Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

Strike faster, farther and harder with the velocity increase this ammo delivers. By squeezing up to an extra 200 fps from every Superformance caliber with innovative propellants, Hornady flattens trajectory, reduces wind drift and delivers more smack-down energy on target – all with no increase in recoil or muzzleblast. Super-Shock Tip (SST) teams with a secant ogive profile to create a streamlined bullet that slices through the air to deliver amazing accuracy. An Interlock® ring ensures the bullet's core and match-grade jacket hold together for outstanding controlled expansion. Supercharge your rifle’s performance while enjoying the superior accuracy you expect from Hornady. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.378 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(246 Reviews) 246
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 246 reviews
5 Stars
188
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
12
1 Star
21
211 out of 246(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Review 41 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2015

great ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased this ammo for my Remington 700 CDL.
.30-06 28-inch barrel. could not be happier with the performance. I used to use Remington Core-Lokt 180 grain. shot MOA. With .30-06 180 grain SST, I can shoot .75" or less groups at 100 yards. great ammuntion. but everybody should know that it does run a little hotter than Remington Core-Lokt. Very accurate ammunition for a very accurate rifle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2015

sst

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I use the superfomance in 223, 270 and in 308. It makes the best groups in all my rifles. Long range or short best all around.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2015

Alright

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have used this in several calibers. My favorite is the 308 and 270. Just brings the holes closer on paper. Have not used on game yet due to Bowhunting getting in the way. Unless you get a special tag in WA you have to use one method for the whole season and I haven't been able to put the bow down yet. Wish they had it in 300WSM. Oh. the 90gr. 257 Weatherby mag is a screamer. Next season the 300 Winchester Mag gets to work on Elk. Will report back if I have good results.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2015

very good ammo

By
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Very pleased with hornady products. Devastating on deer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2015

1000 yard shot

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This ammo is excellent in my custom 300 win mag. sighting in at 100 yrds took three shots, 200 yrds 4 shots (windy day), next stop 500 then 1000 yrds. flawless function, superb accuracy, excellent ammo for either hunting or checking that box off your bucket list.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2015

fast

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
fast ammo and good price but was shooting 4-5" higher than other standard ammos so if you use this you will need to change your scope settings. Decent groups.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2015

Quality product

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Great value
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

Great performance

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This ammo grouped the best out of all of the commercial ammo I have used. Terminal performance was equally great. Got a shot at a buck on the last day of rifle season. The deer traveled about 18 inches straight down. I would highly recommend this ammo for whitetail hunting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2015

Consistent at Long Range

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Consistent on range at 500+yds with a 300 win mag Browning SS LR hunting rifle.....My son harvested his first bull elk in AZ a very nice 6x6 at 430yds using the 300 win mag 180grn SST load....1-shot a little low in front shoulder....much damage...good kill
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2015

Go to rifle ammunition

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I hunt with this every year and have no intention to change. Get great groups when taking target shots every year when leading up to hunting season.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2014

300 mag 180 sst

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
My particular rem. 700 shoots the superformance 180 sst load very well, 1/2 moa. That is why I used it on my Wyoming Muley hunt. I shot a huge buck that was that was slightly quartering at about 125 yards. The bullet was recovered between the ribs and the skin on the far side. The only bone the bullet struck was the rib cage on both sides of the deer, the bullet formed a perfect mushroom. In my opinion a 180 grain bullet shot from a 300 win. mag. should pass completely thru the rib cage of a deer at such close range. That being said , I feel these bullets are adequate for deer. I would be hesitant to use these particular bullets on Elk or Moose sized game.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2014

Great Ammo!!!

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Hornady makes a very nice round for a far price. They all shoot the same each and every box load we shoot. It helps that they stay that way so you only need to check twice a year that you are still on target before the big hunt. Thanks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2014

180 Grain Lights Out Missile

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
After drawing a late rifle Bull elk Tag for Arizona this past spring I decided I would give the 180 grain SST a try in my 300 Win Mag! After properly sighting in the rifle at the range and shooting sub MOA groups off the bench I decided to head for the mountains for some long range target practice. The SST did not disappoint. This is the flattest shooting bullet I have ever experienced and very accurate at long range. I practiced with it weekly for two months shooting everywhere between 100-500 yards and after careful consideration I determined I would hunt with this bullet. Once again the SST did not disappoint! The shot was at 400 yards. Clean & Quick Dirt Nap!! I'll say the SST is definitely a Big Game Hunting Bullet..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2014

Super Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This stuff rocks. No really, this ammo is fantastic. Minimal recoil in my 30-06. Held a 3 shot group under a dime at 100 yards, 10 shots under a quarter.
Took a deer this year. One shot to the vitals at 150 yards is all it took. The wound channel was devastating. Dropped right where it was hit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2014

Hornady SST ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Switched this year to the Hornady SST for my favorite deer rifle. Had used different manufacturer in past. Very happy with the speed, accuracy, and hitting power of this bullet and load. Great quality and consistency for a factory load. Dropped this years deer in it's tracks at 110 yards.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2014

300 WinMag SST Superformance

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Excellent ammo. I have used it for 6 years in both 165 gr and 180 gr, Accuracy is consistent in all weather conditions. I have only one animal take more than one step and that was my fault due to a hurried shot. Hornady ammo is always my first choice for ammo in my 300 WinMag and 7mm RemMag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2014

Exelent ammo

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This year I used a rifle to hunt in South Western New York for Deer season. This ammo shoots flat and hits hard. I was able to make a shot on my buck that I would not have been able to with a shotgun and a slug.
Excellent ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014

Exceptional Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
It's Hornady, you can't go wrong. The superformance is more consistant and and shoots flat in 7mm-08 Browning X-Bolt. I will buy Hornady from here on out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014

Shoots Great, price not bad, but performs ???

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
These are quality bullets and shoot spot on, but they explode like Bullistic bullets. useing a .270 130gr. I shot a WT doe at 75yrds, slightly quartering to me and it blew a softball size hole in the shoulder and did not exit. She ran only 20yrds, but fragments were many and meat loss was large. They do some real damage and will leave a bloodtrail, but penetration is not the best. Also, it took two to knock down this Large 270# Mulie. Overall, they shoot great, leave a good blood trail, but are questionable on bigger Deer and shoulder shots. I probably will continue to use them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014

Awesome ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
my first experience with this ammo made a believer out of me instantly. My first shot at 200 yards was 8 inches higher than the ammo I had used for years. Not only faster but more accurate. This is all I will use in my rifles now.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 41-60 of 246