Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos

REMINGTON Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos

Enjoy famous Remington performance right out of the box in this range-ready rifle/scope combo. Model 770 rifle includes a premounted and boresighted 3-9x40 scope. Features an easy-camming 60° bolt and ultra-accurate, six-groove, button-rifled barrel. Loading and unloading is fast and safe, thanks to a detachable box magazine. Other advancements include a new, ergonomically contoured stock with a raised cheekpiece for fast scope-to-eye alignment. Textured fore end enhance control in any weather. Molded Sling Swivel studs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.984 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 64 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
7
54 out of 64(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Review 21 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Budget Rifle

Date:September 23, 2011
Have the 30-06 version of the 770. Great rifle for the price. Bolt was a little sticky but some shooting and cleaning took care of that problem.
1 1/2 - 2 Inch groups at 100 yrds which is really the longest shot i'm going to get where I hunt. Very happy with it 5 Stars excellent Budget rifle.
If you want a something similar to a sniper rifle and are looking at taking some long shots this is not the rifle for you. As for begginers and someone trying to get a budget rifle and get out to the woods jump on this. Great rifle and fun to shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: St Louis, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect for me

Date:September 12, 2011
I purchased this last year just after deer season so I could get used to it to take out deer hunting this season. I love it. Of course I am a practical person and was not looking for the latest and greatest to brag about, just something practical and durable. I have had no problems at all with functionality of any parts, including the bolt others have complained about. My bolt action is smooth. Especially considering the price tag. Groups are tight and accuracy is great. I would give it five stars if Remington sold this gun with the Super Cell Recoil Pad, Because this baby is light and in 30-06 it kicks. So I just ordered the super cell recoil pad from Remington. Can't wait for it to get here so I can head back to the range and try it. In case anyone else needs one Remington said Super cell for the 700 is the one that fits.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: East TN
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great 243 for the price

Date:September 11, 2011
Bought gun today for my 9 year old son(first rifle). I fired three shot at 100 yards and hit 2 inch group. Bolt very sticky,hopefully will correct itself. My son and I love the gun. Thinking bout taking it instead of my 700 .270. Dont expect sniper rifle for this cost!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

WORST GUN I HAVE EVER PURCHASED

Date:September 6, 2011
The bolt is horrably loose and because of this it is very difficult to get a shell into the chamber. obviously the scope that is recieved with the gun is for optimal lighting conditions and basically for objects within 100 yrds. This rifle overall has a really bad bolt, scope, and quite a bit kick compared to other rifles out there. I would NOT recommend this gun to anyone!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: stma
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

just terrible

Date:August 5, 2011
i bought this rifl chambered with the .300 win mag. so disapointed. the first time i shot it the round got jamed. not a big deal i just clearded it. went to cycle another round into the chamber and the bolt jams. the bolt has so much play that when u try to put another round in the bolt goes in all crooked. i fired the second round off and pulled the bolt back and the bolt came right out of the chamber with the lock in the LOCKED position. i found it to be fairly accurate though. i use federal premium .300 win mag 180 grain. so all in all its pretty much a cool looking pile of garbage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Eastern Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't settle for this

Date:July 28, 2011
I bought the 300 win mag version of this rifle. First things first, trash the scope as soon as you get this. I had this rifle for a couple months before I was able to take it out, and when I did finally get it out I couldn't site it in. I figured I was a rusty shot but it was the scope. The cheap adjustments were broken and wouldn't adjust, no big deal I could replace that with a Nikon Prostaff.
The trigger is surprisingly better than expected, still not good but for the money I was expecting worse. I have an AR 15 with a stock trigger and that is much worse than this trigger. I did like the stock, I'm about 6' 190lbs with relatively large hands. But I also have a slip on limbsaver because 300 win mag dishes out a beating after 20 rounds =). Accuracy, 2-3 moa at 100 yards. I'm not a great shot but I know I'm better than that. It should get me by for this deer season but I am going to have to hope for close shots. I have tried several boxes of Federal Power-Shock in 150 and 180 grain and handloads with 168 grain Hornady BTHP powered by Varget or IMR 4350.
And now for the absolutely worst part of this rifle, the bolt. I have been using this for about 8 months and it has improved slightly. On a scale of 1-10 it started out as a 1 but has improved to a 3. Came out of the box very gritty and had problems closing the bolt. I still have problems "ramming it home" and the bolt gets stuck on the magazine when extracting cases if you don't pull it back fast.
Do yourself a favor and save your money, this was my first "deer" rifle (unless you count a mosin nagant lol) and I would rather get something that is accurate and has a functional bolt. For a little more money I would recommend a TC Venture, Weatherby Vanguard, or a lower end Remington 700.
P.S. My roommate bought one of these in .308 and has the same problems except his scope still works. I still recommend replacing the scope because the glass on it is awful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Omaha, NE
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good starting rifle

Date:June 21, 2011
Purchased the Remington 770 in 270 WIN about 3 yrs ago. I am pleased with it beings that it was my first hunting rifle. A little heavy for being a plastic stock. Very accurate out of the box. Shot a 1" group at a hundred yards using Winchester Power Points last time I sighted it in. Does not seem to like Hornady ammo. The bolt is hard to open after firing them. Not sure why. As for the bolt itself, it needed some breaking in. It was sticking and wobbles. Helps if you pull it/push it straight out/in. After about the first box of ammo at the range, either it started loosening up or I just learned how to operate the bolt efficiently. Now it cycles just fine. The bushnell scope that came with it has served me just fine. Overall, I know there are better rifles out there, but for the money and someone's first gun, IMHO, you cannot go wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: OR
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Remington Should Be Embarassed

Date:April 28, 2011
Poor quality top to bottom. Molded sling mounts that snap. Wobbly bolt. Feeds poorly. Magazine goes in rough. Poor finish on metals parts (showed rust on first night of my hunt). The plastic stock is soft and flexes. The safety is rough. No components are bedded, the barrell is actually screwed to the stock. It's been thoroughly cleaned and lubed with marginal improvements.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lincoln,NE
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good gun out of box

Date:March 29, 2011
i just bought this gun yesterday. far as i concerned, gun could be made little better. bolt is sticky/dirty. i would just clean, oil it then it should be good to go. but i havent done it >_<. since its my first rifle to own. dont be scared to buy one. just remember you get for price you paid. anyway i like design except wieght is kinda heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Peoria, AZ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great first rifle

Date:March 6, 2011
This is the first rifle I've ever bought so I have nothing to compare it to. I've put about 50 rounds through it at the range. I can't complain at all. I've read lots of complaints about the bolt not sliding as good as more expensive rifles. I don't doubt it but to me it's not that bad. I'd recommend this to someone just looking to go target shooting as well as hunting. I don't doubt this will do the job out in the field. I got the .270 caliber. If you're thinking about buying this, you won't be sorry. Clean it before you shoot it and you'll do just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great

Date:January 23, 2011
its a overall awsome rifle for the price you cant beat it its acurate right out of the box and is amazing in the 7mm mag
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fortville, In
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

270 for Christmas

Date:January 11, 2011
My wife got me this rifle in 270win for Christmas.
I couldn't wait to test fire it, and when I did...Wow was it scoped in.
Never even touched the scope adjustments.
Smooth shooting and acurate right out of the box at 100-200 yds.
Only thing was the bolt was a little rough, so I shot it with Remlube and smooth as can be.
Great rifle for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ovilla, TX
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Clip

Date:January 9, 2011
I bought this Remington 770 in 30-06 and when i got home i took it out of the box and took out the clip to start getting a feel for things when the clip release button broke off, my first thought was PLASTIC! Then i remembered this gun was on display and my guess is that they let others mess around with it and messed it up. I havent shot it yet but feels firm and when i get this clip fixed im hoping it with be a good shooter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Western Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Gun

Date:January 8, 2011
bught this in a .300 win mag this is a nice gun shots very well just one draw back in this gun is that the bolt likes to stick hope this will get better over time it doesn't kick to bad just a little more then my 270 it hold a good group and the price was right
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: No. Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

As advertised

Date:January 3, 2011
770-300 win mag. Picked this up on Friday and shot it Sunday. Out of the box accurate as advertised. It's a little on the light side so I added a better recoil pad to help reduce the thump. I bought this to replace a 25 year old model 70-30.06. Cabelas gun counter staff are always there to help if you have questions which is really appreciated.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Delano, MN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect

Date:December 7, 2010
I read all the reviews on forums, etc. I even tried some 770's in the store. Many had sticky actions. I brought mine home, cleaned it up and realized that just like my old mauser the bolt works very smooth if you slide it straight in, not up and in like many people do. The scope isn't perfect, but neither are my eyes. Plus, I am not taking photos through it, I am hunting. Hey, I am 60 years old and I have owned a mauser, sks, 303 enfield, winchester 30-30, etc. This is the most modern rifle I have owned and it is perfect for deer hunting in Minnesota. I love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fairhope,Al
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It will kill a deer

Date:December 2, 2010
Before purchasing this rifle,I ofcourse did some research on the internet,and I also talked to a friend of mine that had one chambered in 30-06. I bought the .300 mag version. My buddy told me about a problem with the clip,and on the internet you can read reviews (and see videos) of the barrels splitting after shooting these guns. I don't know if those people just had bad luck or what,but my barrel is just fine,and I have killed deer with it. I will say that I have a problem with my clip,just like my friend does with his 30-06. After you fire a round,a good bit of the time the next shell in the clip doesn't want to be picked up by the bolt and put into the chamber. My friend bought a new clip for his,and his problem was solved. I havn't bought a new clip for mine. Besides,I prefer to only take one shot while hunting. If for some reason I miss,oh well,I should have made the 1 shot count. The bolt is a little tricky,and I have to use my fist on it sometimes to get it to go down all the way after putting a round in the chamber. Bottom line this is a good gun for the money. You can't expect to get the performance of a $700+ gun,for a $300 or so price (mine was more expensive when I bought it) It's a good gun that kill deer,and if any of you should get discouraged by any of the negative reviews you see on youtube or anywhere on the internet,remember reading my review. I have killed 7 deer with my gun,in less than a year. Also,the day after I bought the gun,I took it to the shooting range. I have never been able to sight in a gun that quickly. Usually when you put a scope on a gun, it barely hits paper at 50 yards. Well,this one was hitting paper at 100 yards out of the box. It needed some tweaking,but it didn't take long at all. I've tried various ammo with it and I seem to get the best results with 180 grain bullets. Personally I use winchester supreme ballistic tips, however I used remington core-lokt to sight it in. Both of them are great choices. The gun doesn't seem to kick as bad as some of the other .300 mags that I've shot. HAPPY HUNTING.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bang for your buck

Date:November 30, 2010
I bought the .270 model and right out of the box it was accurate at 200 yards, during the first 5 or so shots the bolt was a little touchy to reload but after putting a couple boxes through it it works like a champ. Durable gun would be a great buy for a first time gun buyer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Callaway, NE
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WHAT A BUY!!!

Date:November 25, 2010
this is a good gun for the price i payed for it. it is accurate and it is durable, the only problem that I have found in this rifle is that the bold can get a little hard to open one in a while when you blow off a shell, other then that I had no trouble with this gun. GREAT FOR THE COST!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Remington® 770™ Bolt-Action Rifle and Scope Combos
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Brighton, MI
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great buy for the money

Date:November 24, 2010
well i picked one up for range time in a 30-06. the main reason i bought this gun was because my model 70. 300.wsm is expensive to take to the range and just shoot. after buying hornady sst. i found it to outpreform my expectations. so much that i went hunting with it. and the second day i had it out i shot a doe and she didnt even take a step. people think the bolt is stick, but if you spray dry lube on it will pretty much take care of the problem. all in all a great gun for the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 64