Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

HORNADY Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo

Strike faster, farther and harder with the velocity increase this ammo delivers. By squeezing up to an extra 200 fps from every Superformance caliber with innovative propellants, Hornady flattens trajectory, reduces wind drift and delivers more smack-down energy on target – all with no increase in recoil or muzzleblast. Super-Shock Tip (SST) teams with a secant ogive profile to create a streamlined bullet that slices through the air to deliver amazing accuracy. An Interlock® ring ensures the bullet's core and match-grade jacket hold together for outstanding controlled expansion. Supercharge your rifle’s performance while enjoying the superior accuracy you expect from Hornady. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.293 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(157 Reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 157 reviews
5 Stars
117
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
12
1 Star
15
130 out of 157(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Review 21 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bridgeport WV
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Happy.

Date:November 11, 2010
I shot the 95gr SST today in my model 7- 243 and at 100yds you could have covered all 4 shots with a dime. I was really impressed and satisifed with the results. Sighted in very easy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tremendous accuracy

Date:November 14, 2010
I have been using Hornady Light Mag 150 gr SST for the last 10 years in my Browning a-Bolt .308. I was apprehensive when I found the Light Mags had been discontinued in favor of the Superformance round. I had been used to .7- groups at 100 yds. And 2- groups at 200. This stuff is even more accurate. For factory ammo I am amazed with .5-@100 and1.5@200. Another skeptic converted! Wishing everyone a safe and successful hunting season!
Mike
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Denton, TX
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My .270 Didn't Like It

Date:November 17, 2010
First of all, I am not going to say that this is bad ammo like many people do just because it didn't shoot well in a particular gun. In fact I am quite sure that it is great ammo, but my Remington Model 721 didn't shoot them well. The groups were terrible. Bullet holes were 4" apart with a cold barrel. I don't know if my barrel doesnt like 140 gr.SST's..or if the velocity is just too much. Barrels have velocity nodes at which certain projectiles at certain velocities shoot the best groups. It has to do with barrel vibrations. The 721 has a 24" barrel. If it had a 22" barrel It might have shot cloverleafs, who knows? I am quite disappointed they didn't perform like I hoped, but hey..thats life, and I am hopeful that I will find a good 140 gr. load that performs well. Maybe I will try the Hornady custom 140gr BTSP. I am just hoping my barrel likes 140 grain bullets. But if not, so be it. 130 grain bullets made the .270 what it is anyways. Jack O'connor would have agreed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tremendous Knockdown Power

Date:November 18, 2010
I am very pleased with this ammo. I have a shot 2 mature bucks(8 and 9 pointers) and neither has taken another step. I am shootin the 139 grain SST in my 7mag. It also groups an inch or less in my gun consistently.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Petaluma, CA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Garbage

Date:November 21, 2010
I have always found that you have to find the ammo that your gun likes best. I am shooting a Mossberg 4x4 7mm mag and this stuff was squirlier than a caffinated ground hog. with other ammo's I was shooting sub moa at 100 yards all day but with this ammo I was lucky to have a 4'' grouping!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NY
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hard Hitting

Date:November 21, 2010
Shooting 25-06 117 SST. At 80 yds dropped a buck in his tracks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: O'Neill, NE
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Satisfied

Date:November 21, 2010
Nebraska held a special doe season this October so I decided to try out some new ammo. I do ALOT of shooting so I like trying new ammo. I shoot a Ruger M77 Hawkeye in 25-06. Previous to this I like the winchester silvertip ballistic tip in 115gr. The new 117gr. SST superformance are the most accurate round i have ever shot through this particular gun. Needless to say I shot twelve doe in October and another big mature buck in November. Only two of those doe ran on me and it was only a few yards. Devastation is the keyword. These bullets performed very well and penetration was not an issue. I shot the buck at 236 yds and the bullet passed through both shoulders leaving an exit hole the size of a baseball. I am very happy with these and highly recommend the Superformance ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas City,KS
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammo

Date:November 25, 2010
shot two mature doe's with the 130gr SST out of my 270win both one shot kills no tracking dropped where they stood. I have used hornady ammo for thirty+ years with great results. Shoots very tight groups in my Winchester model 70.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

7mm Remington Mag failed on elk

Date:November 30, 2010
Used the 139 grain 7 Rem Mag SST on Cow Elk. Do not try this. The bullets fragment completely and do not penetrate well. Was lucky to recover this animal, and when we found her wounded, at 20 yards could not kill her with a neck shot. Finally put one through the shoulder and this ended her. We recovered only small bits of the bullets. This round is not fair to the game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TX
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Round

Date:December 7, 2010
I purchased these bullets for my .270 and my Ruger m77 30-06. 140 grain for the .270 and 150 for the 06. Both shot really good groups. I shot a little buck with my .270 running quartering away at around 80yds. Didn’t lead him enough and shot him in the hind quarter. The round went all the way through the hind quarter up in the chest cavity and into the deer’s lungs. The 140 grain SST turned a bad shot into a great shot! The deer just fell over and never flinched! I will be sticking with the 140 grain SST!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wausau, WI
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ideal Ammo

Date:December 8, 2010
So I did a bit of modifying to my Ruger M77 .30-06; floated the barrel and glass bedded the stock. With it I needed premium ammunition, and I found it. At the range I was sinking three rounds into quarter sized groupings at 100 yards. I shot my first trophy buck this season at 120 yds; he fell flat on the ground...no tracking needed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Prosser, Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Mixed Results - Use Cautiously

Date:December 17, 2010
Mixed results - two of my sons used this ammo in new .30-06's. In the Remington 700 it grouped very well and had no trouble of any kind, and he had a one-shot kill on an elk at 309 yards, for this gun I'd give the ammo 5 stars. In the Savage model 116 it grouped very well, but my son would occasionally have trouble extracting the spent casing (I should have listened to him and switched ammo earlier), then with less than two days before our elk hunt he had three casings that took two hands to pull the bolt back, on his last shot the case expansion was so bad that even with two hands I couldn’t pull the bolt back. We switched ammo and had to start over. For the Savage I'd give the ammo 1 star. Conclusion - test the ammo in your particular gun, it groups well, the bullet performs very well, but the expansion problems scare me to the point that even on the Remington 700 we'll switch to Hornady Custom.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington State
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet Shooting

Date:December 25, 2010
October 10, 2010 Gillette, Wyoming. I am shooting a Ruger M77 RH in .270, after a long stalk, I was able to get a shot, the shot was 250 yards and the Hornady Superformance .270 Win. worked great! The bullet hit just behind the left shoulder and hit the right shoulder joint before exiting. This buck only took about four steps before dropping to the ground. This was my first antelope hunt and I was shooting the Superformance .270 Win. 130 gr. SST bullet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Loaded Hot

Date:December 28, 2010
Bought a Box of 30-06 off the shelf at Cabelas, I can say they are accurate in my Savage 116, however watch your cases close they are loaded hot and could cause a problem, after firing two shot groups of three I checked the cases and found flat primers and craeters around the primer strike, measured case base and it measured .005 expansion. This is not a good situation. Just be watchfull of your cases for signs of trouble, be safe. May work fine in your rifle but not a good cartage in my Savage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saratoga Springs, UT
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for tough shots!

Date:December 29, 2010
I just started using this load this season, and it shoots amazing. I use a 165gr .308 load on my tikka t3, and i've been making the farthest shots i've ever shot in a tighter grouping than anything else i have tried. I get about 150fps more than I would out of my federal loads, and I don't have to sacrifice accuracy for it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SPRINGFIELD, MO
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PA. DEER HUNT

Date:January 20, 2011
I live in MO., went to PA. to hunt with my brothers. I was hunting with Remington 700 ADL 30-06 165 gr. SST. I shot a buck at 60 yds he went 75 yds and collasped. My hunting parntners notice that a tree was shot in the line of my deer. They ask if I hit deer first or tree. Upon investigation I had hit a 3 inch birch tree dead center first. Would I use or recommend this ammo again most certainly. Core- lok ammo would not have pentrated tree let alone kill the deer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Braunfels, Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Superformance™ SST Rifle Ammo

Date:February 5, 2011
I tried Superformance ammo this deer season for the first time. I used the 165 gr. 30.06 in my Tikka T3 lite. I was concerned about some of the reviews I read about.....not performing well on close shots , breaking up and no penetration. The first deer I took was a large doe at about 65 yards. One shot and dropped in her where she stood....no tracking. The bullet passed completely through leaving a hole about the size of a ping-pong ball on the exit. The next morning I shot a 8 pt. buck from about 70 yards and had the same results. Dead where he stood. I had complete pass through and a similar exit hole. I had no extraction problems, great accuracy and one shot kills. This is the type of performance I have had from Hornady for the last 10 years. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Bryan, Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

338 win mag

Date:February 18, 2011
I am shooting this ammo through a Ruger 338 win mag. I am having trouble with the 200 grain SST load, it fragments upon impact. I have shot several 200lbs hogs out to 200 yds with this stuff. it knocks them down then the hogs get back up and run. After a follow up shot or three I can get them killed. Upon processing the hogs i have noticed the penitration is marginal and the bullets are acting like a varmint round. I have never had a penetration problem out of the 338 win mag before. I would like to say that this ammo is very accurate sub MOA . I have a box oof the 225 grain SST ammo i will try next.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. George, UT
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Performance for me

Date:February 24, 2011
I have used this product for a year now with excellent performance out of my TC Weathershield ICON .30 t/c! I have no other choice for ammo in this chambering and no need for anything different.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Hornady® Superformance® SST Rifle Ammo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WV
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Biggest buck

Date:February 24, 2011
I would recommend this round for whitetail hunting.
I used it in my Thompson Oncore to make a 374 yard shot on a giant buck in December of '10. It was 18 degrees, and I held on the buck, and hit where my crosshairs were. So if you want to score big on big bucks I recommend the Hornady SST in 165 grain.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 157