Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

Strike faster, farther and harder with the velocity increase this ammo delivers. By squeezing up to an extra 200 fps from every Superformance caliber with innovative propellants, Hornady flattens trajectory, reduces wind drift and delivers more smack-down energy on target – all with no increase in recoil or muzzleblast. Super-Shock Tip (SST) teams with a secant ogive profile to create a streamlined bullet that slices through the air to deliver amazing accuracy. An Interlock® ring ensures the bullet's core and match-grade jacket hold together for outstanding controlled expansion. Supercharge your rifle’s performance while enjoying the superior accuracy you expect from Hornady. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.332 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(211 Reviews) 211
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 211 reviews
5 Stars
158
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
12
1 Star
19
178 out of 211(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Review 41 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tight

Date:October 28, 2014
These seemed to be more consistent and a tighter grouping than other brands I have tried at 100 yrds in my 30-06. So far I would say they are worth the extra money. Deer season is around the corner and time will tell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:October 28, 2014
This is very accurate ammo, I have taken several hogs an whitetail bucks. Really does the job on a quick kill!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:October 28, 2014
Tried this in 2 different calibers out of curiosity. Got some of the tightest groups of any factory ammo I've ever shot. Its even hard to beat this with hand loads. I highly recommend trying this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Accuracy

Date:October 28, 2014
I recently built a 6mm Remington varmint/target rifle with a 1:8 twist barrel. Frankly, the Hornady 95 grain SSTs should have over-stabilized in my barrel. It is a testimony to the quality of the bullets in this ammo that they shot extremely well. 3 holes touching at 150 yards!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superformance ammo works!

Date:October 21, 2014
Deer take dirt naps with what is the closest thing to guaranteed accuracy as you can get with ANY ammo. I have taken 6 whitetails with this ammo and all 6 dropped where they stood....no blood trailing needed. Shots ranged as close as 80yds to as far as 350yds average was 150yds. For as good as this ammo is you would expect to pay even more although you do pay a little bit more than your average ammo but it's worth every cent. Look no further. Remington 700 and 783 both in .30-06.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammo

Date:October 14, 2014
Pros: Very consistent and/or accurate round. Can easily hit 1.5-2" MOA @100 yards with a Savage Axis .308 (150gr) and wouldn't be surprised if the ammo could do even better with a nicer rifle.
I'd be lucky to get a 5" group with core-lokt.
Expands and blows a big hole out the back of a deer. I would say penetration is decent.
Each round has excellent uniformity. Ballistic tip does not deform when loading from the magazine.
Cons:
Bullet fragments very quickly.
For the price point it is very similar to Barnes Vortex type ammunition. I consider Barnes Vortex type ammo to be superior in design, performance and penetration.
There is nothing wrong with Hornady Superformance SST it just doesn't out perform the Barnes Vortex and isn't any cheaper so then... I'd rather be using Barnes Vortex .308 (150gr).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Impressed!

Date:October 14, 2014
The absolute best out of box ammo I have ever shot. I typically reload but decided to try the SST on the recommendation of a friend. Dialed in to a 1" grouping at 200 yards. Will definitely stick with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

three strikes and you're out

Date:October 12, 2014
Wanted to like this ammo; ballistics look great on paper. However I have tried it in all three of my hunting rifles and it tripled the group size (from about 1.5" to 4.5") in each one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:October 7, 2014
This is the best ammunition I have found and use it for all my rifles. It has never disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My go-to round for..everything!

Date:October 1, 2014
Consistent, accurate, deadly...what else do you need? My last 7 shots on game with this ammo has netted 2 whitetail bucks, 3 bull elk, 1 cow elk, and a Canadian wolf, at ranges from 20 to 350 yards. I shoot a 7 mag in 139 grain SST superformance. Zeroed at 200 with a 3" drop at 300. Best part is I can always find it on the shelf, year after year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome factory ammo

Date:September 30, 2014
I bought this ammo for my antelope hunt in Nevada. I used a 243 caliber rifle. This ammo is great it groups as close as well done reloads. Hits hard and is accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Confidence

Date:September 30, 2014
Hornady products are always excellent. Count on this to get the job done!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great purchase

Date:September 30, 2014
Nice sales people, great service as always. Product is top shelf.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SST rifle ammo

Date:September 30, 2014
Hornady puts out some great ammo. In my concentricity gauge this stuff was spot on. Caliber is the 300 RCM.
Have not tested it on game as of yet but have absolute confidence it will perform on deer size game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady ammo

Date:September 26, 2014
Good accurate ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Accuracy

Date:September 18, 2014
I could not get better than 4" groups with my model 700 BDL 270win. With this load...Although it will shoot plain Winchester power points m.o.a. at 100yrds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

Date:September 3, 2014
A little pricey, but this ammo has great precision and accuracy. Still has great knock down power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

DIDN'T WORK FOR ME

Date:August 19, 2014
Bought these for bench shooting a pre '63 Winchester Mod. 70. Not a lot of factory "match grade" ammo for an '.06. This particular gun did not like this ammo at all; even at 100 yds. groupings were more than 2 inches. It seems to like Sierra hpbt bullets. I'll be getting into reloading in a few weeks and i'll try making my own.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Manufactured Ammo

Date:August 4, 2014
Well worth the price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

poor accuracy

Date:August 1, 2014
I have tried 8 different loads in 4 different calibers and have never found this to be just the right load. Usually get 2 inch groups or more at 100. Other loads will hit sub MOA in my rifles but not this. I want to like it as the concept and bullet are good. Just hasn't worked out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 211