swivel studs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.986 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
7
60 out of 71(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Review 1 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Piece of Junk!

Date:August 10, 2014
Bought this sad excuse for a rifle back in early 2013. Straight out of the box, I cleaned all the nasty packing grease out of it, tightened down the scope. Then I loaded it and tried to test the bolt action and feeding. I wouldn't feed a single round. No matter if I had 1, 2, 3, or 4 rounds in the magazine it wouldn't chamber. If I top loaded a single round over an empty magazine, the bullet would hit the lip of the barrel and either smash the tip into oblivion or shave half the lead soft tip off as it went into the barrel. I messed with it for quite some time and even took it to a gunsmith. He told me it needed major surgery and told me to send it back for repair. They sent me back a brand new one, which had the exact same issue. So I sold that piece of junk for half the price. Biggest firearm purchase mistake I've ever done. Don't even think about getting this thing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

The Remington name is not what it used to be.

Date:February 27, 2013
Remington 30-06 770 bolt action. I've owned many weapons over the years and have to say this is the worst I've had the (un) pleasure to have owned.
I'm a retired Air Force member and spent 15 years as a weapon instructor for every weapon the Air Force used, I also performed gunsmith duties during those years, never have I seen anything like this.
I've read a ton of reviews and they all seem to say this is a cheap rifle so you get what you pay for, that's true. I would expect to have low quality in the stock and other parts of the rifle, but not the bolt which should be one of the most dependable mechanisms of the weapon.
I took it out to fire the same day I purchased it, I first disassembled it cleaned it and oiled it up as I do with all new weapons prior to firing them. From bullet number one I had loading, jamming and extraction problems.
Whenever I tried to pull the brass out of the chamber the entire bolt assembly pulled out the back, and the bolt release lever was closed each time.
With that said I did notify Remington and they are going to work on the weapon and even pay for the shipment.
I know the gun is cheap, however when it comes to a firearm they should spend a little more on quality and, I can't recommend this weapon to anyone else in good conscience especially if they are Limited on money and the rifle can't be sent back for a refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Horrible

Date:April 27, 2012
They just tryed to make a better version of the remington 710. Rusts easily, horribly rough action with cheap magizine, couldn't even get the crosshairs to move on the scope. Waste of money. I bought it in 7mm rem mag. If you want a remington stick to the 700.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

I don't understand how it has such a high rating!

Date:March 11, 2012
Poor Rifle 7mm Win Mag
Poor Finish; rusts very easy while in wet weather
Poor Bolt Action; Bolt sticks open and closed positions
The screw that holds the upper assembly to the stock can effect the travel of the bolt if tightened a hair to far.
It is accurate but it all in all the rifle is not worth its salt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

WORST GUN I HAVE EVER PURCHASED

Date:September 6, 2011
The bolt is horrably loose and because of this it is very difficult to get a shell into the chamber. obviously the scope that is recieved with the gun is for optimal lighting conditions and basically for objects within 100 yrds. This rifle overall has a really bad bolt, scope, and quite a bit kick compared to other rifles out there. I would NOT recommend this gun to anyone!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: stma
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

just terrible

Date:August 5, 2011
i bought this rifl chambered with the .300 win mag. so disapointed. the first time i shot it the round got jamed. not a big deal i just clearded it. went to cycle another round into the chamber and the bolt jams. the bolt has so much play that when u try to put another round in the bolt goes in all crooked. i fired the second round off and pulled the bolt back and the bolt came right out of the chamber with the lock in the LOCKED position. i found it to be fairly accurate though. i use federal premium .300 win mag 180 grain. so all in all its pretty much a cool looking pile of garbage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: OR
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Remington Should Be Embarassed

Date:April 28, 2011
Poor quality top to bottom. Molded sling mounts that snap. Wobbly bolt. Feeds poorly. Magazine goes in rough. Poor finish on metals parts (showed rust on first night of my hunt). The plastic stock is soft and flexes. The safety is rough. No components are bedded, the barrell is actually screwed to the stock. It's been thoroughly cleaned and lubed with marginal improvements.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

TERRIBLE

Date:August 21, 2014
this is the worst gun I have every bought. every single one of the 770 has the same problem. when you pull the bolt back it wiggles the whole way. and one you have it all the way back it feels like it will just fall out. the only reason I gave it a 2 star instead of one is because its cheep. the only reason I bought the gun is because I needed something cheep just to have before deer season. if for any reason you get this gun ask to feel how the bolt is first before you buy it. DO NOT GET THIS GUN!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Love/Hate Relationship - 770/30.06

Date:November 20, 2012
First time shooting at the range the rear sling eyelet broke. Since this is a one piece stock, that means there's no easy fix. That by itself I would rate it a one star.
I gave it two stars because it's a great shooter. Nicely accurate, a pleasure to shoot. I can't vouch for it's effectiveness as it ages - and it's not an heirloom but it does shoot really well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Eastern Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't settle for this

Date:July 28, 2011
I bought the 300 win mag version of this rifle. First things first, trash the scope as soon as you get this. I had this rifle for a couple months before I was able to take it out, and when I did finally get it out I couldn't site it in. I figured I was a rusty shot but it was the scope. The cheap adjustments were broken and wouldn't adjust, no big deal I could replace that with a Nikon Prostaff.
The trigger is surprisingly better than expected, still not good but for the money I was expecting worse. I have an AR 15 with a stock trigger and that is much worse than this trigger. I did like the stock, I'm about 6' 190lbs with relatively large hands. But I also have a slip on limbsaver because 300 win mag dishes out a beating after 20 rounds =). Accuracy, 2-3 moa at 100 yards. I'm not a great shot but I know I'm better than that. It should get me by for this deer season but I am going to have to hope for close shots. I have tried several boxes of Federal Power-Shock in 150 and 180 grain and handloads with 168 grain Hornady BTHP powered by Varget or IMR 4350.
And now for the absolutely worst part of this rifle, the bolt. I have been using this for about 8 months and it has improved slightly. On a scale of 1-10 it started out as a 1 but has improved to a 3. Came out of the box very gritty and had problems closing the bolt. I still have problems "ramming it home" and the bolt gets stuck on the magazine when extracting cases if you don't pull it back fast.
Do yourself a favor and save your money, this was my first "deer" rifle (unless you count a mosin nagant lol) and I would rather get something that is accurate and has a functional bolt. For a little more money I would recommend a TC Venture, Weatherby Vanguard, or a lower end Remington 700.
P.S. My roommate bought one of these in .308 and has the same problems except his scope still works. I still recommend replacing the scope because the glass on it is awful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Remngton 770

Date:November 29, 2014
The Remington 770 is a cheaply made rifle. The rifle and scope are VERY low quality. That being said mine shot horribly out of the box shooting Remington, Winchester, & Federal premium ammunition . I added a Leupold vx-3 3.5-9x40 and the gun shot even worse. I put a cheap Tasco on top an it shot excellent. I was shottin 1/2" groups at 100 yards with Tasco. The action is very rough but if you take your rifle apart and work down the bolt with steel wool and clean and lubricate the bolt it gets much smoother. I will be using this gun as my brush gun, as i have a much more accurate and higher quality Winchester Model 70 Featherweight. Overall with the work ive done the gun has significantly improved, but i will not buy another 770. Will not buy another Remington rifle unless it says model 700 on the side.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good gun for the money

Date:October 1, 2014
bolt is a little sticky hit it with some oil worked it around some seems fine other than that good budget rifle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Boise, ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not terrible but a little rough.

Date:April 14, 2010
I got this rifle in .308 because I didn't want to take a $800 rifle into the field to get banged around. I had it one day and the front 'swivel stud' that's integrated into the stock broke clean off. Not a huge problem cuz I had a spare swivel stud lying around. As I was drilling the stock for the new stud though, it cracked up the middle where the 2 halves of the stock had been molded together...BIG problem. Even though this was technically my fault, it broke way too easily. I sucked it up and got in touch with Remington and asked where I could BUY a stock but they said, "Don't worry about it, we'll send you a new one." My new stock was here in less than a week. There's a reason I LOVE Remington and their customer service is a huge part of it. I still won't use the factory swivel stud though. I put an Uncle Mikes stud through the side of the stock about 6 inches back from the front and it works alot better. Sits on the shoulder better too. Ok...that was the stock. On to the rest...the bolt throw is stiff as heck but nothing a little polish job can't ease up a little. Now the best part. Accuracy is great! After sighting in the scope (which is just ok but you'll probably want something a little better) I was able to shoot consistent 3/4in groups at 100 yards using 165gr. Hornady BTSP.
Bottom line is that this rifle is extremely rough around the edges but for a hunting rifle/truck gun, it's what it is supposed to be. For the price, I would definitely recommend it because of the accuracy alone. The other stuff is fairly easy to take care of.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

questionable

Date:December 9, 2009
I purchased this gun in hopes of having a rifle to hunt with for a long time. The problem is, the bolt has become loose and doesn't expel or load the bullet without hesitation or without catching. I will be sending my rifle in after the season to be serviced and hopefully they can fix it, but it's an inconvenience to me and costs me more money. I will say on the positive side that with my first shot with this rifle, I dropped a massive 10-point buck from about 250 yds away with the stock scope still attached. So the rifle is powerful and the scope isn't too bad either. I would buy remington again, but I haven't talked to their customer service people yet, so we'll see what happens there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not bad for the money

Date:November 26, 2014
Bought this in a .300 Win Mag. Out of the box it was shooting 2 MOA using Remington 180 grn SP box ammo. Pretty bad. But after some free floating work, glass bedding and much needed missionary work on the trigger and bolt the groups tightened up to >1 MOA.
If I had to do it again I would just get the 700 ADL. It is not much more and would shoot just as good if not better right out of the box. However, I love a good project and I am happy with how the rifle shoots. I now have a good rifle for a good price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun for the price

Date:November 25, 2014
I bought this in Sept in .308,took it Deer Hunting this month,zeroed in the scope,which needs to be upgraded.Its not the greatest scope but works for this year..Great shot group in 9 rounds.Lightweight and really smooth shooting.Bolt is a little sticky but after polishing it with my dremel,and lubing it plus shooting a box of shells it loosened up a bit,just needs to be broken in..great rifle for the price..Id recommend it if your on a budget like I am..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Model 770

Date:August 30, 2014
I bought this gun some time ago, put it away and forgot about it. On discovering my new gun, I too it hunting in Kansas. Put some shell in it and waited. I shot my deer that same morning without ever firing it before! Right out of the box it was awesome! Yep, going to keep my 30-06 model 770!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Rifle

Date:January 29, 2013
I bought this rifle as my first rifle, I knew that I would want a .30cal round for deer hunting and target shooting with a common ammunition. I also didn't want to spend a crazy amount of money for my first rifle. After looking at all the rifles and with a recommendation for this rifle in .30-06 I decided to get it because it is everything that I wanted and everything that I would need, and nothing overkill. I love the overall feel of the rifle, it feels heavy and sturdy and well-built. The scope is very simple, 1 click=1/4in. The stock has grooves that I find nice to actually get a good hold of the gun. The action of the bolt isn't as free as I would like it to be right now, still a little tight, but <20 rounds have gone through it. Not too much kick from all the weight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Gun

Date:December 20, 2012
This gun works great! Sure the bolt stuck a little when i first got it.. but i oiled it up, and now its smooth. Also it is very accurate. At 100 yards with a bi-pod i can shoot 5 shots within a 50 cent piece.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Model 770 white tail pro

Date:December 10, 2012
I bought this rifle after being out of the hunting circuit for 25 years and just getting back in. I really liked the rifle when i looked it over at a gun show and bought because of the name Remington being associated with quality. I was wrong. As far as fun to shoot, accurate, and killing what you shoot at no problem. Mine is the 300 Winchester Magnum and the build quality is just not there.
The bolt is very sticky regardless of what type of oil you use to free it up so you better get your game with the first shot. The clip also does not go in and out with ease, very sticky also. The Bushnell 3X9 scope is in my opinion a very nice scope. At 150 yards I can keep the shots inside a 50 cent piece laying it across the hood of my truck. I guess for an entry level set it's OK but not near as good quality as the Winchester model 70 243 I bought for my daughter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 71