Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos

REMINGTON Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos

Enjoy famous Remington performance right out of the box in this range-ready rifle/scope combo. Model 770 rifle includes a premounted and boresighted 3-9x40 scope. Features an easy-camming 60° bolt and ultra-accurate, six-groove, button-rifled barrel. Loading and unloading is fast and safe, thanks to a detachable box magazine. Other advancements include a new, ergonomically contoured stock with a raised cheekpiece for fast scope-to-eye alignment. Textured fore end enhance control in any weather. Molded Sling Swivel studs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.984 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 64 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
7
54 out of 64(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Review 1 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Piece of Junk!

Date:August 10, 2014
Bought this sad excuse for a rifle back in early 2013. Straight out of the box, I cleaned all the nasty packing grease out of it, tightened down the scope. Then I loaded it and tried to test the bolt action and feeding. I wouldn't feed a single round. No matter if I had 1, 2, 3, or 4 rounds in the magazine it wouldn't chamber. If I top loaded a single round over an empty magazine, the bullet would hit the lip of the barrel and either smash the tip into oblivion or shave half the lead soft tip off as it went into the barrel. I messed with it for quite some time and even took it to a gunsmith. He told me it needed major surgery and told me to send it back for repair. They sent me back a brand new one, which had the exact same issue. So I sold that piece of junk for half the price. Biggest firearm purchase mistake I've ever done. Don't even think about getting this thing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

The Remington name is not what it used to be.

Date:February 27, 2013
Remington 30-06 770 bolt action. I've owned many weapons over the years and have to say this is the worst I've had the (un) pleasure to have owned.
I'm a retired Air Force member and spent 15 years as a weapon instructor for every weapon the Air Force used, I also performed gunsmith duties during those years, never have I seen anything like this.
I've read a ton of reviews and they all seem to say this is a cheap rifle so you get what you pay for, that's true. I would expect to have low quality in the stock and other parts of the rifle, but not the bolt which should be one of the most dependable mechanisms of the weapon.
I took it out to fire the same day I purchased it, I first disassembled it cleaned it and oiled it up as I do with all new weapons prior to firing them. From bullet number one I had loading, jamming and extraction problems.
Whenever I tried to pull the brass out of the chamber the entire bolt assembly pulled out the back, and the bolt release lever was closed each time.
With that said I did notify Remington and they are going to work on the weapon and even pay for the shipment.
I know the gun is cheap, however when it comes to a firearm they should spend a little more on quality and, I can't recommend this weapon to anyone else in good conscience especially if they are Limited on money and the rifle can't be sent back for a refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Horrible

Date:April 27, 2012
They just tryed to make a better version of the remington 710. Rusts easily, horribly rough action with cheap magizine, couldn't even get the crosshairs to move on the scope. Waste of money. I bought it in 7mm rem mag. If you want a remington stick to the 700.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

I don't understand how it has such a high rating!

Date:March 11, 2012
Poor Rifle 7mm Win Mag
Poor Finish; rusts very easy while in wet weather
Poor Bolt Action; Bolt sticks open and closed positions
The screw that holds the upper assembly to the stock can effect the travel of the bolt if tightened a hair to far.
It is accurate but it all in all the rifle is not worth its salt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

WORST GUN I HAVE EVER PURCHASED

Date:September 6, 2011
The bolt is horrably loose and because of this it is very difficult to get a shell into the chamber. obviously the scope that is recieved with the gun is for optimal lighting conditions and basically for objects within 100 yrds. This rifle overall has a really bad bolt, scope, and quite a bit kick compared to other rifles out there. I would NOT recommend this gun to anyone!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: stma
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

just terrible

Date:August 5, 2011
i bought this rifl chambered with the .300 win mag. so disapointed. the first time i shot it the round got jamed. not a big deal i just clearded it. went to cycle another round into the chamber and the bolt jams. the bolt has so much play that when u try to put another round in the bolt goes in all crooked. i fired the second round off and pulled the bolt back and the bolt came right out of the chamber with the lock in the LOCKED position. i found it to be fairly accurate though. i use federal premium .300 win mag 180 grain. so all in all its pretty much a cool looking pile of garbage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: OR
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Remington Should Be Embarassed

Date:April 28, 2011
Poor quality top to bottom. Molded sling mounts that snap. Wobbly bolt. Feeds poorly. Magazine goes in rough. Poor finish on metals parts (showed rust on first night of my hunt). The plastic stock is soft and flexes. The safety is rough. No components are bedded, the barrell is actually screwed to the stock. It's been thoroughly cleaned and lubed with marginal improvements.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

TERRIBLE

Date:August 21, 2014
this is the worst gun I have every bought. every single one of the 770 has the same problem. when you pull the bolt back it wiggles the whole way. and one you have it all the way back it feels like it will just fall out. the only reason I gave it a 2 star instead of one is because its cheep. the only reason I bought the gun is because I needed something cheep just to have before deer season. if for any reason you get this gun ask to feel how the bolt is first before you buy it. DO NOT GET THIS GUN!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Love/Hate Relationship - 770/30.06

Date:November 20, 2012
First time shooting at the range the rear sling eyelet broke. Since this is a one piece stock, that means there's no easy fix. That by itself I would rate it a one star.
I gave it two stars because it's a great shooter. Nicely accurate, a pleasure to shoot. I can't vouch for it's effectiveness as it ages - and it's not an heirloom but it does shoot really well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Eastern Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't settle for this

Date:July 28, 2011
I bought the 300 win mag version of this rifle. First things first, trash the scope as soon as you get this. I had this rifle for a couple months before I was able to take it out, and when I did finally get it out I couldn't site it in. I figured I was a rusty shot but it was the scope. The cheap adjustments were broken and wouldn't adjust, no big deal I could replace that with a Nikon Prostaff.
The trigger is surprisingly better than expected, still not good but for the money I was expecting worse. I have an AR 15 with a stock trigger and that is much worse than this trigger. I did like the stock, I'm about 6' 190lbs with relatively large hands. But I also have a slip on limbsaver because 300 win mag dishes out a beating after 20 rounds =). Accuracy, 2-3 moa at 100 yards. I'm not a great shot but I know I'm better than that. It should get me by for this deer season but I am going to have to hope for close shots. I have tried several boxes of Federal Power-Shock in 150 and 180 grain and handloads with 168 grain Hornady BTHP powered by Varget or IMR 4350.
And now for the absolutely worst part of this rifle, the bolt. I have been using this for about 8 months and it has improved slightly. On a scale of 1-10 it started out as a 1 but has improved to a 3. Came out of the box very gritty and had problems closing the bolt. I still have problems "ramming it home" and the bolt gets stuck on the magazine when extracting cases if you don't pull it back fast.
Do yourself a favor and save your money, this was my first "deer" rifle (unless you count a mosin nagant lol) and I would rather get something that is accurate and has a functional bolt. For a little more money I would recommend a TC Venture, Weatherby Vanguard, or a lower end Remington 700.
P.S. My roommate bought one of these in .308 and has the same problems except his scope still works. I still recommend replacing the scope because the glass on it is awful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Boise, ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not terrible but a little rough.

Date:April 14, 2010
I got this rifle in .308 because I didn't want to take a $800 rifle into the field to get banged around. I had it one day and the front 'swivel stud' that's integrated into the stock broke clean off. Not a huge problem cuz I had a spare swivel stud lying around. As I was drilling the stock for the new stud though, it cracked up the middle where the 2 halves of the stock had been molded together...BIG problem. Even though this was technically my fault, it broke way too easily. I sucked it up and got in touch with Remington and asked where I could BUY a stock but they said, "Don't worry about it, we'll send you a new one." My new stock was here in less than a week. There's a reason I LOVE Remington and their customer service is a huge part of it. I still won't use the factory swivel stud though. I put an Uncle Mikes stud through the side of the stock about 6 inches back from the front and it works alot better. Sits on the shoulder better too. Ok...that was the stock. On to the rest...the bolt throw is stiff as heck but nothing a little polish job can't ease up a little. Now the best part. Accuracy is great! After sighting in the scope (which is just ok but you'll probably want something a little better) I was able to shoot consistent 3/4in groups at 100 yards using 165gr. Hornady BTSP.
Bottom line is that this rifle is extremely rough around the edges but for a hunting rifle/truck gun, it's what it is supposed to be. For the price, I would definitely recommend it because of the accuracy alone. The other stuff is fairly easy to take care of.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

questionable

Date:December 9, 2009
I purchased this gun in hopes of having a rifle to hunt with for a long time. The problem is, the bolt has become loose and doesn't expel or load the bullet without hesitation or without catching. I will be sending my rifle in after the season to be serviced and hopefully they can fix it, but it's an inconvenience to me and costs me more money. I will say on the positive side that with my first shot with this rifle, I dropped a massive 10-point buck from about 250 yds away with the stock scope still attached. So the rifle is powerful and the scope isn't too bad either. I would buy remington again, but I haven't talked to their customer service people yet, so we'll see what happens there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Rifle

Date:January 29, 2013
I bought this rifle as my first rifle, I knew that I would want a .30cal round for deer hunting and target shooting with a common ammunition. I also didn't want to spend a crazy amount of money for my first rifle. After looking at all the rifles and with a recommendation for this rifle in .30-06 I decided to get it because it is everything that I wanted and everything that I would need, and nothing overkill. I love the overall feel of the rifle, it feels heavy and sturdy and well-built. The scope is very simple, 1 click=1/4in. The stock has grooves that I find nice to actually get a good hold of the gun. The action of the bolt isn't as free as I would like it to be right now, still a little tight, but <20 rounds have gone through it. Not too much kick from all the weight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Gun

Date:December 20, 2012
This gun works great! Sure the bolt stuck a little when i first got it.. but i oiled it up, and now its smooth. Also it is very accurate. At 100 yards with a bi-pod i can shoot 5 shots within a 50 cent piece.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Model 770 white tail pro

Date:December 10, 2012
I bought this rifle after being out of the hunting circuit for 25 years and just getting back in. I really liked the rifle when i looked it over at a gun show and bought because of the name Remington being associated with quality. I was wrong. As far as fun to shoot, accurate, and killing what you shoot at no problem. Mine is the 300 Winchester Magnum and the build quality is just not there.
The bolt is very sticky regardless of what type of oil you use to free it up so you better get your game with the first shot. The clip also does not go in and out with ease, very sticky also. The Bushnell 3X9 scope is in my opinion a very nice scope. At 150 yards I can keep the shots inside a 50 cent piece laying it across the hood of my truck. I guess for an entry level set it's OK but not near as good quality as the Winchester model 70 243 I bought for my daughter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

30-06 Great for field rifle

Date:September 29, 2012
I have read many reviews about this rifle both good and bad. Let me first say I bought this rifle used, but it had only been fired a few times. Previous owner said it had to much kick. Prior to shooting, I broke down the gun and cleaned it thoroughly. Took it to range and first 5 shots missed paper at 100 yards. I moved target back to 30 yards and got 3 rounds in about a 1.5" group. This group was low and to the left about 5". After another 12 rounds to home in the scope, 3 rounds at 100 hit paper with a 4" group. Not bad for first time at range.
The bolt is a little stubborn but patience is the key. Mag misfed 3 rounds, but just remove mag and clear rifle. No big deal. The metal for the bolt is brittle, so be careful when cleaning. I knocked off a small piece when disassembling, but filed it. All worked out fine.
Is this a rifle I would recommend...Yes. Is it a competition rifle...No. If you want a gun that you can take in the woods and abuse, then this will be fine. Just be good to it, clean it and be patient.
As for the kick...like a mule with the 30-06.
Happy Hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I guess it just depends on the gun

Date:September 27, 2012
I have read many of the bad reviews of this gun, but the reviews of others should not deter you from making your own.
Maybe i got lucky, but my action in my .270 is smooth. I will agree with others, it is no 700 action. BUT, THIS GUN IS NOT MADE TO COMPARE WITH THE 700. It is designed to be a entry level gun with a budget in mind. I handled a few 770 in the store, and i did notice that some of the actions were smoother then others. I got a nice smooth one so no complaints there. I have been to the range on three separate occasions, totaling a count of 120 rounds so far. with each cycling of the bolt i notice that it is breaking in and getting smoother.
The scope leaves a little to be desired but is still capable of getting the job done. the first shot at 25 yards was 4inches low and 2inches left. After a couple adjustments and 5 shots later, it was zeroed in where i wanted it.
This gun is also deadly accurate. At 100 yds after fine tuning adjustments, in a 3 shot goup in groups about .50 moa with the remington core-lokt 130gr.
Bottom line is, maybe you will get lucky like i have gotten and get a nice good gun with no problems or complaints. Or, maybe you are looking for a decent gun for a budget price and goes BOOM when you pull the trigger.
This gun will definitely do the job if all you are looking for is venison.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Model 770

Date:June 1, 2012
The only reason this rifle will get a four star rating from me is the bolt, it's a bit sticky. I bought this one in 300 Win. Mag. for Bear, Elk, and Moose hunting but I like it too much now it is my turn to gun. I hunt everything from Coyote on up with it.
For me it's comfortable and easy to shoot and mine from a bench gives me .68-.78 in. groups with Pvri 180 soft points at 100 yards.
Does this 770 stack up against higher priced rifles like people keep comparing it to...no and it's not meant to. It's a decent rifle out of the box, bolts a bit sticky sure, but look at what you are spending for it. It's meant as an economy rifle and it fits it to a T.
For the price it works, it shoots when you pull the trigger, operate the bolt and it ready again. Don't like the bolt, don't miss.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good gun for the money

Date:October 26, 2011
these are decent guns for the money and the average hunter who may shoot 20 shots a year.. i have one in the 7mm rem mag and the 243 youth model for my wife.. bought them for hunting deer so if while in the snow you trip and fall you dont need to worry about scratching your $1000 gun..
if that is what you are looking for in these riffles look somewhere else.. the bolts are sloppy and the scopes are cheap and the gun itself is pretty cheap looking but remember you are buying a $250 to $300 dollar rifle..
so like i said if your looking for a 3 to 500 yard tack driver this isnt it but for the woods of PA with 80 to 150 yard shots i can say my misses where not of the guns doing and if you miss and you complain about the bolt than take better aim the first time...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: St Louis, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect for me

Date:September 12, 2011
I purchased this last year just after deer season so I could get used to it to take out deer hunting this season. I love it. Of course I am a practical person and was not looking for the latest and greatest to brag about, just something practical and durable. I have had no problems at all with functionality of any parts, including the bolt others have complained about. My bolt action is smooth. Especially considering the price tag. Groups are tight and accuracy is great. I would give it five stars if Remington sold this gun with the Super Cell Recoil Pad, Because this baby is light and in 30-06 it kicks. So I just ordered the super cell recoil pad from Remington. Can't wait for it to get here so I can head back to the range and try it. In case anyone else needs one Remington said Super cell for the 700 is the one that fits.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 64