Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

Strike faster, farther and harder with the velocity increase this ammo delivers. By squeezing up to an extra 200 fps from every Superformance caliber with innovative propellants, Hornady flattens trajectory, reduces wind drift and delivers more smack-down energy on target – all with no increase in recoil or muzzleblast. Super-Shock Tip (SST) teams with a secant ogive profile to create a streamlined bullet that slices through the air to deliver amazing accuracy. An Interlock® ring ensures the bullet's core and match-grade jacket hold together for outstanding controlled expansion. Supercharge your rifle’s performance while enjoying the superior accuracy you expect from Hornady. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.363 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(240 Reviews) 240
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 240 reviews
5 Stars
182
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
12
1 Star
21
205 out of 240(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Review 41 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality product

Date:January 15, 2015
Great value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great performance

Date:January 13, 2015
This ammo grouped the best out of all of the commercial ammo I have used. Terminal performance was equally great. Got a shot at a buck on the last day of rifle season. The deer traveled about 18 inches straight down. I would highly recommend this ammo for whitetail hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Consistent at Long Range

Date:January 9, 2015
Consistent on range at 500+yds with a 300 win mag Browning SS LR hunting rifle.....My son harvested his first bull elk in AZ a very nice 6x6 at 430yds using the 300 win mag 180grn SST load....1-shot a little low in front shoulder....much damage...good kill
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Go to rifle ammunition

Date:January 6, 2015
I hunt with this every year and have no intention to change. Get great groups when taking target shots every year when leading up to hunting season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

300 mag 180 sst

Date:December 31, 2014
My particular rem. 700 shoots the superformance 180 sst load very well, 1/2 moa. That is why I used it on my Wyoming Muley hunt. I shot a huge buck that was that was slightly quartering at about 125 yards. The bullet was recovered between the ribs and the skin on the far side. The only bone the bullet struck was the rib cage on both sides of the deer, the bullet formed a perfect mushroom. In my opinion a 180 grain bullet shot from a 300 win. mag. should pass completely thru the rib cage of a deer at such close range. That being said , I feel these bullets are adequate for deer. I would be hesitant to use these particular bullets on Elk or Moose sized game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo!!!

Date:December 30, 2014
Hornady makes a very nice round for a far price. They all shoot the same each and every box load we shoot. It helps that they stay that way so you only need to check twice a year that you are still on target before the big hunt. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

180 Grain Lights Out Missile

Date:December 27, 2014
After drawing a late rifle Bull elk Tag for Arizona this past spring I decided I would give the 180 grain SST a try in my 300 Win Mag! After properly sighting in the rifle at the range and shooting sub MOA groups off the bench I decided to head for the mountains for some long range target practice. The SST did not disappoint. This is the flattest shooting bullet I have ever experienced and very accurate at long range. I practiced with it weekly for two months shooting everywhere between 100-500 yards and after careful consideration I determined I would hunt with this bullet. Once again the SST did not disappoint! The shot was at 400 yards. Clean & Quick Dirt Nap!! I'll say the SST is definitely a Big Game Hunting Bullet..
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super Ammo

Date:December 24, 2014
This stuff rocks. No really, this ammo is fantastic. Minimal recoil in my 30-06. Held a 3 shot group under a dime at 100 yards, 10 shots under a quarter.
Took a deer this year. One shot to the vitals at 150 yards is all it took. The wound channel was devastating. Dropped right where it was hit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady SST ammo

Date:December 18, 2014
Switched this year to the Hornady SST for my favorite deer rifle. Had used different manufacturer in past. Very happy with the speed, accuracy, and hitting power of this bullet and load. Great quality and consistency for a factory load. Dropped this years deer in it's tracks at 110 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

300 WinMag SST Superformance

Date:December 16, 2014
Excellent ammo. I have used it for 6 years in both 165 gr and 180 gr, Accuracy is consistent in all weather conditions. I have only one animal take more than one step and that was my fault due to a hurried shot. Hornady ammo is always my first choice for ammo in my 300 WinMag and 7mm RemMag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exelent ammo

Date:December 16, 2014
This year I used a rifle to hunt in South Western New York for Deer season. This ammo shoots flat and hits hard. I was able to make a shot on my buck that I would not have been able to with a shotgun and a slug.
Excellent ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exceptional Ammo

Date:December 9, 2014
It's Hornady, you can't go wrong. The superformance is more consistant and and shoots flat in 7mm-08 Browning X-Bolt. I will buy Hornady from here on out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoots Great, price not bad, but performs ???

Date:December 9, 2014
These are quality bullets and shoot spot on, but they explode like Bullistic bullets. useing a .270 130gr. I shot a WT doe at 75yrds, slightly quartering to me and it blew a softball size hole in the shoulder and did not exit. She ran only 20yrds, but fragments were many and meat loss was large. They do some real damage and will leave a bloodtrail, but penetration is not the best. Also, it took two to knock down this Large 270# Mulie. Overall, they shoot great, leave a good blood trail, but are questionable on bigger Deer and shoulder shots. I probably will continue to use them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome ammo

Date:December 9, 2014
my first experience with this ammo made a believer out of me instantly. My first shot at 200 yards was 8 inches higher than the ammo I had used for years. Not only faster but more accurate. This is all I will use in my rifles now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good value

Date:December 9, 2014
accurate shells. no issues with their performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:December 9, 2014
If your gun likes this it is a great product, I've shot several deer with it and non have gone further than 20 yards after being hit. I used this in a 30-06 with the 165 gr, bullets.. Solid performer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Ammo I've Ever Used

Date:December 3, 2014
I have a .338 Win Mag which I use for Whitetail deer hunting in Maine. I've used these 200 gr. bullets and one-shot kills are the norm. Fantastic penetration and shocking power. The deer drop on impact. Perfect performance!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Darned Good Ammo

Date:December 2, 2014
I've used Hornady for a few years now in .243. No complaints, killed a big 7 pointer this year at about 150 yards. Buck ran about 25 yards with a double lung shot, I watched him fall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Misfires

Date:December 2, 2014
Bought this for a Wyoming mulie hunt. Had to stalk and "jump" the deer. First trigger pull yielded a sickening "click". Deer ran, but fortunately gave me a second attempt. Could have ruined a very expensive guided hunt trip. Another hunter during my stay with this same outfitter, using different rifle/caliber but same "Superformance" ammo had THREE misfires, costing him the opportunity for a superior trophy.
I don't trust this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Impressed

Date:December 1, 2014
I was disappointed with the performance of another brand in my .243 so I switched to the SST. So far I have shot 3 deer with these and have been extremely impressed with their performance. I will be switching my other calibers when it's time to purchase more ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 240