Customer Reviews for Tula Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Tula Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition

Stock up for high-volume shooting with this great deal on 7.62 x 39 ammunition. Noncorrosive, with smooth-cycling, polymer-coated steel cases and FMJ bullets. Per 20 rounds.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.886 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
4
1 Star
7
33 out of 44(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Review 21 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tula .223

Date:May 12, 2010
I loaded up on these when they went on sale, i tried them out against my usual brass cased ammo in my bolt gun and had no issues. They didnt group as well as some of the higher end stuff but they all fired and didnt seem much dirtier than anything else I shoot. For the price I will buy more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammo

Date:April 23, 2010
Bought 100 rounds to see how well it shot and functioned in my Bushmaster piston gun. During sight in had no problems and accuracy was as good as the generic Winchester & Remington ammo.
First time I shot a tactical match I used this ammo, because I would not have an opportunity to pick up spent brass. The ammo functioned flawlessly and was accurate enough that I placed fifth among the twenty plus shooters
Will be purchasing more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Del Rio, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tula 7.62x54r Ammo

Date:April 18, 2010
This ammo is an outstanding value and is extremely well made. Bought some for my Mosin Nagant because of the lighter round it was designed to use. I was impressed as once i figured out how to shoot with the iron sights, i was putting 3.5"-4" groups at 100 yards. Great ammo and value and will be back for more! Recommend to all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Birmingham, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

5-star most bang for the buck ammo.

Date:January 2, 2010
Has been 100% reliable in my Mini-14 and shoots clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Peoria, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoots well and great price!

Date:December 6, 2009
I shot 200 rounds through my S&W M&P15 with no issues. Rifle was dirtier than when I use PMC, Winchester, Federal, etc. but was no issue since I always clean my gun afterwards.
For the price this is great plinking/target ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for the price

Date:August 14, 2010
If you just want to shoot varmints it works good. if you are looking to shoot in a match use something a little better. I have shot 300 rounds from my colt ar-15, not 1 jam!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for the price

Date:July 22, 2010
I think most of the problems others are describing with this ammo is due to buffer and magazine springs being either too strong or too weak. I used this in my Colt match target carbine (AR-15) and had no functioning problems with the gun, the only thing was that on the last round in my 10-round stock magazine kept falling out of the mag and propping the bolt open. Not hard to remedy, but probably just due to the magazine spring.
Other than that I quickly zeroed my rifle and accurately hit targets out at 200 yds like clockwork. Very good ammo for the price, I am thinking of using this as my ammo of choice for this gun.
The only downfall for me is that the ammo is VERY dirty and it took a while to clean it out of the gun, but still worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: In the woods
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lube it up, keep it wet and you will be fine.

Date:July 15, 2010
This ammo gave me problems with my Smith and Wesson M&P15 the first time I used it. Some of the primers fell out and I also had a few duds. The worst was when one of the cases got stuck in the rifle and had to be tapped out with a cleaning rod. I was pretty dissapointed to say the least.
The next weekend, I read up on this stuff on some internet forums and decided to try running it super "wet" with breakfree CLP spray. I lubed up the BCG and chamber area and... what do you know? 100% functional and no jams/FTE/or issues. Ran flawlessly actually for over 300 rounds. Great day shooting, decent accuracy.
I say this is the cheapest ammo around for plinking and if you run it wet you shouldn't have many (or any) issues. Get yourself a sturdy CF cleaning rod in case you get one jammed in the chamber and you will have lots of fun on the cheap. Have fun and be safe. With ammo prices out of line, this is the best stuff to use for plinking now. Keep the good brass at home for when you really may need it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Philly
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

7.62x39mm AR-15, WASR, SAIGA

Date:July 1, 2010
I have three rifles all chambered in 7.62x39mm and a heavy shooter in this caliber. In this caliber I have a Bushy AR-15, a WASR AK and a Saiga AK. This ammo works very well in my AK's, however the AR-15 doesnt like it as much. Flawless in the AK's but this ammo just doesnt eject/load properly in an AR-15 due to the coating on the steel casing. This is something I have found with all steel casings for my AR-15 but wanted to give this ammo a try.
I recommend this ammo for the AK's, however I would pass on getting the 7.62 for the AR-15's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not bad at all!

Date:January 20, 2010
shot 500 rounds at the range through my two ARs, only one misfire, no other problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Goes bang every time

Date:December 28, 2009
This ammo looks and shoots exactly like Wolf. Maybe just a little hotter. Unlike Wolf, it is Boxer primed! It shoots really well out of my Del-Ton M4. It hasn't had a single issue yet. It is a little dirty but that's a very small complaint for ammo this inexpensive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ulyanovsk 223 ammo

Date:December 24, 2009
Shot 100 rounds thru my Bushmaster and DPMS panther
ar-15, no malfunctions at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Pierre, SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tula .223 ammunition 55gr FMJ

Date:May 10, 2010
I shot 40 rounds of Tula through my mini-14 tactical this weekend. It was the first time I used the stuff. It worked fine and I was able to place all rounds within a 12-inch circle with iron sights at 100 meters. But my goodness this ammo smokes, and I mean literally. I had to stop several times to let the smoke clear, and the smell was pretty funky. I've read that about Tula ammo on other posts, so I can confirm it's true. I'd still buy the stuff for practice and ammo of last resort due to its price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: middle of the map
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

cheap, but....

Date:August 9, 2010
I bought 100 rds to try this ammo in my DPMS M4-type carbine. Most of it worked. Two rounds apparently had bad primers, as they wouldn't fire after repeated strikes. (the carbine had functioned 100% through several thousand rounds prior to this) I tired them in my bolt-action .223 and they still would not fire.
This ammo is dirty to shoot (as noted by other reviewers), but other than the failures to fire my rifle ate it like candy. The accuracy was nothing to brag about, but for spray & pray practice it was sufficient. I think I'll spend a little more money next time and buy better quality ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: CT
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Okay..

Date:July 23, 2010
I purchased 200 rds of this ammo after acquiring a pre-owned Bushmaster xm15. At first, I sent a 30rd magazine through with zero problems, but on the second magazine, I had no less than 6 FTF's every other round and several stovepipes, along with a casing getting jammed in the chamber because it had visibly expanded. Not only that, but after getting the rifle home and cleaning it, I found that this ammo is filthy. I went through an obscure number of patches on the barrel alone, not to mention the bolt and assembly. Basically, if you don't want to spend much money, aren't aggravated by constant jams and don't mind using half of your cleaning supplies after each shooting.. then this ammo might be for you. Otherwise, I'd recommend PMC bronze for a few dollars more, and a much better shooting experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Omaha, NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Stuck casings in a Ruger SR-556

Date:July 3, 2010
I was able to shoot 50 rounds before cases began to become stuck in the chamber of my Ruger SR-556. Even after cleaning the chamber really well I tried again and the first shot ended up with a stuck casing.
However, my brother has had no problems with this ammo in his Bushmaster AR-15. I would recommend trying a few boxes before buying in bulk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Detroit, MI
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

JAMS

Date:June 5, 2010
Bought 500 rounds. After 90 to 100 rounds the they start to jam. After a good cleaning, the ammo is dirty, at the end of the 3rd 30 round clip the ammo jams. I am using a DPMS AR.
If you are just shooting 50 or so nice ammo, but if you plan to spend a few hours at the range use a better ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Ca
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

unusable

Date:August 21, 2010
I have a stag rifle that I ran some of this ammo through. What a disappointment. It didn't have the pressure to fully cycle the bolt back and pick up another round.Basically it turned my AR into a single shot. I would never buy this ammo again,even at the price.You could watch powder still burning as it came out the barrel in the form of sparks. You would be better off with a baseball bat for protection you can count on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Tenn
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad in Kel Tec

Date:July 22, 2010
I shot 90 rounds in my new-Tec SU16C. Failed to extract. Cleaned the chamber . Fired 16 rounds failed to extract. Cleaned chamber and it would not extract at all. Inspection of spent rounds revealed some kind of coating buildup on the shells. I think the coating is coming off and sticking to the chamber walls when it gets hot. I tries once more over the weekend and fired 30 rounds before it failed to eject. I tried to hand load a round andfound it took a lot of force to get it to seat. After cleaning wih Hopes, brass brushing and swab a round will now drop in as it did before. Evidently the problem is the coating on the rounds. After shooting TULE ammo makes no difference. Even myLakeCity brass had streaks of something like paint on them. Might workok in an Ar but as soon as I get this shot up no more Tule for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Tula 7.62x39 Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Caprica, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointed

Date:July 18, 2010
I purchased this ammo hoping for a good range plinker. It isn't. What happened is it short stroked in my rifle. Also, I can hear various rounds have different levels of 'loudness', making me think there might be some inconsistenty in the powder.
Had no extraction issues.
As a quick test I tried (same outing) some Wolf Military Classic I had, everything went back to normal.
I would not buy this ammo again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 44