Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

HERTER'S Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box

We’ve teamed up with a premier Russian ammunition manufacturer to bring you this winning combination of high-quality, low-priced noncorrosive ammo. Polymer-coated steel cases cycle smoothly. 55-grain FMJ bullets.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.017 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
21
36 out of 60(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Review 1 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

OLD STANDBY.

Date:July 22, 2014
Been using Herter's ammo for years. Reasonable price and reliable. Shoot iron sights in a C.M.P league 100 and 200 yards works fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Win/win

Date:July 22, 2014
Inexpensive and shoots great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Bargain/Quality

Date:November 5, 2013
Everything arrived on time as promised. I already shot off half the ammo and it is not overly dirty, in fact it was pretty clean and the dry box was a nice added bonus.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good stuff

Date:December 11, 2012
Cheep ammo for target shooting. Shot 300 rds. with no problems. Must have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

is what it is

Date:December 11, 2012
Plastic storage box with handle. does what it is intended for. Decent looking just like photos but not a display piece like an old ammo box might be for atmosphere.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.223 herter ammo

Date:November 19, 2012
works fine in my ar-15 at the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

herter's 223 ammo

Date:October 31, 2012
Good deal,best price I could find.Really happy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good bullets and good deal

Date:September 4, 2012
Like them
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

223 Ammo

Date:August 28, 2012
This was clean and accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's .223 Ammunition - performs well

Date:April 28, 2012
500 rounds through a S&W M&P AR. No problems, no FTF's, no FTE's. Inexpensive, works great at the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo...

Date:April 26, 2012
...unless you are shooting an AR. Happily I am not and this ammo works perfectly in non-picky rifles. If you shoot anything other than an AR - semi auto, bolt or single shot, this will work fine. Take the money you save, and shoot more rounds, more often.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fernley, Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works for my AK

Date:February 24, 2012
I've been through about 600 to 800 hundred rounds
of this ammo, and just ordered 500 more. I shoot it in my AK type .223 and it has worked very well. I ensure the weapon is lubed up pretty well, though. No issues with the cycle of operation at all. I have shot some ammo (brass cases) that rupture during the extraction cycle, but this ammo has worked very well. The ONLY EXCEPTION: Two or three rounds out of several hundred have been "duds".....in that the firing pin was struck, but the round failed to shoot. NOT TOO MUCH OF AN ISSUE IN MY BOOK......it just keeps me on my toes and in practice in clearing the stoppage! Good times!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: southdakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good value

Date:February 13, 2012
I have shot 1000s of rounds of this stuff through my colt and remington ar and had no trouble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh , Pa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great deal,great ammo

Date:August 12, 2010
I read a review on this ammo claiming it was bad, ok let me tell you this is awesome ammo, for the money you can beat this stuff. I shoot this from my 223 rifle and i have now purchased it for my 45 acp and 9mm. this ammo is awesome and i can't believe anyone has had trouble with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bargain on a great product

Date:July 10, 2014
Excellent product at a great price. Good service, fast shipping.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Understand physical properties first ...

Date:July 7, 2014
I use this in my AR for plinking when I'm not taking a class.
I will talk about the pros and cons of this type of ammo
pros: shoots pretty accurate (I only shoot up to 100yards). Saves you a few bucks versus the other brands. None corrosive powder etc.
Cons: because it's a steel case, it does not expand as easily as brass. Therefore, when the round is fired, it allows some of the gases to come back around the shell... Causing a round to become stuck after 60-70 rounds fired. Therefore keep a cleaning rod with you.
Keep in mind... The steel case ammo was oringinaly made for the AK. It's breach is shaped to keep gases from coming back.
As a result, this ammo is "excellent" and a good buy. It's just our ARs are not designed for steel cases.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ammo

Date:June 3, 2014
Really good deal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammo

Date:November 5, 2013
good quality for price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Plinking fun

Date:October 29, 2013
Pulled trigger it went bang... With bump fire bang bang bang. Fairly accurate. Fun plinking for less then 30 cents a round.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Herter's .223 Ammunition with Dry-Storage Box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

enjoy being able to shoot

Date:October 22, 2013
With the price of other ammo, this ammo is a good alternative for plinking. No jams.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 60