Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

Strike faster, farther and harder with the velocity increase this ammo delivers. By squeezing up to an extra 200 fps from every Superformance caliber with innovative propellants, Hornady flattens trajectory, reduces wind drift and delivers more smack-down energy on target – all with no increase in recoil or muzzleblast. Super-Shock Tip (SST) teams with a secant ogive profile to create a streamlined bullet that slices through the air to deliver amazing accuracy. An Interlock® ring ensures the bullet's core and match-grade jacket hold together for outstanding controlled expansion. Supercharge your rifle’s performance while enjoying the superior accuracy you expect from Hornady. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.315 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(203 Reviews) 203
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 203 reviews
5 Stars
151
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
12
1 Star
19
170 out of 203(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Review 41 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:October 7, 2014
This is the best ammunition I have found and use it for all my rifles. It has never disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My go-to round for..everything!

Date:October 1, 2014
Consistent, accurate, deadly...what else do you need? My last 7 shots on game with this ammo has netted 2 whitetail bucks, 3 bull elk, 1 cow elk, and a Canadian wolf, at ranges from 20 to 350 yards. I shoot a 7 mag in 139 grain SST superformance. Zeroed at 200 with a 3" drop at 300. Best part is I can always find it on the shelf, year after year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome factory ammo

Date:September 30, 2014
I bought this ammo for my antelope hunt in Nevada. I used a 243 caliber rifle. This ammo is great it groups as close as well done reloads. Hits hard and is accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Confidence

Date:September 30, 2014
Hornady products are always excellent. Count on this to get the job done!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great purchase

Date:September 30, 2014
Nice sales people, great service as always. Product is top shelf.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SST rifle ammo

Date:September 30, 2014
Hornady puts out some great ammo. In my concentricity gauge this stuff was spot on. Caliber is the 300 RCM.
Have not tested it on game as of yet but have absolute confidence it will perform on deer size game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady ammo

Date:September 26, 2014
Good accurate ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Accuracy

Date:September 18, 2014
I could not get better than 4" groups with my model 700 BDL 270win. With this load...Although it will shoot plain Winchester power points m.o.a. at 100yrds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

Date:September 3, 2014
A little pricey, but this ammo has great precision and accuracy. Still has great knock down power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

DIDN'T WORK FOR ME

Date:August 19, 2014
Bought these for bench shooting a pre '63 Winchester Mod. 70. Not a lot of factory "match grade" ammo for an '.06. This particular gun did not like this ammo at all; even at 100 yds. groupings were more than 2 inches. It seems to like Sierra hpbt bullets. I'll be getting into reloading in a few weeks and i'll try making my own.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Manufactured Ammo

Date:August 4, 2014
Well worth the price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

poor accuracy

Date:August 1, 2014
I have tried 8 different loads in 4 different calibers and have never found this to be just the right load. Usually get 2 inch groups or more at 100. Other loads will hit sub MOA in my rifles but not this. I want to like it as the concept and bullet are good. Just hasn't worked out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:July 15, 2014
Very accurate ammo with great one shot kills on deer so far. Extremely happy with the performance and results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ammo review

Date:July 15, 2014
superformance sst in my 300 savage is the best I have used in it over 54 years of its use on deer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:July 9, 2014
My wife and I have shot several deer with this ammo, and it worked great on all of them. It's very accurate too out of her Ruger American Rifle and my Savage 16-116!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate and powerful

Date:June 16, 2014
My son in law and I just returned from South Africa. We both used 180 gr 3006 Superformance to take 6 animals with 8 shots. Phil took 2 shots to keep down a blk wildebeest that didn't know it was dead. I made a poor shot on a red hartebeest, broke top of foreleg, before finishing the job. These are terrific bullets. We won't be using anything else.
Btw,when sighting in I shot a 3 shot group of.3" with my Weatherby Vanguard,nikon monarch 3x12 and 180 superformance. If you shoot an 06, you should try it.
Bob
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Class Ammo

Date:May 24, 2014
My .300 Win Mag loves this stuff all the way out to 1000 yards.. I use the Hornady SST Superformance exclusively now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Only one to buy

Date:May 20, 2014
I've been shooting the SST for years by Hornady. If you want a sure kill it's the best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best factory ammo

Date:May 14, 2014
If you're undecided about what factory ammo to buy for your next hunt, try the Superformance SSt. I don't claim to be an expert, but I recently returned from my first hunting trip in Africa. I bought these simply because they were all that my local Bass pro had left. My good luck. I bought the 180 gr. 3006 sst, and they really did the job. Took 3 animals with 4 shots (my error on one). An impala shot head on entering center chest and exiting about 20 in. through the side. A blesbok through the heart, and a very large red hartebeest with 2 shots. The first broke the top of his left foreleg , the second in the heart. Very accurate ammo. Too bad the shooter, me, didn't allow enough drop on the hartebeest first shot. I reload, but for hunting, I'll be using these again. My son in law used the same ammo, and had similar results on a huge kudu, black wildebeest, and gemsbok.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best

Date:May 6, 2014
One of the most dead on billet I have ever shot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 203