Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

Strike faster, farther and harder with the velocity increase this ammo delivers. By squeezing up to an extra 200 fps from every Superformance caliber with innovative propellants, Hornady flattens trajectory, reduces wind drift and delivers more smack-down energy on target – all with no increase in recoil or muzzleblast. Super-Shock Tip (SST) teams with a secant ogive profile to create a streamlined bullet that slices through the air to deliver amazing accuracy. An Interlock® ring ensures the bullet's core and match-grade jacket hold together for outstanding controlled expansion. Supercharge your rifle’s performance while enjoying the superior accuracy you expect from Hornady. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.293 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(157 Reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 157 reviews
5 Stars
117
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
12
1 Star
15
130 out of 157(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Review 41 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good ammo

Date:September 10, 2013
very accurate--one round, one antelope
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nothing compares

Date:August 6, 2013
I shoot this ammo in every gun from my wife's 243 my 270 338 win mag and reload my weatherby 30-378 with sst bullets I have started taking some really long shots with it now 500 plus and to be honest it takes more wind to affect these bullets than most others I just find my hold spot depending on wind direction and length of shot and one shot one kill. 338 drops whitey in his tracks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Elk Slayer in 308

Date:August 4, 2013
165gr SST through my Remy 700 VSF proved deadly on my 700lb Rocky Mountain Elk last November. Both lungs were turned to yogurt and the beast crumbled within 10 yards. 3 shot group was .60 inch at 100 yards.
Based on the results, I tried the SST's in my Sako 7MM Rem Mag but that rifle would not group them well at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

REALLY Disappointing

Date:August 1, 2013
Bought the 150 gr SST to shoot on Safari in Africa. Went to the range with my Pre-war Winchester Model 70 (.30-06) - a gun that had always given me 2-3" groups at 200 yards. These things were spraying everywhere. SO bad, I was convinced my scope was broken. Replaced the scope....same thing. Switched to Remington CoreLokt, and voila, back to my 2" groups. I guess on the bright side, I got a new scope ;-)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best ammo I have found in 4 different cal

Date:June 25, 2013
Bench rest testing out to 600 yards give consistent accuracy in 4 different rifle callibers and out performs several other tested brands
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent ammo, the only ammo I ever use.

Date:June 25, 2013
I have been using the superformance ammo in 150 grain SST and GMX .308 caliber in my FNAR. I will not use any other type of ammo. I have used it for several years and shoot approximately 90 to 100 hogs a year on my sons lease in Florida. I just returned from a trip to Georgia with a biologist friend of mine and made head shots on two hogs, dropped in their tracks, at 215 yards and 253 yards. Verified with a laser rangefinder by the biologist. Absolutely the only ammo I use in my FNAR. Amazing accuracy! The performance on deer is amazing too. 150 grain .308 SST, one shot center chest and deer did not take a step.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Most accurate ammo for production.

Date:June 18, 2013
This by far is the best ammo I've ever owned. All the bullets are seated the same depth . All shells weigh the same and the grouping( wow!!! ) now that's awesome for production shells .
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hornaday Superformance 7mm08 Rem.

Date:April 30, 2013
I was very disappointed in this ammo. I have used the superformance in 300 Savage and it performed great, 1 inch groups from my 58 model 99F.I bought this ammo based on my passed experiences for a new Ruger American compact 7mm08. On the paper @ 25 yds, 1 hole for 2 shots. At 100 yards group was about 6", spread high and right. I adjust scope down and left
next group low and right approx 5" spread. I changed the scope, checked bedding and tightened all screws, same results. I bought a box of Rem core lock and got 1 " groups.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product for a good price!

Date:April 30, 2013
Excellent Ammo!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ammo

Date:April 29, 2013
excellent ammo,better then a lot of other brands
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

6 shots, 6 bucks

Date:March 20, 2013
I shoot the 140gr SST from my Browning A-Bolt .270. Paired with a Nikon Monarch I have taken six shots at six bucks in the last two seasons and had six one shot kills on south MS whitetails. Most impressive about the bullet is the way it handles bone (shoulder, hip-running shot aiming for front, not standard practice) with minimal fragmentation but continued penetration. This bullet flies straight and fast and does the job splendidly upon impact. Again, this was with my Browning, I could not get this round to zero in with my Ruger M77 .270. Review for the Ruger/Winchester round pairing under Winchester Accubond CT ammo item...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good 270 Shell

Date:March 20, 2013
Great shell. the only reason for a 4 star review is hornady packed one 30-06 shell in the box with my 270 ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best ammo

Date:March 19, 2013
Very consistence ammo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate - One shot kill on hogs

Date:March 18, 2013
My son & I just used this on a Texas hog hunt. He shot the 95 grain .243 Win from a Rem 700 and I shot the 150 grain .308 Win from a DPMS LR-308. Two nice tuskers & a small sow went down to single shots at 100 yards. None ran more than 25 yards. No exit wounds. This kind of performance (or should I say "Superformance") at this price is outstanding!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:February 26, 2013
Fast and accurate. Great ammo and the price is right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amonition

Date:February 19, 2013
Excellent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One Shot

Date:January 28, 2013
I purchased the the Hornady SST Ammo in the .308 150 grain and Shot a Auodad Goat at 200 yards and it dropped in its tracks these are not your average goat and this is not your average round.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

accurate

Date:January 22, 2013
Good shells especially for general shooting or hunting. the only downfall is the price, but they are comparable in price to any less quality shells.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gett'n The Job Done

Date:January 22, 2013
I purchased my girlfriend a 7mm08 and purchassed her two boxes of 139 grain Hornady®Superformance™ SST Rifle Ammo. Her first Deer was a 150 pound Doe at 240 yards on my fathers place in Mississippi. The deer never untracked, awesome ammo. In fact if performed so well I cannot wait to let her try the smaller 120 grain Hornady SST round. Thanks for a great product that helps get the job done in a very humane way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SST , Amazing.

Date:January 20, 2013
I have a 30.06 , brand new 700 BDL . I can put hole in hole majority of the time at the range (100yds) .
I tried several (5 I think) different ammo brands with odd ball degrees of accuracy. But this SST is just nuts on. Placement.
When your lookin for your follow-up shots , dont bother. Its in the same hole.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 157