Customer Reviews for Big Sky Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Big Sky Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box

We’ve teamed up with a premier Russian ammunition manufacturer to bring you this winning combination of high-quality, low-priced noncorrosive ammo. Polymer-coated steel cases cycle smoothly. 55-grain FMJ bullets.
Overall Customer Rating:
2.891 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
21
31 out of 55(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Review 1 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Bargain/Quality

Date:November 5, 2013
Everything arrived on time as promised. I already shot off half the ammo and it is not overly dirty, in fact it was pretty clean and the dry box was a nice added bonus.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good stuff

Date:December 11, 2012
Cheep ammo for target shooting. Shot 300 rds. with no problems. Must have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

is what it is

Date:December 11, 2012
Plastic storage box with handle. does what it is intended for. Decent looking just like photos but not a display piece like an old ammo box might be for atmosphere.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.223 herter ammo

Date:November 19, 2012
works fine in my ar-15 at the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

herter's 223 ammo

Date:October 31, 2012
Good deal,best price I could find.Really happy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good bullets and good deal

Date:September 4, 2012
Like them
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

223 Ammo

Date:August 28, 2012
This was clean and accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's .223 Ammunition - performs well

Date:April 28, 2012
500 rounds through a S&W M&P AR. No problems, no FTF's, no FTE's. Inexpensive, works great at the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo...

Date:April 26, 2012
...unless you are shooting an AR. Happily I am not and this ammo works perfectly in non-picky rifles. If you shoot anything other than an AR - semi auto, bolt or single shot, this will work fine. Take the money you save, and shoot more rounds, more often.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fernley, Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works for my AK

Date:February 24, 2012
I've been through about 600 to 800 hundred rounds
of this ammo, and just ordered 500 more. I shoot it in my AK type .223 and it has worked very well. I ensure the weapon is lubed up pretty well, though. No issues with the cycle of operation at all. I have shot some ammo (brass cases) that rupture during the extraction cycle, but this ammo has worked very well. The ONLY EXCEPTION: Two or three rounds out of several hundred have been "duds".....in that the firing pin was struck, but the round failed to shoot. NOT TOO MUCH OF AN ISSUE IN MY BOOK......it just keeps me on my toes and in practice in clearing the stoppage! Good times!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: southdakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good value

Date:February 13, 2012
I have shot 1000s of rounds of this stuff through my colt and remington ar and had no trouble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh , Pa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great deal,great ammo

Date:August 12, 2010
I read a review on this ammo claiming it was bad, ok let me tell you this is awesome ammo, for the money you can beat this stuff. I shoot this from my 223 rifle and i have now purchased it for my 45 acp and 9mm. this ammo is awesome and i can't believe anyone has had trouble with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammo

Date:November 5, 2013
good quality for price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Plinking fun

Date:October 29, 2013
Pulled trigger it went bang... With bump fire bang bang bang. Fairly accurate. Fun plinking for less then 30 cents a round.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

enjoy being able to shoot

Date:October 22, 2013
With the price of other ammo, this ammo is a good alternative for plinking. No jams.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cycles for training

Date:September 16, 2013
Just went through about 150rds of this stuff. Sustained firing cycles. Had one light strike. Rest cycled great. Perfect training ammo. Can't beat price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box

Date:December 11, 2012
Ammo is great, I can't say that I've had any problems with Herter's ammo. Would really love to see a choice in the storage box, I would take a metal ammo can over the plastic. The plastic work, but the size is abit off. Tapered to the bottom makes the lip the fat point and they take up more room. For storing other things great, ammo...........give me the metal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's Ammo

Date:December 10, 2012
I just shot about 400 rounds through my AR15 with zero stoppages, misfires, double feeds, stove pipes, fail to eject or any other problem you may think of.
Ammo worked fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo for the price

Date:December 5, 2012
I am shooting this ammo thru a DPMS panther AR-15 and it functions perfectly and is accurate and since I clean my gun after each use, I dont have any issues what so ever. I know some folks are having trouble with steel case ammo but I love it. I am glad to be able to shoot 25 cent rounds!! Buy a few boxes first to try it out before buying bulk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cheap but works

Date:September 19, 2012
My cousin and I shoot thousands of rounds of this ammunition and rarely have any issues with it. We both shoot Bushmaster m4a3's. We've never had a FTF. Occasionally after shooting 500+ rounds with out cleaning, I might have 1 or 2 failure to ejects. Accuracy isn't match grade but you get what you pay for. Same goes for the weapon shooting the ammunition. Don't blame cheap ammo when shooting out of a cheap gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 55