Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

Strike faster, farther and harder with the velocity increase this ammo delivers. By squeezing up to an extra 200 fps from every Superformance caliber with innovative propellants, Hornady flattens trajectory, reduces wind drift and delivers more smack-down energy on target – all with no increase in recoil or muzzleblast. Super-Shock Tip (SST) teams with a secant ogive profile to create a streamlined bullet that slices through the air to deliver amazing accuracy. An Interlock® ring ensures the bullet's core and match-grade jacket hold together for outstanding controlled expansion. Supercharge your rifle’s performance while enjoying the superior accuracy you expect from Hornady. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.274 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(168 Reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 168 reviews
5 Stars
124
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
12
1 Star
17
139 out of 168(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Review 41 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This ammo is worth trying

Date:November 5, 2013
A few years back, a friend recommended I try Hornaday ammo in my rifles. After doing some research I found out Hornaday has some of the highest tolerances from box to box of any brand. Switched my wife's 270 caliber to this round we get a better tighter pattern, at about 1 inch high compared to other brands at 100 yards. I immediately switched the 7 mm mag, and the 308 to this round. After taking several Whitetail deer in distances between 85 yards and out beyond 400 yards I am sold and will not switch from this round unless they stop making it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Superperformance SST .243

Date:October 29, 2013
Love this ammo. Does the job on Georgia deer. Leaves a nice hole.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Ammo Compared

Date:October 29, 2013
Could not get this ammo to group well out of my browning A-bolt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady super performance sst

Date:October 29, 2013
Excellent product, very consistent in quality and fair price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hornady Superformance Flop

Date:October 28, 2013
Tested the 130 gr SST and was very disappointed with the grouping and muzzle velocity. Muzzle velocity was on average about 3075 fps, not even close to the claim of 200 fps more than standard. I will not buy this ammo anymore, it's not worth the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Believe the Hype

Date:October 23, 2013
Started with factory 150 gr Remington rounds in my 700 BDL 7mm MAG and could never get nice groups (6 inch at worst) at 100 or 200 yard targets; was to the frustration point trying to figure out if it was gun, scope, or me? Switched to 154 gr Super SST and within 6 shots had the rifle dialed in with final 3 shots covered with a 50 cent piece at 100 yards. Target at 200 yards and 3 shots all within 3 inches. Now shooting a Savage model 11 in a 25.06 and the consistency with 2-3 shot groups can be covered with a quarter at 100 yards. I am a believer that these Super Performance rounds are the ticket for consistency!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Inaccurate!

Date:October 22, 2013
I would not by this again. Groupings were the worst I"ve seen. Bullets seemed to be unstable!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Surprised! Best grouping ever!

Date:October 15, 2013
I have been shooting other high end ammo but due to a lack of availability of them I decided to try Hornady.
Brand new just sighted in X-bolt .308 100 yards I hit dead center! Next 2 shots touching the first!
I then changed out my target and shot 3 more times, all were touching in the center of the target again! I switched to Hornady. :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very accurate!

Date:October 15, 2013
Shot a 1 1/4" group at 200yds in my 25-06 Savage!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good stuff

Date:October 3, 2013
Took a doe at 277 yards with the only shot available-- put it perfectly into the neck just below the head as she turned her head to the side while facing away from me. She didn't take a single step. This bullet has near-match grade accuracy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate and Consistant

Date:September 28, 2013
Using my Tikka T3 .300 WM with Vortex PST scope and this ammo (180gr SST). Sighted at 200 yards. Dialed in consecutive yardage of 300y, 400y, 500y, 600y, 700y, and 800y. One shot at each range was dead on accurate. I consider myself just an average shooter. This ammo performed very accurately and consistently. My friend, sighting in next to me, was using Remington ammo in his .300WM and couldn't get a group at 100 yards. I gave him some Hornady SST rounds and he grouped at .5 inches and hit steel at 500 yrds. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good ammo

Date:September 10, 2013
very accurate--one round, one antelope
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nothing compares

Date:August 6, 2013
I shoot this ammo in every gun from my wife's 243 my 270 338 win mag and reload my weatherby 30-378 with sst bullets I have started taking some really long shots with it now 500 plus and to be honest it takes more wind to affect these bullets than most others I just find my hold spot depending on wind direction and length of shot and one shot one kill. 338 drops whitey in his tracks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Elk Slayer in 308

Date:August 4, 2013
165gr SST through my Remy 700 VSF proved deadly on my 700lb Rocky Mountain Elk last November. Both lungs were turned to yogurt and the beast crumbled within 10 yards. 3 shot group was .60 inch at 100 yards.
Based on the results, I tried the SST's in my Sako 7MM Rem Mag but that rifle would not group them well at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

REALLY Disappointing

Date:August 1, 2013
Bought the 150 gr SST to shoot on Safari in Africa. Went to the range with my Pre-war Winchester Model 70 (.30-06) - a gun that had always given me 2-3" groups at 200 yards. These things were spraying everywhere. SO bad, I was convinced my scope was broken. Replaced the scope....same thing. Switched to Remington CoreLokt, and voila, back to my 2" groups. I guess on the bright side, I got a new scope ;-)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best ammo I have found in 4 different cal

Date:June 25, 2013
Bench rest testing out to 600 yards give consistent accuracy in 4 different rifle callibers and out performs several other tested brands
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent ammo, the only ammo I ever use.

Date:June 25, 2013
I have been using the superformance ammo in 150 grain SST and GMX .308 caliber in my FNAR. I will not use any other type of ammo. I have used it for several years and shoot approximately 90 to 100 hogs a year on my sons lease in Florida. I just returned from a trip to Georgia with a biologist friend of mine and made head shots on two hogs, dropped in their tracks, at 215 yards and 253 yards. Verified with a laser rangefinder by the biologist. Absolutely the only ammo I use in my FNAR. Amazing accuracy! The performance on deer is amazing too. 150 grain .308 SST, one shot center chest and deer did not take a step.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Most accurate ammo for production.

Date:June 18, 2013
This by far is the best ammo I've ever owned. All the bullets are seated the same depth . All shells weigh the same and the grouping( wow!!! ) now that's awesome for production shells .
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hornaday Superformance 7mm08 Rem.

Date:April 30, 2013
I was very disappointed in this ammo. I have used the superformance in 300 Savage and it performed great, 1 inch groups from my 58 model 99F.I bought this ammo based on my passed experiences for a new Ruger American compact 7mm08. On the paper @ 25 yds, 1 hole for 2 shots. At 100 yards group was about 6", spread high and right. I adjust scope down and left
next group low and right approx 5" spread. I changed the scope, checked bedding and tightened all screws, same results. I bought a box of Rem core lock and got 1 " groups.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product for a good price!

Date:April 30, 2013
Excellent Ammo!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 168