Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

Strike faster, farther and harder with the velocity increase this ammo delivers. By squeezing up to an extra 200 fps from every Superformance caliber with innovative propellants, Hornady flattens trajectory, reduces wind drift and delivers more smack-down energy on target – all with no increase in recoil or muzzleblast. Super-Shock Tip (SST) teams with a secant ogive profile to create a streamlined bullet that slices through the air to deliver amazing accuracy. An Interlock® ring ensures the bullet's core and match-grade jacket hold together for outstanding controlled expansion. Supercharge your rifle’s performance while enjoying the superior accuracy you expect from Hornady. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.285 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(144 Reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 144 reviews
5 Stars
107
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
10
1 Star
15
120 out of 144(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Review 41 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate - One shot kill on hogs

Date:March 18, 2013
My son & I just used this on a Texas hog hunt. He shot the 95 grain .243 Win from a Rem 700 and I shot the 150 grain .308 Win from a DPMS LR-308. Two nice tuskers & a small sow went down to single shots at 100 yards. None ran more than 25 yards. No exit wounds. This kind of performance (or should I say "Superformance") at this price is outstanding!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:February 26, 2013
Fast and accurate. Great ammo and the price is right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amonition

Date:February 19, 2013
Excellent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One Shot

Date:January 28, 2013
I purchased the the Hornady SST Ammo in the .308 150 grain and Shot a Auodad Goat at 200 yards and it dropped in its tracks these are not your average goat and this is not your average round.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

accurate

Date:January 22, 2013
Good shells especially for general shooting or hunting. the only downfall is the price, but they are comparable in price to any less quality shells.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gett'n The Job Done

Date:January 22, 2013
I purchased my girlfriend a 7mm08 and purchassed her two boxes of 139 grain Hornady®Superformance™ SST Rifle Ammo. Her first Deer was a 150 pound Doe at 240 yards on my fathers place in Mississippi. The deer never untracked, awesome ammo. In fact if performed so well I cannot wait to let her try the smaller 120 grain Hornady SST round. Thanks for a great product that helps get the job done in a very humane way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SST , Amazing.

Date:January 20, 2013
I have a 30.06 , brand new 700 BDL . I can put hole in hole majority of the time at the range (100yds) .
I tried several (5 I think) different ammo brands with odd ball degrees of accuracy. But this SST is just nuts on. Placement.
When your lookin for your follow-up shots , dont bother. Its in the same hole.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SIMPLY THE BEST FACTORY AMMO TO BE HAD

Date:January 18, 2013
I began using the Superformance almost since it came out...as it's name sake implies it truly is SUPER-PERFORMANCE. I use the SST's almost exclusively now for all of my 6's, 7's, and 33's with only one exception for a 30 (only because they don't make it....yet. I am praying). The terminal performance on javelina, hogs, deer, elk, caribou, sheep, black bear, and shiras moose are nothing short of amazing. I intend on taking them on a Goat, A-Y moose and Brownie hunt in the near future and have full confidence they will again rise to the level needed for success and a swift / humane kill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dead On

Date:January 3, 2013
As far as my Remington 700 in .270 is concerned, these are the most actuate, deadly rounds available. I use the 140 grain SSTs and have had several "Dead in its tracks" results on whitetails and hogs. Great factory load at a reasonable price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo

Date:December 31, 2012
I purchased this ammo in the 300 win mag caliber with 180 grain bullet. Shot with in a 5 in circle at 400 yards. Took an elk in the December late rifle hunt in colorado at 300 yards. Bullet penetrated and expanded as desired. Double lunged the elk it ran 20 yards and tipped over.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

To outstanding

Date:December 28, 2012
Took a nice 4 point Mule Deer this year (2012) in Idaho. Textbook bullet placement at 150 yards. One shoot, four exit holes. Bullet exploded and left behind a mess. Did not have to look for him. Bullet worked to good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

5 for 5

Date:December 18, 2012
5 shots, 5 deer down. Enough said. Really satisfied with the results of this ammo!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superformance SST

Date:December 16, 2012
These Bullets Rock. I was going to have my older 270 Savage rifle rebarreled, until I tried this ammo. 1" groups from a Kmart rifle is great in my opinion. I also have a Weatherby in 243. It shoots better than I can. Awesome killing power. It turns your fifle into a magnum. You can see, hear and feel the difference. How anybody can criticize this factory ammo, because it killed an Elk and they could not find the whole bullet is beond me. ?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate and Good on Thin-skinned Game

Date:December 15, 2012
In my Browning BAR this .30-06 150 gr ammo was superbly accurate. I shot two mule deer with this load and both dropped at the shot. Neither of the bullets exited. I like for bullets to exit. I would rate bullet performance - explosive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

162 grain Hornady Superformance SST

Date:December 12, 2012
The last few years that I have been using this ammo for my elk hunts in the Colorado Rockies. I dropped elk at 190 yds, 225 yds, and 459 yds, each time with only one shot. It's Devastating!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.270 140gr SST

Date:December 12, 2012
Have been shooting this bullet for 2 years now. Very happy with results. Was a undecided on what weight to buy initially, but went with the 140 gr. very consistent and accurate. Did a good job on a decent MO whitetail at 300 yards.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

New Bullets

Date:December 12, 2012
Regarding Hornady SST rifle ammo- 7MM Mag
I was disapointed in these new bullets as they came apart on inpact with an elk.
Granted, the shot did the work and the animal was quickly dispacted but on investigation the bullet fragments could be found throughout the back strap close to the inpact area.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DRT

Date:December 11, 2012
Dead Right There, you can't beat that. I was using the SuperFormance SST in 7mm-08 and both does I shot this year dropped right in there tracks. My B-I-L was shooting a .270 using Remington CoreLokt and had 1 run. 100 yds and the other run 200 yds eventhough both of his shots were better than my shot on my bigger doe (3.5 yrs). I am very impressed by the performance of this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Superformance SST Rifle Ammo

Date:December 11, 2012
Very straight shooting shell. Use in 7mm mag and at 200 yards, no drop at all. Heart shot dead on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SST ammo

Date:December 6, 2012
I have great confidence in Hornady ammunition. This is the first time I used the SST bullets. I shot an 8 pointer in Pennsylvania with them this fall. It didn't take long for him to go down. The shot was quartering away. The bullet went in and didn't exit as it angled into the chest cavity. Caused a good amount of damage inside. The bullets did exactly what I expected from a ballistic tip type bullet. I, however prefer an exit hole. If you count on an exit hole these bullets might not be a great choice, but if you like the bullet to expire inside the animal, these do cause a great deal of damage and trauma inside.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 144