Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

Strike faster, farther and harder with the velocity increase this ammo delivers. By squeezing up to an extra 200 fps from every Superformance caliber with innovative propellants, Hornady flattens trajectory, reduces wind drift and delivers more smack-down energy on target – all with no increase in recoil or muzzleblast. Super-Shock Tip (SST) teams with a secant ogive profile to create a streamlined bullet that slices through the air to deliver amazing accuracy. An Interlock® ring ensures the bullet's core and match-grade jacket hold together for outstanding controlled expansion. Supercharge your rifle’s performance while enjoying the superior accuracy you expect from Hornady. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.283 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(191 Reviews) 191
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 191 reviews
5 Stars
141
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
12
1 Star
19
158 out of 191(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Review 41 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:July 15, 2014
Very accurate ammo with great one shot kills on deer so far. Extremely happy with the performance and results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ammo review

Date:July 15, 2014
superformance sst in my 300 savage is the best I have used in it over 54 years of its use on deer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:July 9, 2014
My wife and I have shot several deer with this ammo, and it worked great on all of them. It's very accurate too out of her Ruger American Rifle and my Savage 16-116!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate and powerful

Date:June 16, 2014
My son in law and I just returned from South Africa. We both used 180 gr 3006 Superformance to take 6 animals with 8 shots. Phil took 2 shots to keep down a blk wildebeest that didn't know it was dead. I made a poor shot on a red hartebeest, broke top of foreleg, before finishing the job. These are terrific bullets. We won't be using anything else.
Btw,when sighting in I shot a 3 shot group of.3" with my Weatherby Vanguard,nikon monarch 3x12 and 180 superformance. If you shoot an 06, you should try it.
Bob
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Class Ammo

Date:May 24, 2014
My .300 Win Mag loves this stuff all the way out to 1000 yards.. I use the Hornady SST Superformance exclusively now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Only one to buy

Date:May 20, 2014
I've been shooting the SST for years by Hornady. If you want a sure kill it's the best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best factory ammo

Date:May 14, 2014
If you're undecided about what factory ammo to buy for your next hunt, try the Superformance SSt. I don't claim to be an expert, but I recently returned from my first hunting trip in Africa. I bought these simply because they were all that my local Bass pro had left. My good luck. I bought the 180 gr. 3006 sst, and they really did the job. Took 3 animals with 4 shots (my error on one). An impala shot head on entering center chest and exiting about 20 in. through the side. A blesbok through the heart, and a very large red hartebeest with 2 shots. The first broke the top of his left foreleg , the second in the heart. Very accurate ammo. Too bad the shooter, me, didn't allow enough drop on the hartebeest first shot. I reload, but for hunting, I'll be using these again. My son in law used the same ammo, and had similar results on a huge kudu, black wildebeest, and gemsbok.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best

Date:May 6, 2014
One of the most dead on billet I have ever shot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not so SUPER

Date:April 24, 2014
Out of my Tikka .243 I couldnt get a group under 1.5 at 100yds. The hornady costom 100gr psp grouped almost .75 at 100yds. The hornady 95gr sst non SUPER performance shot just as well. Hornady makes good ammo but this round did not perform well for me. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hard hitter

Date:April 22, 2014
I love this ammo. The Superformance ammo is a game changer for most rifles .The SST will take a whitetail off its feet and is extremely accurate in most rifles.My model 700 in 270 win will shoot 1 inch group at 200 yards . My 700 in 338 win will shoot a 1.5 inch group with the GMX 185 at 300 yard . I took a bull moose at 642 yards in Alaska with the 338 GMX 185 and the bullet expanded enough to kill yet still passed All the way though the animal . Simply the best factory ammo I have ever purchased !!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worth the wait!

Date:April 15, 2014
I waited for eight months for this order to be filled but was well worth the wait. This is a very reliable bullet for long range shots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo!

Date:April 8, 2014
I purchased two boxes of Hornady Superformance ammunition in 300 win mag tipped w/ SST 180 gr. bullets. The quality and performance of this ammo is fantastic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:March 26, 2014
One shot, one kill, 11 point buck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

" Best Ammo for 308 " !

Date:March 5, 2014
I have used several 308 ammo and I prefer the SST by Hornady to all others even other Hornady styles . It has great long range accuracy and shock on impact . I would recommend this product to anyone for any use .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammo

Date:January 8, 2014
great round for deer here in NY one shot kills with great expansion very short blood trails.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great accuracy!

Date:January 7, 2014
I am very happy with these bullets. I have no problem covering three shots up with a quarter at 100 yards . Great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shoots good

Date:January 7, 2014
Clean accurate shell
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:December 31, 2013
Switched to this ammo about 3 years ago. Had read some conflicting reviews about SST bullet performance, but I've shot elk and oryx with the 180 grain bullets and both took one shot. The elk was 456 yards and the orxy 260, This ammo was far and away more accurate than even my hand loads, and with the extra velocity, it hits like a hammer. My 35 year old rifle prints sub MOA groups with this ammo.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Whitetail On The Dinner Table

Date:December 27, 2013
Folks you can't go wrong with this ammunition. I use an old Conn Arms 30-06 with a Mauser 98 bolt action and this gun loves two things.....Hornady ammo and West Virginia. I recently went whitetail hunting on my parents farm in WV. It was about 3:00 in the afternoon and I was about to head home....then I saw her, a mature doe (with no fawns, I don't do that). Really nice mature doe. From 250 yards I scoped in....squeeze, squeeze,squeeze......BOOM. At first when she ran, I thought I totally missed the heart-lung target. Didn't want to track a deer into the evening.... Boy, was I wrong! She was "dead on her feet." Perfect hit right in the heart. She made it about 200 feet. I didn't break down the shoulder, thus why she didn't fall nose first. My old rifle is very critical of it's ammo and isn't afraid to show it, Hornady makes her happy every time! Cheers and good hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect

Date:December 17, 2013
Have used this ammo to kill several hogs and deer hasn't failed yet extremely accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 191